Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

King George - Saturday 24th - 4.25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Harbinger is weak as water on Betfair

The horse didn't know about the drift

Super performance

• Registered Users Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

wow

• Moderators Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Ryan Moore is an idiot. Wouldn't of won regardless but Moore ruined his chances, keeping 1 length away from the pacemaker, WOW.

Anyone think Workforce will pay heavily for the Derby win? Just specualating but on the looks of things, he could turn out like Grundy. Maybe never win another race?
    x PyRo wrote: »
    Ryan Moore is an idiot. Wouldn't of won regardless but Moore ruined his chances, keeping 1 length away from the pacemaker, WOW.

No, there was no horse there for him. He'd never have beaten Harbinger today. No matter what jockey was on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

Well I imagine that was a bit of a shocker for many. I'm covered on this and something never felt right about how much faith was being put into Workforce. Pretty much every time you get that kind of buzz you should think something ain't rite!

Nulty wrote: »
    No, there was no horse there for him. He'd never have beaten Harbinger today. No matter what jockey was on.

I said he wouldn't of beaten him, but it was a shocking ride. He should of covered him up on the rail instead of having him outside Cape Blanco. The horse never traveled comfortably at all.

The ride has nothing to do with it. I have no idea why you think it was so bad. He was one off the rail and who knows what would have happened if he was nearer the back, he may not have beaten Confront home. You can't slate Moore for that. It wouldn't have made a difference if he was ready for the race in my opinion.

I lost a wad too by the way

Nulty wrote: »
    The ride has nothing to do with it. I have no idea why you think it was so bad. He was one off the rail and who knows what would have happened if he was nearer the back, he may not have beaten Confront home. You can't slate Moore for that. It wouldn't have made a difference if he was ready for the race in my opinion.

I lost a wad too by the way

Yes it does, the horse never switched off, just like Canford Cliffs, he needs to be covered up until the last half mile or so. It's either Moore or Stoutes tactics that are at fault. No way is he 17 odd lengths worse than Harbinger! He should of been covered up to switch off and run on late, not this stupid attempt to keep him up with the pace. Talking through my pocket but I can't believe that Workforce was ran to the best of his abilities there and I think Moore should of known what to do.

Both his maiden and Derby were cover-up rides, but so was the Dante. He lost in a small Dante field and in a small King George field. I prefer to blame the Derby and what it took out of him on just his 3rd race. I see where your coming from with his position in the race, its an angle but not the strongest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

I thought he was a bit too near the pace like Pyro said,and I didn't back it. So was Cape Blanco,they went at it as if it was a two horse race. In fairness to Cape Blanco he kept second place. Workforce still the better horse?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

I know Workforce broke the track record in the Derby, however time guru Nick Mordin raised doubts about him after the race:
    The winner WORKFORCE (41) actually broke the course record, and he certainly looked good by picking up a lot of ground and charging seven lengths clear. But I’ve spent ages comparing the sectional and final times of the Derby with the other races on the card and can’t find a way to rate it anything better than a solid Group 1 performance. My suspicion is that the huge rail movements they often make at Epsom had more to do with breaking the record than his level of ability.

Workforce could prove to be as good as a lot of people now seem to be rating him. But right now I can only rank him as one of the top half dozen or so three year olds.

One thing that makes me a little dubious of the hype now gathering behind Workforce is his rather uncoordinated action. He raises his knees a little too high to be a firm ground specialist and doesn’t have the smooth, flowing stride you’d expect of a top flight performer. I honestly thought he would never handle the gradients or the fast ground at Epsom. The fact that he managed to do so doesn’t dispel the obvious concerns about his stride pattern. He hits the ground a little too hard for my liking and I just wonder if he’ll stay sound. In addition let’s not forget his key rivals all had problems and he was left to beat a mere pacemaker into second.

