Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it okay for a man to cry at a Movie (movie spoilers within)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭celticbest

No, but it is okay for a Man to cry when his team loses :(, or when his team win the League / Championship.........:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 marleyandme

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Really i gotta admit that Marley and Me had me going near the end cos that Dog reminded me of mine but other than that i've never really felt the inclination to cry at a film.

i was like WHAT HAVE I DONE to make him call me a dog...then i copped my username is the same!:p
    NothingMan wrote: »
    Marley and me = Life's shít then your dog dies. Not sad just depressing.

Anyway, the only film that almost tipped me over the edge was The bridge to Terabithia. Barely held on to my man card through that one.

i went to see Marley and Me because i thought it would cheer me up on a 'down' day. so not meant to be a happy film...i would not have gone to see it if it had been advertised the way it really is...

bridge to Terabithia is AMAZING! kind of like my girl...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

only once, when watching bruce willis

"we win gracie"

sniff,sniff

excuse me, i have something in my eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,410 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

i cried when optimus prime died, i was 9 at the time though, still sh*ts on those horrible real life action movies michael bay made

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

If you don't at least FEEL like shedding a tear at the death of Mufasa in The Lion King then you're a god damn monster. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

The Boy In the Striped Pyjamas left a lump in my throat at the end didnt cry though im too tough for that ha ha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Our teacher was lazy, she would stick on film and feck off to the staff room.

Showing a class of 6 years old the film Bambi was not a good idea.
    The class including me were crying when his mother got shot, gulp :(:(:(

Principal discovered an unattended class all crying, I do hope that teacher got a bollocking

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GNx6nrWYMrY&feature=related

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Ive must of seen Gladiator 20+ times and i cry every single time at the end. Million Dollar Baby is another tear jerker :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Naos

I'm not ashamed to admit that Marley and Me killled me.

The whole "Remember when we said you were the worst dog in the world? Don't believe one word of it" speech, argh. I don't cry much anyway but that, feck me.

If any of my mates are reading this(In particular PabD), yes, I watched Marley and Me and I cried.

Ps. The end of Cool Runnings - I had tears in my eyes when people started to slow clap (I want to start one one day), they had tried so hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I nearly cried watching Philadelphia, it's one of the main reason I hate the gays, how dare they make me show emotion. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

I don't ever want to see Marley & Me; I went through that experience.

But... Toy Story 3... holding hands... won't spoil... little fcuker leaves for College... now that was sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Ah Ffs, Fart, could you not spoiler tag that. I've waited ages on TS3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Hackysack

I cried when I watched The Room.

We are talking about tears of laughter right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭hshortt

Life is Beautiful - yep.
    Green Mile - yep.
    Marley and me - almost. - Though my son nearly had a breakdown.
    Too many others to mention.

Excuse me, I'm lactating. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭422nd

Willlllllsssssssssonnnnnn! :(

What is this again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

422nd wrote: »
    What is this again?

Castaway (or possibly Dennis the Menace)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭422nd

Oh yeah! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭clived2

Kasabian wrote: »
    It was shocking , like watching your little sister :pac:
    kfallon wrote: »
    She is full grown beautiful woman now.....with great boobies :D

issues

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Really i gotta admit that Marley and Me had me going near the end cos that Dog reminded me of mine but other than that i've never really felt the inclination to cry at a film. Got me thinking though is it okay for blokes to cry at films? I'd personally think it was a bit odd if i was in the pictures and some bloke was crying his eyes out near me (especially if i was at the terminator or summit).

Ha! Ha! You went to see Marley and Me!

Up. Now there's one. F*ck me that life-time montage is something else. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Anthony Walsh

Our teacher was lazy, she would stick on film and feck off to the staff room.

Showing a class of 6 years old the film Bambi was not a good idea.
    The class including me were crying when his mother got shot, gulp :(:(:(

Principal discovered an unattended class all crying, I do hope that teacher got a bollocking

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GNx6nrWYMrY&feature=related

I have to admit I think I am the anti christ, I laughed at that part when I was a kid. Also at the end of Shrek 2 when he jumps off the stage and crushes the little doggy, all the little kids gasped and I was skitting my hole laughing.
    I am Legend with the dog though that gets to me. I won't watch marley and me cause I'll sob like a little girl.
    Oh if the last episode of Lost, I'm nearly getting a tear in my eye thinking of it.

