Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Gambling Forum Chat Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

My college course is a fúcking undeniable shambles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Leeg17 wrote: »
    My college course is a fúcking undeniable shambles.

we're listening

wprathead wrote: »
    we're listening

Where do I begin.. :rolleyes:
    -Lecturers coming late to class with no notice.
    -Lecturers not showing to class with no notice.
    -5 exams in two days on the last week of college before Xmas.
    -Stuff due on the 23rd December (we finished the 16th).
    -Lecturers leaving during the middle of labs, sometimes for more than an hour (apparently to go home and have dinner!), while we're stuck with the PHD student not knowing what to do.
    -The fact that a good 95% of us that finish won't get jobs in Forensics, nor be able to study on other post-graduate Forensic programs because the course is too broad, and that we've basically been duped into doing an Analytical Chemistry degree.

We've sent an e-mail as a class about this and other problems, guarantee nothing will be done with this "you scratch my back I'll scratch yours" mentality in the college..

jaysus

this Sligo IT?

Yup, Forensic Investigation And ANALYSIS (<<< ) how little forensics we do :mad:

-The fact that a good 95% of us that finish won't get jobs in Forensics, nor be able to study on other post-graduate Forensic programs because the course is too broad, and that we've basically been duped into doing an Analytical Chemistry degree...............

In fairness surely ye knew that before starting the course? Or at least ye should have. Not having a go but deciding what to in 3rd level does require a bit of legwork.

RoverJames wrote: »
    In fairness surely ye knew that before starting the course? Or at least ye should have. Not having a go but deciding what to in 3rd level does require a bit of legwork.

Oh I knew that there was very little jobs in Forensics, given its nature, but to be doing so little forensics in the course, and then find out we can't do some Masters courses after ours because it's too broad is a bit of a kick in the teeth.

I'm hoping to apply for summer placement with the forensic service in the NI in the next few days, so I may be in the 5% :P

I'm not at all involved with the course or the IT you mention but in fairness to them they do have a responsibility to churn out folks that are likely to get employment, forensic science is fairly broad by definition, there is the microscope stuff, like scanning electron microscopes etc, all the biology stuff, the chemistry stuff for dating the age of bits and bobs. Technologies for analysing paint fragments etc etc etc.

Now if it's too broad a course to qualify graduates to enroll in Masters courses in forensic science there might well be an issue but realistically a forensic scientist much like any other profession won't know everything about everything, I expect they'd work in teams, you'd have an explosives person (for the bullets and bomb residue), a biology person (for getting samples off the bodies) and a chemical head for that side of stuff, there's no doubt be a tech type person too for that end of things.

Can folks with specific degrees in Physics, Biology and chemist qualify to the forensics masters courses that your course won't equip ye to? I'd be thinking that the forensic labs would be looking for folks with specific qualifications with maybe the masters in forensics to get in the door, I could well be talking out my arse :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

I'm actually depressed lads. State of college

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

I just backed that double on PP for Hurricane Fly to win Irish and UK Champion Hurdles.
    3/1.

UrbanSea wrote: »
    I'm actually depressed lads. State of college

Not wanting to undermine your feelings but it's not all plain sailing, calling a spade a spade 3rd level is a pain in the arse except for the social side of it, the exams etc take the joy out of the courses :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Driving lesson, made an apple tart and went for a 1.3 mile jog! Productive day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

I see some Dail review committe has recommended a ban on sales of alcohol in supermarkets lol.
    I cant see Paddy Power offering odds on that one happening :-o

Haha what a shower of dreamers

• Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭johnny_cash

I'm not feeling the best today :( on the beer since friday :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭MidnightQueen

What was the occasion Johnny?

It was my birthday saturday and im just an alcoholic :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭MidnightQueen

Aww Happy (belated) Birthday! :) Ah shur as long as your'e healthy and happy with what you do is the main thing. ;) As they say your health is your wealth.

Can folks with specific degrees in Physics, Biology and chemist qualify to the forensics masters courses that your course won't equip ye to? I'd be thinking that the forensic labs would be looking for folks with specific qualifications with maybe the masters in forensics to get in the door, I could well be talking out my arse :pac:

Yea I'd imagine people specialise in areas they prefer. I'm not 100% sure, apparently they can, but it could just be hearsay in class.

If you really, really want to work in forensics, by the end of your degree course (or ideally before it) you should have a fair idea what branch of science/forensics is your thing, perhaps transferring to another degree course might be the best option than, one that would get you into the masters course that you fancy :) It might mean leaving your course after the third year and getting into another course at year three so it might take an extra year to get a degree, might be well worth it though.

