Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Students abused by scum.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,926 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Do what my mate did wit scum when he was a policeman in South Africa, throw them in the back of teh van, drive them 6 miles out (wicklow mountains would be good), and leave them there.

Once that's happened once or twice they'll think twice of fcukin about

• Registered Users Posts: 4,616 ✭✭✭maninasia

reprazant wrote: »
    Agreed.

I wonder have these people actually left Dublin before.

Last time I was in Rome, my friend got his wallet & camera robbed, when in Barcelona two of my friends got wallets, cameras, watches and one got his runner robbed while on the metro, in Madrid a protest turned into a full scale riot between the knackers from the suburbs & the cops; In San Francisco, I saw one person getting shot and another getting stabbed my a midget, also junkies everywhere.

Nothing like that has ever happened to me in Dublin.

So...that's okay then? Spanish and Italian cities are not a good reference point, full of gypsies, neither is San Fran which is famous for having loads of junkies and homeless in the central area.

Most cities in the Western world wouldn't have the junkie problem Dublin has, and in Asia they are practically unknown. This was a major problem in the 80s when I was growing up in Dublin and I am shocked and distressed that the situation has not improved!

You get the quality of city life you deserve. If you think junkies deserver to occupy the boardwalk and main streets , drinking, shooting up, hassling people for money and dealing drugs instead of regular people who just want to enjoy the sunshine and a relaxing time well...meanwhile I'll take my holidays somewhere else. Why didn't the government just call it 'junkie walk'...that would be more fitting no?

Warped PC garbage.

Eradicating scum isn't as easy as removing limescale you know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

You get that scum in Spain also... i've been there and im not talking about the Irish tourist hotspots.
    IV never seen that sort of thing in Spain and i have been around a lot of different parts over there you do get scum bags i agree but the police dont tolarate any **** over there they just bring them in and there is allways a large police presence as well there's to many do gooders in this country:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

bonerm wrote: »
    I was thinking we could put a sniper on top of the spire who has the legal right to shoot any person within 1000 yards of his position that falls under all of the following parameters:

1) wearing a tracksuit
    2) standing in place for more than 2minutes
    3) holding a bottle of fanta.
    Iam N EX ARMY SNIPER AND WOULD HAVE NO PROBLEM DOING IT UP ON THE ROOF OF THE GPO WOULD BE ENOUGH.:mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

IV never seen that sort of thing in Spain and i have been around a lot of different parts over there you do get scum bags i agree but the police dont tolarate any **** over there they just bring them in and there is allways a large police presence as well there's to many do gooders in this country:mad:

I think the reason you don't see them in Spain is because you don't know what to look out for. The scumbags in Dublin are generally easy to spot because we expect the dirty little fringes plastered down the forehead, the scanger strut, and high pitched accent, the unhealthy looking faces. They actually conform to a stereotype which is decent of them as it makes them easier to avoid. In Spain, it's probably the same, with the locals immediately spotting the scumbags where a visiter mightn't spot anything too out of the ordinary.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Are you a PC proponent?

More of a Mac man myself...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

I get quite a lot of junkie hassle, but then again I work in retail so I'm below them on the foodchain anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

op wrote
    to clean up our streets and eradicate the scum that control it

you need to look up the national socialist party on wiki

you will find you are a persistent part of history

as they used to say in spain

'facho muerte facho bueno':pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

dublin is scum capital of europe

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Denerick wrote: »
    No, it is not a fantastic idea. It is state sponsered ethnic cleansing and the forcible removal of children from families according to social class.

Are you suggesting that we leave it as it is then? It's fine by you?

I don't subscribe to suggestions that different social classes are like different coloured crayons in a box, all contributing in their own special way to a healthy diverse society. The reality is that there is one underclass in Irish society that needs to be seriously curbed if not outright removed. There is nothing 'class' about these individuals.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

You know you've lived in Dublin too long when ...
    stovelid wrote: »
    I don't really consider being asked for change or begging as hassle unless somebody persists which they rarely do.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

moonpurple wrote: »

as they used to say in spain

'facho muerte facho bueno':pac:
    And the scummiest facha in Spain is buried under a huge cross

• Registered Users Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Do you know what I was just thinking about that today, I have lived in Dublin for 20 years and I have never witnessed so much scumbagary in one city in all my life, from travelling to different cities I can confirm that Dublin is by far the worst city in Europe anyway for scumbags. You cant walk two feet in Dublin without being harrassed by some junkie who is looking for 1 euro for the "bus". I was just in London over the weekend and I didnt have a single problem the whole weekend and we walked around everywhere, its a huge pity because it gives Ireland a mad name and we need tourism around this time just like every other city, those scumbags are everywhere, its like the plague or zombie infestation. I remember an american friend of mine asked me when he was over are they homeless and I said most of them have homes to go to, he was shocked.

