Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Apps for iPad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,958 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Not sure if you guys know about this but go and get Vevo HD. It's absolutely amazing. It just came out today in the States. It's a superb movie/music video app. Check it out and let me know what you think.

It is a good music app but are you seeing movies on it somewhere ?
    I'm not seeing anything about that on mine.

Sorry I got it wrong first day - thought it was movie trailers as I saw Jamie Foxx but as we know, he sings also! My mistake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

OREGATO wrote: »
    How did you manage to get it?
    Ya some US media Apps might not need a VPN. Some companies think that it would be just enough to have their Apps listed only in the US iTUnes Store so don't bother restricting them.

On another note, Sky have released an iPad version of their Sky+ App. Visually it looks great, but it's only a glorified TV Guide which you can use to Sky+ programmes. Still no Sky Player support.
    http://itunes.apple.com/ie/app/sky/id301250225?mt=8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Boxfresh

Skyfire for iPad now available for €3.99. Didn't get a chance to use it yet though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭jakdublin

I have the Sunday times app for the last few weeks. I wanted to buy last Sundays paper today which was being offered to buy. I clicked buy, entered my details etc and got the error "you have to purchase the Sunday times app before you can buy an edition". Tried several times & got the same response. Then I deleted the app and reinstalled. Now I'm not being offered the latest edition to buy.

Anyone had the same trouble? What can I do?

Sunday Times app is only out two weeks. You sure you're not using The Times app?

jakdublin wrote: »
    Sunday Times app is only out two weeks. You sure you're not using The Times app?

Hi jakdublin. I got it sorted. Thanks for the reply. It was the Sunday Times app. I emailed them & they told me to delete and reinstall again and it worked!:)

Boxfresh wrote: »
    Skyfire for iPad now available for €3.99. Didn't get a chance to use it yet though.

I gave it a go but so far I've found it frustrating. I have yet to come across a site that it works with including some of the sites they link to on their home page.When I click the button to find videos on the page I get "no video available" message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭jakdublin

Hi jakdublin. I got it sorted. Thanks for the reply. It was the Sunday Times app. I emailed them & they told me to delete and reinstall again and it worked!:)

The News of the World app is out this week I heard. First two issues are free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Boxfresh

I gave it a go but so far I've found it frustrating. I have yet to come across a site that it works with including some of the sites they link to on their home page.When I click the button to find videos on the page I get "no video available" message.

Yeah it's not great, not worth the money. Definitely won't be using it as my main browser.

Pity. I missed the iPhone release of it so presumed I've been missing out for months. Oh well. The wait for decent idevice flash goes on.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

RTE player work with it?

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    RTE player work with it?

No. Nothing worthwhile seems to work with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

Pile of shyte. Come on rte, release a bloody app for gods sake.

Has anyone else noticed that Dragon Dictation is no longer working since a recent update? Mine crashes on opening it now.

Also looks like the FilmOn free ride is over. After a few mins of watching it now asks for subscription login details. Ah sigh .It was fun while it lasted. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Also looks like the FilmOn free ride is over. After a few mins of watching it now asks for subscription login details. Ah sigh .It was fun while it lasted. :o

Noticed this too :( Looks like I'll just have to rely on AirVideo/VLC for my media fix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭traco

What's the most complete iPad browser out there? From the thread Atomic Browser gets a few mentions and Skyfire has got a note but no comments on functionality.

Safari seems to have quirks on certain sites that make them unusable, our mail site that I need to use for work has no sliders avaiable so I can't scroll the pages.

I could set the IMAP mail up properly but as this will be a shared iPad around the house I want to keep the mails off the system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭nava

Hi, does anyone know if there's an App on Appstore or Cydia that shows like the screen is crack? Need to play a joke on a friend.

• Registered Users Posts: 203 ✭✭clacks

traco wrote: »
    What's the most complete iPad browser out there? From the thread Atomic Browser gets a few mentions and Skyfire has got a note but no comments on functionality.

