Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork Naked Bike Ride

• Registered Users Posts: 7,010 ✭✭✭Barr

"We will start the naked cycle at 5.45am and it should last for approximately one hour" Darn I'll miss it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 429 ✭✭Dan Dare

Weather forecast not so good, lots of feet slipping off pedals. :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Not to mention the "spanner effect"

Dan Dare wrote: »
    Weather forecast not so good, lots of feet slipping off pedals. :eek:

And the rest :D

• Registered Users Posts: 27,645 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Yeah, got some fright walking out onto my balcony this morning to be greeted by the sight of 40ish naked cyclists below me.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,995 ✭✭✭✭Stark

nesf wrote: »
    Yeah, got some fright walking out onto my balcony this morning to be greeted by the sight of 40ish naked cyclists below me.

Pics? :P

• Registered Users Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Lol - when I saw this thread I assumed it'd be for bikers with naked bikes. :D

Who's mad enough to go cycling naked at that hour of the morning? Who's mad enough to go cycling naked at all. Think of the chaffing....

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭masadjie

I couldn't find the documentation in youtube site? anybody has a picture or video about that event ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭NoDice

masadjie wrote: »
    I couldn't find the documentation in youtube site? anybody has a picture or video about that event ?

Wouldn't that be classed as porn? lol. :p I'd say they'll prepare somethign for the public soon enough and no doubt they'll have a bit on the news later on, they did for the naked get together in Blarney anyway. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 429 ✭✭Dan Dare

Given the rain last night maybe they were allowed to wear flippers and snorkels. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

It brings a whole new meaning to the phrase, `did you see the langer` :p

• Registered Users Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Picture in 'de Examiner today. Must have been up early to get all that body paint on by 5:45 :eek:

Anyone know roughly how many showed up ? Jaysus why would ya be bothered at that hour.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,769 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Picture in 'de Examiner today. Must have been up early to get all that body paint on by 5:45 :eek:

Most weren't naked either, lots of the ladies had thongs on :rolleyes: Thongs are fine in most everyday situations (lovely when in the sandwich bar queue at work and there is a lady in front with a nice blue / red / black / purple one on show :D )

RoverJames wrote: »
    Most weren't naked either, lots of the ladies had thongs on :rolleyes: Thongs are fine in most everyday situations (lovely when in the sandwich bar queue at work and there is a lady in front with a nice blue / red / black / purple one on show :D )

Thongs - that cheating :D

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭corkdave

Reviving this thread . . . .
    The date for the 2011 ride in Cork is Saturday 16th July starting at 6.00pm.
    Before that there will be many hours of bodypainting starting at 12 noon.
    If you are interested in getting involved there are three ways:
    Clothed Steward (8 more needed)
    Bodypainting artist ( 14 more needed)
    Naked cyclist. If you cycle naked you may be bodypainted for free by one of the volunteer artists, many of whom are professionals.
    To register, email your name and mobile phone number to myrebelcounty@gmail.com
    The mobile is needed because the route and meeting point are not being advertised. Participants will receive a text on the evening of the ride telling them where to meet.
    There is also a Dublin ride, on Friday 15th July at 7.00pm. To register, email them at dublinnakedbike@gmail.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

I'd join but wouldn't want to traumatise anyone.

Besides me bike needs a new pair of pedals. The bit of plastic in the middle broke somehow. Don't know how but I looked there recently and it's broken on both sides

btw its the heap of sh1te of a bike I have I don't want to traumatise anyone with, not anything else

Sure a bike is no good unless you spend over a grand on it. One with dual suspension anyway, just ask in the cycling forum and they will agree that a dual suspension bike that only cost 350e is the biggest hape going

• Registered Users Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭two wheels good

corkdave wrote: »
    Reviving this thread . . . .
    The date for the 2011 ride in Cork is Saturday 16th July starting at 6.00pm.

Clothed Steward (8 more needed)
    To register, email your name and mobile phone number to myrebelcounty@gmail.com
    I'm in - now that I know I'm going to be in Cork on the day. I've emailed to volunteer as steward\breakdown mechanic.

Last year's event was fab. Great atmosphere!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭AFC_1903

I'm trying to decide whether to do it or not. No problem with being naked, but I thought it was going to be done at night-time. 6pm? There'll be a lot of children and random people with cameras around then. A banana-hammock would be cheating, but I'm not comfortable with showing my all to those who are trying to go about their daily/family business without testicular revelations.

AFC_1903 wrote: »
    I'm trying to decide whether to do it or not. No problem with being naked, but I thought it was going to be done at night-time. 6pm? ....

Good for you. I'm kinda relieved the stewards have to be clothed.

You'll regret missing it when you hear\read the reports afterwards. Nudity isn't mandatory, but encouraged. "Go as bare as you dare". Come along wearing shorts. I bet you'll want to cast them off within ten minutes

It was great to see that public nudity was not seen as lewd\offensive\erotic\sexual. The public reaction was amusement - though there was one taxi that seemed to be circling a lot.

The ride needs to take place when it's public statement about cycling\oil consumption\environment makes the most impact.

NB At least email your mobile number to the event organisors so that you'll know the venue on the day

• Registered Users Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i persume you burn the saddles afterwards?

I received an update from the organisers earlier:

"At the request of the local Gardaí there's been a slight change to the starting time of the event ...
    Assembly of the riders will start from 7pm, with the ride departing at 8pm sharp
    ."

FYI
    A previous email stated:
    "The Gardaí will not impede the ride so long as we do not upset public order. This is because riding naked is not a crime."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

This is because riding naked is not a crime."

LOL...:D

-Corkie- wrote: »
    LOL...:D

Ho ho.. I didn't spot that.
    Lots more opportunity for sniggering tomorrow I suppose

• Registered Users Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Colibri

Where is it starting today guys? Would be a laugh to see :P

I don't think the starting point is published for some reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 265 ✭✭dewdrop

amazing location has not leaked out. Must be a very private matter.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Steoob

any updates?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭evilivor

Steoob wrote: »
    any updates?

They were down by the National Sculpture Factory earlier.