Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Property recession? someone should tell this guy..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Bedsits were going for 500 to 700 a month in the dublin 2 and 4 areas.
    Mad but true.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

mashling wrote: »
    How about this one - €475 a month to sleep in a cage over the bathroom :/

http://www.daft.ie/searchrental.daft?id=858777

almost as good/bad as the crying chair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Eh, a step ladder and a handy length of cord. Do these come with the apartment? :confused:
    [*] Q8GL7BcmOTRZkXkRP8fh0_gP0rXbG73abEntMJoIMYZtPWRhZnQmbD02MDA=.jpg

Apt motivational poster win
    [*] ov2mtpFCdHxtAJUVSQ3HFKwoNF5ZBGUNKA9tJpl2_MNtPWRhZnQmaD00NTA=.jpg

And the award for Most Optimistic Use Of Space goes to...
    [*] SLbnVziZx6YinXyUd7EHcXWKLWqlPX7pYGe3PGpNO4ptPWRhZnQmaD00NTA=.jpg
    Handy for popping your dinner back into the oven anyway.

eightyfish wrote: »

This which might be a joke becasue there's no pictures of the house itself, but why would anyone pay €22 to put up a fake ad?

Best bit is this in the ad

Rent Allowance Not Accepted

bwaahaha

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Eh, a step ladder and a handy length of cord. Do these come with the apartment? :confused:

[*]
    Q8GL7BcmOTRZkXkRP8fh0_gP0rXbG73abEntMJoIMYZtPWRhZnQmbD02MDA=.jpg

Jesus..there's a genuine Victorian dressing table in that room...you might get a couple of grand at auction for that!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

almost as good/bad as the crying chair.

Heresy. Nothing will ever match the crying chair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

mashling wrote: »
    How about this one - €475 a month to sleep in a cage over the bathroom :/

http://www.daft.ie/searchrental.daft?id=858777

That type of kip is still very common around Ranelagh and Rathmines. When I was a student, my local supplier of herbal relaxation products used to live in one of these places. Awful.

The Government announced they were going to ban these places, seems to been put on the long finger.

Ban on bedsits

• Registered Users Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

geeky wrote: »
    Heresy. Nothing will ever match the crying chair.

That's why I said almost.

I hope noone ever moves into that bedsit so the interior that surrounds the crying chair will never be disturbed.

• Registered Users Posts: 246 ✭✭Hearvee

Came accross this one today (before I found this thread!)

www.daft.ie/2878187

Remember it's a "self-contained unit", not a glorified shed with a foldaway bed...

jesus, Im in feckin creases here laughing, I swear to God, funniest thread Ive read in a long time.

hey, Im all on for paying a joint visit if anyone arranges a viewing. People like Billy should be humiliated :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Hearvee wrote: »

www.daft.ie/2878187

Remember it's a "self-contained unit", not a glorified shed with a foldaway bed...

That's a lot nicer than some of the ones that have been posted tbh....

• Hearvee wrote: »

www.daft.ie/2878187

At least it's nice though. I wouldn't mind living there, just not for that asking price.

[quote=[Deleted User];67082342]At least it's nice though. I wouldn't mind living there, just not for that asking price.[/QUOTE]

jesus, youd nearly rent a whole three bed in Lucan for that now! people are greedy greedy bastards. its a well done shed, but its a fecking shed.
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Ozil

That's a lot nicer than some of the ones that have been posted tbh....

I think the price is a little optimistic though, €750/month to live in a box, woo

• Registered Users Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Those people should be strung up with the bankers

I think however gets it could sublet the couch! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Ozil wrote: »
    I think the price is a little optimistic though, €750/month to live in a box, woo

oooh....didn't see that!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Class thread i have nt laughed this much in years!
    On a serious note Billy should be commended.......
    Years ago we used to play in the box the new fridge came in but look what Billy managed to do with it!

• Jake1 wrote: »
    jesus, youd nearly rent a whole three bed in Lucan for that now! people are greedy greedy bastards. its a well done shed, but its a fecking shed.

Yeah indeed. I'd still take it over all those nasty little bedsits with pink carpet and hobs resting on microwaves.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭BrianJD

genericguy wrote: »
    it'd fcuking want to open up into scarlett johansson's clunge to warrant spending that amount of shekels.

Quite possibly the funniest line I've read on Boards and I'm not even sure what a "clunge" is!

I doff my imaginary hat to you fine Sir

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

How about a stickied thread.."After Hours HovelWatch"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Degsy wrote: »

yeah, you can be chris hansen, and i'll pose as the interested potential tenant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 tommywiseau

sticking on the washing machine before bed wouldn't be the best idea in this 360e a month beauty.. http://www.daft.ie/searchrental.daft?id=916005

and here we have a layout WIN. oven and fridge access only a short reach away http://www.daft.ie/searchrental.daft?id=899887

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

from the sublime to the ridiculous....

http://www.daft.ie/searchrental.daft?id=909778

€9000 a month.

Now, this house is stunning, but 9k a month? Who the hell would have 9k a month to put into a rental property?
    Bertie

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭sickle

how about €850 a month to live in someones back garden in Dun Laoghaire
    http://www.daft.ie/searchrental.daft?id=881556
    I love the way it says it has been 'recently upgraded'. When, back in 1987? The state of the place!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

That bedroom with the indoor window is the funniest thing ever!

This entire thread is hysterical!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

Degsy wrote: »

Excellent idea.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

"After Hours Hovelwatch- The Curse of the Crying chair"

• Registered Users Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

sickle wrote: »
    how about €850 a month to live in someones back garden in Dun Laoghaire
    www.daft.ie/searchrental.daft?id=899887
    I love the way it says it has been 'recently upgraded'. When, back in 1987? The state of the place!

SO they'd pay me €850 every month to live there?

That wouldnt be too bad I supose, if i could bring my own sofa.

Wait. What? I have to Pay Them???

• Registered Users Posts: 447 ✭✭bluecatmorgana

hilarious thread
    I nearly got sick from laughing

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

The lads over at The Property Pin have had a similar thread running for 4 years now and seeing as they just linked to us I thought I'd link back :)

Hundreds of places like the ones mentioned here including this one...

http://img202.imageshack.us/img202/1237/lolns.jpg

*** WOW *** WOW *** WOW ***
    THREE BEDROOM DETACHED HOME
    COMPLETELY REFURBISHED THROUGHOUT WITH PINE INTERNAL DOORS AND SOLID TIMBER FLOORING IN ALL BEDROOMS
    A BUYERS DREAM!!!
    ARRANGE AN IMMEDIATE VIEWING!!!

http://www.daft.ie/searchsale.daft?id=493718&search=1

Or one of my favourites.....

http://mediacache-s3eu.daft.ie/srKkZ1hzP2BLkDGxHy6e6tC1tHMeORFdg6csmMgd1v5tPWRhZnQmbD02MDA=.jpg