I live in Dublin City, I world in Dublin city, I've walked through the city twice a day for the last 10 years. It's nowhere near as bad as you make it out to be. Yes, there's junkies on the streets, but 99% of the time they'll just leave you alone. the 1% of times it's easy to keep walking and ignore them if you don't want to listen to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 375 ✭✭superbad50

they need to be educated . to them they are behaving normally. they live in a space bubble. half the fecker's are on disability allowance. they need to be thrown into educational problems and kept busy instead of getting freebie's off this shambles of a government, in my opinion

• Registered Users Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

I live in Dublin City, I world in Dublin city

LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭steel_spine

It's all very well saying that x place and y place are worse than Dublin, but that's not exactly a shining endorsement of the place is it? 'Dublin - not as bad as some of the REAL shitholes out there'

Fact remain that the place is getting a really bad rep for being a dirty scumhole regardless of how many times you've walked to work and only encountered polite junkies. I don't like going there, none of my friends like going there and it's certainly not somewhere I'd recommend to people. Which is a shame because there is certainly cool and interesting stuff in Dublin worth seeing & doing, but it just seems like such a HASSLE.
    Whereas I'd go on a daytrip to Cork and Glasgow (when I was back home in Scotland) without much thought, so it's not like the site of one or two tracksuits terrifies me :pac:
    Among most of the Irish and non-Irish people I know who've stayed/visited for work, education or leisure, Dublin is just getting itself a reputation as 'Ugh, We have to go to DUBLIN?'
    It's all very well saying that a few beggard or scumbags yelling/throwing things/treating the place like a kip/looking for a fight isn't much hassle, nor is only encountering 2 junkies asking for money on a daily stroll, but who wants to deal with that ****e every day? Rather go somewhere else tbh until the Gardai pull their finger out.

I've also been to some of the places people are touting as much dodgier and felt safer than in Dublin - not necessarily less sure that something would happen, but MUCH more sure that someone would come to my aid.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

stovelid wrote: »
    A group of kids started on another group of kids in the centre of a major city.

Have the army been informed?

Re-read the OP there my friend.
    Avoid dublin city. Simple.

That's a great plan :rolleyes:
    easyeason3 wrote: »
    No matter where you go in the world every place has some degree of scum.
    Dublin is no different & it's getting a bit annoying that people think Dublin is an exception to the norm.

No easyeason, what's getting a bit annoying is that it is being accepted as the norm.
    reprazant wrote: »
    Agreed.

I wonder have these people actually left Dublin before.

Last time I was in Rome, my friend got his wallet & camera robbed, when in Barcelona two of my friends got wallets, cameras, watches and one got his runner robbed while on the metro, in Madrid a protest turned into a full scale riot between the knackers from the suburbs & the cops; In San Francisco, I saw one person getting shot and another getting stabbed my a midget, also junkies everywhere.

Nothing like that has ever happened to me in Dublin.

Yeah, I'd believe that because we do tend to be generally more honest or maybe not as interested in petty theft in Dublin/Ireland. We are instant targets when we go abroad as we are known for not being as careful as we should be when there as we are used to a much safer (in terms of pickpocketing) society
    And by the way Carlos Ray those foreign students are ignorant little fcukers. They think they own the fcuking footpaths.
    And theres always a few of them wearing glasses that look like something from the 70's.
    And they wear backpacks everywhere, they probably sleep with a bag on their back.
    And for students that come over to emerse themselves in Irish culture they seem to give most of the time walking around in packs not really doing anything.

Jesus, would you please get a grip. I will agree that at times, yes they are a bit ignorant, but seriously, relax a bit there.

the backpacks are a requirement. Ever noticed that they are the same colour and design? Thats so that their minders can pick them out of a crowd easily, or so that they can easily regroup if they get lost.

What I find most laughable about your posts easyeason is that nothing of what you complain about is a result of your direct contact with them. Clothes, glasses, the way they walk. So get over it. Stop looking at them if you don't like their clothes, bags and glasses!! they probably think you're a big wierdo anyway, staring at them all the time with a little crumpled up face, lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Dr. Zeus

I have lived in a few different and very dodgy cities and while I agree that Dublin is no worse than a lot of other places in terms of undesirables etc, it does seem more in your face here. It may be due to the fact that Dublin is quite small in size that it seems that the undesirables are everywhere. Of course everyone should be free to go where they please, what I am specifically referring to is those that intimidate, provoke trouble and have no respect for others around them.

