Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Traveller's surnames

• 23-07-2010 2:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭WalterMitty

Why do they have irish surnames if they are a different ethnic group?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Last time I checked it was cos..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Because they are the Irish who refused to go to connaught according to my history teacher, so they started roving around and making money for food by fixing tin.

They have traditional Irish surnames usually, from way back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Chiorino

Cos they're not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

jesus wept..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Because they are the Irish who refused to go to connaught according to my history teacher, so they started roving around and making money for food by fixing tin.

And are the travellers in England of Irish decent or do they have their own version?

traditionally of irish decent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

pmcmahon wrote: »
    jesus wept..
    I'm just waiting for the Waterford contingent to arrive.
    Travellers get called all sorts of names, thread gets locked and then Help Desk fills up with people who want to call travellers all the names under the sun.

Let the rabble begin. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Why are they all called John-Paul and Kathleen anyway?

Are they decent? :confused: Who knows!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

It's all part of their disguise. Infiltrate the local populace etc. For example when they're on tour in Nigeria they'll black-up and use names like Paddy Odemwingie and Micko Echiéjilé.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irish_Traveller
    www.irishtraveller.org.uk
    and so on.

This thread is on a specific topic, travellers names. Anything else = not welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Kasabian

biko wrote: »
    and so on.

This thread is on a specific topic, travellers names. Anything else = not welcome.

Marco Polo

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I thought you said you were a nurse!

No,i said i was a ward sister!

Kasabian wrote: »
    Marco Polo

St Brendan The Navigator.

Degsy wrote: »
    St Brendan The Navigator.

willy the cock muncher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Who the fup decided it was a good idea to call them "travellers". Travellers are people who move about FFS. This morning I travelled to work and this afternoon i travelled home again.

Even worse is the term "Irish travellers" particularly when applied to people who have never been to Ireland and may not even qualify for an Irish passport.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

bluewolf wrote: »
    Are they decent? :confused: Who knows!

You're like the guerrilla version of a Grammar Nazi.

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Who the fup decided it was a good idea to call them "travellers". Travellers are people who move about FFS. This morning I travelled to work and this afternoon i travelled home again.

Even worse is the term "Irish travellers" particularly when applied to people who have never been to Ireland and may not even qualify for an Irish passport.

So is they here on holiday then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Ozil

Does anyone know someone with the last name "Joyce" who isn't a traveller ?

because they are travelling with no set abode?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Ozil wrote: »

I know quite a few, and none of them are related to James.

Yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

James?

Anyway.........

We’re the Joyce country ceili band
    Playing away and we’re doing grand
    We’re singing a song won’t you give us a hand
    ‘Cos we’re the Joyce Country Ceili Band

Friday night , off we go
    Tune the fiddle , strain the bow
    Take it handy for the first few sets
    Sure there’s hardly anyone listening yet

And we're the Joyce Country Ceili Band
    ‘cos we’re the Joyce Country Ceili Band

Thomas and Mary out on the floor
    Well they never lost it, that’s for sure
    In his sparkling shoes and his daz-white shirt
    She has a brand new perm
    And a pleated shkirt

We do do’s and functions
    Weddings and wakes
    Meats and salads, buns and cakes
    Well if you need a few tunes just give us a call
    For the house the pub or the parish hall

There’s a princess on the floor all night
    She can fairly throw them shapes alright
    Howya bridie are you on you own?
    Howya fixed far a seat back home

Yes we're the Joyce Country Ceili Band

pmcmahon wrote: »
    because they are travelling with no set abode?

I know "travellers" who have lived in the same place for over two decades while Ive lived at over fifteen different addresses during the same period

I know "travellers" who have lived in the same place for two decades while Ive lived at over fifteen different addresses over the same period

traveller.

Pa Connors from Killinaskully is aptly named for a traveller.

Conners one and all.

And of course the great Blacky Connors...the mixed race offspring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

My housemate in college last year. And his dad was a guard, so I'm fairly sure his family weren't travellers.

And then there was William Joyce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

biko wrote: »
    and so on.

In fairness, if I wanted wikipedia to say that Travellers have two heads and eat settled people's children it would only take a few seconds to make it so.

Legislation to curtail what was termed the "Wandering Irish" dates back as far as 1243, a very long time before "To Hell or To Connaught."

http://books.google.com/books?id=Iz28AAAAIAAJ&pg=PA45&lpg=PA45&dq=uk+statute+books+1243+wandering+irish&source=bl&ots=x3kaqInX0t&sig=GZ2oN68wRr6effmK_gxKqK1FX80&hl=en&ei=xKJJTJamA5260gTbzaCFCw&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=1&ved=0CBIQ6AEwAA#v=onepage&q&f=false

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭jpb1974

Why does it matter and who cares?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

jpb1974 wrote: »
    Why does it matter and who cares?

Because we might be able to deport them as illegal immigrants.

Also, it is worth point out that many of the residents of Monserat have Irish surnames, even though most of them are black.

Names change and are pretty much bastardised over the centuries. One possibility , and as what happened in Ellis Island in the 1800s, names were changed by the authorities to ones which were easier to pronounce. It is possible that English occupiers gave local Irish English sounding names.

Because we might be able to deport them as illegal immigrants.

I found 'After Hours' today and after 36 years of living I've never seen so much racism in one place.

Good luck... I'm done here.

I found 'After Hours' today and after 36 years of living I've never seen so much racism in one place.

its not racism! its ethnic criticism!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

yeah its a bit silly alright, i refer to them as tinkers which of course comes from the traditional irish way of referring to them "tincéirí"

anyway op, names to be vigilant of are mcdonagh, nevin, stokes, joyce, mongan, hannifin, and ward. now obviously not everyone with these surnames are tinkers but some are so watch out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

There are plenty of Maoris and Australian Aborigines with Irish surnames too. I guess that makes them Irish then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

My housemate in college last year. And his dad was a guard, so I'm fairly sure his family weren't travellers.

Are travellers not allowed be guards?

its not racism! its ethnic criticism!

Aye.. too ignorant too see the error of your own ways.

the funny thing is i agree with you i just like the statement :o

Are travellers not allowed be guards?

if they didn't have an address maybe,or if they're closely connected to criminals also,but that could be the same with anybody so i dunno

WindSock wrote: »
    There are plenty of Maoris and Australian Aborigines with Irish surnames too. I guess that makes them Irish then?

you didn't just compare...... jesus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

...and we musn't forget Eddie Murphy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Thanks for announcing it so we all know someone is outraged on the internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

aDeener wrote: »
    you didn't just compare...... jesus

No I don't think I mentioned Jesus. Is Christ an Irish surname too?

Thanks for announcing it so we all know someone is outraged on the internet.

Sorry... not outraged at all.

If you're ignorant then chances are you're too ignorant to know it.

Your problem, not mine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Clap your hands ... If your ig'nt and ye know it clap ... *pauses* this isnt working is it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Sorry... not outraged at all.

Your problem, not mine :)

You're still here then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Chiorino

Just to be clear, AH isn't racist but....

No I don't think I mentioned Jesus. Is Christ an Irish surname too?

there's more jesus' than christ ya know....

comparing the tinkers to aborigines and maoris..... what planet are you on?