Safari seems to have quirks on certain sites that make them unusable, our mail site that I need to use for work has no sliders avaiable so I can't scroll the pages.

I could set the IMAP mail up properly but as this will be a shared iPad around the house I want to keep the mails off the system.

A two finger scrolling motion should work if there is no slider.

clacks wrote: »
    A two finger scrolling motion should work if there is no slider.

Thanks - feel a bit thick now. OK so that sorts out the sliders but the site still seems slow / slugish in safari. Might have a play with the others and see if they make any differnce

traco wrote: »
    Thanks - feel a bit thick now. OK so that sorts out the sliders but the site still seems slow / slugish in safari. Might have a play with the others and see if they make any differnce

Don't feel thick!:)I only discovered the two finger scroll last night. I have found it hasn't worked on some sites with no scroll bar though. There's one in particular I use a lot,a forum site,and it's extremely frustrating to never see the last posts on any page.

I've tried atomic browser with some of these sites and found it just as annoying as safari for lack of scroll-ability. I've also tried cab browser and skyfire and was not much impressed by either. Neither solved the scrolling problem with the site I use regularly. If you find a good browser let me know.

Don't feel thick!:)I only discovered the two finger scroll last night. I have found it hasn't worked on some sites with no scroll bar though. There's one in particular I use a lot,a forum site,and it's extremely frustrating to never see the last posts on any page.

I've tried atomic browser with some of these sites and found it just as annoying as safari for lack of scroll-ability. I've also tried cab browser and skyfire and was not much impressed by either. Neither solved the scrolling problem with the site I use regularly. If you find a good browser let me know.

Grand - won't bother with those so will see what else I can find and add to here if it works

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Lister1

No mention of Rage HD or Infinity Blade. Both excellent games...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,961 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

Agreed on Rage HD, one of the best games I've played on it. Has anyone got NOVA 2 yet? Looks good.

Also TuneIn Radio is one of the best apps out there, highly recommend it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,714 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I didn't like Rage HD at all. Lovely looking but the controls suck. Maybe I should give it another go.

Got Mirror's Edge today as part of the 12 Apps of Christmas thing. Great little game. Cool control mechanism, great level design and with a kick-ass soundtrack. Little frustrating at times but it's a minor complaint. Will have to play it again and collect all the handbags (ooh er).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭Damian Duffy

Lister1 wrote: »
    No mention of Rage HD or Infinity Blade. Both excellent games...

I like Infinity Blade but find Rage HD quite frustrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

Hi all
    I love my music and am looking for a good equalizer app for my ipad can anyone help me finding 1 .
    I know the pad has 1 built in but it is not great IMO is there a good 1 that I can tweek the sound too a T with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

Intelligent Life is good. It's a general interest magazine with good potential, I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 714 ✭✭✭feelgoodinc27

I've been using skyfire for a while now, overall it's not great I find the selection of flash sites it works witn poor and when it does work the quality tends not to be great coupled with audio going out of sync. Also the browser doesn't have tabs although it's advertised as having them.

On a side note vlc has been taken off the app store will it also be deleted from my iPad the next time I sync with iTunes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭dmcg90

On a side note vlc has been taken off the app store will it also be deleted from my iPad the next time I sync with iTunes?

Nope, it'll stay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Vim Fuego

dmcg90 wrote: »
    Nope, it'll stay.

I follow a guy on twitter who said the following:

Andrew Spooner (@andrewspooner)
    15/01/2011 09:36
    Last night iPad deleted my VLC app and all my movie files - Apple are such assholes

That can't be right can it? Could this happen if he updated iOS to the latest beta?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

TuneIn Radio is a great app i use it everyday on the iPhone and its even better on the iPad,another good app is Electrobeats by David Guetta i only bought it last week but its great to pass a few hours.