For example in American cities, gang bangers, drug dealers etc tend to stay in their own 'hoods so you don't always find them in the tourist places, main shopping streets etc. The police would be quick to move them on anyway. I have been harassed waking down Baggot St, grafton Street, O'Connell street, Stephen's green.

What I have noticed in Dublin is that you go to a free event (festival, fireworks whatever) there are always a few maybe even a lot of trouble makers who ruin the event for everyone. There is little the police can do do they seem to ignore them.

Dublin is a great city it's such a shame that more can't be done to make it more civilised at times!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Dr. Zeus

And by the way Carlos Ray those foreign students are ignorant little fcukers. They think they own the fcuking footpaths.
    And theres always a few of them wearing glasses that look like something from the 70's.
    And they wear backpacks everywhere, they probably sleep with a bag on their back.
    And for students that come over to emerse themselves in Irish culture they seem to give most of the time walking around in packs not really doing anything.

That post says more about you then the "ignorant little f*ckers you describe!:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

I love the fact that people have been using comparisons such as Paris, Johannesburg, Rio de Janeiro and San Francisco.......... let's try a comparative by populationm size perhaps :rolleyes:

Have lived in a number of European countries and the US for a while and I was actually just thinking I can only remember ever being personally hassled, or been the subject of anti social behaviour once when some plonker tried the friendship bracelet scam. A few choice words in French and he let me alone fairly sharpish. That is it. Can't remember ever being hassled for cigarettes/change/or verbally abused on the street etc.

In the States I have offered money and food to people which was always gratefully accepted.

Can remember almost ever incident I did witness, the vast majority of which involved police/bystanders fairly quickly. People just don't stand for it.

On the other hand people willfully ignore and excuse it here. Too many examples to mention, tbh from being followed down Talbot St by a scummer screaming at me because I had no cigarette to give him, to being told by a small group of about 12-14 years olds that they were going to 'get me' when I got involved in a situation on a bus, to just the other day when my OH was on the 16A airport bus (i.e. the one many many tourists get to and from the city) and there was about 10 knackers on the bus, some with their feet up on the double seats, shouting abuse (racial and sexuality and nationality orientated) at other passengers, throwing bottles of Coke etc up and down the bus. Bus driver said/did nothing, despite being fully aware what was going on. Being kicked from behind outside Trinity, I assume because a few moments prior I had refused to buy drink for another waste of space, apparently as a gift. Here bud ya wouldn't buy us a 6 pack of anythin wudya? Eh no **** Off.

For low level general scumbagger and anti-social behaviour Dublin is by far the worst place I have ever lived.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

prinz wrote: »
    For low level general scumbagger and anti-social behaviour Dublin is by far the worst place I have ever lived.

This I would agree with. Statistically, most large American cities are much more dangerous than Dublin, but the police in Chicago or Miami would NEVER tolerate the kind of **** that happens on and around O'Connell street along their main boulevards. I am always amazed at the lack of police presence in the city center - both in terms of sheer numbers, and their (lack of) physical 'presence'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭rubberdiddies

Seriously? You think Dublin is so bad that you'd actually avoid the place altogether :rolleyes:.

:D.

I'm in town on an almost daily basis and i've yet to encounter this dublin you speak of.
    Sure, if you go to certain places there are a lot of drug addicts, but in all my years they've never impinged on me in any way. I'm not saying dublin is completely safe (I know many people who have been mugged/attacked), but on the whole the problem's nowhere near as bad as many people think.

It seems no matter how good thing are, people will always be calling for tougher measures. If tougher measures were the miracle solution people think they are then do you not think they'd be in force already?

ok I'm being a bit OTT but my point is that really people should be making more of an issue of this. Avoiding the city in a form of protest would mean business would lose out and once business then put pressure on council/government/guards then something might actually be done. (this whole protest thingy obviously will never happen, except in my mind! :))

Tougher measures are the solution, however our pathetic government dont have the ba1ls to implement them. Does anyone remember the election campaign of 1997 when the Bertie brigade told us how if elected they would implement zero tolerence? none of this ever happened of course.

Having been in New York many times both pre and post Mayor Giuliana (ie: pre and post zero tolerence), the difference is phenomenal. New York is an extremely safe city to walk around now whereas before it was a complete nightmare.

In Dublin, junkies openly shooting up and 'scoring' in certain parts of the city are left to their own devices. too much hassle for the Guards, particularly as they know if arrested they'll be back out on the streets a few hours later.

dont get me wrong I love Dublin city. always have done and always will but I cant accept the crap that goes on for example at every Luas stop on the Red Line.
    Sure, if you go to certain places there are a lot of drug addicts, but in all my years they've never impinged on me in any way.

good for you, but they impinge on hundreds of people every day of the week. Why are they allowed to continue doing so? In New York (ok so I'm using the New York example again, mainly cos one of my best friends os a New York cop!), they would be removed off the streets.

