Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best way to get a nerdy housemate?

• 21-07-2010 12:16am
    Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭

Kind of a weird request but....

My housemate/best friend is moving out to go be an au pair abroad in a few months and I'll need a housemate. I can get along with just about anybody but I'd prefer someone who has a touch of nerdiness to them, since I'm quite a nerd myself and it would be nice to have shared interests with someone you live with.

Daft.ie is bringing up nothing, and Gumtree is just as bad. So where do I find nerds who need a place to live?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Bucklesman

Post an ad in Klingon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Reminds me of people in work when they were discussing renting a room to help pay their mega mortgage.
    "I want a girl, from the country, ideally no friends or boyfriend calling around, probably a nurse who works long shifts so I can watch "my TV" in peace and best of all if she goes home every weekend" :rolleyes:

They don't want a housemate, just a poor soul to pay their mortage and keep their mortgage payments regular.

Entirely not aimed at you OP, just getting a rant off my chest.
    Just stick up an ad and interview your potential housemates.
    However, I would say opposites attract and you may get on better with someone who is outside your comfort zone

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭Missiechan

Klingon and Elvish, maybe. :p

I used to live with people who were indifferent/tolerant of my own mild nerdiness, but I always found I drank more when I was around them, and went clubbing and to the pub more often. I kind of like not having to do that. Also, I have cats and some people won't be okay with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Missiechan wrote: »
    but I always found I drank more when I was around them, and went clubbing and to the pub more often.

But this is no bad thing at all :)

You don't have to drink on nights out
    I'm not trying to derail your thread into something for the personal issue forum.

I suppose interview your housemates but like I said, meeting the opposite person to you is good too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭fasty

Show games consoles or other nerdy things in the pics on daft or similar. I used to look out for stuff like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Why don't you post an ad on all the regular house finding websites (Daft etc) and just mention a few of your interests? That way, you'll be more likely to meet like-minded people.

IE. "Ideally, I'm looking for someone with similar interests to mine. I like X, Y and Z" etc etc.

It'll encourage people who like the same things to get in touch and anyone who isn't as "nerdy" won't apply!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,766 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Post an ad on boards.ie :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭sharper

Well the boards.ie folks are probably nerdier than most so post a link to the daft.ie ad and someone might bite.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,999 ✭✭✭conorhal

I'm afraid that you're just going to have to put up an ad and interview people until you find a fit. I'm a huge movie buff and I've a bookcase full of films in the living room, it never hurts a prospective flat mates chances to peruse it approvingly.

Rather then just giving people a tour of the gaff, offer them a cup of tea or coffee and chat about their interests to see if you have any 'flat-mate chemistry' and as somebody else suggested, don't automatically rule anybody out just because they don't share yours, you might find somebody compatible that also broadens your horizons, just look for somebody open and interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,518 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

As an interview question simply ask one of the following

Name 5 different Star trek ships
    Who is General George Hammond
    name 5 star wars planets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

As an interview question simply ask one of the following

Name 5 different Star trek ships
    Who is General George Hammond
    name 5 star wars planets

also get them recite linux man pages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

ntlbell wrote: »
    also get them recite linux man pages.

bah that's modern stuff. Get them to list 20 assembler instructions more like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Please, define "nerd"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,302 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Graces7 wrote: »
    Please, define "nerd"?
    Aye. You don't want a WoW bastad who is stuck in their room 22/7, coming out only to have a sh|t, and collect the food delivery.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,953 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

Having lived in a few houses that might fit this category,maybe people in work or college with you would fit the bill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

Missiechan, when you get your housemate, could you ask them if they'd like my WordStar book and floppies?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

010100000111010101110100001000000111010001101000011001010010000001100001011001000010000001110101
    011100000010000001101001011011100010000001100010011010010110111001100001011100100111100100101100
    001000000110111101101110011011000111100100100000011000010010000001110100011100100111010101100101
    001000000110111001100101011100100110010000100000011101110110100101101100011011000010000001100111
    011011110010000001110100011011110010000001110100011010000110010100100000011101000111001001101111
    011101010110001001101100011001010010000001101111011001100010000001100100011001010110001101101111

• Registered Users Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭Joseph

0101010001101000011000010111010000100000011010010111001100100000011101100110010101110010011110010010000001110100011100100111010101100101

• Registered Users Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭fabbydabby

There are 10 kinds of people in the world, those who get binary and those who don't.....

If it's your gaff, you're waaaay better off with someone who keeps the place clean and tidy than someone with shared interests (nerd or otherwise).

Once you rent out a room in your house to someone who habitually urinates on the floor of the jacks, does brown burnouts in the bowl of the jacks (apparently), constantly takes your milk, shower gel, cereal, tinfoil, cling film, bogroll etc etc. never EVER tidies up (even picks up things like sweet wrappers after himself) you'll know what i am talking about.

To hell with shared interests. Your priorities should be someone quiet and easy going and clean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭i.need.a.job

Danbo! wrote: »
    010100000111010101110100001000000111010001101000011001010010000001100001011001000010000001110101
    011100000010000001101001011011100010000001100010011010010110111001100001011100100111100100101100
    001000000110111101101110011011000111100100100000011000010010000001110100011100100111010101100101
    001000000110111001100101011100100110010000100000011101110110100101101100011011000010000001100111
    011011110010000001110100011011110010000001110100011010000110010100100000011101000111001001101111
    011101010110001001101100011001010010000001101111011001100010000001100100011001010110001101101111

01001001 01101101 00100000 01101110 01101111 01110100 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101110 01100101 01110010 01100100 00100000 01100010 01110101 01110100 00100000 01101111 01110101 01110100 00100000 01101111 01100110 00100000 01100011 01110101 01110010 01101001 01101111 01110011 01101001 01110100 01111001 00100000 01001001 00100000 01100111 01101111 01101111 01100111 01101100 01100101 01100100 00100000 01100010 01101001 01101110 01100001 01110010 01111001 00100000 01110100 01110010 01100001 01101110 01110011 01101100 01100001 01110100 01101111 01110010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭Citizenpain

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,285 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

I think we get the binary message...... Enough folks......

OP- I don't think there is a sure-fire way of getting a 'nerdy' housemate that you'll get on with...... You could look at what they are studying in uni- or if older what their job is- people seem to be suggesting that computer programmers are the uber nerds (as a systems analyst- I'd dispute this one.....) You'd be surprised at the number of programmers who pull all night alcohol filled benders. All I'd suggest programmers have in common- is high consumption of all or some of the following: Alcohol, cigarettes, high quality coffee, sweets and junk food, cake, fast cars, and for the older ones and those with young children- activities such as kickboxing, golf and weird treasure hunts.......

I'd be with Pikachucheeks on this one- try to list your major hobbies/areas which interest you- and see if you can get a good match with a housemate. There isn't a prescription you can make that will ensure a geeky/nerdy housemate who wouldn't drive you insane in other ways. Find a housemate you can get on with- a nice living environment is far more than simply finding a pet nerd.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,581 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Do as pikachu said.

Alternatively print out your daft ad and post it on Corkboards in science faculties in colleges.

Surprise no one here has asked if you're female yet...