Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racism is alive and well in Ireland

[quote=[Deleted User];66928100]
    As I said, I've had plenty of people think I'm great until they realise I'm English. .[/QUOTE]

I'm sorry I can't talk to you anymore :eek:

But yeah, that's kinda lame...
    reminds me of all those times you go abroad, get treated badly til you say "I'm not English"...
    :(
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

The English are a race now? :eek:

The Irish are a race in the Uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

flanno_7hi wrote: »
    You should have punched him in his ****ing face or at least put him in his place, you have to educate a scumbag like that, basically imo you showed your kid to just take it.
    I live and work in england and ive lost count of the times ive been called a stupid paddy, had people make famine joke (yes i know it was a long time ago but it still aint acceptable) and been told to **** off home to ireland and that is just from people from work. (im an aeroengineer so its not like im working in a mine or a site or anything - not that that would make it more acceptable) It is still nothing like the actual racism i hear everyday, I'm in lancashire and the disgusting comments "jokes" and slurs against asians and africans makes me feel sick. I've had to tell people to stop telling me those sort of jokes.

I was told "you irish have always been riding our coattails" i wish i had have said that only because you had us tied down but i actually just said "**** off". Oh and I have alos been called a ****ing terrorist, my favourite response to this is "I'm not but I can introduce you to my family if you would like" usually shuts people up.

Sorry that was a bit longwinded.

Here 23 years and never had any, except for sweaty calling me a fenian when he was pissed, but nobody takes any notice of sweaties

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

I'm a little shocked at how little sympathy OP is getting. I lived in the UK for a large chunk of my childhood and still have a bit of an accent and if I found myself OP's situation (as I have once or twice but in much less severe circumstances) I would be (and have been) similarly disgusted. From what I understand from OP's posts the incident did not happen in his taxi so I don't see what the taxi unions hace to do with anything. True declaring racism (or whatever term you want to use) as alive and well based on one (very) negative experience is quite the generalisation I still find the lack of sympathy a little disconcerting, would people on this forum be more sympathetic if it was someone from a different country who received abuse based on their nationality, is it in any way less serious because OP is from a neighbouring country? Probably not but these are the questions reading this thread has placed in my mind.

Donkey, we DO have sympathy with the OP but the problem is that the arsehole who verbally abused him is a symptom in Irish society that we can do nothing about. The fool who abused him is the kind of jackass who complains about "fordners" taking jobs, welfare, etc. and all the while he's signing on, doing nixers, fiddling his taxes and flogging cartons of smuggled Lambert & Butler down the pub and bookies. He then gets his mate to rig up his satellite dish so he can get SKY and UK Gold or whatever, illegally, and he watches the Premiership whilst guzzling cans of Merrydown.

The solution to this particular problem isn't the British stiff upper lip or mild-mannered "sorry you feel that way about me, my good man", it's the English equivalent of the scumbag on the doorstep, i.e. headbutt to bridge of nose followed by snap-kick between legs and then a quick but savage flurry of punches and kicks as the scumbag slumps to the ground. Put the video on YouTube. We'd all congratulate him more than sympathise with him about being verbally abused by a monkey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Anthony Walsh

Quite true, I was that needle in a hay stack guy. The bar I used to work in had a good few english lads drinking there and a lot of catholics from up north and they all get on swimmingly, they show cricket in one of the bars in the pub and no one minds. The only day I was worried while working was a day when Celtic and Rangers were playing and a guy came in wearing a Rangers jearsey, all I thought was sh*t is gonna fly, turns out he came down to meet the Celtic lads. Now thats what real Ireland is like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,037 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

I understand the OP's pain I originally come from a pair of testicles and the amount of times i have been told im a ball bag is unreal.

Most self proclaimed free speech absolutists are giant big whiny snowflakes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

ScumLord wrote: »
    You should have corrected them stating they where British not Irish. That should annoy just about everyone no matter which side their on.

Irish have been getting that treatment all the time in England. I had one guy tell me he could tell I was Irish by the slur in my voice.

