Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love/Hate [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Elmo wrote: »
    I don't know I have never liked him in anything he as done, he has always been a bit creepy IMO.
    I've only ever seen him in Queer As Folk and I thought he was quite good, but then again I think "creepy" was the main attribute of his character.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,378 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

9/10 from me so far anyway. Very similar to the Australian gangster drama that TV3 are showing at the moment. Cant see what the fascination with Ruth Negga is though. Cant say I rate her at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭xalot

I think it's grand. A bit boring.
    The main problem I have is the sappy love story between the lead guy and the ex girlfriend, it's just ridiculous. It's not a realsitic relationship on any level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Namabillion

Missed it last night. Was it good or bad?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

laugh wrote: »
    Every time there is a new RTE drama, there are champions with a low post count!

Drat. sussed. :D

(in my defence all my pay-offs go to support my drinking habits)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭MingulayJohnny

I find this show to be hit and miss tbh. All of the guys in John Boy's crew are believable as hoods esp the fella second in from the left in the promo shot below. The guy who plays Darren does not cut it as a hard chaw in my opinion though. He just doesn't have the grit that you would need in that world. No offence to the guy he's prob be ok in a period drama as a suitor or something. Maybe when he gets a bit more chiseled by the world he might be able to portray heavy characters but he's not up to it yet imo. I'm still interested to see how it unfolds though.

0003bfa6-314.jpg

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

I thought episode 2 was better then the first episode, but did anything even happen? It's on for the best part of an hour and I don't think the story moved forward at all.
    I'd put money on John Boy being responsible for Robbie's shooting, but I'd have said that last week anyway. Last night achieved nothing in terms of moving the story along.

I thought the most realistic/believable bit of acting came from the guy who rang pretty boy to tell him to leave his missus alone.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

BaZmO* wrote: »
    I've only ever seen him in Queer As Folk and I thought he was quite good, but then again I think "creepy" was the main attribute of his character.

He seems to play the same character. In "The Wire" he played a sleazy politician but I never thought the script was going for a sleazy politician.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Haven't read the thread so forgive me if I'm repeating other's points.

I'm usually the first to jump on the RTÉ bashing wagon but I have to say after watching both of eps of this programme I was fairly pleased with the result.
    It's a bit formulaic, borrows heavily from The Wire (the scene at the end of ep1 with the target practice being the most obvious) and Shameless in terms of camera work and scene shots...the story is a bit hackneyed and lacklustre but better than other such dramas RTÉ have put out in the past...not the usual selection of actors either, good to see some new faces, even if the acting isn't always up to scratch.

Aiden Gillen is a let down IMO...he's been picked to add weight to the role but it's a wooden one dimensional character and his Dub accent needs a lot of work...I'm sure there were a lot of very apt actors Irish actors that could have played this role and made it a better effort.
    Sheehan is excellent (same as in Misfits) and I hope to see more roles for him in Irish/UK drama, Gleeson's son is very good...

This show also has an element of a David McWilliams documentary about it...the cut scenes, fast moving traffic shots, celtic tiger architecture, etc. It's like the producers wanted to make sure they ticked all the boxes.
    The soundtrack is another thing; why the need for all the US hip hop? IMO the producers missed a good oportunity to use some Irish hip hop acts instead of JayZ Dre etc (I like hip hop btw)...also I feel there's almost too much music and there are sound issues with actors voices being dorwned out, but really this is just nitpicking.

tl;dr version.
    Surprisingly decent effort on RTÉ's part, one of the few of their dramas that didn't have me switching off after 5 minutes. Looking forward to seeing where this goes (even though it's probably a predictable outcome) although I don't really care about any of the characters at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭LevelSpirit

This seems to have disappeared of the RTE player - even the first episode that i watched on it last week - or am I just blind.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I think Robert Sheehan is just a little too young for the part, he barely looks 22 and I can't see him as threatening really. I will say I can't fault his acting, he just looks too young for the part. He is beautiful to look at though. He is defintely a face to look out for over the next couple of years.

Overall I have enjoyed the show, don't think it should be on a Sunday though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 atomic17

I'm writing an article about Love/Hate and I need your opinions!

