Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Gambling Forum Chat Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭coughlan08

greetings wrote: »
    That is what's bad in racing and dogs that needs to be addressed,the insider information aspect.

addressed????
    what are you ona bout...its perfectly legit and nothing can be done about it,if your lucky enough to own a dog/horse your obviously going to have info that no one else knows,and its exploited and rightly so.

dont bet on the sport if you feel your at a disadvantage...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Went to the casino last night after a few, thought I broke even, going to work today and found €50 of chips in my pocket.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Kod-box

That happened me before, only i thought i lost the lot and walked about 5 miles home, in my drunken state i must have stashed chips in my johnny pocket lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,717 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Went to the casino last night after a few, thought I broke even, going to work today and found €50 of chips in my pocket.:D

Hope there wasnt too much curry on em.

coughlan08 wrote: »
    my greyhound GOLDEN HIGHWAY won the 2nd race (8.10) at curraheen park tonight @ 3/1,backed into 2/1,won by half a length to the 6/4 favourite in the grade A4 flat 525...:D
    love it, as the lads came up to see him run for the first time,,along with the brother who owns him aswel..love it when a plan like that all comes together..out in the town for the night now and exams monday,what am i like...:pac:

here he is in action lads,,look at him go...;)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=07RsSWBMiRc&feature=player_embedded

Kod-box wrote: »
    That happened me before, only i thought i lost the lot and walked about 5 miles home, in my drunken state i must have stashed chips in my johnny pocket lol

Cashed in €50 or €60 before I left, but think I put €50 in chips in my pocket so I at least I broke even, so I possibly made €50 or €60 profit.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

addressed????
    what are you ona bout...its perfectly legit and nothing can be done about it,if your lucky enough to own a dog/horse your obviously going to have info that no one else knows,and its exploited and rightly so.

dont bet on the sport if you feel your at a disadvantage...

Things can be done about it if the inside info has come about due to the stopping of the animal which can be seen in every maiden hurdle ran in Ireland and other races.

i agree that there are plenty of occasions were the owner or trainer make a decision to "stop" an animal from running to its full potential,but to be honest i have no problem with it,i know its totally against the moral of a punter as we expect a good run for our money if we have backed a highly fancied animal..
    you must look at it in the view of the owner/trainer though,they obviously have reasons,whether its to get a better price in the next bigger race or just to lay their horse to make their "bread and butter"..

its sad i know and their has been plenty of occasions were i have lost money to the above scenario but its a fact of life,where their is money to be made things like that are going to happen and their is nothing we can do about it.
    its not just a problem in horse/greyhound racing its the same for all sports more or less.
    again il say, i dont have a problem with it and have dealt to deal with it along with a pinch of salt...

Sorry coughlan but can't agree with you at all. If I had my way every body who stopped a horse would be banned and I think at least 95% of racing fans would agree.

so you would be in favour of having no racing at all or not banning trainers/owners/jockeys who are stopping the horses,since everyone does it at some stage there would be no racing as everyone would be banned...are you serious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

so you would be in favour of having no racing at all or not banning trainers/owners/jockeys who are stopping the horses,since everyone does it at some stage there would be no racing as everyone would be banned...are you serious?

No disrespect coughlan but what your saying is stupid.

Do you think hes suggesting there should be no racing at all? Of course people who bet on the outcome of any event would hope that that particular event is being run on its merits and each participant is doing its level best to win...because thats the idea behind it all. Of course we know that isn't the case for every participant every time. And of course we can object to any occurance of cheating in the spiort and rightly so...its in the rules of the game.

Its the handicapping system that is at fault for the cheating. The system encourages non triers and runners over trips they cannot win atto drop handicap marks. Its understandable why its done but that doesn't make it acceptable.

Nulty wrote: »

Do you think hes suggesting there should be no racing at all?

im not suggesting, he is saying there should be no racing as every1 does it at some stage..
    my point is still valid, there is nothing that can be done about it so we just have to deal with it,i understand exactly why they do it and quiet frankly i dont mind..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

im not suggesting, he is saying there should be no racing as every1 does it at some stage..
    my point is still valid, there is nothing that can be done about it so we just have to deal with it,i understand exactly why they do it and quiet frankly i dont mind..

