Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love/Hate [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Benteke

Guards are to protect and serve, They very rarely sit back and watch someone dies, Especially when it's been video taped by themselves

• Registered Users Posts: 20,995 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

bigpoppa wrote: »
    it is comparable to underbelly despite people making out its the sopranos - as hilarious as underbelly was / is it is feels structurally more sound than love hate imo
    not at all...underbelly was great but lacked realism (ironically seeing as it's factual) and had a lot more american style dramatics...love hate is really striving to cut out all that crap...just straight down to business...maybe people would prefer the extra dramatics....i don;t

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭tronman

The fact Nidge knows the Ra killed Darren, knew Lizzie came to his house, ended up killing Wayne probably partly due to the house break-in... makes it even madder he didn't pursue Lizzie or even mention her name after catching Wayne.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,202 ✭✭✭maximoose

it's actaully becoming obvious people are watching tv and their phones at the same time...many items that people are complaining about they simply missed! ie the teeth

The teeth were a bit stupid though.. yeah he got falsies, why would he have them in and out so much?

Of course you could say he was probably getting used to the plate or didn't like having them in, and we shouldn't have to be spoonfed every little detail - but honestly it just looked like bad continuity/editing last night.

But yeah - a silly point to nitpick on.

zpehtsfd wrote: »
    Anyone know where i can get a wife like Trish - doesn't bother to call and let's me hang out in brothels? I understand the need for introducing new characters but does it have to be a the expense of other ones. Someone dropped the ball on her. Terrible.

Yeah really weird season for her. She was one of the highlights of S3 and barely been an afterthought of S4. Such a waste. There have been too many characters for a 6 episode season, far too many.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 46 mud_guard

Anyone know where i can get a wife like Trish - doesn't bother to call and let's me hang out in brothels? I understand the need for introducing new characters but does it have to be a the expense of other ones. Someone dropped the ball on her. Terrible.

how did they drop the ball , gangsters usually have women , violent men have never had a problem down the milenia in attracting skirt , its only western civilisation which has shamed women into saying they don't like rough aggressive types

guys like nidge always have an ayr

Benteke wrote: »
    Guards are to protect and serve, They very rarely sit back and watch someone dies, Especially when it's been video taped by themselves

guards sit back and watch miscarriages of justice happen in the courts all the time , especially when it comes to relatively minor district court type cases which wont make front page news or draw scrutiny upon them

• Registered Users Posts: 7,937 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

maximoose wrote: »
    The teeth were a bit stupid though.. yeah he got falsies, why would he have them in and out so much?

Of course you could say he was probably getting used to the plate or didn't like having them in, and we shouldn't have to be spoonfed every little detail - but honestly it just looked like bad continuity/editing last night.

the impressions for them were only done in the episode 2 weeks ago. he must've picked them up on thursday or something to be ready for the show on sunday :pac:

new dentures can take a bit of time to get used to. like a new pair of shoes. especially replacing front teeth, he'd normally be lisping and all sorts while getting used to them

tronman wrote: »
    Yeah really weird season for her. She was one of the highlights of S3 and barely been an afterthought of S4. Such a waste. There have been too many characters for a 6 episode season, far too many.

what is she bar t1ts and as5 ?

shes a tramp who married for money and doesn't care where the money comes from

Obama maybe??? Would be a twist

rte wouldn't allow that

maximoose wrote: »

Its nitpicking again but in the last scene when Nidge was scraping his moobs, they were white, then scraped red, then white again then scraped red. So you could see the blood before he started going into full meltdown.

