Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Celtic TeamTalk Gossip/Rumours Thread 10/11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭Brewster

dartbhoy wrote: »
    Great news that the Bullard deal is dead,he was only looking for a sizeable retirement package out of Celtic,he had some cheek trying to demand £30,000 a week off Celtic and be getting paid off Hull also and the man spends 75% of the season injured!

By the uk version of the Daily Mail Celtic have opened talks with David James:confused:! We already have a good goalkeeper in Zaluska and If we need another goalie It should be a goalie as cover and with no disrespect to David James someone a lot younger than him!

Celtic dont need Bullard, so hopefully wont happen 4 them. They have Maloney, Brown, Ledley and the new mexican plus the korean whose name escapes me. Midfield will be strongest part of Celtic next season. I still think they need a poacher. I think mcdonald is a massive loss, keanes goals hid this last season. They need a goalscorer. Im not sure if all 4 strikers at Celtic could score 30 between them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

From reading the paper's gossip on the BBC website

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/gossip_and_transfers/8836273.stm

Villa are lining up a £10M bid for McGeady and Celtic are ready to sign Liam Lawrence as a replacement for £2M

I've always been impressed by Lawerence when playing for Ireland by his work rate and final ball so I'd be happy with Celtic making £8M and a replacement that keeps McGeady out of the Ireland team on a regular basis.

O' Neill will have to beat McGeady's worst habit out of him, dwelling on the ball, or else that fee will seem like a waste to Villa fans.

EDIT

Surely with the surplus from transfer deals (and selling Samaras), Celtic could easily finance a move for Robbie Keane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

Dempsey wrote: »

Villa are lining up a £10M bid for McGeady and Celtic are ready to sign Liam Lawrence as a replacement for £2M

I've always been impressed by Lawerence when playing for Ireland by his work rate and final ball so I'd be happy with Celtic making £8M and a replacement that keeps McGeady out of the Ireland team on a regular basis.

O' Neill will have to beat McGeady's worst habit out of him, dwelling on the ball, or else that fee will seem like a waste to Villa fans.

The reason Lawrence keeps him out of the Ireland team is Lawrence is better defensively Though I will agree he would be a decent signing for you and if MON pays 10m for McGeady then he is off his nut :p

EDIT

Surely with the surplus from transfer deals (and selling Samaras), Celtic could easily finance a move for Robbie Keane?

I think Celtic could certainly cobble together the transfer fee, its his wages that would be the problem Dempsey. Would he accept a massive wage drop to sign for Celtic? Would be fantastic for Celtic. If Celtic get 10m for McGeady, it was would be best piece of business ever done by Celtic.

Brewster wrote: »
    I think Celtic could certainly cobble together the transfer fee, its his wages that would be the problem Dempsey. Would he accept a massive wage drop to sign for Celtic? Would be fantastic for Celtic. If Celtic get 10m for McGeady, it was would be best piece of business ever done by Celtic.

I know the fee isnt the issue and I dont think that Keane will have to take a wage drop. Celtic would try to gear his wage package more towards performance

e.g. for argument sakes his wages are probably 80% Basic / 20% performance like most EPL clubs do, Celtic would try to offer him 60% Basic / 40% performance like most of their squad is currently on.

He's roughly on £3.5M a year, 4 year contract would be £14M. If Celtic could get him onto a performance based contract and gets injured/loss of form, his wages would drop significantly. If Celtic got 4 years like those 6 months, £14M would be well worth it.

Given the reduction in the wage bill already this summer plus the net gain in transfer fees, plus the potential transfers to happen, they should be able to cover it all now without even needing any money from Desmond or a bank.

The way I really see it is that Lawwell has been after Keane for several windows now, this summer is going to be as cheap as you ever could have expected to sign Keane so if he was serious about signing him, this summer should be the one that he gets him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

O'Neil doing a bit of a "Sounness" by the looks of things ;)

I know the fee isnt the issue and I dont think that Keane will have to take a wage drop. Celtic would try to gear his wage package more towards performance

e.g. for argument sakes his wages are probably 80% Basic / 20% performance like most EPL clubs do, Celtic would try to offer him 60% Basic / 40% performance like most of their squad is currently on.

He's roughly on £3.5M a year, 4 year contract would be £14M. If Celtic could get him onto a performance based contract and gets injured/loss of form, his wages would drop significantly. If Celtic got 4 years like those 6 months, £14M would be well worth it.

