Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was the most annoying thing that you failed your NCT on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Cosmo K

2yung2adm wrote: »
    You should not have been asked that. You do not have to be a mechanic.

You don't have a f****ng clue! I work for the NCT since 2003, and I'm not saying its the perfect system, there is definetely room for improvement. And I'm not here to defend the company, but, I can assure you, that you have to be a fully qualified mechanic to get a job in a NCT center.

Get your facts right, and stop telling BS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭2yung2adm

Cosmo K wrote: »
    You don't have a f****ng clue! I work for the NCT since 2003, and I'm not saying its the perfect system, there is definetely room for improvement. And I'm not here to defend the company, but, I can assure you, that you have to be a fully qualified mechanic to get a job in a NCT center.

And pray tell me how did they select such an illiterate, vulgar and boorish person such as you for the job. You are not fit to post on any public forum.
    Does this say a lot about the NCT service and attitude?

And pray tell me how did they select such an illiterate, vulgar and boorish person such as you for the job. You are not fit to post on any public forum.

At least I know what I'm talking about!

excerpts from an inquiry into unqualified inspectors at NCT stations. Shows that you do not need to be a mechanic to get a job at the NCT contrary to guidelines laid down by the Department.
    Many inspectors in fact one in ten were allowed into the system without producing the required minimum cert.

ONE in 10 inspectors employed by the National Car Testing Services had not produced evidence of their qualifications months after starting work.
    The testers were supposed to be mechanics qualified to a certain level but an audit carried out after a journalist queried the qualifications of inspectors found that 20 of the 200 inspectors had not submitted their documents.
    one of 20 NCT staff who had failed to provide the company with their trade certificates. After repeated requests, 15 did produce their qualifications.

he had a D grade in garage practice while the Department of the Environment demanded that all car testers have at least a C grade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Any more personal abuse and there'll be bannings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

You should not have been asked that. You do not have to be a mechanic.

Em... according to the excerpt you just quoted, yes he should have been asked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

It wasn't exactly a fail, but I was refused a cert unless I changed my windscreen wipers!

They were new blades fitted before the test, but squeaked a bit when operated. We had to go next door to the motor shop, get completely new ones, and return. Fella tried them, then gave us the cert.

That motor shop owner knew what he was doing setting up next to the NCT centre! He must be making a tidy few pennies!:D

javaboy wrote: »
    Em... according to the excerpt you just quoted, yes he should have been asked.

I was being, I suppose a little sarcastic.

On an occasion a tester tried to fail my car on what he said was "a leak" when questioned on what the leak was he stated that it was a slight leak of water. Now there was a tiny tiny leak of water from a water hose clip. I had a good knowledge of the manual and questioned this. The manual referred to a leak of oil of sufficient quantity to drop on to the ground-or words to that effect.

I requested that Dublin be contacted there and then and when I did not give in I received my cert.

I did some research at that time and discovered that applicants were not asked to produce any proof of any qualifications.

A journalist took up the case and it was only then that these testers were asked to produce qualifications of a trade cert.

One of these was dismissed and took a case to the employment tribunal. The interviewer admitted that documentation was not produced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

The grandmother (>80 years old) took the car to be tested, failed because the rear centre seatbelt was slightly tucked in to the join in the seat. The guy wouldn't under any circumstances pull it out.

I find very, very hard to believe your little story. There is nothing in the NCT manual, that allows us to fail a car for a water leak. And I have never seen one of my colleagues failing a car for a water leak.

We all know the consequences if we make a wrong decision. If we fail a car on something that isn't in the manual, we get a phone call from Dublin, a dressing down from the regional manager.....I don't need that hassle.

Also during training, all new recruits are told: give the customer the benefit of the doubt.....if in doubt, don't fail it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Not having my boot cleaned out. I think there was a blanket and an empty Coke bottle at the time which were obviously posing a major threat to the tester so he couldnt go about his business...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Slidey wrote: »
    Bullshit

Not bullsiht.

The NCT and its DOE equivilant is so inconsistant its a bloody joke.