Hope you said you could tell he was English by the crookedness of his teeth:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Sue Rocks

My brother in law is English and has had similar things said to him in the past unfortunately its just ignorant people. He probably went around the corner, saw someone wearing a GAA jersey from outside of Dublin and called them a Bogger c**t and to feck off back to the bog etc etc. Its a horrible fact of life but there are people like that in every country in the world just stupid ignorant people.
    Id be more upset that he used those words in front of your son I hate that :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Here 23 years and never had any, except for sweaty calling me a fenian when he was pissed, but nobody takes any notice of sweaties

sweaties:confused: who or what are they?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

fryup wrote: »
    sweaties:confused: who or what are they?????

A Scot I would imagine.

Sweaty Sock = Scottish.

Unless of course there is a poster called sweaty on here :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,524 ✭✭✭owenc

merengueca wrote: »
    I've seen this one from both sides : born in Ireland, moved to Manchester aged 6, got English accent, moved back to Ireland for 2 years when I was 21 and now back in England (I keep Stena Line in business!!!:rolleyes:)

Anyway - best come back I ever saw was my sister working in a pub in the midalnds during the last world cup, the owner bought all the staff Ireland tops to wear on match days, so start of the match she's behind the bar and this t055er starts giving her grief that as an English, blow in Bi**h what right did she have to wear that top or sing the national anthem... she waited till the anthem was over and firmly pointed out that there were plenty on that team, wearing the same shirt as her and speaking with the same dirty english accent as her. Also the dirty english blow in was working with our cousin in our uncles pub with my Dad sat beside him... he didn't stay too long after that!

Having a bit of debate with a lad at work on Monday about Orangeman parades (limited ones happen over here) and he was disgusted that the police were closing a road so the IRA could walk through!!!:rolleyes:

The ira don't walk through any roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,333 ✭✭✭✭walshb

harsea8 wrote: »
    As has been said previously, there are f*cking idiots in every country, even France apparently

No, I think the French dude deserves a pass on this one. Look, of you heard people speaking French, would you definitley know that they weren't actually French, but, say Dutch or German or Poles who happened to be speaking French? The dude heard the English language, and then asked a question.Surely you don't expect him to know particular accents...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Being Welsh I've also had the same sort of ****.... ill educated **** heads calling me a Welsh Twat.... what the **** has my nationality got to do with it???

Sue Rocks wrote: »
    My brother in law is English and has had similar things said to him in the past unfortunately its just ignorant people. He probably went around the corner, saw someone wearing a GAA jersey from outside of Dublin and called them a Bogger c**t and to feck off back to the bog etc etc. Its a horrible fact of life but there are people like that in every country in the world just stupid ignorant people.
    Id be more upset that he used those words in front of your son I hate that :mad:

Oh isn't that such a crime a catholic getting along with english people!?!:rolleyes: There are english catholics you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭bigbadbear

That situation shouldn't have bothered you. I know I would be laughing on the inside anyway. The day that the opinion of a gobshíte like yer man matters will be a strange day indeed!

"Shure us Irish don't hate the English. We just like to see them lose in things like football and.............war and so on."

bigbadbear wrote: »
    That situation shouldn't have bothered you. I know I would be laughing on the inside anyway. The day that the opinion of a gobshíte like yer man matters will be a strange day indeed!

"Shure us Irish don't hate the English. We just like to see them lose in things like football and.............war and so on."

Don't you mean british, there are other people in the uk you know, oh and you were in the war with us!:P The first one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Scráib

In any case i worte the post in anger (my mistake) as i was so shocked at someone displying this attitude in 2010. But such is life i had a good sleep and today is a different day. His problem not mine.....

It's not really a mistake to vent a bit! And AH is a good place to vent! You'll always get the minority of eejits. Luckily today that's what they are - the minority.

I'd describe myself as a Proud Irishman, members of my family fought in the war of Independence and I'm very proud of the fact. But do I hate the English? No. The way I see it my Grandfather didn't fight for freedom so that I could grow up to be filled with hatred for the English so that I'll hurl abuse at them simply for being English, that's just perpetuating a cycle that needs to be broken.

There's also another far deeper point. How could I dislike the English while simultaneously liking Kelly Brook, Kimberly Walsh, most of the Saturdays... oh dearie me the Saturdays... anyway there's a very long list of hotties there demanding an end to this type of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭Trashbat

walshb wrote: »
    No, I think the French dude deserves a pass on this one. Look, of you heard people speaking French, would you definitley know that they weren't actually French, but, say Dutch or German or Poles who happened to be speaking French? The dude heard the English language, and then asked a question.Surely you don't expect him to know particular accents...