Anyway my point is we tolerate this crap, cos our governement tolerates this crap. Have a chat to someone from tourism Ireland to see what one of tourists biggest problems with dublin is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

The problem is that the Police in this country turn a blind eye to smaller issues (such as public drinking in the Park and on the streets) and this emboldens the scum. The number of times I've walked through Stephen's Green with groups of scum openly getting plastered while members of the Police 'Force' walk on by, throwing a glance at a group and then ignoring them.

If you ignore the small crimes.....it just leads to a total lack of respect for the law in general.

The key to cleaning up Dublin City is Proactive policing.

At the moment we have neither Proactive nor Reactive policing......

• Registered Users Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

Carlos_Ray wrote: »
    I was in Dublin city today and encountered a large group of Spanish students. We are all accustomed to them coming over every summer to learn English. They are a major boost to our economy (especially in the current climate) and from my experience they are generally good mannered and far better behaved them their Irish counterparts when abroad.

Anyway, the students were just wondering down the road chatting and laughing. They weren't bothering anybody.

As they walked on to O'Connell street , a group of about 5 sweaty pale faced tracksuit wearing junkie scum crawled out of a side street and started shouting abuse at them. 4 men in their late twenties and 1 fat beast of a heroin pin cushion. They used foul language, and one even threw a can at the frightened students. The beast woman even started on a young Spanish girl who was no older than 13!!!

A Gard who observed the situation simply told the scum to move on! It got me thinking about the scum infestation in out city and how they are basically ruining it , not only for Irish people, but for tourists who are pumping money into our economy.

In order to protect our much needed tourist income we need to clean up our streets and eradicate the scum that control it. You can't even use the liffey boardwalk on a summers day because its taken over by junkies and scum bags drinking cans and causing trouble.

If it was up to me I'd exterminate them as part of a Government process of national cleansing. Of course everybody is too politically correct here to entertain this idea, so I'm interested in hearing other solutions. How can we clean up Dublin and make it a desirable destination?

Ye unfortunately genocide isn't very PC!

I get your point though it really annoys me..these people storm around the place pushing people and screaming like they own the streets, when in reality people hate them and they are dragging us down. I for one have no pity for these scum.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,805 ✭✭✭take everything

I agree with this, for such a small city the magnitude of scumbags is unreal!

There are some fat ****ers out there alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭nitromaster

Of course, I have seen obvious junkies hanging around, and I know of many bad incidents and a few of my acquaintances have had a bad experience - but that really doesn't tell me much. I could say that having spent only 27 days in Paris (spread over several trips) not one of those days was free from one of the following incidents: attempted scams involving a gold ring; attempted scams involving bracelets; being physically assaulted by a perpetrator of said bracelet scam; mugging; attempted mugging; pickpocketing; attempted pickpocketing; witnessing a serious assault. I could draw the conclusion that Paris is full of violent scumbags - but that would be completely untrue. I know many people who have had no bad experiences in Paris.
    I had more experiences over less then 2 days in Paris...then quite a lot more in dublin!

Including a nice guy, who with two others attempted to pickpocket me...(his friends tried distracting my hands...for obvious reasons) so i went to put my hand in my pocket..managed to stop him..and he just left me. (Even though he could have easily mugged me...he was with two others)
    Nice guy really :pac: (And yeah i didn't stop for anyone after that :L)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

Spike Island is empty. Leave them there with nothing but army rations for a week and deliver more next week. Let them govern themselves and see how long the scum last. No doctors, hospitals, booze, smokes, visitors, nothing. fúck them its all they deserve.

Sick of the way this country is going. Only other country like this in the EU is Britain. Simple reason. in every other country in the EU bar here and the UK they all fear/respect the police force and justice system.

Our system is complete shyte. Fair enough try and rehabilitate them. teach them skills when they're inside and make them useful when they get out but if they go in multiple times fúck them over to Spike Island, and thats all she wrote

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭LarrytheLantern

a lady phoned called Carmel the Joe Duffy line on Friday, PHILIP BOUCHER-HAYES was fillling in for the bould Joe.

anyhow Carmel sounded a very reasonable, broad-minded type. she didn't seem to have any agenda to speak of.

she told of how she was on the Boardwalk when this 'er "young lady" dropped her kaks and proceeded to relieve herself. she went on to say unfortunately for the onlookers (most of whom were desperately trying not to look i reckon) it was this young lady's time of the month!!!:eek:

no city on earth does scummers like Dublin does scummers!;)

poor Philip was speechless ..........