I failed DOE on rear door checkstraps and headlamp allignment a few years ago, went back a week later for the recheck, The guy forgot my van had already been through and failed me on balljoints and badly worn wishbone bushes. Something he should have spotted in the first check. I still got the cert as they can't fail you on something not spotted in the first run. I replaced the balljoints and bushings for my own safety, others would have taken the chance.

I find very, very hard to believe your little story.
    But you would, wouldn't you. You better believe it because it is fact.
    There is nothing in the NCT manual, that allows us to fail a car for a water leak.
    Precisely. Read my post and you will see that the tester did not succeed. That was when I first suspected that all was not well in the selection process.
    And I have never seen one of my colleagues failing a car for a water leak.
    I cannot say if you have or if you have not. I would hope that such obnoxious decisions are not widespread.
    We all know the consequences if we make a wrong decision. If we fail a car on something that isn't in the manual, we get a phone call from Dublin, a dressing down from the regional manager.
    Is that all that happens for the upset caused to a member of the public by the incompetence of- or other reason -the tester. No wonder it is happening on a large scale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Is that all that happens for the upset caused to a member of the public by the incompetence of- or other reason -the tester. No wonder it is happening on a large scale.

Would you prefer that they are publically flogged? Im sure you never make even the slightest mistake in your line of work? And Im sure you would accept being sacked and publically humiliated if you were to make even a small mistake?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

I still got the cert as they can't fail you on something not spotted in the first run.
    Really?

So if you got a van tested and it failed on rear brake imbalance for example and ran up the arse of a bin lorry before it came back for the retest. Then a few days later came back in for the brake check with 2 broken headlights and the bonnet held down with string it would be passed... :pac:

I had a funny feeling this thread would piss me off and I was right. Testers have a job to do and most will try to do it right without being vindictive. I know that the little bit of leeway that DoE testers can have over NCT testers is there because you are not being constantly watched when doing the DoE.

I would also like to point out to those who give out about seat belts not being taken out from under seats and wheel trims not being removes - we have a short space of time to do a test, the fact that most people don't turn up on time (in the DoE anyway) doesn't help. How are we expected to also do the work that punters are too lazy to do themselves?

Also, if I break one of your poxy wheel trims taking it off you are gonna come whinging to me for the price of it.
    If I do take it off chances are you are not even gonna say thanks. Why should I bother?

As it happens I do take them off and throw them in the passenger footwell, you would not believe the number of people who either come back giving out that they weren't put back on or asking where are they? :mad:

Anyway, I'm going for pints

Really?

So if you got a van tested and it failed on rear brake imbalance for example and ran up the arse of a bin lorry before it came back for the retest. Then a few days later came back in for the brake check with 2 broken headlights and the bonnet held down with string it would be passed... :pac:

I had a funny feeling this thread would piss me off and I was right. Testers have a job to do and most will try to do it right without being vindictive. I know that the little bit of leeway that DoE testers can have over NCT testers is there because you are not being constantly watched when doing the DoE.

I would also like to point out to those who give out about seat belts not being taken out from under seats and wheel trims not being removes - we have a short space of time to do a test, the fact that most people don't turn up on time (in the DoE anyway) doesn't help. How are we expected to also do the work that punters are too lazy to do themselves?

Also, if I break one of your poxy wheel trims taking it off you are gonna come whinging to me for the price of it.
    If I do take it off chances are you are not even gonna say thanks. Why should I bother?

As it happens I do take them off and throw them in the passenger footwell, you would not believe the number of people who either come back giving out that they weren't put back on or asking where are they? :mad:

Anyway, I'm going for pints

Yes that is correct. A tester cannot make you come back for a fault not spotted in the first test. All they can do is recommend you to fix it.

Anyone that dosen't fix a problem that is only spotted in the recheck is an idiot.

djimi wrote: »
    Would you prefer that they are publically flogged? Im sure you never make even the slightest mistake in your line of work? And Im sure you would accept being sacked and publically humiliated if you were to make even a small mistake?
    I think most of us are reasonable posters and I do not think that is a reasonable analogy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭kasper

my mother put her car in for the test with the hub caps on , tester told her after the test about the hub caps and that if had passed on everything else he would have removed them but it failed on something else as well so he didnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭confuzed

Headlight adjustment - after spending hundreds at a garage (dealership) on a service, pre-NCT and new catalytic converter. Garage forgot to check the lights!</GentlySeethes>
    You, got a lesson. Never spend money in Pre NCT bluff. Just put her to NCT and than fix whatever they say. Ofcourse, regular servicing is must.

confuzed wrote: »
    You, got a lesson. Never spend money in Pre NCT bluff. Just put her to NCT and than fix whatever they say. Ofcourse, regular servicing is must.

