Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Runners log : Patience and Consistency

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

dna_leri wrote: »
    Its hard to give anyone advise when dealing with an injury - so I won't. From your main forum question, no-one else seems to know better either.

In my case I started with 4 weeks of easy running before I started any faster work, then 4 weeks of "general prep" to transition from that to "race training".

It can help to focus on a long term goal. In my case I set a 12 week and a 12 month goal. At this point the 12 week one is in sight but the 12 month one (which I kept to myself) is still impossible.

thanks Dna-leri , i do need a reality check frequently which involves shoutin to myself 'BE PATIENT ' , was doin well with the day on day off so will go back to that , had set myself up for a race on the 11th Dec so that probably caused me to try and rush things a bit too much , have signed up for fields so will just target participating in that only without any time pressure cause that will only result in a set back

Wednesday 17th Nov

1550m swim , no real core work done as my injured area was feelin quite tender , feel a bit more positive today , slowly slowly does it , goes against the grain but gotta do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Seres,

I dont know anything about the particular injury you have but a few things i note:

1. You dont seem happy with your physio and i know your on to the your 2nd one. Are you confident you have the right diagnosis? You need to have confidence in what they are telling you and stick to it.

2. You 1st mentioned the injury on 08/09/10 yet ran up to 13/09/10, then took a break and were back running by 30/9/10.

You then did a race 10/10/10 and didnt feel great after but have ran on and off since.

How about taking a month away form running and getting some proper rest. It seems like you are going back too soon all the time and havent given your body more than two weeks rest. I know you are worried about losing fitness as we all are but a) developing a chronic proble and b) going around in circles for another few months are going to be alot worse long term than taking a month or two off.

So to sum up my advice is get a consensus on your injury by visting a couple more physios or specialist, follow whatever strenght program they give you and stay away from running for 4-6 weeks.

kennyb3 wrote: »
    Seres,

I dont know anything about the particular injury you have but a few things i note:

1. You dont seem happy with your physio and i know your on to the your 2nd one. Are you confident you have the right diagnosis? You need to have confidence in what they are telling you and stick to it.

2. You 1st mentioned the injury on 08/09/10 yet ran up to 13/09/10, then took a break and were back running by 30/9/10.

You then did a race 10/10/10 and didnt feel great after but have ran on and off since.

How about taking a month away form running and getting some proper rest. It seems like you are going back too soon all the time and havent given your body more than two weeks rest. I know you are worried about losing fitness as we all are but a) developing a chronic proble and b) going around in circles for another few months are going to be alot worse long term than taking a month or two off.

So to sum up my advice is get a consensus on your injury by visting a couple more physios or specialist, follow whatever strenght program they give you and stay away from running for 4-6 weeks.

god kenny3 , that summary really makes it look like ive only myself to blame for the long slow recovery :o , im happy with my physio i do have confidence in her cause she pretty much said the same thing to me as the physio in galway said to me when i got my gait analysis and it make sense , im goin back tomorro and will ask her if she recommends i stop running for a few week ans maybe i can crank up the pilates a bit to improve the core cause i really think that is key for me preventing this happening again , really appreciate the advice thanks kenny3 , might try and up the bike work it seemed to work wonders for you , how you now , fully recovered ?

Seres wrote: »
    god kenny3 , that summary really makes it look like ive only myself to blame for the long slow recovery :o , im happy with my physio i do have confidence in her cause she pretty much said the same thing to me as the physio in galway said to me when i got my gait analysis and it make sense , im goin back tomorro and will ask her if she recommends i stop running for a few week ans maybe i can crank up the pilates a bit to improve the core cause i really think that is key for me preventing this happening again , really appreciate the advice thanks kenny3 , might try and up the bike work it seemed to work wonders for you , how you now , fully recovered ?
    Ah not suggesting for one minute you're to blame, just that it can be hard to take a step back and see the situation from an objectiver perspective. What is a month now if you can run pain free for the next 4 years?

And im talking from experience with injuries - when i had a peroneal tendon injury, i tried one run every two weeks which set me back a few days recovery at least each time. I ended up missing 6 weeks when it should of been more like 3 weeks.

