Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love/Hate [** Spoilers **]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Nidge, Dazzler, Fran, it's like a juggling act, which ball is going to get dropped first?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

I like the Debbie storyline.

I believed her too :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Anyone else disappointed with tonights epiosde? The story didnt really progress too much and not a load happened. I dont see how Ray's death contributed at all towards developing the story???

Yeh, felt the same here. There is no depth to the main protagonists so it has nowhere much to go, one dimensional, we're just limping towards a violent climax I'm afraid.
    Some nice work by the supporting cast this week, the budgie nonsense was a bit embarassing though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭thiarfearr

What did the trailor for next week show, I missed it? Also reckon there could be some rifts in the RIRA, a lot of focus on them this week without seeming to advance the story too much, so I'd say something will happen next week. Wonder what the significance with Aidos budgie is as well

Nidge, Dazzler, Fran, it's like a juggling act, which ball is going to get dropped first?

Could be Dano also. He is completely spiralling out of control.

thiarfearr wrote: »
    What did the trailor for next week show, I missed it? Also reckon there could be some rifts in the RIRA, a lot of focus on them this week without seeming to advance the story too much, so I'd say something will happen next week. Wonder what the significance with Aidos budgie is as well

He could take a pop at the solicitor Dave maybe? :) We havent really seen a nasty side to Aido's character so thats a possibility

Have tosay I'm delighted with tonights episode, can't have mass murder everynight. There were some very good scenes in it. I was particularly touched by yer ones ra brother looking out for her telling Dazzler to get away.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

I reckon the budgie and the Pidgeon are faking their deaths and in the next episode they will deliver mini cameras to Store Street Garda station with incriminating info on both sides.

Then they will fly off somewhere hot. Like the canaries (jesus i'm good) :D

• Registered Users Posts: 14 cents

Didn't Darren used to work for Fran in the past? wouldn't be surprised if it came full circle again maybe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

Do you not remember him basically raping debbie when she was out of it?

He was out of it himself at the time. No harm was done at the end of the day, he was a good lad in comparison to the others.

• Registered Users Posts: 984 ✭✭✭ViveLaVie

He was out of it himself at the time. No harm was done at the end of the day, he was a good lad in comparison to the others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Jaysus

Are they in the clear for the murder of Git now, or is there any chance of that coming back next week? Seems to be the RIRA vs Nidge & whatever Darren decides to do, actually come to think of nearly everybodies unstable with Aido and Debbie ****ed, only sane one is Fran

Wondering is Dazzler worth more to Fran then Nidge at this stage.

If Nidge is out of the way it clears a path for Fran to take over at the top whereas Dazzler isnt really a threat as such.

Great episode the way they are building up the tension. Great to see Nidges missus find out the other side of being a gangsters moll for a change.

Isnt all Jimmy Choo's and fancy weddings in Carton House love

If Dano disobeys Tony, we could see Dano clipped. Then things are up in the air regarding Nidge and the low fat ra. Hes bringing in their gear after all.

Nidges missus is fine though.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

I reckon Darren will tell Fran that Nidge fire-bombed his wife. Nidge will tell the 'Ra that Fran killed Git, and tell them where the body is, so they'll take care of Fran. Dano will still want to get Nidge anyway, but the higher up 'Ra lad will want Nidge to keep bringing the guns in, so they'll probably kill Dano.

I can't see them killing off Darren, I think the writers see him as the central character. But I don't think they want him running the gang either, he's supposed the be the "normal" and "decent" guy who has been dragged into gangland stuff by his upbringing but doesn't want to be there. So they'll probably have him doing a runner back to Spain at the end.

That'd leave Nidge in charge still (he's too good a character to kill off anyway). Darren will come back at the start of next season for some reason, and even though him and Nidge will hate each other, Darren will end up working for him again (the same way he did with John Boy).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Barry Barry

This is what makes it interesting imo.

Waiting for this weeks episode to be uploaded to RTE player

stevenmu wrote: »
    I reckon Darren will tell Fran that Nidge fire-bombed his wife. Nidge will tell the 'Ra that Fran killed Git, and tell them where the body is, so they'll take care of Fran. Dano will still want to get Nidge anyway, but the higher up 'Ra lad will want Nidge to keep bringing the guns in, so they'll probably kill Dano.

They burnt Gits body so can't do that

• Registered Users Posts: 8,693 ✭✭✭Lisha

But Fran has the toe it could be his downfall yet

• Registered Users Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

The storyline with the RA lad who overdoses on the viagra is excellent. After seven years fighting his abuse case he gets his compensation. His life was obviously ruined after the abuse and he ended up with the RA. He finally gets his compensation and dies that night. A tragic life.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Oh yeah. They did burn it in a grave though didn't they? So they could show them the bones anyway. They might be identifiable, maybe dental records or something.

Also Fran kept his souvenir, that might be enough.

Lisha wrote: »
    But Fran has the toe it could be his downfall yet

Is it not a finger?

'I have a bone to pick with you' :pac:

That had me in stitches last week!

On RTE player now for anyone interested

stevenmu wrote: »
    Oh yeah. They did burn it in a grave though didn't they? So they could show them the bones anyway. They might be identifiable, maybe dental records or something.

Also Fran kept his souvenir, that might be enough.

Think they just threw his body on a load of pallets, as far as Nidge is concerned though, no traces of the body exist, because Fran was saying he'd freak out if he knew he had Gits finger

• Registered Users Posts: 8,693 ✭✭✭Lisha

Is it not a finger?

'I have a bone to pick with you' :pac:

That had me in stitches last week!

It looked like a finger but Fran called it a toe or maybe I misheard and he said bone actually
    It was funny alright

Mardy Bum wrote: »
    The storyline with the RA lad who overdoses on the viagra is excellent. After seven years fighting his abuse case he gets his compensation. His life was obviously ruined after the abuse and he ended up with the RA. He finally gets his compensation and dies that night. A tragic life.

The brothers are so alike they must be twins. Was it Ray or Paddy got the compensation?

No idea of the names but I think the fella who had the viagra also received the compensation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

Mardy Bum wrote: »

That is a great story in its own right.

But it seems to have noting to do with the story we have been following in all the episodes in this series of Love/Hate. I just dont see how it really fits in....

It has just come from nowhere which seems strange to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Laneyh

I wonder if the video sent by John Boy's daughter had any significance other than to show that Nidge is getting increasingly paranoid

That is a great story in its own right.

But it seems to have noting to do with the story we have been following in all the episodes in this series of Love/Hate. I just dont see how it really fits in....

It has just come from nowhere which seems strange to me.

Well when a writer comes up with a character they try to make the character fully rounded, give him a back story etc. With the clerical abuse being such massive issue in Ireland it is clear that it would touch someone in the show.

Every character in this show is severely damaged. How else would you end up leading such horrible lives certainly not by choice, whether it is self inflicted through drugs or clear mental disorders such as psychopathy.

It seems strange to you because we have come not to expect such complexity from Irish television. This is something you would expect in the Wire.