Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Stage 17 - Thursday, July 22 2010, Pau - Col du Tourmalet, 174 km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

Didn't see it - was it a complete gift by Contador?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,460 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

go contador - yes !!! :)

am i the only one that wants contador to win ?

greeeat ride from roche

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

joker77 wrote: »
    Didn't see it - was it a complete gift by Contador?

Yeah, he didn't contest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭buffalo

Roche across at +3.25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

The biggest problem I have is that you never feel that Andy leaves it all on the road... maybe it's a strength of his that he hardly looks like he's suffering, but it gives the impression that he's more int he tank, but chooses not to use it, which I find quite frustrating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

Great ride Nico...

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Roche in, 3:26 down on Schleck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,012 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

what do you expect ?

two best climbers left the rest behind, and were not able to shake each other. great stage and great viewing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭DominoDub

Nico 3:26 down only well done

• Registered Users Posts: 289 ✭✭bbosco

Feckin brilliant from Roche.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

Well done Nic. Great ride. Big anti-climax though. Not a great days racing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,458 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

unbelievably good from Nico!
    The look of pain as he was crossing the line was unreal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

these two will fill the history books of the TDF in years to come.

2smiggy wrote: »
    what do you expect ?

two best climbers left the rest behind, and were not able to shake each other. great stage and great viewing
    Didn't see it, but did it not seem that Contador did not try to shake him? Bit of a difference than the battle you outlined...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Great race, just the two of them battling it out. They had nothing on each other.

Wouldn't be too quick to say Contador gifted the stage as he did try to pass Schleck towards the finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

NickDrake wrote: »
    Well done Nic. Great ride. Big anti-climax though. Not a great days racing

I thought it was amazing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Let me say. Well done Roche. Monster ride today.
    Fair play to ITV and Gary Imlach always mentions Roche.
    Savage amount of tricolours on the Tourmalet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭mcgratheoin

joker77 wrote: »
    Didn't see it, but did it not seem that Contador did not try to shake him? Bit of a difference than the battle you outlined...

Contador put in a huge attack at one stage and couldn't shake Shleck. Probably didn't attack again so Shleck couldn't counter.

el tonto wrote: »
    I'm not talking about the Ikurrinas

Fair enough. Have to say I didn't spot more than one or two....must be the mist and the tiny screen.

greendom wrote: »
    I thought it was amazing

All they did was ride tempo. Conta made one dig . Apart from that nothing. I thought Roche was amazing though.

• Registered Users Posts: 690 ✭✭✭poochiem

i know shag all but that was brilliant viewing...apart from all tha assholes (literally) running alongside for the last few kms. I love the way contador made his break and schleck caught him up and just sat there staring daggers right into his face. rivetting! they shook hands after the line.

the TG4 lads didn't make much of a deal of Roche's ride, although my Gaeilge isn't what it should be.

ROK ON wrote: »
    Let me say. Well done Roche. Monster ride today.
    Fair play to ITV and Gary Imlach always mentions Roche.
    Savage amount of tricolours on the Tourmalet.

ya Kelly seem allergic to mentioning Roche

It's a bit strange that isn't it? Something I've picked up on as well over the last 2 weeks - never gives him a mention, always left to the other guy (Harmon is it?) to say where he is.

poochiem wrote: »
    i know shag all but that was brilliant viewing...apart from all tha assholes (literally) running alongside for the last few kms. I love the way contador made his break and schleck caught him up and just sat there staring daggers right into his face. rivetting! they shook hands after the line.

the TG4 lads didn't make much of a deal of Roche's ride, although my Gaeilge isn't what it should be.

Ah the TG4 boys wouldnt really know much about it in fairness.

Eurosport studio saying it as it is. Very Disappointing and Schlek through it away. S Roche knows his stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭Plastik

What has that done to Roche's GC?

All they did was ride tempo. Conta made one dig . Apart from that nothing. I thought Roche was amazing though.

The 2 best riders in the comp slugging it out with each other - neither could break the other - great competition - brilliant stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭Durnish

Schleck has a great race/business face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭mal1

Cycled home as fast as I could to see the finish. Got to see the last 300m of Schleck and Contadour (and Roche of course). Great stuff from Roche.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,383 ✭✭✭Aoibheann

Excellent stage, I just wish Schleck could have given a dig - but if he was able to, I'm sure he would have. :/ I'm still holding out hope for a ridiculous time-trial result..