Anyway back to manly man time. Grrr BEERRR, FIGHTTING and SPHHHUUUDS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,071 ✭✭✭Greyfox

No way, it's as bad as painting your nails or putting make-up on...it's a tiny bit ghey!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭piby

The only movie any man is allowed to cry in is T2:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fZ6uLFsLR2Y

Still brings a tear to my eye when he gives the thumb up! It's also somewhat ironic that it takes the death of a machine rather than a human to make me well up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

I've cried watching a few films but only ever when i'm watching them by myself. I think the last one was at the end of "Everybody's Fine". Also i read the lovely bones..brilliant book but it dehydrated me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Fart wrote: »
    But... Toy Story 3... holding hands... won't spoil...
    little fcuker leaves for College... now that was sad

See the spoiler tags???? Is that so fucking hard you inconsiderate Fart. I avoid reviews and trailers so you can go in open minded and then someone does that. It may only be a small spoiler or is it? I don't know cos I haven't seen the film yet, but I could have done without it. Have some consideration next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Have to say, had a tear in my eye at the end of Song for a Raggy Boy. And the Passion had me a bit emotional as well. The book is better. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭clived2

Also i read the lovely bones..brilliant book but it dehydrated me :)

I can only assume, it was one of those picture books.....
    oh wait a minute, now i see where you are coming from

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

I cried when Paolo Ghislimberti was killed during the Italian GP in 2000.

I know its not quite the same thing, but I was watching something, and then something happened, and that made me cry. So close enough!

The Green Mile makes me sad too. As does Song for A Raggy Boy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭StraddleFor6

funk-you wrote: »
    Of course it is BUT only if you are crying at a selfless noble death of another man, machine or dog. Even then when your bird is going awww etc you're obliged to grab her tit.

-Funk

This 6 minute documentary got me, big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Theres somethin wrong with ya if you DONT cry at Marley & Me! I was in ribbons even though id read the book and knew the ending :p My own dog had died 2wks previous though so that didnt help!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Millie

See the spoiler tags???? Is that so fucking hard you inconsiderate Fart. I avoid reviews and trailers so you can go in open minded and then someone does that. It may only be a small spoiler or is it? I don't know cos I haven't seen the film yet, but I could have done without it. Have some consideration next time.

Oooh oooh, NothingMan is going to make Fart cry now :)

Millie wrote: »
    Oooh oooh, NothingMan is going to make Fart cry now :)

If Fart cries is he then called Shart?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I have to admit I think I am the anti christ, I laughed at that part when I was a kid.

You laughed at Bambi's mother getting shot?
    You sir have a heart of stone! And going straight to hell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

Cried my eyes out to The Karate Kid. It’s the story of a hopeful, young karate enthusiast whose dreams and moxie take him all the way to the All Valley Karate Championship.

Then at the end he tragically loses to that nerdy kid who barely even knows Karate. It's so sad.

Referencing Barney Stinson High Five!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Millie

If Fart cries is he then called Shart?

I'm not sure about that but I think he deserves to be made shed tears after that cock up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Field of Dreams FTW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Teared up at the end of Wall-E, both times I watched it.

Bawled my eyes out at the beginning (I mean, come on) and near the end of Up, both times I watched it.

Pixar have a gift.
    And I guess I have teh ghey :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,930 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

cry - maybe
    spoil - shut up and die

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Did anyone here cry at The Notebook? I know a few lads who said they were crying like babies at the end of it.

Millicent wrote: »
    Did anyone here cry at The Notebook? I know a few lads who said they were crying like babies at the end of it.

I was busy making out with the girl I brough to see it. Why else would a guy go see that movie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

What do we want? Fry's dog! When do we want it? Fry's dog!

How could I forget, thanks Karl :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

I was busy making out with the girl I brough to see it. Why else would a guy go see that movie?

I don't know, tbh. I know one who even owns it. I watched it expecting to be in tears after all these men cried (I don't cry easily) and was distinctly underwhelmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Millicent wrote: »
    I don't know, tbh. I know one who even owns it. I watched it expecting to be in tears after all these men cried (I don't cry easily) and was distinctly underwhelmed.

yeah it was pretty ****ty i got to say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Michael B

Anyone that doesn't cry at Marley & Me has a heart of stone! Hachi is another heart breaking one. Damn dogs get me every time!

Now if you're crying at Dawson's Creek or Glee or some shite like that, you're a Wendy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

The Dirty Dozen is very emotional of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭ClutchIt

I almost cried at brokeback mountain.

We have a winner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

ClutchIt wrote: »

We have a weiner

FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

ClutchIt wrote: »

We have a winner

Did you like the scene where The Joker made his pencil disappear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

my kids have "Up" on DVD and watch it a lot....
    ..it often get's to me because it I cannot help but think about the linked story below, which I came across last year when it broke..

I've four daughters, the eldest is just a little younger in age to the girl in the story, and to be honest I still well up a bit even thinking about...

This is the only thing that has made me cry in years.....