• Registered Users Posts: 55,529 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I see where you're coming from but I think they were caught between a rock and a hard place. Introduce more of her lame acting and irritate people or keep her hidden (risking a weaker plot) and spare us.

mud_guard wrote: »
    guards sit back and watch miscarriages of justice happen in the courts all the time , especially when it comes to relatively minor district court type cases which wont make front page news or draw scrutiny upon them

Their whole case was to catch the gang red handed on tape, Now how would it have looked if they sat back and watched someone die in the courts?

the optics would be bad but its not like the guards were the ones who caused his death , people die while in garda custody on a relatively regular basis and no one is ever charged despite it being obvious the prisoner was a victim of garda brutality , the result isn't people on the street calling for the commissioners head

Gardai brutality is never caught on tape, The smart guards don't do it in front of a camera, After that it's one word against another, Last night's scene was clear for everyone to see

• Registered Users Posts: 19,192 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

because guards use people ( like Siobhan and tommy ) as a means to an end all the time , if you think guards are all corn fed boy scouts , your incredibly naïve , to give just one example , guards tell lies in interview rooms to suspects in order to try and draw them out
    how many guards were sacked over abbeylara ?

detective moynihans attack of morality was pretty unrealistic

So I take it you're a fan of the Gardaí?

• Registered Users Posts: 35 lordRothery

So what happened with Dani from the RA anyway ?

Was he killed or what ?

MrStuffins wrote: »
    So I take it you're a fan of the Gardaí?

lets stay on topic , shall we ?

context , theorys have been presented as to the guards actions in the show

impressive dossier you,ve gather there though , good work

• Registered Users Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

I'm not sure surveillance video is actually used as evidence, just for monitoring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

So what happened with Dani from the RA anyway ?

Was he killed or what ?

Yes he was, Keith

• Registered Users Posts: 10,888 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

The IT review of last night:
    The first episode of this fourth series of Love/Hate was so promising. Gang boss Nidge (Tom Vaughan-Lawlor) was paranoid and with reason; there was contract out on his life and the police, headed up a top cop, Det Moynihan (Brian F O’Byrne) were out to get him.

Two potentially complex characters with fine actors playing them and a simple, even classic set-up – cops and robbers, the good guys versus the baddies. Each had their gangs. Nidge’s sidekick was psycho Fran (Peter Coonan) and there was the extra frisson that the cop playing Moynihan’s sidekick was in real life a member of the actual garda drugs squad doing an acting nixer.

Rub your hands and get ready for truck loads of gritty TV realism from writer Stuart Carolan and director David Caffrey. You’d think. But that was six weeks ago and six hours of TV needs strong storylines with layers of complexity to carry it along and give it tension something this series of Love/Hate simply didn’t have.

The central storyline was Nidge’s importation of a massive shipment of drugs that the cops know about – a standard, even familiar TV police-procedural plot, too thin to carry all that was asked of it. And the cops and robbers idea fell apart after episode one because the police characters were so under-written that when compared with Nidge and Fran there was no real dramatic contest.

With so little to go on, it’s not surprising that last night’s dull, improbable final episode needed so much padding. And so Love/Hate resorted to camera trickery to pass the time: speeded up shots of Dublin, night and day, and clouds scudding across the sky – the stuff of music videos and pretty, lifestyle drama series like RTE’s Raw.

When the cops staked out Dublin port there were so many shots of cranes and containers being loaded, it could have been one of those TV programmes that shows in boring detail how our transport system works. And a taxi man doesn’t do as much mileage as Nidge - counting the number of times he got in and out of his Lexus would have made an intoxicating drinking game for bored viewers. O’Byrne, when he took on the role of ace detective Moynihan, can’t have predicted his character would spend so much time in a car giving orders to his men via walk talkie. His role – a key one in this series - was so under-written so that towards the end when Nidge is in custody and they finally sit across the table from each other, they have a staring match that had as much threat and menace as a couple of schoolboys eyeballing each other in the playground.

Some frayed storylines where tied up: Fran, paranoid that Nidge is cutting him out of the deal, tries to get information from the dentist but instead kills him in a scene that should have been a powerful showstopper. But aren’t dentists supposed to be good with their hands? Instead of trying to wrestle with psycho Fran who was smothering him with a plastic bag, wouldn’t he have just poked a hole in the bag or at least tried to? That was mid-way through the episode that then began to jolt along, like a car with a flat tire.