Given the reduction in the wage bill already this summer plus the net gain in transfer fees, plus the potential transfers to happen, they should be able to cover it all now without even needing any money from Desmond or a bank.

The way I really see it is that Lawwell has been after Keane for several windows now, this summer is going to be as cheap as you ever could have expected to sign Keane so if he was serious about signing him, this summer should be the one that he gets him.

Yeah good points. You have to look at overall picture, Murphy was signed for 1.5m then prob another 500k a year on wages. This money could be used to put towards a package for Keane and all of a sudden your not far apart. spl needs one or two stars to join. Whether Keane wud committ to Celtic fulltime, Im not sure. I think on balance he would. I think alot would depend on what the rest of squad was like.

Eirebear wrote: »
    O'Neil doing a bit of a "Sounness" by the looks of things ;)

Not at all! :pac:

Anything ever come out of the investigation into that Boumsong transfer ?

Not at all! :pac:

Anything ever come out of the investigation into that Boumsong transfer ?

Nope :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭Esse85

As a Villa fan I will go ballistic if we sign McGeady.

Esse85 wrote: »
    As a Villa fan I will go ballistic if we sign McGeady.

In a good or bad way ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

I don't want to be negative but if Celtic lose to Braga over 2 legs are we still in the Europa League or out of europe all together?

Badabing wrote: »
    I don't want to be negative but if Celtic lose to Braga over 2 legs are we still in the Europa League or out of europe all together?

If we loose to Braga we drop into the final qualifying round of the Europa League

EDIT

Not sure if we will be seeded or not but I'm guessing that we would be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Looks like Danny Wilson is leaving Rangers to join Liverpool. Further weakening of Rangers squad

We always knew he was going better now for cash than next season for free

it doesn't look like it he has gone to Liverpool 2m rising to 5m with add on's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

We always knew he was going better now for cash than next season for free

it doesn't look like it he has gone to Liverpool 2m rising to 5m with add on's

2 million up front, rising up to potentially 5 million. Good deal for both clubs money wise

Just hope Walter gets a whack of it to reinvest but........:(

Stupid Bank for not giving him a decent contract to think about. I think Wilson should have done a Petrov (i.e. signed new contract, stayed another season and be sold for top dollar) I cant see him breaking into the first team this season plus Rangers have Champions League Football. I dont think its the best career move at this stage of his career but I dont really care! :pac:

How are Ranger's season book sales at this stage? I bet Bain has some awe inspiring waffle to convince people to part with their hard earned cash! :rolleyes:

Stupid Bank for not giving him a decent contract to think about. I think Wilson should have done a Petrov (i.e. signed new contract, stayed another season and be sold for top dollar) I cant see him breaking into the first team this season plus Rangers have Champions League Football. I dont think its the best career move at this stage of his career but I dont really care! :pac:

How are Ranger's season book sales at this stage? I bet Bain has some awe inspiring waffle to convince people to part with their hard earned cash! :rolleyes:

Season tickets are more or less done and dusted at this stage To be honest I think the young fella may be making a big mistake another 2or 3 years with us gaining more experience and developing he would have strolled in to most teams in the EPL but it seems money was a big thing with him On the bank I am led to believe from a pretty reliable source he was offered 12k a week to sign an extension before the end of last season

Wasnt sure what his was offered but 12k p/w at 18/19 isnt bad at all!

Looks like ye have yer own version of Liam Miller now! :pac:

Wasnt sure what his was offered but 12k p/w at 18/19 isnt bad at all!

Looks like ye have yer own version of Liam Miller now! :pac:

Sure does :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭Esse85

In a good or bad way ;)
    Us Villa fans would have the opposite reaction to ye Celtic fans!

Esse85 wrote: »
    Us Villa fans would have the opposite reaction to ye Celtic fans!

Hope you don't think I am a Celtic fan I could never live that down :eek:

Wilson leaving is a blow for Rangers and a good long term boost 4 Celtic in my opinion. Dont know what you and eirebear thought of Wilson but mate reckons Wilson is a better player than Barry Ferguson was at 18 in that he had more of an impact on team. He looked good from the CL games I saw him in. I think he is a bigger talent than Liam Miller was. If he does well at pool, it could help raise profile of scottish game/players a bit.