I want to get an idea of what people think about the programme? Do you think provides an apt portrayal of Dublin 'gangland' or is it grossly exaggerated?
    Are the characters believable etc?
    And whatever else you have to add!

I'm particularly interested in speaking to people who have been affected by 'gangland' crime or live in/nearby an affected area.

But all thoughts are welcome, just send me a private message and we can email or I'll give you a ring if it suits.
    Really need your help ASAP, Thanks guys!!!

atomic17 wrote: »

I want to get an idea of what people think about the programme? Do you think provides an apt portrayal of Dublin 'gangland' or is it grossly exaggerated?

I'm particularly interested in speaking to people who have been affected by 'gangland' crime or live in/nearby an affected area.

But all thoughts are welcome, just send me a private message and we can email or I'll give you a ring if it suits.
    Ehh, cheeky. Do your own work. Or at the very least, read the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 atomic17

dont want to just nick a load of faceless quotes thats why I asked.

Think it might be frowned upon without asking a mod first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭rob88

second episode was just as ****.. so the guys get some drugs, put them in a van, drive down the road with a car behind them, drive into a garage, put the drugs in bags and put them in the car that was behind them and drive out again, wow the guards were really fooled i'm sure with that switch, meanwhile the sheehan guy does various poses of sitting down looking lost, sitting in his car outside a house looking lost, babysittin and talking about his emotions and his brother.. and the party scene was so embarrassing.. real criminals have to be pissing their hole at this

I think the main issue I have with this show is that it doesn't really know what it wants to be. Even in the general style of the thing. Some scenes it's all dark and gritty, and then the next thing it's all slick and shiny slow mo's of people doing coke and some pigeons flying off the street.
    It's glamorizing this life style one minute and then it's trying to get us to root for the guy who's trying to get out of it? All the fellahs are being made out to be tools who can't keep it in their pants and don't give a **** about their girlfriends or kids. How are we supposed to care about them at all?

I know it's not The Sopranos but if you look at that show, they all did some terrible things, and were basically violent thugs, but the writers were good enough to make us care about what happened to them. Every single one of them could be shot next week on Love Hate and I wouldn't care. The only one of them that's slightly interesting to me is Tommy? But that's probably because he's hardly done anything yet, and as such hasn't had a chance to make me dislike him yet.

There's still a couple of episodes left, so I'll reserve judgement, but so far I'd say it's better than most things RTE has done, but it's still not great.

And, having been born, raised, and still living in an area heavily involved and affected by this kind of thing, I don't find it terribly realistic. I don't see anyone or anything I know in this show. Which again makes me wonder how much research went into writing it? Was it just a case of looking at the news headlines and making the rest up himself, or did he actually go and talk to people about it?

It's a TV Drama. It will do all the things Elish O'Hanlon says but that is why they call it entertainment. I don't believe that it is anything like what Dublin Gandland is really like, and I don't think it glamorizes Gangland anymore than the press glamorizes it. I don't think it is either grossly exaggerated and in a way I hope that Gangland life is a little more exciting.
    There's still a couple of episodes left, so I'll reserve judgement, but so far I'd say it's better than most things RTE has done, but it's still not great.

I don't agree with this part of that statement, if you look at RTÉ Drama over they past 10 years this series doesn't stand up all that well. But then we are still basing most of RTÉ Drama on Fair City. BTW I say this everytime a new RTÉ Drama appears and yet people still seem to think that whatever the new Drama it is far better than anything RTÉ have done in the past. :rolleyes:

Elmo wrote: »
    I don't agree with this part of that statement, if you look at RTÉ Drama over they past 10 years this series doesn't stand up all that well. But then we are still basing most of RTÉ Drama on Fair City. BTW I say this everytime a new RTÉ Drama appears and yet people still seem to think that whatever the new Drama it is far better than anything RTÉ have done in the past. :rolleyes:

Well to be honest I was just trying to throw in something positive so I wasn't accused of being one of those negative Nelly's that bashes everything RTE just because it's RTE.
    The only other RTE produced shows that I remember watching at all were Pure Mule, and Love Is The Drug (I think that's what it was called?) both of which I enjoyed more than I am enjoying Love/Hate.

