Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love/Hate [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Godot.

Lizzie

Hope her and Darren get together :)

Mardy Bum wrote: »
    The storyline with the RA lad who overdoses on the viagra is excellent. After seven years fighting his abuse case he gets his compensation. His life was obviously ruined after the abuse and he ended up with the RA. He finally gets his compensation and dies that night. A tragic life.

The jagerbombs and tequila shots he was downing earlier cant have helped his cause

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭meath12

i just think its strange that they have always left little things with john boys murder that never really made sense, the fact that we never actually found out why darren killed him, no one was questioned about it even though it happened in a pub with people in it, he was only shot in the face and there was a closed coffin so we didnt actually see johnboy in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Godot. wrote: »

Hope her and Darren get together :)
    In a weird way so do I. The level of cheating on it is unreal. Does anyone stay faithful apart from Trish.

KKkitty wrote: »
    In a weird way so do I. The level of cheating on it is unreal. Does anyone stay faithful apart from Trish.

Agreed. Found it kinda saddening in a way Siobhan was looking to ride Darren. Aye, Tommy cheated on her a lot, but I thought she had higher morals (comparatively) to the rest. Maybe it's the fact Tommy is in hospital made it seem a worse deed than it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Cartel Mike

They won't kill off Nidge anyway , he's been the best character for the 3 seasons.

They are doing more and more close-up comic facial expression shots of him . Just like with for example Tony Soprano and a lesser extent Walter White in Breaking Bad.

They'd struggle for another season without Nidge I think. Best actor in it.

meath12 wrote: »
    i just think its strange that they have always left little things with john boys murder that never really made sense, the fact that we never actually found out why darren killed him, no one was questioned about it even though it happened in a pub with people in it, he was only shot in the face and there was a closed coffin so we didnt actually see johnboy in it.

I think its safe to assume he is dead but he is still haunting Nidge. Darren called Nidge, 'Nidge Weasel' over the phone and Nidge freaked out to give an indication of how he is really rattled by John Boy's ghost if you like

Nidge knew that Darren was going to be at the pub to clip Aido so he wanted John Boy out of the way instead so he could take control. Dont forget also the war between Darren and John Boy/Hughie from series 1 which Darren was motivated to kill John Boy to avenge Robbies death

They won't kill off Nidge anyway , he's been the best character for the 3 seasons.

They are doing more and more close-up comic facial expression shots of him . Just like with for example Tony Soprano and a lesser extent Walter White in Breaking Bad.

Tommy is by far the most kill-off-able. Will anyone actually notice if he is brain damaged? Probably won't be able to use his mickey as much, mind. :pac:

Superb actor but dont forget he is playing a gangland boss so its quite possible he could be killed off. Thats the nature of the game. When you rise to the top everyone wants to take you down and its clear that Nidgey boy is out of his depth as the 'Don'.

• Registered Users Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Cartel Mike

Tommy is by far the most kill-off-able. Will anyone actually notice if he is brain damaged? Probably won't be able to use his mickey as much, mind. :pac:

Yea Tommy or Dano or both. I think Danno needs to go as part if the plot anyway, maybe even whacked by the McGinley character.

Agreed. Found it kinda saddening in a way Siobhan was looking to ride Darren. Aye, Tommy cheated on her a lot, but I thought she had higher morals (comparatively) to the rest. Maybe it's the fact Tommy is in hospital made it seem a worse deed than it is.
    Tommy can't be really in love with Siobhan that's for sure. Darren is dependable I think. He would do anything for someone he loved. Next week shall be good anyway.

Trish is my favourite character because she doesn't cheat and is a good mother. Way out of Nidge's league in terms of looks too. :D

Nidge is a bad boy so that's what attracts women to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,551 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I wonder will they kill off a main character next week like they did in season 2.

It looks like there will be a confrontation between Nidges gang and the Ra so I would imagine someone will die.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

In last weeks episode, at the start when Trish wouldn't talk to him, he gave the best "you're a dope" line delivery I've ever heard I think!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

Debbie does not look like a junkie :pac:
    Most graphic scene of the series for me was Dano killing the pigeons, couldn't watch it :eek: and I'd watch everything else not a bother

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭thiarfearr

Wonder if the Gardai could find out about Georgina and Tommy, and blame Dano for attacking Tommy?

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Fran will take the whole lot of them out in the end

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Nidge is a bad boy so that's what attracts women to him.

That, and the money.

RainyDay wrote: »

That, and the money.
    Darren is way better looking and gets no one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Darren is way better looking and gets no one.

Darren is broke, so it's a true to life story lol :D

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭Frere Jacques

I liked the Johnboy angle. I wonder is solicitor Dave behind the powerpoint thing. He is no friend of Nidge after Nidge threathened him after Johnboys funeral. I think Nidge is getting pretty close to the edge. After Darren turned down Siobhan, I can see him heading for England with Lizzie and the change from Ray's 20 grand. I don't think Paddy will be left to spend any of it. Angry Aido might blow him away when Paddy and Dano turn up looking for info. Debbie is going to be found sprawled on the floor of a disused building ODed. A tragic end to a tragic figure.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Fran will take the whole lot of them out in the end

yep, I've been thinking that all along too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭wicklowwonder

How many balls of cash has Darren received off Nidge in the last three episodes. Approx 3 or 4k. Darren is some boy to spend the money but yet not change his hoody!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

How many balls of cash has Darren received off Nidge in the last three episodes. Approx 3 or 4k. Darren is some boy to spend the money but yet not change his hoody!