My old mans car was "written off" in a pre NCT test by his local mechanic, he said it would be too costly to fix it up and more than its worth. He put it through anyway and got a list of faults the length of his arm, nothing major bar shocks, one seat belt and steering rack boots, the rest was stupid fiddly bits. It passed in the end.

No matter howwell a car is pre tested they will always spot something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

I did the nct over a year ago and failed on emissions. The car had just been serviced and i was assured it was working properly by the mechanic. I scheduled a retest without doing anything to the car and passed with flying colours.
    The thing was though that my emissions were higher on the second test than the first. When i went back to question this the inspector looked baffled for a while before informing me that they had tested the car to the wrong spec the 1st time and that it should have passed the initial test.
    I hit the roof as i had to take a day off work for the retest and also had to pay for the retest. They refunded me the money for the retest but just imagine if i had gone off and got a load of work done on the car based on the initial failing result.

Shower of useless idiots in there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭lav1

failed because one of my side lights had a 15watt bulb in it and i was told my sidelight was to bright.. its just a sidelight ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I've been fairly luckly with the NCT's. Once failed a micra on break lines, the lines had an inch layer of grease on them and so the tester couldn't do a visual inspection on them. They passes after i scrubbed it all off.

Have another one for a Freelander on Friday, its been 4 years since it was through any test, hadn't been driven for 3 years, but i'm confident:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭chiefwiggum

lightbulb gone over the licence plate....ffs

Well if it was seizing it would show up on the brake test or may be tight to turn when jacked up.

When i got home i could push the car back and forth very easily, when i jacked it up i could move it without any hassle aswell.

Just after a period of i say 8 miles the drum would get warm, anyways brought it back to the mechanic and he re adjusted it and put new springs in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭Stoolbend

There is no reason to fail that car, once the load indexs on the tyres is right it should pass. If your lights weren't focused or displaying a right beam they would be blinding people going down the road

Maybe for DOE, but the NCT manual states that wheels have to be the same size on the same axle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

Failed on left rear brake light, I asked tester if right brake light passed, then I swapped bulbs in front of him.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Rear brake light again. Had spare in glovebox. Surly cnut became even more surly. Well earlier I had taken him to task for one of his crew doing, and I aint making this up, pull ups on my front anti roll bar. Literally hanging out of it like a bloody gibbon. I walked into the test area and well.... lets just say expounded at high volume, my theory that his parents must have been disturbingly related and that he would do well to engage his broker to underwrite some on the job injury insurance. He calls his supervisor, who refuses to believe this, but the camera phone never lies. Pair of twats TBH. Never used that unnamed centre again.

What I have also found, both from direct experience and from eavesdropping is some of the clearly daft advice given to people who have failed. To the degree one would surmise some were taking backhanders from the scrappage scheme. My example: Car failed on high co2. I had a suspicion it might as I had a plug fail and petrol may have hit the cat converter. The testers response? "Oh your engines dead bud. You'll need a new one. Better to buy another car and scrap that one buuud". When I pointed out the hydrocarbons were at a level that looked like the car wasnt even turning over a glazed look came over his eyes. Mouthbreathing moron. I've heard two other people being told similar. I had to calm down one 60 year old woman who was in a panic after being told her car wasnt safe to drive. For failing an emissions test by .2. And for all those out there who may bemoan the amount of foreign guys in these centres?(and Ive heard that one too) In every case it was a local pulling this guff. Indeed with my "dead engine" a Nigerian lad working there whispered as I was leaving "Nice car, ignore him he knows nothing".