Disagree on the BF bit but yes he was a cracking wee player I felt he would have benefited by signing a 2/3 extension but it wasn't to be. Though I believe his family had a big say in him wanting to leave they were never happy at him being there in the first place.
    As for how he will do at Liverpool it will be interesting to see how he handles being bullied by the forwards in the EPL as he didn't like it in the SPL one part of his game he really had to work on.
    He has gone now and I wish him all the best

At this stage of his career, they are about the same level with the same potential imo. The only reason he broke through and a regular is because of financial difficulties compared to Miller's sub appearances under MON. Very difficult to get the game time to impress MON. Whether Wilson's career will go down the toilet like Miller's will be mainly down to his attitude when things dont go his way.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/2010/07/21/thomson-banks-are-killing-rangers-and-ruining-walter-smith-s-hard-work-86908-22428388/

Kevin Thomson: Banks are killing Rangers and ruining Walter Smith's hard work
    But he also understood my own situation and why I couldn't take the risk of running down my final year when Middlesbrough were giving me such a great opportunity. He also said he was selfish asking me to stay when he'd be leaving at the end of the season.

How does a manager convince players to stay/join when he is leaving himself at the end of the season?

Also, I browsed a couple of comments at the bottom about the banks only taking back what is theirs anyways. The banks are only killing Rangers because the club overextended itself to stop Celtic winning all around them. But as with the Daily Record, dont let the truth get in the way of a good story!

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/2010/07/21/thomson-banks-are-killing-rangers-and-ruining-walter-smith-s-hard-work-86908-22428388/

Kevin Thomson: Banks are killing Rangers and ruining Walter Smith's hard work

How does a manager convince players to stay/join when he is leaving himself at the end of the season?

Also, I browsed a couple of comments at the bottom about the banks only taking back what is theirs anyways. The banks are only killing Rangers because the club overextended itself to stop Celtic winning all around them. But as with the Daily Record, dont let the truth get in the way of a good story!

Was nothing to do with Celtic and all to do with Murrays Mismanagement of the funds The world does not revolve round Celtic you know

I beg to differ, how much did Rangers increase their debt after Celtic won 3 in a row?

Oh come on that was nothing compared to our previous debt you really are clutching at straws with that one

Previous debt that you were able to manage and didnt require the bank to run the club, that debt?

Its the increased debt level after Celtic's 3 in a row (thats bought Bougherra, Miller, Edu, Davis, Lafferty, Mendes etc) that has the bank dictating management to avoid administration less than 2 years later

You are the one clutching at straws

Previous debt that you were able to manage and didnt require the bank to run the club, that debt?

Its the increased debt level after Celtic's 3 in a row (thats bought Bougherra, Miller, Edu, Davis, Lafferty, Mendes etc) that has the bank dictating management to avoid administration less than 2 years later

You are the one clutching at straws

It made no real difference to our financial problems they were already deep rooted long before this.
    Whats happening now at us has been in the pipeline for a very long time also IMO and many others because Murray linked us to MIH it is crippling us even further and Murray is now asset stripping the club to drive up the price

Rangers were down to £6m debt in 2006 but then let it rise and rise and your trying to tell me that Celtic's 3 in a row had nothing to do with Rangers heavy borrowing?

If the club managed itself properly in 2006, it would be fine now financially but on field success would have been non existant.

Rangers were down to £6m debt in 2006 but then let it rise and rise and your trying to tell me that Celtic's 3 in a row had nothing to do with Rangers heavy borrowing?

If the club managed itself properly in 2006, it would be fine now financially but on field success would have been non existant.

I lol'd our debt has not been as low as that for many a year also as I say it was Murray linking us to MIH that has been a big part of the problem but you will believe what you want as will I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Murray is now asset stripping the club to drive up the price

How would Asset Stripping the club drive up the price?.

I lol'd our debt has not been as low as that for many a year also as I say it was Murray linking us to MIH that has been a big part of the problem but you will believe what you want as will I

I know that, thats why I said and I'll quote
    but then let it rise and rise

I know more than you think about Rangers business and their connection to MIH.

Rangers had a manageable debt level back in 2006(i.e. the minimum debt level the bank want the club to be back to before they stop interfering) but rather than spend what they actually had, they borrowed heavily again, again and again even after the recession was well under way. HBOS was bought out by Lloyds and normal lending rules came into force once again.