Are you talking from an owners point of view or a punters point of view?

I think the leopard changed its spots when it got a winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Verance

How come ladbrokes isn't on oddschecker anymore?

Where on earth did I say there should be no racing? Trainers who are caught stopping horses should be banned for years at a time,like the Casela Park case. And yes Coughlan owners would like to make money,but anyone with any idea of horse racing knows that if you're putting your eggs into one basket and relying on owning a horse as an investment,90% of time you aren't going to make money.

Sorry coughlan but can't agree with you at all. If I had my way every body who stopped a horse would be banned and I think at least 95% of racing fans would agree.
    Where on earth did I say there should be no racing? Trainers who are caught stopping horses should be banned for years at a time,like the Casela Park case. And yes Coughlan owners would like to make money,but anyone with any idea of horse racing knows that if you're putting your eggs into one basket and relying on owning a horse as an investment,90% of time you aren't going to make money.

as ive said already,every trainer/owner at some stage has stopped their horse for what ever reason,and since you said every owner/trainer that stops their horse should be banned thus their would be no racing,and since you are in favour of this then yes you are agreeing in other words all be it that their should be no racing..
    Nulty wrote: »
    Are you talking from an owners point of view or a punters point of view?

if someone called me an owner in the morning id laugh in their face,its nothing really and the maintenance of a dog is pennies in comparison to a horse,i partially own a dog and so far yes hes paid for himself but its nothing really,i wouldnt call myself an "owner"...

and to answer your question,a punters point of view as my opinion was the same before i bought a dog and now that i understand fully what goes behind the scenes of a dog race my mind has not changed..

I think the leopard changed its spots when it got a winner.

?????no comment...
    if you would like to say that again in english i might be able to give ya an answer,i dont understand any of that jargon...:p(know what you mean, but come in fairness, 1 win from a partially owned dog and you think id change my complete prospective of betting...:p

Can't agree that every trainer in racing has stopped a horse. I remember Oliver Brady on ATR a few weeks ago,one of the best trainers to have on ATR. He's adamant he never stopped one and I believe him. I think there's a big difference in stopping a horse and giving it an easy ride.

Just reading that Tevez has handed in a transfer request....OHHH Yesssssss :D

just came across this there now,fair funny...
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ujCxvQQxDxs&feature=player_embedded

there was another arts guy on tonight who was going mental and who had crazy eyes but no video up yet..he said something like"there draining the blood out of us and shipping it off over seas, and the likes"..
    ****in mental case so he was...

Would love if the BUMPERS FOR JUMPERS Meeting gets the go ahead at Kempton tomorrow even if I dont anything. Its great they come up with a workable idea.
    Try telling something like that to the gods of Irish racing about Dundalk.

Jaysus! Only in Galway can you wake up with a hangover at 11.58pm on Christmas Eve :-S
    HAPPY CHRISTMAS ALL!

• Moderators Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Happy Christmas to all you beautiful people! :p

x PyRo wrote: »
    Happy Christmas to all you beautiful people! :p

Same to you Pyro and the rest of the gamblers on here!

Heres to another day of drinking today!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

happy xmas may the gifts ye receive be sold on ebay to fund your gambling habit and all the best in the new year to turn that small fortune into a disgusting amount of money ;D

The crate of Heiney is going down very well lads hope it's the same for ye

What a Dinner....:p..washed down with a bottle of wine.;)
    what a day this is going to be in front of the tele..
    Happy Christmas!!!

Ive just eaten enough to feed a small country, beer time now and then NBA for the night :)

• Registered Users Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Sir Vival

What a Dinner....:p..washed down with a bottle of wine.;)
    what a day this is going to be in front of the tele..
    Happy Christmas!!!
    Ive just eaten enough to feed a small country, beer time now and then NBA for the night

Any links for the basketball lads?

Just having a look now, will post if/when i find one.