I only got the iPad last week and i was just wondering something about the apps,maybe Vinny would know but there is a lot of good apps from independent developers that work on the iPad such as Eirtext and Darts ,carzone etc,but the facebook app and the sky news ones are only for the iPhone is there a reason why they haven't made a iPad version?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Vim Fuego wrote: »

Last night iPad deleted my VLC app and all my movie files - Apple are such assholes

That can't be right can it? Could this happen if he updated iOS to the latest beta?
    Talking out his ass. Once an app is downloaded there is nothing Apple can do about it. If there are incompatibilities with new versions of an API, it won't stop the app from installing but you may see crashes or inconsistent behaviour.

Other than that someone changed his iTunes sync options to remove the app and he didn't have backups of the video files, all of which is user error.

• Registered Users Posts: 428 ✭✭ROS123

I have vlc on Ipad but dont know what to do with it. Would something like Hide IP allow me to get some video content.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

ROS123 wrote: »
    I have vlc on Ipad but dont know what to do with it. Would something like Hide IP allow me to get some video content.

You don't download from vlc,you upload videos that you already have on your computer,the instructions on how to do it are on the app.

• Registered Users Posts: 428 ✭✭ROS123

You don't download from vlc,you upload videos that you already have on your computer,the instructions on how to do it are on the app.

Richie thanks for that, it is so simple once someone explains it all. Got a movie on there, mp4 format, but audio is horribly out of sync. Can I do anything ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

ROS123 wrote: »
    Richie thanks for that, it is so simple once someone explains it all. Got a movie on there, mp4 format, but audio is horribly out of sync. Can I do anything ?

Download oplayer lite from the app store. Its miles better than VLC.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,232 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

tallus wrote: »
    Download oplayer lite from the app store. Its miles better than VLC.

Is that time limited?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

godtabh wrote: »
    Is that time limited?

Nope, but There are advertisements. I paid a few euro for the full version, well worth it, as it plays anything I have thrown at it.

Has anyone else found that the apps Vevo HD, Dragon Dictation and ABC Player have stopped working?

They load to the main screen and then they crash.

Vim Fuego wrote: »

Definitely sounds like he was being sarcastic...but defo garbage if it's meant to be true...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Has anyone else found that the apps Vevo HD, Dragon Dictation and ABC Player have stopped working?

They load to the main screen and then they crash.

ABC player not working for me at the moment either.

adox wrote: »
    ABC player not working for me at the moment either.

Thanks for the reply adox. As a matter of interest are you using BlackVPN or a different vpn ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Thanks for the reply adox. As a matter of interest are you using BlackVPN or a different vpn ?

Yeah, blackvpn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,468 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

filmon working fine just in case ppl weren't aware...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

Sc@recrow wrote: »
    filmon working fine just in case ppl weren't aware...

I tried it yesterday and it said I need a subscription

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,468 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

I tried it yesterday and it said I need a subscription

that was the porn you were looking at wasn't it? ;)
    All the main channels work fine.

Sc@recrow wrote: »
    that was the porn you were looking at wasn't it? ;)
    All the main channels work fine.

You've just been Sc@recrowed!

Nah uh, he scarecrowed himself/herself!:)

After around 5 minutes of watching any of the "normal" filmon channels you are asked for a subscription. On the ipod you don't even get 5 minutes. It immediately gives a "you do not have subscription" message.

Mr Andersons good name remains intact! If he had one already. :)

Nah uh, he scarecrowed himself/herself!:)

After around 5 minutes of watching any of the "normal" filmon channels you are asked for a subscription. On the ipod you don't even get 5 minutes. It immediately gives a "you do not have subscription" message.

Mr Andersons good name remains intact! If he had one already. :)

It's true, just used it a few minutes ago and it does indeed ask for a subscription. It had a good run!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

It's true, just used it a few minutes ago and it does indeed ask for a subscription. It had a good run!

It was great alright.
    I actually wouldnt mind paying for a decent service, but the quoted prices are a joke.
    Its a shame sky player, on the ipad, is only the four or five channels.

Why would they not have a full sky player app, like online on pc?
    Is it a rights issue or laziness or what?