Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Is 3 year age difference between friends weird?

• 17-07-2010 3:37pm
    Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭

Hey I was wondering if its weird that Im a 16 year old girl and Im friends with a 13 year old guy. We arent dating or anything we are just friends but is it strange? I really need an answer to this, Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

Naah,not weird at all tbh.
    (This sounds sarcastic but it's really not,sorry if it seems that way.:pac:)

I'm friends with people who are older than me by about 3-4 years and we get on well.

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭CrashBandicoot Girl

Really? Its just some people have said its weird and others think its ok so Im just really confused! I really dont want to stop being friends with him because we have lots in common

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭dammitjanet

at that age 3 years seems a lot bigger than it is. But really that's no difference at all.
    I'm 22, my two best friends are 25 and 18 and my boyfriend is 30. Age is just a number

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

Really? Its just some people have said its weird and others think its ok so Im just really confused! I really dont want to stop being friends with him because we have lots in common
    If you have lots in common and get on well then don't stop being friends just because people say it's strange!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Really? Its just some people have said its weird
    They're talking sh1te - they may be young etc but they're still talking sh1te.

And try not to worry about what others think - it does you no favours and it's pointless. Never look for others' approval in relation to something that doesn't affect them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,050 ✭✭✭✭cena

I was 21 when I finished school and all my friends are about 4 years younger than me.

• Registered Users Posts: 10 feefeetrixie

Nope u can be friends with an age gap some of my best friends are older than me by a few years :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

I really need an answer to this

Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭t4k30

You should make friends with OP, can be socially akward together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

She's 16 ffs - don't be so obnoxious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

t4k30 wrote: »
    Social misfit much ?
    t4k30 wrote: »
    You should make friends with OP, can be socially akward together.

Says the person talking to themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭PrettyInPunk

Nope im 21 and two of my best friends are 24, age is just a number!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

t4k30 take a couple of days off for that remark. Please read the charter upon your return.

EDIT On second thoughts after reading both of your posts take a month off for trolling. That kind of thing is not welcome on this forum

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Some of my closest friends are much older than me. Be yourself, don't change yourself just to be accepted by some, the friend that's 13 will probably still be in your life in 10 years time, the ones that think it's weird probably won't be...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

me and my friends are all different ages im 3 years older then my youngest friend not a problem at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

As someone wiser than myself once said, "Age ain´t nuthin but a numba" OP! You´ll realise that the older you get. To hell with what other people think!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

I used to regularly drink with a man in his mid 70's, I'm 24. Most of my mates would be a good few years older than myself. No one seems to have an issue :)

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Tea-a-Maria

Not at all.:)I was only 17 going into college and my friends were all celebrating their 21st's before I turned 18.Granted there's a few jokes about me being the baby of the group,but I love them to bits.Best friends I've ever had.

Don't bother worrying about if people think it's weird or not.Who cares?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

This is not a troll.

But people saying "I'm 47 and my best friend is 50, 3 years doesn't make any difference" are obviously missing the point by a very wide margin. I am surprised that a 13 year old boy has much in common with a 16 year old girl but stranger things have happened, but it is quite unusual in my opinion.

One would presume that it is an entirely innocent relationship but are hormonally charged teenagers good at keeping things purely platonic? I wonder are you good friends in that you chat/see each other almost every day/ every other day or just part of the same social group?

The original question "Is 3 year age difference between friends weird?" and to ignore the thread starters individual case, how many people think it's ok and perfectly normal for a 16 year old boy to be good pals with a 13 year old girl?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

This is not a troll.

But people saying "I'm 47 and my best friend is 50, 3 years doesn't make any difference" are obviously missing the point by a very wide margin. I am surprised that a 13 year old boy has much in common with a 16 year old girl but stranger things have happened, but it is quite unusual in my opinion.

One would presume that it is an entirely innocent relationship but are hormonally charged teenagers good at keeping things purely platonic? I wonder are you good friends in that you chat/see each other almost every day/ every other day or just part of the same social group?

The original question "Is 3 year age difference between friends weird?" and to ignore the thread starters individual case, how many people think it's ok and perfectly normal for a 16 year old boy to be good pals with a 13 year old girl?

Are you saying it´s NOT normal??? I really don´t see your point. If the 13 year old guy fancies her, then so be it. That doesn´t make it "weird". It´s not as if guy´s hormones have settled down by the time they reach 16 anyway.

Doesn´t make a difference if it´s the other way round. A 16 year old guy who´s friends with a 10, 11, 12 year old girl in Primary school might be dubious but not 13. They´re in the same age group and as the OP stated, nothing sexual is going on. I really don´t see what´s weird about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I don't think it's weird, personally.

I'm good friends with lads/girls who are a year or two older than me. Friendships should be based on common interests/values/personalities; not on the year we happened to be born.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,826 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

op i wouldnt be worrying about an age gap at all.
    back when i was in school, i was in 6th year and i got on fantastic with people from 2nd/3rd/4th year, having the craic at break times, ringing one another in the evenings, meeting up at the weekends etc. nobody took one bit of notice at all. hell, im 26 now and myself and my mate just spent the last two days hanging out with his younger siblings, aged 19 and 21.
    if you find someone you like being around, and enjoy someones company, dont let anything or anyone get in the way of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

It seems like a huge gap when you're young because to a 16 year old, 3 years is nearly a quarter of your life :p

It's really not though, one of my best friends is 52 and I'm 19! It's not age that matters, it's personality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭catiny

Friends are friends regardless of age, I have a very good friend who is 13 years older then me. Also have mates that are 3-4 younger! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

I'm 26 and my best friend is 21, my work friends are in their early 30s and my future sister in law is just gone 18 and I have great craic bringing her out in town. If you get on well it doesn't matter. Anyways feck what other people think. You know who your true friends are ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,824 ✭✭✭✭28064212

Is it weird? Yes. Where the definition of weird is 'unusual'. Is there anything wrong with it? No, absolutely not

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Registered Users Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭brainyneuron

I'm 26 and my best friend is 21, my work friends are in their early 30s and my future sister in law is just gone 18 and I have great craic bringing her out in town. If you get on well it doesn't matter. Anyways feck what other people think. You know who your true friends are ;)

+1 exactly! If its only friendship then whats the problem with a 13 yr old and a 16 yr old being friends? If something more is going to happen then it gets complicated but as the OP said they're just friends. I stayed back a year in primary school and did Transition year so most of my friends are younger than me (I'm 26, one of my closest friends is 23). I socialise with people in work that are a lot younger and a lot older (from 18 up to 65) and its not weird at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Hersheys

The older you are, the less important age becomes.

Example - when I was 13 I dated an 18 year old guy - everyone was "OMG"

Now I'm 24 and just broke up with a 30 year old guy - nobody batted an eyelid.

When I was 14 I became good friends with a 24 year old - people raised eyebrows, but now that I'm 24 and she's 34, nobody cares...

It's all relative, but don't let anyone effect your friendship - if it feels right for YOU then that's all that's important.