Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love/Hate [** Spoilers **]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭aisr1ofk43dpy5

Fair City now has twice as many murders in the last couple of weeks than season 4 of love hate just saying :-)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 645 ✭✭✭loveBBhate

Fair City now has twice as many murders in the last couple of weeks than season 4 of love hate just saying :-)

The only thing ever murdered in that programme is the art of acting.

• Registered Users Posts: 924 ✭✭✭jjf1974

loveBBhate wrote: »
    The only thing ever murdered in that programme is the art of acting.

And the cat:(

jjf1974 wrote: »
    And the cat:(

Fair City? That's Love/Hate. Don't put me in a position where it appears I've mocked the acting in my beloved Love/Hate :) It's Fair City is where there's an acting cereal killer bopping about the place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Fran is dead this Season, the young fella kills him.....tellin ya

Nidge has Wayne in mind for some job. This could be it. I personally hope that Fran survives though. We could see some Cliffhanger like Fran getting shot by Wayne and someone like Deano pipebombing Nidge's house with us left wondering who survived for the next season.

So many prospects with Fran. I agree that could happen and i agree it could possibly be Wayne but I also think Deano and Carlo will betray him in some way. If Fran becomes isolated he is pretty much fúcked.

There are loads of possibilities. I'd say Deano will stick by Fran but Carlo could turn towards Nidge. Again, assuming Nidge and Fran actually do fall out that is!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭pmy.murphy

A great song it is for sure.

Sinead looked a lot different then didn't she?

Ah a very good song and a time when Sinead O Connor didnt look like the boy in the striped pyjamas

• Registered Users Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Benteke

Carlo is an interesting one, Here is someone who wants out altogether, A bit like Darren, I winder if in S5 will we see more of him and do the opposite and get further into crime

• Registered Users Posts: 12,820 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Benteke wrote: »
    Carlo is an interesting one, Here is someone who wants out altogether, A bit like Darren, I winder if in S5 will we see more of him and do the opposite and get further into crime

Who is carlo?

Yes, Darren and Carlo are quite alike. Darren was the reluctant criminal always and yet despite everything he ended up killing more people than anyone else in the series thus far.

mfceiling wrote: »
    Who is carlo?

Fran's friend. The one Fran glassed in season 2 and the one who is reluctant to get involved in crime in the current series. Remember, he wanted nothing to do with the robbery in episode 1 and was reluctant to join Fran and Dean on the gravedigging mission on Sunday.

mfceiling wrote: »
    Who is carlo?

He's a friend of Frans, Fran stabbed him in series 2 in the pub and on Sunday's episode Fran got him to help did up Noelie's mother, In episode 1 of this series, He backed out of doing the tiger kidnapping also

Fran puts the fear of god into him, So he could force him into doing all sorts, A bit like John Boy when he wanted Fran gone

I wonder what will happen to Noelie Hughes? We have to wait and see if he remains in prison or comes out. Will he be done away with in this season or is there a role for him spanning seasons?

• Registered Users Posts: 836 ✭✭✭fruvai

Nidge has Wayne in mind for some job. This could be it.

It's probably to get rid of the traveller that Nidge spotted @ chez Fran. He can link Nidge with the pipebomb that was thrown into Linda's house and that ultimately led to her suicide. Loose lips and ships and all that ;) Fran is probably Nidge's only decent lieutenant so there's absolutely no reason for him to kill Fran (well as of yet anyway). Aido and Elmo are both disposable and after Darren's demise, he surely cannot afford to lose someone who can get things done.

Maybe Nidge gets Wayne to whack the Traveller and it somehow filters back to his gang (whether a success or botched) that Nidge was behind it? King Nidge gettin' it from all sides :pac:

I think the Noelie Hughes was just a sub plot in the series, I think it will take a back seat just like the RA, It may return in S5, Noelie Hughes had a shot gun and tried to kill Fran, Don't think he will get out anytime soon but if they did a few scenes in prison, We may see Noelie again

Anyone watch What Richard Did tonight, the midweek movie? Luke from Love/Hate is in it, weird to see him so... so... normal?! :D so far anyway, only ten minutes in at the moment.

fruvai wrote: »
    It's probably to get rid of the traveller that Nidge spotted @ chez Fran. He can link Nidge with the pipebomb that was thrown into Linda's house and that ultimately led to her suicide. Loose lips and ships and all that ;) Fran is probably Nidge's only decent lieutenant so there's absolutely no reason for him to kill Fran (well as of yet anyway). Aido and Elmo are both disposable and after Darren's demise, he surely cannot afford to lose someone who can get things done.

Maybe Nidge gets Wayne to whack the Traveller and it somehow filters back to his gang (whether a success or botched) that Nidge was behind it? King Nidge gettin' it from all sides :pac:

Nidge won't kill Fran unless he has to. He knows how valuable Fran is to him and Fran has been more than loyal so far.