...and every time the kids put on the movie I try to give them a big hug and it drives them nuts ! :o

Sorry from bringing some sentimental reality into AH !
    http://www.ocregister.com/news/pixar-128978-up-movie.html

HUNTINGTON BEACH - Colby Curtin, a 10-year-old with a rare form of cancer, was staying alive for one thing - a movie.
    From the minute Colby saw the previews to the Disney-Pixar movie Up, she was desperate to see it. Colby had been diagnosed with vascular cancer about three years ago, said her mother, Lisa Curtin, and at the beginning of this month it became apparent that she would die soon and was too ill to be moved to a theater to see the film.
    After a family friend made frantic calls to Pixar to help grant Colby her dying wish, Pixar came to the rescue.
    The company flew an employee with a DVD of Up, which is only in theaters, to the Curtins’ Huntington Beach home on June 10 for a private viewing of the movie.
    The animated movie begins with scenes showing the evolution of a relationship between a husband and wife. After losing his wife in old age, the now grumpy man deals with his loss by attaching thousands of balloons to his house, flying into the sky, and going on an adventure with a little boy.
    Colby died about seven hours after seeing the film.
    With her daughter’s vigil planned for Friday, Lisa Curtin reflected about how grateful she is that Pixar - and "Up" - were a part of her only child’s last day.
    “When I watched it, I had really no idea about the content of the theme of the movie,” said Curtin, 46. “I just know that word ‘Up’ and all of the balloons and I swear to you, for me it meant that (Colby) was going to go up. Up to heaven.”
    Pixar officials declined to comment on the story or name the employees involved.

THE PREVIEWS
    Colby was diagnosed with vascular cancer on Dec. 23, 2005 after doctors found a tumor in her liver. At the time of her death, her stomach was about 94 inches around, swollen with fluids the cancer wouldn’t let her body properly digest. The rest of her body probably weighed about 45 pounds, family friend Carole Lynch said.
    Colby had gone to Newport Elementary School and was known for making others laugh, family friend Terrell Orum-Moore said. Colby loved to dance, sing, swim and seemed to have a more mature understanding of the world than other children her age, Orum-Moore said.
    On April 28, Colby went to see the Dream Works 3-D movie "Monsters Vs. Aliens" but was impressed by the previews to "Up."
    “It was from then on, she said, ‘I have to see that movie. It is so cool,’” Lynch said.
    Colby was a movie fan, Lisa Curtin said, and she latched onto Pixar’s movies because she loved animals.
    Two days later Colby’s health began to worsen. On June 4 her mother asked a hospice company to bring a wheelchair for Colby so she could visit a theater to see "Up." However, the weekend went by and the wheelchair was not delivered, Lisa Curtin said.
    By June 9, Colby could no longer be transported to a theater and her family feared she would die without having seen the movie.
    At that point, Orum-Moore, who desperately wanted Colby to get her last wish, began to cold-call PixarandDisney to see if someone could help.
    Pixar has an automated telephone answering system, Orum-Moore said, and unless she had a name of a specific person she wanted to speak to, she could not get through. Orum-Moore guessed a name and the computer system transferred her to someone who could help, she said.
    Pixar officials listened to Colby’s story and agreed to send someone to Colby’s house the next day with a DVD of "Up," Orum-Moore recalled.
    She immediately called Lisa Curtin, who told Colby.
    “Do you think you can hang on?” Colby’s mother said.
    “I’m ready (to die), but I’m going to wait for the movie,” the girl replied.

THE MOVIE
    At about 12:30 p.m. the Pixar employee came to the Curtins’ home with the DVD.
    He had a bag of stuffed animals of characters in the movie and a movie poster. He shared some quirky background details of the movie and the group settled in to watch Up.
    Colby couldn't see the screen because the pain kept her eyes closed so her mother gave her a play-by-play of the film.
    At the end of the film, the mother asked if her daughter enjoyed the movie and Colby nodded yes, Lisa Curtin said.
    The employee left after the movie, taking the DVD with him, Lynch said.
    “He couldn’t have been nicer,” said Lynch who watched the movie with the family. “His eyes were just welled up.”
    After the movie, Colby’s dad, Michael Curtin, who is divorced from Lisa Curtin, came to visit.
    Colby died with her mom and dad nearby at 9:20 p.m.
    Among the Up memorabilia the employee gave Colby was an “adventure book” - a scrap book the main character’s wife used to chronicle her journeys.
    “I’ll have to fill those adventures in for her,” Lisa Curtin said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Marley and me had me in bits, I own a labrador and a badly behaved one at that. It was like I was watching my own dog.I was by myself hungover on a Sunday-big mistake! They drag it out too for a good 20 minutes, absolute torture.

Most lads I know who own dogs will all admit to crying when watching it.