Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Get On initiative - what do you think?

• 26-07-2010 4:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭

Our motorcycle neighbours have just initiated a 'Get On' initiative to encourage more seats on saddles. They are and have targeted 'Celebrity Ambassadors' to take their CBT/Direct Access and have gained substantial media coverage and importantly increased sales. Singer Taio Cruz, Suzy Perry, Jenny Gow, Matt Roberts of BBC Moto GP have all taken to the single tracker.

Should we look at a similar campaign here and who would we like to see as our 'Ambassadors'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭furerer

Pierce Brosnan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Pique

Gay Byrne :-) (I'll get me coat!)....

Seriously, I reckon someone like Aoibheann ni Shuillabean or Grainne Seoige on the girly side or Daithi O'Se or yer man from 6-1 news.

Just keep Gaybo out of it...please!

Here's a thought ...... jedward.....dont know if they're old enough.....but if they're not, they could always dance around the bikes!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭EvilMonkey

Get On initiative never heard of it, don't see how a bunch of z list celebrities would encourage people to get on bikes. Google doesn't throw up much cant have that much publicity.

How about a real an initiative to reduce the costs for people starting out or get kids on bikes from a young age and teach them ride properly and respect bikes early on before they get out on the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Motor Mouth: Daragh

Thanks for the responses, in the motor bike slot on MotorMouth we're going to look at this and we're hoping people will text in who they think the celeb should be. The hope is that we will approach said celeb and Tony Toner will train them in free of charge. If your interested the slot will be on at about10.15 tonight. Our text number is 53106 or else you can get us on motormouth@newstalk.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭EvilMonkey

Free lessons for someone that could easily afford them if they wanted them :o
    How about a competition and give the free lessons to a listener that wants to get into biking who will promote biking and talk about their experience online, on the show, go on TV3s morning show etc

I'm with you on that one EvilMonkey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Xios

Yeah, evil monkey.
    Real people learning to ride, show their up's and down's, stumbles and falls etc.
    Could make for some fun morning tv, and it might give a few people good ideas before they ever touch a bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭EGOSHEA

Perhaps an ad in which one of the Jedward twins makes a silly mistake and gets it whilst the other one lives unharmed would be good. (And if there should happen to be a real-life accident, sure that could be entertaining too ;)

How about a half-hour programme like people have suggested, where they take a group of 4 or 5 regular people - including at least 1 or 2 women, broad age range, etc - and film them taking the lessons, choosing a bike, all the way until taking the test? Similar in format to that stand-up comedy series that Des Bishop did in the various 'rough' neighbourhoods around Ireland.

Maybe A-list (as opposed to C-Z-list) celebs might garner extra attention. People like Colin Farrell, Brendan Gleeson, etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Motor Mouth: Daragh

Thanks for all of the suggestions - and we might look into the non celeb idea too.

In the meantime though, if you could keep suggestions coming in for the next couple of weeks we'll hopefully have enough to work with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,026 ✭✭✭Wossack

I seem to remember someone (possibly a 'celeb') being filmed at one of those bmw motorad courses in mondello..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,533 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

The new motorway tolls will probably encourage a large number of new riders (particularly if the second M50 toll is a forward facing camera, like the existing toll).
    That or Glenda Gilson. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭carsQhere

We don't have direct access because we were denied it in a blatant attempt to discourage people taking up biking.

All the same Daragh's suggestion is a good one, and it could produce positive PR too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 andy gaw

Dathai O Se...he done a great show on Route 66 in a car..as we all know R66 is a bike road, he might do it with T.T on their hospital run.

Or maybe John Gormley...bout time that langer got on his bike, revved up and fecked off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭honeybadger

pj gallagher :)