That is, if Fran does not find out about the pipebomb! Instead, Nidge would rather eliminate this traveller to keep that secret quiet! Wayne is the perfect man for this. Nidge may well avoid a war with Fran for now and who knows they may never fall out!

I have heard that Nidge would be involved in a war with a traveller gang in this season so I'm quite sure that is what is being lead up to here. Fran obviously has good relations with the travellers so the question is what side will Fran ultimately take?

I think the Noelie Hughes was just a sub plot in the series, I think it will take a back seat just like the RA, It may return in S5, Noelie Hughes had a shot gun and tried to kill Fran, Don't think he will get out anytime soon but if they did a few scenes in prison, We may see Noelie again

Suppose if Fran went to prison, we could see Fran arrange to clip Noelie there?

Anyone watch What Richard Did tonight, the midweek movie? Luke from Love/Hate is in it, weird to see him so... so... normal?! :D so far anyway, only ten minutes in at the moment.

Recording it. Will watch tomorrow.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Nidge has already atoned for that by giving the IRA Darren.

Well at least he thinks he has. The IRA are using him and will kill him when they want.

Considering the lengths he goes to when someone knocks his teeth out, imagine the lengths he'll go to when he finds out someone was shagging his wife and then caused her to kill herself?

I think the IRA will use Nidge as long as he is useful to them. This basically means Tony will not kill Nidge unless Nidge does any of these: refuses to help the IRA, gets captured by the cops and gets the IRA into trouble, tries to set up the IRA in some way, or someone more useful comes along. Even with the latter, Tony would not waste time (he just would drop Nidge). It may well be we actually have seen the last of the IRA in this series and the viewer assumes that Nidge continues to work for Tony. I do feel though Tony will appear on and off throughout series 5 but more as an ally/favour trader arrangement where Nidge gives Tony help and Tony protects Nidge in return for his use.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

Any one reckon nidge's crew will take out a Garda,it has happened lately in Ireland (Garda that was shot dead escorting a credit union deliver in Louth I believe) it would be realistic but would probably cause up roar if rte show a garda getting slayed?

• Registered Users Posts: 45 Flying Spaghetti Monster

Gavin Drea is a good actor, shame they had to off him so early in Love/Hate, he had potential for a role in series 3 and 4.

How many people reported in the news to have been clipped in Ireland today? Just saying.

I'll stick with actual good acting and writing thanks ;)

Everyone has a breaking point though. Just as Nidge could turn to Tony, Carlo could turn to Nidge

http://www.thepotato.ie/2013/03/new-lovehate-storylines-leaked/

This is a spoof I suppose but I think they get it half right. Obviously, there is no sign of this Fiachra and Darren is dead but Nidge is having his issues with the traveller gangs but no sign of Ronan Keating! Meanwhile, the cast of Love/Hate are making a series about corrupt Irish politicians and yes Bertie does feature along with title character Charlie! The Fran finding out part could indeed be right, though!

Everyone has a breaking point though. Just as Nidge could turn to Tony, Carlo could turn to Nidge

True. If Nidge and Fran fall out, of course Carlo will notice this and see in Nidge someone who could help him do away with a paranoid Fran.

Nidge saw in Tony some he could do business with and knew that Dano's continued personal feud had no relevance for the IRA. He took a risk in meeting Tony in the last episode but his instinct was correct in that Tony would choose him over Dano.

Gavin Drea is a good actor, shame they had to off him so early in Love/Hate, he had potential for a role in series 3 and 4.

Luke was a creepy character it would have been interesting to see him in series 3 and 4. I guess Mary's character was discontinued due to Ruth Bradley moving onto other things and Luke's character had a lot to do with hers?

One interesting thing about Luke's demise is that we get to see that rarity of Nidge himself taking someone out. Surprisingly too, this killing is not drug related: it is a favour to Darren to set Mary's mind at ease (even though Mary would hardly approve!) and Darren's as Darren believed Luke would end up killing or raping Mary.

SRFC wrote: »
    Any one reckon nidge's crew will take out a Garda,it has happened lately in Ireland (Garda that was shot dead escorting a credit union deliver in Louth I believe) it would be realistic but would probably cause up roar if rte show a garda getting slayed?

It is hard to know what could happen here with the gang v gardai storylines and if the gang take out a garda. Personally, Nidge would be too clever to do so or sanction anyone to do so.

But I could see something like this arising: the gang shoot but only injure a garda (killing would create uproar agreed so it would be probably avoided!) but Nidge would not have sanctioned it and does not approve. Nidge then could punish whoever did the hit by setting him up to be arrested.

Wait a minute, wait a minute... what if, Luke isn't actually dead, he somehow survived being shot several times by Nidge and Darren slipped him a breathing device on the sly out of pity before himself and Nidge buried him 'alive'.

Think about it, it was shortly after that that Mary disappeared without a trace.

Perhaps Mary realised her true feelings for Luke and they ran away to Spain or somewhere together. It's a possibility.

I'll be down in Paddy Power tomorrow morning getting odds for that, believe me!