I think (or at least hope) that your missing the point here somewhat. I think that poster was calling him an idiot because he was negatively behaved toward what he thought were english people, and brightened up once he heard they were Irish. Which would make him a complete tw*t. Totaly unascceptable bahaviour.

Imagine working in a restaraunt and getting all snotty with some one "you swedish?" "no norweigan" "oh! great, thats ok then, because I hate all swedes". Totally unacceptable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭Trashbat

owenc wrote: »
    oh and you were in the war with us!:P The first one.

*can of worms opens*

That could lead to a very long debate ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭fakeaccent

Don't let it get to you OP, it's the same everywhere. I used to work in a British call centre and I used to get called 'Paddy' or 'Fenian B**ch' on a weekly basis (no exaggeration).

Once I was standing at the bus stop on the Quays and a guy on a bike shouted 'NI**ER' at a group of black people standing behind me, for absolutely no reason. I was horrified.

It's quite scary how many ignorant muppets there out there in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

fakeaccent wrote: »
    Don't let it get to you OP, it's the same everywhere. I used to work in a British call centre and I used to get called 'Paddy' or 'Fenian B**ch' on a weekly basis (no exaggeration).
    Is that why you developed a fake accent?

Trashbat wrote: »
    *can of worms opens*

That could lead to a very long debate ;)

EAt popcorn instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

TheZohan wrote: »
    I was called a terrorist by an English guy when I worked in London, shìt happens.
    Me too. Was also asked in Liverpool if I was over to plant a bomb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

I would not worry too much about it OP, I used to think the same as you until I heard a guy from Waterford saying all Cork people should be shot because they didnt really want to be part of Ireland......and he meant it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I´ve come across anti-Englishness in every country I´ve been to (I´ve been to a fair few) including the one I live in now (Spain). I´m Irish but same old story and I hear it a few times a week...."Oh your IRISH? Ah that´s okay then!". Totally unjustified and completely retarded thinking. Numpties like these are in every country. I always do my bit to defend the English as I lived there for 3 years and was treated very well.

The only real anti-Irish abuse I ever got was from the Scottish, actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭LarrytheLantern

I've been to quite a few countries, and from my experience English people are by far the most racist I've met.

England is the only place I know that has a derogatory slang term for practically every race on the planet!

Ask your average English bloke what he thinks of Africans, Pakistanis, Americans, Italians, whoever and your guaranteed a tirade of ill-conceived, ignorant, and racist abuse.

Now that said I have some very good English friends and there are some lovely English people, but they do appear to be a minority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

Check the stormfront irish forum.. Now that's racism.

Looking at that site made me sick, it's such a twisted, disturbing way to view the world, how can people possibly be convinced into thinking like that!:mad: They're given a bias, uneducated account of events and they soak it up like a sponge, it just sickens me!

OP, sorry to hear about your trouble, it was probably just some waster who had nothing better to do then vent his anger on some poor unsuspecting person, but I hope you don't generalize every single Irish person as racist or nationalist, we cannot be held responsible for what an individual in our country does, I mean there's racism in most countries, however that does not condone that man's behave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

Brooke why did the chap land at your door?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭harsea8

I've been to quite a few countries, and from my experience English people are by far the most racist I've met.

England is the only place I know that has a derogatory slang term for practically every race on the planet!

Ask your average English bloke what he thinks of Africans, Pakistanis, Americans, Italians, whoever and your guaranteed a tirade of ill-conceived, ignorant, and racist abuse.

Now that said I have some very good English friends and there are some lovely English people, but they do appear to be a minority.

**** me, you've met all 40-odd million of them and gauged all their opinions of Africans, Pakistanis, etc...you must have a lot of spare time!! Seems to me you have a little bit of prejudice their yourself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Id agree with you that racism is more prevelant in the UK then in Ireland, however the opinions your describing above would be typical of the views of many BNP voters. If what your saying was true, the BNP would have a majority in the House of Commons.

I work with quiet alot of British people, and although most would have some degree of racial prejudice, very few would be as extreme as you suggest