Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

3 Irish Open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

yeah I agree, didnt grasp what you meant by careful now !! I think you Chris wood can give Fisher a run for his money !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

BUACHAILL wrote: »
    didnt grasp what you meant by careful now !!
    Just referring to the sensitive posters on here who think any criticism of PH is an attack.

Aidric wrote: »
    Just referring to the sensitive posters on here who think any criticism of PH is an attack.

haha get you , little slow today so I am, nothing to do with the bottle of red wine I had last night I swear !!:D:D. I am suprised some of the trolls havent jumped on it yet, ye know who yis are :mad::mad:

Bad shot from Fisher with an 8 iron in hand and only 130 yards out !! Letting the field back into it.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Lowry eagled the last according to Sky.

Nope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭thelongfellow

The 16th they mean. Shot 68 up into the top 10.

McIlroy back to -5. Shame after a great start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

McIlroy doing a Harrington;)

thegen wrote: »
    McIlroy doing a Harrington;)

Pfft be quiet, no fun bashing Rory.

*leaves very VERY quickly* :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭NoelAPM

jaysus its becoming a trademark of mcIlroy now... explode during 1 out of 4 rounds! is it inexperience?

Tell ye one thing for nothing if McElroy could scrap like Harrington he would be unstoppable and vice versa if Harrington had McElroys long game.

Sensational scrapping form Paddy today and did exceptionally well considering he hit it off the tee like a 22 handicapper !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,007 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Molinari takes this tourney. ,dont particularly mind as I like him

This just got interesting. Nice bunched up leaderboard going in to the final day. I hope the rain holds off tomorrow and things are set up for a cracking final day.
    The 18th has claimed a lot of victims today, quite a few doubles racked up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

Aidric wrote: »
    This just got interesting. Nice bunched up leaderboard going in to the final day. I hope the rain holds off tomorrow and things are set up for a cracking final day.
    The 18th has claimed a lot of victims today, quite a few doubles racked up.

that would play right into Moli's hands

heavyballs wrote: »
    that would play right into Moli's hands

you back him ?

only in running at 12/1 on Thursday,didn't fancy him b4 tourney to win as i think his putting can be dodgey at times,and i thought this course was going to be effectively a putting comp which hasn't been the case

Pity you didnt get him from the start but that said he is good at 12/1 in the running. I fancy chris wood to do something tomorrow and was going to back him from that start and didnt, an each way would have been nice, idiot:mad:

tbh the only reason i backed him was because of the value,he was only 18-20/1 from the start,so after a good opening round i thought 12/1 was very fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

I have 2 very small bets on Moli from the start. I figure I am owed it from the whole Robert Rock Debacle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,571 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Tell ye one thing for nothing if McElroy could scrap like Harrington he would be unstoppable and vice versa if Harrington had McElroys long game.

Sensational scrapping form Paddy today and did exceptionally well considering he hit it off the tee like a 22 handicapper !!

McIlroy ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Harrington right where he wants to be. Only a few behind and only 4 players ahead of him. Mind you if he could drive the ball anyway decent over last 2 days he'd probably be in the lead by now.

I like the way the course toughened up a bit there today, helped by wind obviously. Good to see a short course can still be a challenge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 ellie2

just wondering, can you pay at the gate getting in or do you need a ticket. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

As a 22 handicapper myself, i'd nearly take offense to that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

ellie2 wrote: »
    just wondering, can you pay at the gate getting in or do you need a ticket. Thanks

Pay at the gate. 30 euro in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭slingerz

rory started unreal today but then went to pot, saw him throw and volley the driver after his tee shot on the 6th i think. some great golf from chris woods though some Big young fella!!

clarke was going well too and seemed to be in good form on the course.

still expect fischer to hold on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭aster99

Wood seems to be going the right direction in terms of form, level on thursday followed by -6 and -5 so he must have a great shot.