Darren's whole behaviour has become a glaring inconsistency alright. If he is sending to or supporting someone with the money, shouldn't we know about it as he is one of the main characters?
    Same problem with Siobhan's behaviour and her switching on and off of her trauma. I would imagine it is a very insulting characterisation to those who have been brutalised in this way, although when asked to depict the trauma the actress is excellent.
    The Real IRA chap parking up outside the garda station to watch was also sloppy and unbelievable.
    It's a real shame as I think a good commissioning editor should have interrogated these writing or directorial decisions and ironed them out.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,843 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Darren's whole behaviour has become a glaring inconsistency alright. If he is sending to or supporting someone with the money, shouldn't we know about it as he is one of the main characters?
    Same problem with Siobhan's behaviour and her switching on and off of her trauma. I would imagine it is a very insulting characterisation to those who have been brutalised in this way, although when asked to depict the trauma the actress is excellent.
    The Real IRA chap parking up outside the garda station to watch was also sloppy and unbelievable.
    It's a real shame as I think a good commissioning editor should have interrogated these writing or directorial decisions and ironed them out.

Speaking out of zero experience, I would imagine erratic, abnormal behavior is hugely common when someone has been through such a horrific ordeal.

Roll on Sunday!

I think Siobhan was brilliant and very true to life (as I would imagine it). She has been raped but the man who raped her was murdered by her uncle, her partner and one of her closest friends. She has been grilled by the police but she held firm, she nearly slipped, she shed a tear but her loyalty to those nearest her held firm. In her world of scumbags and drugs she probably feels the culprit got his punishment but she is trying to mentally over come the pain now.

In terms of the IRA duo, they are portrayed as two fools. They haven't much sense and Dano told them to sit outside the Police station and that's exactly what they did. It shows exactly incompetent they are and shows a weakness in Dano's gang which I think will be exploited. Even telling his sister to tell Darren to stay away was a sign how stupid they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

I think Siobhan was brilliant and very true to life (as I would imagine it). She has been raped but the man who raped her was murdered by her uncle, her partner and one of her closest friends.
    And after the rape we are asked to believe she has problems with having sex with one of them but instigates sex with another of those who were there? I think it was more important to the writers that Darren be portrayed as the man with a conscience and Siobhan's credibility was sarcrificed for this. As an editor I wouldn't have allowed that scene take place, not in that way anyway. It betrayed the integrity of the storyline imo.

In terms of the IRA duo, they are portrayed as two fools. They haven't much sense and Dano told them to sit outside the Police station and that's exactly what they did. It shows exactly incompetent they are and shows a weakness in Dano's gang which I think will be exploited. Even telling his sister to tell Darren to stay away was a sign how stupid they are.
    It was a clumsy and not very subtle way to portray their stupidity, if that is what it was. They may be thuggish but I don't see a deliberate intent on behalf of the writers to depict the brothers as stupid or fools. Not anymore than any of the cast are stupid anyhow. I saw the brother's warning to Lizzie about Darren, as concern for her, rather than stupidity, he could see the potential of collateral damage to the gang if it kicked off.
    Why was it stupid? Tipping off Nidge might have been stupid, but they haven't shown much interest in Darren as a culprit in Nit's death.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

I think Siobhan was brilliant and very true to life (as I would imagine it). She has been raped but the man who raped her was murdered by her uncle, her partner and one of her closest friends. She has been grilled by the police but she held firm, she nearly slipped, she shed a tear but her loyalty to those nearest her held firm. In her world of scumbags and drugs she probably feels the culprit got his punishment but she is trying to mentally over come the pain now.

Dano going to Nidge's house and stopping for a minute with the Gardai babysitting the house was foolish on Dano's part. Surely the Gardai noted the number plate of their car or had a fair idea who was casing Nidge's house.

Dano will be taken out of Dublin by other RA members or put in the ground by them. Nidge is going to fluke his way out of this one I think but he'll fall out with Darren in the process to the point that Season 4 could be about Nidge & Fran vs Darren. Darren tells Fran about the pipebomb attack and Fran takes the opportunity to seize control for himself.

And after the rape we are asked to believe she has problems with having sex with one of them but instigates sex with another of those who were there? I think it was more important to the writers that Darren be portrayed as the man with a conscience and Siobhan's credibility was sarcrificed for this. As an editor I wouldn't have allowed that scene take place, not in that way anyway. It betrayed the integrity of the storyline imo.

she was seen last week asking about having sex again and Darren has been her rock recently, even before the rape her and Tommy were not exactly hopping off each other as she so elegantly put it. She was worried he slept with Debbie and had an STD.

It was a clumsy and not very subtle way to portray their stupidity, if that is what it was. They may be thuggish but I don't see a deliberate intent on behalf of the writers to depict the brothers as stupid or fools. Not anymore than any of the cast are stupid anyhow. I saw the brother's warning to Lizzie about Darren, as concern for her, rather than stupidity, he could see the potential of collateral damage to the gang if it kicked off.
    Why was it stupid? Tipping off Nidge might have been stupid, but they haven't shown much interest in Darren as a culprit in Nit's death.

If he was that worried about his sister he would have used the money to ship her out of the country. It was more to keep Darren safe in my opinion than the sister because he knows the sister would be heartbroken if he died.

These are my readings of the story line. Everyone reads and picks up stories differently.