In any case IMHO it was and is a pointless exercise beyond making and indeed wasting money and time. It's effectiveness in road safety is negligible if any. It does however increase the need for newer cars so the local car sales industry got a boost. How many morons got rid of perfectly fine cars in case they failed when the NCT first came out? I can think of 4. How many morons still go and pay for pre NCT tests in garages? Sorry, if you pay to do that you're too thick or ignorant of your vehicle to be on the road.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭thebull09

Didnt remove the hubcaps

Wibbs wrote: »
    Rear brake light again. Had spare in glovebox. Surly cnut became even more surly. Well earlier I had taken him to task for one of his crew doing, and I aint making this up, pull ups on my front anti roll bar. Literally hanging out of it like a bloody gibbon. I walked into the test area and well.... lets just say expounded at high volume, my theory that his parents must have been disturbingly related and that he would do well to engage his broker to underwrite some on the job injury insurance. He calls his supervisor, who refuses to believe this, but the camera phone never lies. Pair of twats TBH. Never used that unnamed centre again.

What I have also found, both from direct experience and from eavesdropping is some of the clearly daft advice given to people who have failed. To the degree one would surmise some were taking backhanders from the scrappage scheme. My example: Car failed on high co2. I had a suspicion it might as I had a plug fail and petrol may have hit the cat converter. The testers response? "Oh your engines dead bud. You'll need a new one. Better to buy another car and scrap that one buuud". When I pointed out the hydrocarbons were at a level that looked like the car wasnt even turning over a glazed look came over his eyes. Mouthbreathing moron. I've heard two other people being told similar. I had to calm down one 60 year old woman who was in a panic after being told her car wasnt safe to drive. For failing an emissions test by .2. And for all those out there who may bemoan the amount of foreign guys in these centres?(and Ive heard that one too) In every case it was a local pulling this guff. Indeed with my "dead engine" a Nigerian lad working there whispered as I was leaving "Nice car, ignore him he knows nothing".

In any case IMHO it was and is a pointless exercise beyond making and indeed wasting money and time. It's effectiveness in road safety is negligible if any. It does however increase the need for newer cars so the local car sales industry got a boost. How many morons got rid of perfectly fine cars in case they failed when the NCT first came out? I can think of 4. How many morons still go and pay for pre NCT tests in garages? Sorry, if you pay to do that you're too thick or ignorant of your vehicle to be on the road.
    Everybody in your eyes seem to be morons and mouthbreathing morons or cnut or acting like a gibbon or thick or ignorant or twats and you are the guy, by your own admission who put a car forward for test with a busted brake light and kept the good one in the boot. And you are the one who put a car through knowing that you had a plug fail and the cat was most likely busted...And you are the guy who burst on to the test floor and used profane or bullying words to a tester.
    I do not think you will be getting the benefit of the doubt at your next test.
    Then you make the statement that the NCT is innefective in road safety. Are you serious?. Do you know what you are saying? then again perhaps I am a moron to believe that the NCT has had a very effective contribution to Road safety.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Everybody in your eyes seem to be morons and mouthbreathing morons or cnut or acting like a gibbon or thick or ignorant or twats
    I'm going to suggest another one: Troll.
    and you are the guy, by your own admission who put a car forward for test with a busted brake light and kept the good one in the boot.
    Eh no. 1) My brake light was working when I left to do the test. 2) I had a bulb in the glovebox, because I keep a set of bulbs in my car should one happen to fail. It's a little concept called "Spares". You know, for safety.
    And you are the one who put a car through knowing that you had a plug fail and the cat was most likely busted...
    Nope again. You will note the words, "suspicion", "may" and "might". It was a 50/50 thing(more likely 70/30 it was OK) and considering the cost of a catalytic converter, replacing one as a precaution when it may well have been fine hardly seemed prudent. The point I was making was about the dubious advice I had heard on the matter and overheard others get.
    And you are the guy who burst on to the test floor and used profane or bullying words to a tester.
    So you would be perfectly fine with a 14 stones guy doing pullups and literally swinging out of your suspension components for no good reason then?
    I do not think you will be getting the benefit of the doubt at your next test.
    I don't go to that test centre anymore. The one I go to now is significantly better.
    Then you make the statement that the NCT is innefective in road safety. Are you serious?. Do you know what you are saying?
    Yes I know exactly what I'm saying. The stats for accident due to mechanical failure are actually very small. The NCT has had little effect on these stats. It's one of those notions that logically seems it would have a huge effect, but as far as investment v return its not nearly that big, but it looks like We're Seen To Be Doing Something tm.