But just to be different i'm after backing Richard Greene, mostly because he was 18/1 last night which is great odds for someone only 3 back. And he's playing well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

Would love to see Pad get it together today and shoot 64 to win. The way he is putting(like a man possessed!) a score like that is not out of the question but needs something to happen with his long game to contend.

I fancy Noh Seung Yul to go low today and possibly nick it. Has bags of talent.

Great to see Shane Lowry putting in such a solid defence too. He's more than capable of shooting low 60s too so it's not over yet for him.

Have to say the course and crowds are doing their bit to make a great tournament too. Heard Critchley on Sky saying that it was like an Open Championship with the big roars from all over the course. Doesn't happen too often on the European Tour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,658 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Think it's time for mcilroy to chance either his attitude or his caddie some of the decisions he take on the course are just too ambitious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

slingerz wrote: »
    rory started unreal today but then went to pot, saw him throw and volley the driver after his tee shot on the 6th i think.

Might explain how he double bogeyed it then so as its a par3.:D
    But ya i watched a bit of him on thursday and i remember him throwing his club back to his caddy after his second shot with a bit too much venom.
    Suppose the maturity will come in time.

dvemail wrote: »
    Might explain how he double bogeyed it then so as its a par3.:D
    But ya i watched a bit of him on thursday and i remember him throwing his club back to his caddy after his second shot with a bit too much venom.
    Suppose the maturity will come in time.

maybe not,just like Tiger,always liable to throw the odd club,just higher expectations than most,that's not to say i agree with it

Think it's time for mcilroy to chance either his attitude or his caddie some of the decisions he take on the course are just too ambitious
    JP is a very experienced guy on the bag and I don't think changing him is the way to go. All he can do is offer his advice, it's up to Rory to follow through.
    He just needs to learn better game management and to have patience out on the course.
    At the moment it's an all or nothing approach. When things click like at Quail Hollow then he is unbeatable. If they start going the other way though they do so just as spectacularly.
    We shouldn't forget how young he is and tbh most of us were that impatient at his age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

Rory changing his caddy ????

Give over please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Jamie Donaldson in this morning with a 65. Looks like there is plenty of scoring out there.

soundsham wrote: »
    Rory changing his caddy ????

Give over please

Why so unbeleivable? It could happen.I think it would help,too pally with J maybe,same reason why Luke Donald parted with his brother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭BiffoGooner

Harrington missed a 3 footer for birdie on the first?Be typical for him to get the driving sorted only for the putter to go missing on him today :rolleyes:

LOL,what size do you take Biffo,3 feet? more like 7-8,big difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭BiffoGooner

LOL,what size do you take Biffo,3 feet? more like 7-8,big difference

Ya think?Looked a lot closer than that to me.But watching on tv does play tricks I suppose!He's made up for it with a birdie on 2 now anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭Zardoz

The leaders have just teed off at 12.45 ,that must be the earliest final group tee off time ever.
    Ridiculously early start .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Harrington on the move, at -11 after a birdie at 3.

Zardoz wrote: »
    The leaders have just teed off at 12.45 ,that must be the earliest final group tee off time ever.
    Ridiculously early start .

only 71 qualified,btw that time is fine imo,finish about 5.30,home for tea,what time do you think they should tee off/finish at

Ya, perfect time to kick things off.
    The leaderboard looks tasty at the moment.

The vultures were circling but what a stunning shotup and down from Harrington :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭Zardoz

only 71 qualified,btw that time is fine imo,finish about 5.30,home for tea,what time do you think they should tee off/finish at
    2pm tee off for a 5.45 finish .

The leaders have been taking 4.5 - 5 hours the last 3 days.

skipping the last 4 holes are they?

Harrington leads! Now at -13.

if i had a gun with just 1 bullet it would be hard to choose between Shane o and that other commentator,Shane seemed surprised that Fisher went for the par 5 in 2(from ****in 206 yards)

Harrington leads! Now at -13.

Boooo :pac:

Fisher eagles, now leads at -14.

The stare is back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Its getting very good now