Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Web development career

Options
  • 15-07-2010 4:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15

Hey all,
    I'll apologize in advance if this question seems a bit broad! Basically I'm a print designer looking to change careers to web development. I'm handy enough at XHTML and CSS but I'm looking to get more into the meatier back-end programming stuff and the like, rather than front-end.
    My questions are:
    What are the best languages to learn for this kinda thing?? I've been checking the job sites and some vacancies want PHP/MySQL, others Java, C++, and others simply want knowledge of CMS' like drupal/joomla/modx etc? I've had conflicting advice from people I've asked, so would prefer to have a more definite idea of where to begin before I devote much time to it.

How flexible/progressive a career is web development? Are you most likely to wind up in a web design agency or is this kind of knowledge fluid enough to let you wind up working in more unexpected sectors etc? IT departments and such?

And finally, what's the pay like? Again, very broad, but some tell me IT in general pays quite poorly, but everywhere I read says IT is one of the more robust and in demand marketplaces?

Any help greatly appreciated!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Hmm, I don't think there are easy answers to most of those questions. But I'll ramble on anyway :)

Languages... there are lots that can be used in web development and everybody has their favourite. PHP is definitely big on the scene. Ruby and Python are also there.