Hang on, I might have watched Legend? or something like that as well. I think the sister from Love/Hate was in that too, and that guy who doesn't know what a tracker mortgage is and now Bertie Ahern lives in his fridge. I'm pretty sure that was of a fairly decent standard too.

• Registered Users Posts: 650 ✭✭✭spiderdan

Have to say I thought this was absolute tripe! Unwatchable in parts, utter cringe!! I've never watched a drama so badly cast in my life, and Aidan Gillen WTF such a fall from grace, was a big fan of his in The Wire but my god he's awful in this, how has he forgotten a Dublin accent! Very sloppy direction too, and what's the fixation with Dundrum Town Centre? One scene a character is on the N7 heading to Cork next he arrives in Grand Canal Dock, its really careless. Watch for the comedic value, me and my mates got great laughs out of this the other night. Oh yeah who the Fcuk goes to see a psychic these days a shrink maybe but a psychic who has his own clinic? hilarious stuff.

spiderdan wrote: »
    Very sloppy direction too, and what's the fixation with Dundrum Town Centre? One scene a character is on the N7 heading to Cork next he arrives in Grand Canal Dock, its really careless!

Suspended Disbelieve!?! I don't think this should matter. Anyway wasn't he driving the van around Dublin to avoid being caught (if that is the scene you are talking about).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭91011

One scene a character is on the N7 heading to Cork next he arrives in Grand Canal Dock, its really careless.
    Its fiction! - Its not a travel programme.
    By this thinking, Braveheart got it all wrong as it was filimed in Ireland when it was telling you a scottish story!

The fact that you know the locations has nothing whatsover to do with the programme as the locations are in theory totally fictitious.

its not one particular scene its the whole geography of the show, they seem to think its not important, but the majority of viewers are from Dublin. When watching it none of the scenes had any consistency! TBH this is the least of their worries regarding how bad the show is. Real pity because its such an interesting topic and really could have been done well, at least RTE tried and are showing they're willing to take a few risks e.g. Hardy Bucks which is very watchable.

Thanks for pointing out it isn't a travel program! maybe if it was it'd be more interesting/ watchable!! As I said it really is a minor issue, there are so many more important problems with this program.

its not one particular scene its the whole geography of the show, they seem to think its not important, but the majority of viewers are from Dublin. When watching it none of the scenes had any consistency!

I was trying to figure out what shopping centre it was. :rolleyes: thanks. I don't know if the majority of viewers are either from or living in Dublin. And many Dublin people don't know the way around their own city. (Many on here seemed to think it was based on the northside, I felt that was a bit of an insult when you could see most of this kind of thing happens on the southside :D )

its funny from what we could make out its nearly all southside, the house the main character was stalking the supposed killer is in a really nice estate in Stillorgan D4! I heard a criticism that it was way to commercialised with all the Audi's, Golf's, Dundrum shopping Centre's, Ocean Bar GCD, a bit too much product placement. Not too sure if I agree with or not, there may be a point.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,755 ✭✭✭A V A

ehhh wasnt filmed in d4!!!!!!!!! it was filmed in an estate called castlefield out in blachardstown was filmed last year i remember walking past people filming and i know the neighbors next door to the house :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,981 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

Who are you doing this work for? Can you split the cash with us?

The characters are not believable. A skanger, nacker, gandland memeber would scare the sh*t out of you by their accent, general demeaner, personna.

None of the characters are scary. They come across as teenagers from Malahide / Howth / Blackrock that are trying to act hard. Their teeth / skin are in good nick which is rarely the case for nackers. Their accents aren't good at all. They houses are all pretty nice. Usually in drug dealing gangs only the very top are making money, anyone working for the ring leader is usually on f all.

The music is cringe inducing, it's trying to give it a black gansta edge. I thought most nackers listened to R & B, Bob Marley and UB 40.

The scenes are all too flashy. I think they would have been better off having long tense scences, build the tensions and allowed the characters to develope a bit more.

Actors: 2 / 10
    Screenplay: 2 / 10
    Script: 3 / 10
    Editing: 4 / 10.

Pretty bad stuff overall. But entertaining in the same way Fair City is.