Do you forget when Murray came back as chairman, he done a £57M share issue (£50M underwritten by MIH) to reduce the debt which was far worse that what has crippled you now? You cant blame mistakes before this for what has happened you now. Maybe you can :rolleyes:

Blackjack wrote: »
    How would Asset Stripping the club drive up the price?.

Feck knows but Murray seems to think it will I presume by clearing the debt

I know that, thats why I said and I'll quote

I know more than you think about Rangers business and their connection to MIH.

Rangers had a manageable debt level back in 2006(i.e. the minimum debt level the bank want the club to be back to before they stop interfering) but rather than spend what they actually had, they borrowed heavily again, again and again even after the recession was well under way. HBOS was bought out by Lloyds and normal lending rules came into force once again.

Do you forget when Murray came back as chairman, he done a £57M share issue (£50M underwritten by MIH) to reduce the debt which was far worse that what has crippled you now? You cant blame mistakes before this for what has happened you now. Maybe you can :rolleyes:

I am always amazed at the amount of Celtic fans that no all about our debts and are in the know you see loads of them on every football forum jesus even when I go to my local they are all telling me "what they know" :p

Its amazing what you dont know about your own club! :pac:

You do realize that Rangers release press statements on financial results for the year and share issues? Your debt levels arent a state secret!

Its amazing what you dont know about your own club! :pac:

You do realize that Rangers release press statements on financial results for the year and share issues? Your debt levels arent a state secret!

Of course I know but do you realise how much debt we are involved in because of MIH its all very well stating we are 30m in debt as a club but our ties to MIH make it much more in real terms
    Oh don't worry we aren't going to disappear we may have a tough couple of years but we will be stronger in the long run.
    In fact I am looking forward to some interesting debates with yourself come the new season ;)

Anyway I am off to get some work done there's a couple of Americans wanting Photographs of there old family homes and I have to oblige Its a tough life but someone has to do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭celticbest

Now for some Celtic related News,

Celtic to hold talks with veteran keeper David James (BBC Sport).

Aston Villa's possible sale of James Milner to Manchester City holds the key to the Birmingham club making a bid for Celtic winger Aiden McGeady. (The Herald)

Celtic are edging towards signing Scunthorpe United striker Gary Hooper.
    (The Sun)

Clear signs that Zaluska will wont be no.1 under Lennon for next season. I dont think that Lennon should promise James an automatic place

The Milner transfer seems to be the something that would set off several other transfers at several clubs. I actually hope these all happen because it would be best for Celtic to offload a distracted McGeady (thats if its for £10m :pac:)

http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/spl/celtic/mcgeady-s-full-potential-can-be-realised-in-england-1.1042616

I think this article makes a good point why McGeady will do well down South but McGeady still has to improve himself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

Celtic ended their North American tour in the early hours this morning with a win over Sporting Lisbon on penalties 6-5 after a 1-1 draw. Samaras opened the scoring for Celtic on the 72nd minute with Sporting Lisbon replying on the 82nd minute. It was the first soccer game played at Fenway Park in Boston for 42 years and Celtic were presented with a trophy that was put up for the occasion.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

celticbest wrote: »
    Now for some Celtic related News

Here here, sick of reading about Rangers on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭celticbest

Today's Gossip.....

Manager Neil Lennon has promised Celtic fans his summer signing blitz will kick into overdrive once he returns from the USA on Friday. (Various)

Not much on any actual transfers but it looks like some are in the pipeline, I wonder who he is lining up ??

Today's Gossip.....

Manager Neil Lennon has promised Celtic fans his summer signing blitz will kick into overdrive once he returns from the USA on Friday. (Various)

Not much on any actual transfers but it looks like some are in the pipeline, I wonder who he is lining up ??
    My hands have been full over here," he said. "The bedlam will really start when we get back.

Thats the quote thats set off that headline

Every manager would be inclined to say that coming back from tour as phone calls about players become more frequent towards the end of the window.

Its paper filler tbh

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Today's Gossip.....

Campbell and Lawrence will do nicely thanks!

PauloMN wrote: »
    Campbell and Lawrence will do nicely thanks!

Dont be modest, throw in Robbie Keane! :pac:

PauloMN wrote: »
    Here here, sick of reading about Rangers on here.

The thread is open to all Paul I really don't know whats up with you as you used to enjoy a bit of debate. Do you want your own wee bit where no one is allowed to disagree where you are all a happy we bunch together :p

If you care to look I replied in response to a statement about Rangers debt