OK lets say the former is all BS and it's a Very Good Idea tm then we come to the implementation of the test. This being Ireland....

at first it was such a shambles with waiting times(and still is http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/motors/2010/0414/1224268296141.html ), the tax office dropped the requirement to have an NCT when taxing your car. Well never let "safety" get in the way of tax revenue. The Guards largely ignored a lack of NCT on the back of all that.

So to scare people into taking the test, the gov introduced a whopping five points and a mandatory court appearance for failure to have one. Five points no less. Have a read of this http://www.penaltypoints.ie/assets/pdf/new_penpoints_chart_apl09.pdf 5 points for no NCT yet only 2 for driving down the wrong side of a motorway, only 1 for driving on the wrong side of the road. 1 for driving down a footpath. 1 for going the wrong way around a roundabout. 1 for reversing down a minor road onto a main road. 2 for dangerous overtaking. None of which have a mandatory court appearance. Doesnt really balance out, does it? Certainly not from a safety point of view. A busted brake light could get you 5 points, yet driving down the wrong side of the M50 would only get you 2? Eh hello.
    http://archives.tcm.ie/irishexaminer/2010/06/21/story122913.asp The current crowd who run the NCT have lost the tender and a spanish company is taking over next year I gather. I also gather the current crowd were talking about suing the government for loss of earnings because of the failures in implementation. Hence the draconian penalties listed for not having one as a sop to them.
    Regardless it has objectively little to do with road safety. I can drive a car in with complete failures on all four shocks and still pass, so long as they're all equally balanced failures. I can have a car fail with actually dangerous mechanical issues(four bald tyres, steering/brake failure etc) yet I can drive that self same car home.
    Then we have the conduct of some of the centres and the overall company that runs them and safety financial targets that need to be met. http://www.independent.ie/national-news/nct-staff-under-pressure-to-reach-failure-targets-479250.html Then we have the inconsitencies in the system itself. Cars can pass with real issues all over the place. Ask any mechanic out there.
    then again perhaps I am a moron to believe that the NCT has had a very effective contribution to Road safety.
    Show me the stats of accidents where mechanical failure was the cause before the NCT was implemented and then 5 years later. Like I say it seems like it will have a big effect, more than it actually does. It was as much to do with keeping up with EU regs, creating jobs(and some jobs for the boys too) and boosting the local car industry than it was to do with safety. They would have a much bigger impact on safety if they paid more attention to the state of b roads in this country among other things. And yes if you go and pay for a pre NCT test you're a bit dopey to say the least.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

unkel wrote: »
    A bit more severe than a bit of surface rust if the key went straight through it, no? :p

I suppose not, but it seemed pretty solid to me before hand it was there for a year, the ****er must have given it a right poke with the key, anyway it has nothing whatsoever to do with safety

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

homer90 wrote: »
    The rubber on the brake pedal 'slightly worn' :rolleyes:

Had this too..

Brought in my last car, was over by .5% on emmissions and rubber on the brake pedal was slightly worn!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Slick50

Failed an NCT today, on the rear indicators not being orange enough. I thought I was being wound up, untill I was "reassured" that it was just a visual re-test. Is there a colour chart to compare the orangeness of the light or what. I was told that they lose their colour over time, but they are the origional bulbs, as are the front bulbs which passed. Thought it was a first, untill I came across this thread.