I thought Workforce was a bit skinny at odds on but didn't get involved in the race. I never write horses off after just 1 bad run and hopefully he gets back on track later in this season or next

I know Workforce broke the track record in the Derby, however time guru Nick Mordin raised doubts about him after the race:

I thought Workforce was a bit skinny at odds on but didn't get involved in the race. I never write horses off after just 1 bad run and hopefully he gets back on track later in this season or next

Thats something I was looking at before the race. His action is very pronounced. Very, for a fast ground horse. It makes him look like a big galloper but really hes just lifting his legs unusually high.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

yeah Ryan Moore (champion jock) is an ''idiot''

stop pocket talking get over it horse wasnt good enough

stoute the scumbag not giving fallon the ride

• Registered Users Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭applehunter

SRFC wrote: »

stoute the scumbag not giving fallon the ride

Stoute is a total gent.

He owes Fallon nothing.

Stoute is a total gent.

Couldn't find a nicer and more humble man in racing.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,855 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

Stoute is a total gent.

He owes Fallon nothing.

that's a fact

that same can't be said about fallon though

only rides out for him 3 days a week

then he puts the frog up on the horse

hes a great bloke isnt he

The form is so inconsistent this year. I know Harbinger won it very easily,but I think he'll still have to prove himself at another Group 1. As low as evens for the Arc is ridiculous.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,249 ✭✭✭Juwwi

SRFC wrote: »
    only rides out for him 3 days a week

then he puts the frog up on the horse

hes a great bloke isnt he

Maybe the owners did'nt want a cheat riding their horse.

robbie1977 wrote: »
    Maybe the owners did'nt want a cheat riding their horse.

And Peslier is one of the best jockeys in the world.
    And he did ride for Stoute in the previous two King Georges,finishing second and third. It's clear that he was the right man for the job.

Zacinto could do no better than 5th in a Listed race at Pontrefact today,with 6 runners,as 15/7 favourite. Shows the bad state of Stoute's stable.

• Registered Users Posts: 478 ✭✭Seanohea

I would have loved to have seen Fallon on harbinger yesterday, he needs to get those big rides again. He is still one of the best jockeys there has ever been, if he's not going to be champion jockey again it would be great if he could win a few big group 1s

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭chebonaparte

had Harbringer at 9-2 picked last thursday!

told family friends to bet r/fc on harbringer and cape blanco against the fake fav. hype

won on camponolagist last week watch out on pp not paying the bigger sp because its international markets

told family friends to bet r/fc on harbringer and cape blanco against the fake fav. hype

won on camponolagist last week watch out on pp not paying the bigger sp because its international markets

Celtic do that too,I think nearly all the bookies have that now on international racing.

shouldve maybe mentioned it beforehand

was harbinger 9/2 last thursday?

No he was as low as 2's in places.

i backed him at 5/2 on friday myself so if i heard anyone
    had got even better than 3s before saturday i'd have
    known it was bull.

might be getting my wires crossed but it looked like
    he was saying he backed him at 9/2 last thursday.
    He touched 9/2 for maybe a minute on saturday

its easy talk after the event and i hate that myself

5/1 in pp half hour before the race

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭chebonaparte

lads i backed harbinger few mins b4 race off in paddy powers!

i didnt mention tip b4 here because simply i want member of boards .ie

i was amazed he was 4-1 and as i wrote docket he drifted to 9-2 pp obviously wanted to lay some money off of workforce

i nearly missed race because i was fixing computer!

i dont bull i have book of all winners and losses

any real punter should had harbringer

exp. shows workforce wa a very beatable fake fav.

any real punter should had harbringer

exp. shows workforce wa a very beatable fake fav.[/QUOTE]

A lot or REAL punters lumped on workforce.

when you didnt post before the race (yes, i know you werent a member)
    why bother posting afterwards?

its easy say this after the event...........
    maybe next time you'll post before the race

i flicked through the racing post on saturday and i couldnt
    find one tipster going for harbinger and these are the so
    called experts. I was seriously worried about my own
    bet on him and more so when i read the confidence
    here on workforce
    Plenty lumped on workforce and on his derby form (which did
    take plenty of knocks) he looked to have an outstanding chance.
    i only regret not going in again when i saw 9/2.
    The drift didnt worry me as he drifted badly when he won
    the gordon stakes at goodwood last year