Some loose ends were tied up, hurriedly and without any real conviction. The bomb maker who Nidge wanted to kill is seen getting on a ferry; the kid who Nidge is grooming as the next generation is killed by his feral friend, and Nidge having spent a large part of the series hiding away with the woman who runs his brothel goes back to his wife, Trish (Aoibhinn McGinnity) for sex. Or maybe for more than that, but that’s all we were shown. Series three ended with Tommy on death’s door in hospital – and that’s where he ended up at the end of this series too.

Inevitably there was a scene with a stunning looking woman, scantily clad in amazing looking lingerie – there’s rarely an episode where there hasn’t been. Women characters have never been strong in Love/Hate but the final episode showed quite how under-used or simple forgotten they were this series – from Nidge’s wife who could have done so much more, to Tommy’s wife, Siobhan (Charlie Murphy) who ended the series as she began, with the same wet-eyed doleful expression.

Series four was always going to be about Nidge and in the end he contrives to get himself arrested and we see – in an overblown scene where he goes mental in the cell - that he has finally lost it. So too has Love/Hate.

some good points I think, particularly about the poor female roles in this series

lets stay on topic , shall we ?

context , theorys have been presented as to the guards actions in the show

impressive dossier you,ve gather there though , good work

To call the guards in the show unrealistic because of cherry picked actions of particular bad apples in the Gardai is silly.

your not bad at the old cherry picking yourself , ive sent a lot of posts on this thread and you select ones which focus on AGS

oh and im not the only one who thought detective moynihans actions were unrealistic

can we now move on ?

• Registered Users Posts: 35 lordRothery

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Yes he was, Keith

Keith ?

So kneecapping was enough to kill him ?

blasted in legs in middle of nowhere

bled to death

• Registered Users Posts: 34 tafkapts

Keith ?

Don't know if the kneecapping was enough to kill him, but after they shot him they took his phone and left him in the woods to bleed out, so i'd say that is the end of Dano.

your not bad at the old cherry picking yourself , ive sent a lot of posts on this thread and you select ones which focus on AGS

oh and im not the only one who thought detective moynihans actions were unrealistic

can we now move on ?

Why would we move on? I'm talking about the show.

I cherry picked those posts because they were the relevant ones.

Det. Moynahan is shown to be a good guy, one who wouldn't let Tommy die just to get his collar. To say it's unrealistic because of a few cases of Gardai being corrupt is wide of the mark. There are good Gardai out there. Many many of them.

Det. Moynahan is shown to be a good guy, one who wouldn't let Tommy die just to get his collar.

tbf it showed his struggle with the decision...it's not like he immediately decided to call the ambulance

and the other cop was telling him not to...so I think it was a realsitic portrayal of what that moment would be like

Great article above - nailed on the head.

The first episode of S4 with the tiger raid it must be said was brilliant. Really what should have happened is a whole sequence of events based off of that, like the opening of S3. With Tommy accidentally ratting and messing everything up it was perfect. So many things could have happened then. Fran and Nidge's face-off could have happened then, Tommy's memory could have been jogged, Siobhan v Nidge, etc. Tommy, Fran and Nidge's issues could have got proper airing over the next 5 episodes.

The dentist and the drugs stumbled upon by him hitting a prozzie, the (still) unresolved murder of Darren, the Ra's involvement, Wayne, Debbie, reviving the pipe bomber from S2 - all of this was unnecessary IMO and all of which there wasn't enough time to cover fully. So disappointed by the handling of Darren's slaying throughout S4. The hot topic for the past 11 months was just cast aside until 5 mins before the end of S4. Baffling.

Riskymove wrote: »
    tbf it showed his struggle with the decision...it's not like he immediately decided to call the ambulance

and the other cop was telling him not to...so I think it was a realsitic portrayal of what that moment would be like

Agreed. He thought about it for a second but his conscience won out. The other cop telling him to leave Tommy die was a nice touch I thought.

It also shows that his promise before to Siobhan to not let Tommy get hurt wasn't just a spoof to get her onside. (or at least not fully)