Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Random Photothread XXII Do not quote pictures 800 pixels longest side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭DK32

943A3EC0F620443EBF2652D241CFEFD9-0000316394-0001865134-00800L-E005CE44D8294309B7520E14C0A51FB9.jpg

This little lot came out of my father in-laws boiler house, they had been resting there untouched for at least the last 10 years.
    All need some TLC and plenty of new parts to restore them to their former glory. Great project for anyone with a bit of spare time & money.
    My favourite has to be the Nottingham built 1970′s Raleigh Chopper with the 3 speed Sturmey-Archer gear hub. A real classic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

keps wrote: »
    I'm not sure what adjusting the white balance means....

2nd photo is far better, for reasons you mentioned on the assignment thread, yet the first is still the best picture entered in that assignment! Fair play on getting the shot you aimed for! :)

As for white balance, generally for night shots if you leave your camera on Auto WB it will give you that Orange glow to the shot that you seem to have - this wrecked my head a while back when I started taking night shots. Rather than plagurise someone else's explanation of what exactly WB is, here's a link. Good news is it's pretty easy to correct, especially if you are shooting in RAW.

I don't use PS so I'm not too familiar with where the WB settings are in it but here's a tutorial for it - link. The shot could do with a reduction in the temp, take away the orange glow, only my pinion of course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

( I went back this evening after I thought I had snapped to early last night in a last ditch effort to get into Marton's 'Speed Assigment - this was the shot I took last night(Tue)

Keps I hope you don't mind me saying but I like the one with the wobbly lights better (the first one, despite being able to see platform at back), the second one is neat too, but the first one (to me) is more interesting and like the colours better :)
    I like clean perfect light trails, but I like wobbly ones best, there's lots more to be done with them, just my very amateurish opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,324 ✭✭✭keps

sprinkles wrote: »

Thanks Sprinkles - much appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

58C7B153165843B7800E8F57F1E78950-0000335047-0001865159-00800L-D8B03E2215D64966A5451A1E579F2478.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Mjollnir

From my home, Big Sur, where I no longer live, but still I dwell. This is the south end of San Carpoforo Beach, looking north, into eternity. May all of you one day see such a place

P10106441.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭oshead

Got this piece of glass last night. Feels great to have an ultra fast lens again. Now, where did I leave my 50mm 1.4? ;)

E7F2C98FAD2F4E93B99B4334C6B55064-0000322011-0001865246-00800L-AD58B5AED68D4561896BC476E938A012.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,570 ✭✭✭sNarah

F09CC85C242E44DDA04BA5919658F12F-0000322071-0001863223-00640L-E11C7E4606904E2E8EB5CBE0C912871D.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,015 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

sNarah wrote: »
    Sunflowers...

Feck I think that must be your best photo yet. Brilliant, really well done, I like it a lot.

• Registered Users Posts: 309 ✭✭aidan18

756A336F05674A18B9992D506CFE92D2-0000316550-0001864954-00800L-1310AAFDFCC44334A7E536D55D5CBF8D.jpg

And another (belated) Charleville one:

A moment of reflection before the BBQ/alcomohool/lightpainting madness kicked off...

1229680DFFFF4ABF8497F98893290E43-0000322071-0001863335-00500L-8D2802ABAFBE48B1ACF2819177175240.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Lovely pics sNarah, especially that last one. Mind if I ask how you got that shot? What kind of PP did you do? I love the feel of it and the colours.

Bacchus wrote: »
    Lovely pics sNarah, especially that last one. Mind if I ask how you got that shot? What kind of PP did you do? I love the feel of it and the colours.

Uh. Damn - getting caught out here :o Tenty one: basicly clicked the shutter (EXIF data you can find over at Pixie when you click the image) + PP in lightoom with a preset which I can't remember and twigged the colours a tad and upped the blacks.

That probably didnt help did it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭Bacchus

sNarah wrote: »
    Uh. Damn - getting caught out here :o Tenty one: basicly clicked the shutter (EXIF data you can find over at Pixie when you click the image) + PP in lightoom with a preset which I can't remember and twigged the colours a tad and upped the blacks.

That probably didnt help did it...

:) At least you tried. I'll see can I get the EXIF data and I'll have to play around with Lightroom, see can I get a similar effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭GristlyEnd

May have gone a bit overboard on the greens

197EB5D6643546EBAE9FF38617449720-0000314353-0001865364-00800L-09A125F1C2124617A59EFFF696B1EBF6.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,271 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

is that sNarah i see in that photo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

4906940879_5463780ab7.jpg
    Road by swingking85, on Flickr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭daycent

sNarah and DarrenG; may I ask where you took those photos? I'm hoping it's in Ireland...