However there are certain injuries that just dont heal regardless of rest and this may be one of them i dont know.

Anyway your physio will know best but do consider a break. It's the off season anyway and you can come back in A1 shape early next year.

Thankfully i ve been injury free for 11 weeks now (prob sad that i count), long may it continue.

Hope you get sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭RubyK

Hi Seres, I'm really sorry to read that the injury is still there giving you problems. I can completely understand your frustration, and I'm back to the physio this evening, to see what's going on in my lower back, causing the pain in my hip and thigh.

I can't offer any real advice, only can tell you that I've been told it's total rest for me (no running, spinning or even walking), and as hard it is to hear and accept that, if it means I get this sorted, it'll be worth it.

I really hope you get good news from the physio today. It's absoultely headwrecking, when all you want to do is get out on the roads, but you can't. Hopefully, you might be able to continue swimming? At least that will keep you ticking over.

You are an awful lot fitter and faster than me, so I can only imagine how hard it's for you at the moment. But, it will be worth the rest from running, to get sorted once and for all.

Mind yourself :)

thanks rubyk , i know how bad it is also been back in your situation , veery frustrating , i will go back to the physio today and hopefully she will give me direction , just want it sorted now , funnily enough its not that bad today so i kinda feel it should be a bit worse for goin into the physio , she told me run on it last night to see how it is today , did that early in the week too and it was far worse the next day and it is today :confused:

thursday 18th Nov

6km run on threadmill & Stretching and core

went to physio she said makin progress so she doesnt recommend stopping the running , no need , so said front core is strenghtening up well but my glutes need more work , said im landing on the inside of my foot and twisting my knee and hip inwards to help bring myself back up so if i strenghten my glutes maximus it will help for me to land on my foot in the middle and come back out of the stride without rolling my knee and hip

sat 20th nov

3 miles easy : bit tender from yesterdays session

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭RubyK

Delighted for you Seres, that you got on so well with the physio, hope you'll continue making progress with it, and be 100% again soon.

thanks rubyK

Sunday 21st Nov

4.5miles : slow and no problems , really enjoyed the early morning jog

have decided to write off 2010 and start anew for 2011 . Have two main goals that i want to look at for 2011 if things go to plan :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭jb-ski

hi S,

good to read you're feeling a bit more positive now.

re. Conn, you're gonna have to decide pretty soon.
    it's a great event, but probably not ideal in terms of setting a 'fast' half time.

(unless you're planning the Full or Ultra:))

Monday 22th Nov

Pilates 1 hr

Tuesday

Decided to up the pilates till the close of the year to help along strenghtening the left glute maximus for the 2011 plan, so now doin tuesday and friday lunch time

45min lunch time pilate : class not near as good as monday class but will be of benefit .

6km on thredmill with 5*500m with 150m jog break : [EMAIL="2@6.51"]2@6.51[/EMAIL] & [EMAIL="3@6.40"]3@6.40[/EMAIL] , felt ok during and after, the best yet that ive felt for one of these sessions ,although ya could have folded me in half by the end of it , think the core was a bit overworked , totally fatigued

wednesday 24th nov

swim : 1400m ,nice easy day , back needed the rest , run on threadmill morro

Thursday 25th nov

7km run 35 min on threadmill & Stretching and core , restrained myself a bit , feel grand today whichi is good

27th nov

8km forest run :got a free two hours to select a nice run route took the garmin , 41.45 , no pain , freezin cold , think ill have to start wearin the long sleeves and hat now , also got stretchin and core done

good to see you seem to be making some nice progress

kennyb3 wrote: »
    good to see you seem to be making some nice progress

thanks , slow though , really hope to be fightin fit by january , would love to start a new program then , have a few races that id love to be able to do in the earlier part of the year

Monday 29th Nov

Pilates , tried my damnest to get out for a lunchtime run yesterday but there were just too many obstacles , even got as far a kiting out , missed sunday so tried to replace with monday run , not to worry , gym and threadmill tonight