Does anyone know how much Roche has jumped up the GC? I'd imagine he's caught a few (Sastre, Lovkvist surely), so maybe he's got back up to his target zone of top 15.

The 2 best riders in the comp slugging it out with each other - neither could break the other - great competition - brilliant stuff.

Dont know about that I reckon if they gave more digs they could have. Roche and the other fella asking for money back and saying it was a poor showing and tatics all wrong.

the top 10 standings are only available so far..... and i don't feel like whipping out the calculator to work things out!
    He should gain a couple of places i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,142 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

All they did was ride tempo

I think it's time to return the ladybird book of cycling terminology for something a bit simpler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

Eh Kelly mentioned him several times today culminating in "as we see Nick Roche coming over here and doing a good performance only 3.26 down"

Dont know about that I reckon if they gave more digs they could have. Roche and the other fella asking for money back and saying it was a poor showing and tatics all wrong.

Sounds like he's trying to beat Giles, Dunphy et al for sourness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭leftism

Brilliant ride by Nico!

Looks like he'll move up a place or two in the GC after that...

Will have leapfrogged Sastre and Lovkvist for definite.

• Registered Users Posts: 48 donal_mcg

Schleck was more interested in keeping his 2nd place. Fignon on french tv was remarking how he kept checking behind him (not at Contador, but further back) to see where Sanchez/Menchov were so looks like his objective was not to lose 2nd as opposed to winning it.

Sounds like he's trying to beat Giles, Dunphy et al for sourness

+1 they are all a bit too critical!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Liamo08

I think leaving it all to one stage like this is always going to end in disappointment. I think Schleck really missed out when he won his first stage, Contador was vunerable that day and if Schleck had gone for it earlier he might have put some serious time in. I got from the interviews after that stage that it was only after that day that he thought he had a chance of beating Contador.

How far back was Vino??

Edit - think Roche may be ahead of Vinokourov now - up into top 15 again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

Andy blew it, chocked, the best man came second. Tactically he killed andy.

How far back was Vino??

49th, 10'45" down.

Liamo08 wrote: »
    I think Schleck really missed out when he won his first stage, Contador was vunerable that day and if Schleck had gone for it earlier he might have put some serious time in. I got from the interviews after that stage that it was only after that day that he thought he had a chance of beating Contador.

I think Contador planned to peak in the third week, whereas Schleck had to come into form earlier since he has no TT.

I also think Contador plans to go for the Vuelta too, which might mean he's trying to ride as conservatively as possible in the Tour.

Nico in 15th

1. CONTADOR Alberto 1 ASTANA 83h 32' 39"
    2. SCHLECK Andy 11 TEAM SAXO BANK 83h 32' 47" + 00' 08"
    3. SANCHEZ Samuel 181 EUSKALTEL - EUSKADI 83h 36' 11" + 03' 32"
    4. MENCHOV Denis 191 RABOBANK 83h 36' 32" + 03' 53"
    5. VAN DEN BROECK Jurgen 101 OMEGA PHARMA - LOTTO 83h 38' 06" + 05' 27"
    6. GESINK Robert 195 RABOBANK 83h 39' 20" + 06' 41"
    7. RODRIGUEZ OLIVER Joaquin 77 KATUSHA TEAM 83h 39' 42" + 07' 03"
    8. HESJEDAL Ryder 54 GARMIN - TRANSITIONS 83h 41' 57" + 09' 18"
    9. KREUZIGER Roman 44 LIQUIGAS-DOIMO 83h 42' 51" + 10' 12"
    10. HORNER Christopher 23 TEAM RADIOSHACK 83h 43' 16" + 10' 37"
    11. SANCHEZ Luis-Leon 161 CAISSE D’EPARGNE 83h 45' 25" + 12' 46"
    12. PLAZA MOLINA Ruben 168 CAISSE D’EPARGNE 83h 45' 40" + 13' 01"
    13. LEIPHEIMER Levi 25 TEAM RADIOSHACK 83h 47' 03" + 14' 24"
    14. KLÖDEN Andréas 24 TEAM RADIOSHACK 83h 47' 23" + 14' 44"
    15. ROCHE Nicolas 81 AG2R LA MONDIALE 83h 48' 39" + 16' 00"
    16. VINOKOUROV Alexandre 9 ASTANA 83h 50' 36" + 17' 57"
    17. GADRET John 85 AG2R LA MONDIALE 83h 50' 38" + 17' 59"
    18. LÖVKVIST Thomas 37 SKY PRO CYCLING 83h 51' 09" + 18' 30"
    19. DE WEERT Kevin 133 QUICK STEP 83h 52' 42" + 20' 03"
    20. MORENO FERNANDEZ Daniel 107 OMEGA PHARMA - LOTTO 83h 58' 02" + 25' 23"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭leftism

