Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Primary school teaching as mature student

Options
  • 26-07-2010 3:25pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭

Hi All,

I hope it doesnt seem as though I'm being lazy and coming here for the easy answer, but I have spent ages looking at websites and financial advise sites and my head is currently in a tizzy!

I want to return to college to study for Primary teaching.
    I live in Dublin so St Pats would be ideal.
    I believe my Leaving cert (2001) results are sufficient to qualify for the course.
    I have a 2:2 degree in Psychology (2004)

I am currently working full time and getting married next March so my hope would be to apply for beginning in September 2011. The financial aspect is the biggest concern, I just cant begin to imagine how I could support myself without working, and if I had to pay fees the problems multiply!

Could anyone please advise me where to start and how to go about checking my eligability for free fees, grants etc?

I really want to do this but my head is in a spin- any advise gladly recieved!

Thanks

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 472 ✭✭smilerxxx

Hi ya,

Right Im sorry to be the bearer of bad news but unfortunately because you already have a degree you do not qualify for free fee's. The government only pays for one I'm afraid. And if you obtained your degree in a private college they still won't pay. The fee's would be about 7.5k a year