Tuesday 30th Nov

Pilates for lunch , yum ! and hit the gym last night , back felt a bit dodgy but focused on keeping core strong during the session and it held out well
    7.3km : 4*600m with 1 min break : 2*7min/mil pace & 2*6.40min/mil pace
    1km @ 6.40min/mil pace , havent been goin flat out anytime really , trying to stay cautious , feelin the fields preformance will be weak enough , havent done 10km in one go since sep
    was thinkin of a run today but best stick to day on /day off running for the mo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Good stuff seres. How are you finding the Pilates?

find it good , am tryin to do it twice/three times a week , has helped my form alot but my left glute still needs a good bit of work , progress regards injury is really slow .

wednesday

swim : 1300m , lost the old googles , new ones arent as airtight so lots of stops cause of leaks , could have been really annoyin if i was mad for the session, but see wed swim as an easy day

Thursday

Lunchtime run : 4miles in 34:30 at the local golf course , cold but really nice , didnt bother with the spikes they were a bit too hard and crusty to tackle with my cold hands ( they havent been used or washed since early 2010) , the ground was so hard i didnt need them anyway , a few spots were a bit hairy but would have gone for longer only work called :( still felt i stole a lovely part of the day outside :)

thursday 2nd dec

pilates at 9pm : alot of core work these days

friday 3rd Dec
    rest day , weather very bad , the snow finally arrived

saturday 4th Dec

4 miles , 32min 30 sec : 14 laps of the pitch , nice for the first two laps , got monotonous after that , but didnt really have much of a choice.

Sunday

estimate bout 5miles on forest trails : no garmin , battery went dead , had some company which was nice for a change .

monday 6th dec

decided to pass on the pilates as advised cause of the roads, which im glad i did cause even today they were quite bad

tuesday

lunch : pilates

PM : 7.3km with 600m*6 with 200m jog between , [EMAIL="3@7min/mil"]3@7min/mil[/EMAIL] & [EMAIL="3@6.40min/mil"]3@6.40min/mil[/EMAIL] , engaged my core well , def felt improvement today , things seemed to be unchanged for the last couple of weeks but def noticed improvement today , progress slow but just gotta stick with it and keep the faith :)

Wednesday

Nothing : was goin to go for a swim but decided not too bother .

Thursday 9th Dec

Threamill versus fitness class : decided on the fitness class , really didnt feel like 5 boring miles on the threadie so off to the fitness class with my smug head thinkin 'im fairly fit , i can handle this ' , was nearly vomiting at the end , the sister was with , she does this every week and was fine , think this has been the hardest ive pushed myself since sep , have been holding back because of injury , feel fine today , no problems , so yeah 'game on come 2011 '

friday 10th Dec

7km in 35min on threadmill : really tough today , started off pretty slow bout 10min/mil pace started pushing it out from 20min on , 7min/mil up to 6.40min/mil for last 15min , legs were sore from fitness class on thursday , worse today , tough motivating youreslf for gym on friday . Fitness gone back somethin savage since sep , time for FOA will be very poor , will jusy have to be startin point for 2011 , looking forward to it all the same though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,540 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Great to see you working your way back up to your best. It won't take long with your commitment. I'm in a similar boat myself. Must take a leaf out of your motivation. Time for me to get the finger out.

thanks KC , hope to be ok by 2011

Sunday

5.5miles in 45min : nice run with 2 mates in the forest park , favourite morning of the week to go for a run especially in conditions of bout 3/4 degrees

havent posted in a while , dont think i can remem all but here it goes

monday

7km easy & core & stretching

Tuesday

xmas shopping :forced day off

wednesday

speed on threadie : 3*600@7min/mil &1*700@6.40min/mil & 1*800@6.40min/mil & 1km@6.40min/mil with 150m rest : no killer session , will need to strt pushin it out a bit

thursday

circuit session : tough to get there , tough to do and tough to get home , fought against the snow in and out

friday

felt terrible , lemsip and bed early

saturday

nothing

sunday

6.5km in snow : easy

not a great week , not too sure if next week will be much better , because of the week thats in it and the weather too , roll on to serious times 2011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭jb-ski

havent posted in a while , dont think i can remem all but here it goes

Tuesday

xmas shopping :forced day off

Hi S,

Shopping!!! that's not a good enough excuse!