Roche back up to 15th!

He could be knocking on the door for top 10 if Gadret had given him the front wheel....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,460 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

overall

1. CONTADOR Alberto 1 ASTANA 83h 32' 39"
    2. SCHLECK Andy 11 TEAM SAXO BANK 83h 32' 47" + 00' 08"
    3. SANCHEZ Samuel 181 EUSKALTEL - EUSKADI 83h 36' 11" + 03' 32"
    4. MENCHOV Denis 191 RABOBANK 83h 36' 32" + 03' 53"
    5. VAN DEN BROECK Jurgen 101 OMEGA PHARMA - LOTTO 83h 38' 06" + 05' 27"
    6. GESINK Robert 195 RABOBANK 83h 39' 20" + 06' 41"
    7. RODRIGUEZ OLIVER Joaquin 77 KATUSHA TEAM 83h 39' 42" + 07' 03"
    8. HESJEDAL Ryder 54 GARMIN - TRANSITIONS 83h 41' 57" + 09' 18"
    9. KREUZIGER Roman 44 LIQUIGAS-DOIMO 83h 42' 51" + 10' 12"
    10. HORNER Christopher 23 TEAM RADIOSHACK 83h 43' 16" + 10' 37"
    11. SANCHEZ Luis-Leon 161 CAISSE D’EPARGNE 83h 45' 25" + 12' 46"
    12. PLAZA MOLINA Ruben 168 CAISSE D’EPARGNE 83h 45' 40" + 13' 01"
    13. LEIPHEIMER Levi 25 TEAM RADIOSHACK 83h 47' 03" + 14' 24"
    14. KLÖDEN Andréas 24 TEAM RADIOSHACK 83h 47' 23" + 14' 44"
    15. ROCHE Nicolas 81 AG2R LA MONDIALE 83h 48' 39" + 16' 00"
    16. VINOKOUROV Alexandre 9 ASTANA 83h 50' 36" + 17' 57"
    17. GADRET John 85 AG2R LA MONDIALE 83h 50' 38" + 17' 59"
    18. LÖVKVIST Thomas 37 SKY PRO CYCLING 83h 51' 09" + 18' 30"
    19. DE WEERT Kevin 133 QUICK STEP 83h 52' 42" + 20' 03"
    20. MORENO FERNANDEZ Daniel 107 OMEGA PHARMA - LOTTO 83h 58' 02" + 25' 23"

beaten to it ...........................

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭Guybrush T

leftism wrote: »
    Roche back up to 15th!

He could be knocking on the door for top 10 if Gadret had given him the front wheel....

He's got 2 minutes on Vino in 16th too, so might hold on to 15th to Paris. Here's hoping

Delighted for Roche. He's riden his guts out and despite some setbacks is up where he wants to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Liamo08

el tonto wrote: »
    I think Contador planned to peak in the third week, whereas Schleck had to come into form earlier since he has no TT.

I also think Contador plans to go for the Vuelta too, which might mean he's trying to ride as conservatively as possible in the Tour.

I think that's probably right but it only reinforces the point I was making about how Schleck could have put more time into Contador on Stage 8 he looked incredibly strong that day. Just don't think he really believed in himself until after that day, probably fair enough based on Contador's amazing performance last year.

Brilliant stuff by Roche, delighted for him.

leftism wrote: »
    Roche back up to 15th!

if roche had finished alongside Gadret during that stage a few days ago..... then he would now be 11th overall!