It is! It's on the Duleek - Julianstown bypass road in Meath/Louth. (not too far from the M1 exit for Drogheda) Accordingly to some RTE 1 journalist who was there when we were, it's the only (commercial) field of sunflowers EVER in Ireland! 8 acres full of sunny goodness for those Surf Seed yolks (from the Dragons Den). Yer man has "open day" on saturdays and charges 2 euro so people can walk around in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭Trev M

Bacchus wrote: »

Try a Cross Processing "CP - Creative" preset, the reduce vibrance a tad and you should get something very similar type effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

My Nephew, love this pic :

4828042221_990cbb1d43_z.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

My Mam's cat (he has no name!)

4826553718_f0fb09747a_z.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Slidinginfinity

the_monkey wrote: »
    My Mam's cat (he has no name!)

Yes he does!

He is just not going to tell, you. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭s.a.man

4898686366_9b0a381219.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

4907597960_0f3ef70f49_z.jpg
    criss-cross by swingking85, on Flickr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

4907317547_486a6d8121_z.jpg

Network with your people: https://www.builtinireland.ie/

• Registered Users Posts: 823 ✭✭✭thatsnotmyname

Dem trees look a bit 'dangerous':D

Yeah
    they do !
    I read somewhere that the local council wanted to cut some of them down
    for safety reasons !
    that would be a shame a magical stretch of road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,015 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Yeah
    they do !
    I read somewhere that the local council wanted to cut some of them down
    for safety reasons !
    that would be a shame a magical stretch of road.

Just saw and thanked the photo now, it looks amazing. May I ask where it is?

Today in the playground.

45103887461F46818E32AF9CEB17880E-0000322011-0001865711-00800L-C815EC6A94EE471389792F8FDBF2B0FE.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭kjt

lynn-mov-1.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 823 ✭✭✭thatsnotmyname

Its in County Antrim very near to the village of Armoy !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

I took this picture at the weekend I think it's a cute shot. I am by no means in a league with some of the shots in this thread! :)

302o1oh.jpg

Here's the exact location in Panoramio, pics and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,161 ✭✭✭leche solara

C88191CA17D04C95840C2B7203DA4DAB-0000314465-0001862302-00800L-8E47214D9294408DAB338DFB0C443EF0.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭*eadaoin

4908570970_a6d780aff5_z.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭peter1892

4908467554_e759ae7894.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,424 ✭✭✭bernard0368

BFD212C1DF3A46648021F59F0B72B53B-0000314502-0001866317-00800L-6499C8975BB74DB9BCD510030C9EC7C0.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

9B449DEAE3B94A18BE149AB5F6F5F47B-0000335047-0001866333-00800L-CDBB3003998448EFA7A44C439643FD6C.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 MiG 21

Dublin Horse Show
    94A86685FD514CD2948BE5310269F9DB-0000334056-0001866336-00800L-5036C877C2B54ECB933E615B0A9036DD.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭WheresMyCamera?

4908568301_d4ff3a6c6f_z.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭SetOverSet

4909450384_0ffe8601a6_b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,026 ✭✭✭kelly1

D561C7F031DF45D7BE3D2C536AB92326-0000327350-0001866454-00800L-5EF3A8CB065542568363F7C1E5671045.jpg

Hello folks, this is my first "studio" portrait for money. I had to bring up the exposure on the background because I only have a weak/cheap background floor light. Umbrella on the right and soft box on the left. I also should have kept the power on the 2 lights the same (I mistakenly use 1/2 power on one and 1/4 on the other). But it's a start! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

413F56016359489B9A4A51BD3DBE7BCB-0000314346-0001866480-00800L-CDB272D5EB48480DB103F592FD252C7C.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

CB0227D28CFE436A855BF9D2DDB1F30F-0000327405-0001866490-00800L-01CDEC57DB0E49F4B0527AC7D0491CD7.jpg

39FE368EC75B45B994AF7B1CDE84D158-0000327405-0001866497-00800L-890A0D0D807A47F28088BC0B6D5FD729.jpg

Jack, mad as a box of frogs, he fell the other day and rightly busted up his face ! Eating cake and watching bob the builder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭Trev M

He definitely has that crazy look about him, hope th elittle fella mends up well, my own little lad is about to start walking now , watching him wobble around is nerve racking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭charybdis

kelly1 wrote: »
    I also should have kept the power on the 2 lights the same (I mistakenly use 1/2 power on one and 1/4 on the other).

You probably shouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

4837535521_08e5d24fcf_z.jpg

4837535527_34db858aab_z.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

41027_456243361978_676741978_6148060_4768498_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭kjt

B0BCFAC675C94FD589C675B99A1CA79B-0000321932-0001867491-00800L-1424486E29C54144B95E18DD36CEC71E.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭*eadaoin

4910470899_a315014e34_z.jpg