I hope Santa is coming.:)

See you in 2011, and I've no doubt all your goals will be achieved

J

monday 21st December

14 laps of the football pitch , 4miles in 38 min ,really slow, really cold ,-8 in the car , really tough , , had no head torch but it was a very clear night : def was the toughest 4 miles ive done , couldnt get any pace goin at all and my form and footing was all over the shop by the end of it , all the same glad i got out , good endurance session :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

*cough* race report *cough*

had a big load of rubbish written on race (which i suppose was a kind of a race report ) and 2011 plans but had to exit quickly (at work ) and lost all so here it goes

ok , just a quick update on things , i did train over xmas , but i just didnt post , practically all slow runs of bout 4 miles , its 2010 stuff so im not goin to post , the most defining run of late has been the 10k fields of athenry , hadnt run this distance or hadnt really done any really speed owrk to talk about since sep so decided to be careful , didnt want to blow up at bout 7km and didnt want that wretched pain to come back either , decided to be cautious and aim for 43min , however tunguska who likes to go out guns blazing thought i would do sub 40 (thanks for the vote of confidence ) , didnt really think bout the calculation and decided to aim for for 4min 30 pace , however just before the gun went off i sharpen up and realised 43min was 4min 18sec pace , started well down the field, it was bloody freezin , felt like their was sumthin in my shoe for bout first two k , took off at speed like lots of other lunatics , looked down at the watch at bout 2 min, was goin sub 4min/k pace so pulled back , went thru 5km feelin chilled in 21min , so upped the pace a bit , at bout 3km out a guy asked me the time , cant remember what it was but did say to him if we push it out a bit we could get in under 41min , we increase the pace and broke away form the group, i started to wavier bout 8km , thought 'sure feck it im not goin for a pb'(think i was just been a bit lazy) , but he told me to come on and stick with him so i did , at 9km , he said he was ready to hurl so i said it just clocked 37min and we were on course , camne thru in 40.55 , so turns out Tunguska was nearer my target time than i was , happy enough with the preformance , negative splits
    could feel the pain in the lower back a bit durin the race , it got worse after so have decided to reassess my plans for 2011

plans for 2011 at moment

will target nat 10k in april main goal for moment
    will do 10mi in craughwell march
    hols april
    on return will focus on adventure races
    june : gael force north
    august : gael force west

have decided to keep to shorter races for moment till all my injury probs clears up , in the mean time will use cross training and short races to tie me over , also got to start back at the pilates

need a loose training plan for 10k : not too strict , will work off 4 days a week for moment , low mileage and a bit of speed , when lower back niggle dies down will up things slowly

plans could easily change if injury clears up completely ; have a burning desire to do just one HM

so all and all good start to 2011

Monday

2.5 miles very easy in gym , loads of stretching and some core : was goin to hold off on the run but forgot the swim togs , might skip todays run and go for a swim ,back still niggling , god its makin me pay for the race now , looks like there will be few races for the moment as it seems to set training back a bit .

Great run in Athenry. Hopefully the Bergerac is ok and you'll be good to go for the new year.

wednesday 5th

1km swim : took it easy , let things settle , hopefully will do 6/7 miles at the wked , hopefully will have some sort of structured training plan by next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭aero2k

Great run in Athenry, Seres, I reckon there's lots more to come from you.

I'll see you in Craughwell - looking forward to that one.

aero2k wrote: »
    Great run in Athenry, Seres, I reckon there's lots more to come from you.

I'll see you in Craughwell - looking forward to that one.

thanks sean , will have to take it handy for the moment , craughwll should be good , cant wait , signed up yesterday

regards training , very bad week for two reasons , back a bit aggrievated from the race on monday and i plan to start a program next monday

today

4 miles easy , wore the yak traxs , one broke , so will have to return them
    hopefully i wont need them in the mean time , lookin forward to next week

ok so last week is a bit of a write off , think i only ran three times :eek: but hopefully it will be steady goin till april , goin to start up a 12 week 10k program from monday next , hopefully my back wouldn't jinks up my plans . so yesterday ..