Why do you sometimes have to produce photographic ID, to have your car NCT'd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Andrew Campbell

most amber bulbs are now made with clear glass dipped in an amber coating. Some of these coatings are not as durable as the bulbs themselves; with prolonged heat-cool cycles, the coating may flake off the bulb glass, or its colour may fade.
    Quote from wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Automotive_lighting#Colour_durability

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Sparky2

Got caught with that indicator light also, was looking out for Jeremy Beadle at the time!!! Even the guy in the car shop laughed and said he had never heard of it before (it was a few years ago) but I'm now hearing more and more people failing for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

most amber bulbs are now made with clear glass dipped in an amber coating. Some of these coatings are not as durable as the bulbs themselves; with prolonged heat-cool cycles, the coating may flake off the bulb glass, or its colour may fade.
    Quote from wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Automotive_lighting#Colour_durability

Yep, I've seen that happen with orange indicator bulbs. The orange coating flakes off

The most annoying thing I failed on was (besides the brake pedal rubber) was the windscreen washer not working. The pipe from the pump came off on the journey to the centre, and the water drained away......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

As for the testers with appairent knowledge gaps, I've heard plenty of (second hand) stories of NCT tester stupidness and horror stories.

There are some good testers there, and now I tend to book the cars into certain centers that have the testers that are clued in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭gofaster_s13

barry81 wrote: »
    I witnessed a car with three 17" alloys and one 15" steel rim pass while they tried fail me for the colour of my headlights. (HID's)
    There is no reason to fail that car, once the load indexs on the tyres is right it should pass. If your lights weren't focused or displaying a right beam they would be blinding people going down the road)

Differant size tyres on an axle(including twin wheels) is a fail in both the NCT and DOE. Some of the HID's are failing because they're very blue and you are only allowed have white lights facing forward (which is down to the owner ordering the wrong colour temp bulbs)

Something he should have spotted in the first check. I still got the cert as they can't fail you on something not spotted in the first run..

The DOE can fail you on somthing not spotted on the first day in fact up until about 5 years ago a DOE retest was supposed to be a full test again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,072 ✭✭✭Pique

I've heard about someone (so I can't confirm nor deny) who were failed because the County name Cill Dara on the reg plate didn't have a fada on the 'i' !!

(It's not supposed to ! )

The biggest mistake I've seen an NCT centre make was failing a Citroen Xantia on hanbrake not pulling on axle 2(Xantias handbrakes are on the front axle)

The NCT and DOE are a great asset, anybody who remembers the state of cars before the nct came couldnt argue with it.

As for NCT/DOE testers missing things, they're only human and do make mistakes, cars and trucks etc are constantly evolving and testers can't be experts in them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Failed the first one cause the rear numberplate light was gone. I'd checked it the night before and it was fine. Looked at in the car park, gave it a smack and it came back on. So drove around to the guy at the gate, he looked at it and passed it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

Differant size tyres on an axle(including twin wheels) is a fail in both the NCT and DOE.
    As soon as I saw you reply to this thread I knew you would pull me on that.

I actually checked it after I replied that time and saw it was a fail. Don't think I have ever come across it before when testing.

See, testers are human after all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

BigEejit wrote: »
    My wifes Micra failed for not have corcaigh written at the top of the license plate :mad:

That's very odd, they just put it on a sticker for me and I passed it.

As soon as I saw you reply to this thread I knew you would pull me on that.

I actually checked it after I replied that time and saw it was a fail. Don't think I have ever come across it before when testing.

See, testers are human after all!

The usual give away for differant size tyres on an axle is different load indexes on the tyres, common enough on smaller vans.
    Everyday's a schoolday:D

seamus wrote: »
    Failed the first one cause the rear numberplate light was gone. I'd checked it the night before and it was fine. Looked at in the car park, gave it a smack and it came back on. So drove around to the guy at the gate, he looked at it and passed it :D

I'd always do that on a DOE test for tail/brake/numberplate lights a lot of the time a slap will cause a bulb to make contact again, careful though, seen one customer break a lense on a Primastar using this method:D

Have changed indicator bulbs, and in fairness, they were well flaked. I'd say they had lost about 70% of coating. Have since collected nct cert.

Any ideas about why I was asked for my driving licence.?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Slick50 wrote: »
    Have changed indicator bulbs, and in fairness, they were well flaked. I'd say they had lost about 70% of coating. Have since collected nct cert.

Any ideas about why I was asked for my driving licence.?

Probably for ID purposes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭User Friendly

some new rule the Nct require i guess,i was asked in ennis testing center for mine also

Probably for ID purposes?
    I'd say that's a fair guess, but what does my ID have to do with a car being tested. Can only the owner of a vehicle bring it for the NCT.