Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

no wages again!

• 23-07-2010 9:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6

I am currently in full employment in the construction industry. I know some might say I should feel lucky to have a job!, but at the moment I'm not sure.

Since Christmas, wages have been irregular, sometimes up to four weeks late. I fully understand the reasons behind this, including cash flow problems, credit from banks, late payments from creditors etc.

Although wages do get paid eventually, it makes day to day life and socialising extremely difficult. Not knowing when you will have money next makes spending the money you have very hard. That coupled with the fact that when I eventually get paid, it is all owed to debtors and is gone before I even see it!

This situation is very frustrating and makes work life very laborious, with a lack of motivation and moral amongst colleagues.

Is this a common problem at the moment industry wide, and what solutions are out there?

Cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 25,966 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

This isn't what you want to hear, but:

I can't comment on whether it's prevalent in your industry, and whether you should hang in there and hope or look for something else. But personally I'd be assuming that the company is going to go bust sooner or later, and tring to get out.

Also, no matter what industry you work in, you should aim to have enough cash in the bank to cover your living expenses for a certain number of weeks. I used to think that 6 weeks was enough. But given the slowness of the benefit systems here in Ireland, I've revised it to at least 12. And when you have to dip in to these savings, your first priority from your next however-many pay packets should be to top up the savings again.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,506 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I agree with the previous poster. However 7 months since Christmas and the payments are still irregular? An odd month might be ok, but it is not showing any signs of getting better.

I gather you are not unionised? Maybe it is time to get all your colleagues together and discuss what you are all going to do, you are presumably not the only one with payment issues. If you all work together you have a better chance of getting answers from management - of course the answer may be - right we close down - but you cannot continue indefinitely like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭D.McC

JustMary>>> unfortunately not everyone is in the position of having excess income they can put away.

In the OP’s case this seems to be extremely difficult.

Looksee>>> it shouldn’t relay matter if the employment is unionised or not. Although, having a recognised union is a much better way to negotiate with management.

On the up side, taking a case to the LRC or Rights Commissioner under the ‘payment of wages’ act might ensure the wages are paid regularly.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,506 ✭✭✭✭looksee

D.McC - I think JustMary was speaking from experience, and has lived very carefully to put herself in the position of being able to have savings to fall back on. I doubt that she was left a legacy from a wealthy uncle!

And on the Unions - yes I am aware that being in a Union should not make a difference to whether you are paid, the reason I asked was if he were in a union that would be the place to start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

A union may help you get answers, but their is feck all they can do (except make things worse!) in this situation.

Maybe you should just ask for a meeting and ask point blank, whats happening. It does sound the company is banjaxed, and it will be your choice whether to stay or go, but can you get something else?

I would ask the question, and hang in there until either it goes under, picks up, or you get something else.

Do you have a choice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

D.McC wrote: »

On the up side, taking a case to the LRC or Rights Commissioner under the ‘payment of wages’ act might ensure the wages are paid regularly.

But be aware, they went on record last week to say they could not cope with their workload and if the company does go bang, the payment of wages act could be a fat lot of use to you.

If there is nothing left, then thats it, theres nothing left.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,966 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

looksee wrote: »
    D.McC - I think JustMary was speaking from experience, and has lived very carefully to put herself in the position of being able to have savings to fall back on. I doubt that she was left a legacy from a wealthy uncle!

Correct.

Having savings at hand was advice that was given to me 20+ years ago when I first started work, and I regard is as one of the best pieces of advice I've ever had. Will happily repeat it at any relevant opportunity.

FWIW, I did a budget for whether I could live on 40 hours a week of minimum wage. Turned out that I could - and that I could save E4000 / year at the same time. Of course the challenge is getting the 40 hours ... and I'm first to agree that's tough in the current climate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭D.McC

If it looks like the company is going to belly up soon, then it would be better to seek a resolution now. At least that way the OP might see some €€€€’s