Monday 10th January

7km on threadie : 1.5k easy , 6*600m with 1 min jog , 3*7.5min/mil pace
    2*7min/mil & 1@ 6.40 : def no killer session , felt a bit sluggish , think the fact the gym was jammers didnt help .

goin to start up a 12 week 10k program from monday next

What program you gonna use, Daniels?

tuesday 11th Jan 2011

lunch time : pilates

Pm : 4miles , 35 mins , painful , i find it impossible to go at the same pace , im all threadied out at this stage , 4miles on the road goin faster is way easier , roll on the summer :) .

wednesday

write off : sick kid

Thursday

easy 7km , time who knows :confused:

to safe guard the same thing not happening today i went for a lunchtime run , garmin battery was low , they dont give ya much warning on the thing , it was dead before i was 5 mins up the road , route quite hilly , the first time i have done it since sep , really lovely to get out in the middle of the day , it was so mild , felt refreshed after , the back seems to be back to the form it was at before FOA

Friday 14th Jan

7km easy , hilly route : lunchtime run

Quite sick of this feckin back niggle now , could feel it today on the run , been 5 months now , how long is it goin to last?! :mad:

Saturday 15th jan

went to see the oestopath Donnacha Phelan down in Portlaois on a recommendation , wasnt sure if he was goin to be able to help me , found him brillant , felt like a new woman after , would def recommend him to anyone with an ongoing injury that should be cleared up , he only gave me one stretch to do and told me to take it easy for the next few day and then start back at what i was doin .

Sunday

nothing as adviced

Monday

7.12km in 36min : felt good , nice lunchtime run around the hilly loop , pilates this ev

so here i am again , goin ta give the auld log a bump up cause im feelin positive , pretty sure thats not how the thing goes but ive decided to change the rules !, for the moment i will only post when i feel positive .
    Have been doing loads of pilates , which i think is the key to my recovery and lots of easy 5 milers . Havent had the niggle in a while so have decided to up the anti and shift myself from the comfort zone

Today

5 miles with 6*2min with 1 min rest , pushed it out a bit today along my hilly lunchtime route , hills are great , really feck ya out when ya dig the heels in , 2 reps landed on the hills so its easy enough guess which ones , av pace/k as so , 4.29/3.48/4.15/3.50/3.43/3.45

spotted a real nailer of a session in the runners world mag so when im feelin a bit tougher and stronger will go for it 10*1min 30sec with 45-60sec rest , all flat out , a couple of these sessions should sort me out mentally and physically, i imagine i will be buckled after them but sure it'll be good for me :)

Wednesday 9th Feb

5 miles /38.16min with 6*100 strides : felt great today , not even a twinge of pain , lovely not to have to pull back , havent felt this good running since last august .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 477 ✭✭brutes1

Thats some pretty quick runs for some one just getting back into it good on you!,

Whats the target now race wise...

brutes1 wrote: »
    Thats some pretty quick runs for some one just getting back into it good on you!,

Whats the target now race wise...

thanks Brian , i have been running a bit but mostly easy runs , felt good today so just building myself up slowly , have been doin loads of hills , the're great , no plans yet , am only registered for craughwell 10 so will do that but with no expectation , when im fully back i will start planning races :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Any decisions on what HM you're going to aim for now? Registered for 2 marathons and one ultra myself but not exactly wanting to do any of them...

Good to see you back.

Any decisions on what HM you're going to aim for now? Registered for 2 marathons and one ultra myself but not exactly wanting to do any of them...

Good to see you back.

thanks RQ , your some woman goin for the ultras , i cant even make it to the start line of a half . I was thinkin of kildare half may , will depend on progress , if i do sign up i wont be goin at the training all guns blazin

8.5km/41.23min : lunchtime run across the hills : feel priviledged to steal a small part of the day outside when the weather is so nice . Might go for a shorter run morro , rest sat and 7miles on sunday , no pain today but could def feel somethin sniffin round the hot spot . Pilates tonight :pac:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Not sure I'll be doing any ultras at all this year. Thinking of making either Kildare, Leeds or Wexford half marathons as my new goal for the first half of 2011.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭aero2k

Hi Seres,

Nice to see you back on here, and good to see you're continuing to recover.

Just over 4 weeks to Craughwell!