I'm currently reading a book "Dead Men Talk" by Sandra Mara, have you ever read it? If not I reckon you might like it, there is a mention in the first few pages of how it takes years to become a forensic scientist and how folks do specialise in physics, botony, chemistry, DNA or whatever.

I reckon your course is much like all courses a starting point, unfortunately as you mention there are limited opportunities, still, someone has to strike gold.

I wonder would a Garda with a degree like you're on the road to get find it possible to get a job in the Forensic Science unit? I'm not for a second suggesting you should try and get into the GArdai solely to test out that theory just suggesting there are many ways to skin a cat.

Best of luck with the course anyway, you can rest assured it will defo lead you somewhere and it will be worthwhile doing :)

If you really, really want to work in forensics, by the end of your degree course (or ideally before it) you should have a fair idea what branch of science/forensics is your thing, perhaps transferring to another degree course might be the best option than, one that would get you into the masters course that you fancy :) It might mean leaving your course after the third year and getting into another course at year three so it might take an extra year to get a degree, might be well worth it though.

I'm currently reading a book "Dead Men Talk" by Sandra Mara, have you ever read it? If not I reckon you might like it, there is a mention in the first few pages of how it takes years to become a forensic scientist and how folks do specialise in physics, botony, chemistry, DNA or whatever.

I reckon your course is much like all courses a starting point, unfortunately as you mention there are limited opportunities, still, someone has to strike gold.

I wonder would a Garda with a degree like you're on the road to get find it possible to get a job in the Forensic Science unit? I'm not for a second suggesting you should try and get into the GArdai solely to test out that theory just suggesting there are many ways to skin a cat.

Best of luck with the course anyway, you can rest assured it will defo lead you somewhere and it will be worthwhile doing :)

Appreciate it! Will check that book out sometime.

I've actually been pondering getting into the guards with a view to working in the state lab, last 7 years watching 'Cops' does that to you :D

I'm fcuking dying :( Craig bellamy is a legend though :D

Can feel a poo coming on

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Going to have a few cans tonight i think:pac:

I had to many pints today :( all depressed now the one wont talk to me and still half shot :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Some man for the drink Johnny.

Where do ya get the cash?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,065 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Nearly every one of Johnny's posts is about drink.....mad fuuck!!!

... or else shaggin the barmaid :)

No she wont talk to me after monday or tuesday :mad: I cant even remember what day it was:(

Not good to hear, chin up Johnny :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,253 ✭✭✭Juwwi

No she wont talk to me after monday or tuesday :mad: I cant even remember what day it was:(

Sounds like a good excuse to go on the beer to drown your sorrows johnny .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,253 ✭✭✭Juwwi

Seen this on the motors forum taught it was funny.

http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=2ef_1323244892

Edit heres another you have to watch it till the end
    http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=22a_1327525260

robbie1977 wrote: »
    Sounds like a good excuse to go on the beer to drown your sorrows johnny .

No thats where the problem started :( I'll give her another day or two to calm down :o

Any plans for the weekend lads?

Not one going to sit at home and feel sorry for myself :(

Not like you Johnny!

Back in college on Monday, so going on a mad one this weekend myself. Two birthdays to get to tomorrow, Leopardstown Saturday afternoon, gaff party and out into town Saturday, sleep and hopefully a bit of study on Sunday.:cool:

Bitta sleep and soakage before rag week!

Gonna sit on my hole all weekend and watch tv. The best way

Bitta sleep and soakage before rag week!

Ah, it's not till the week after I've found out :o

Still guna sleep and do nothing all weekend like Urbansea :D

Haha great minds think alike.

Just deleted the texts I was sending this girl I like last night.

If I can't remember what I said then it can't be awkward

I like your thinking.

Ah, it's not till the week after I've found out :o

cannot fecking wait till ye're rag week- heading up to some friends til the wed. So i'll have sunday night, monday night and tuesday night
    have worked booked off- paid leave may I add- like a boss:cool:

Haha great minds think alike.

Just deleted the texts I was sending this girl I like last night.

Show her the phone, and clear inbox, clear conscience :p
    cannot fecking wait till ye're rag week- heading up to some friends til the wed. So i'll have sunday night, monday night and tuesday night
    have worked booked off- paid leave may I add- like a boss:cool:

Pints? :D

its a date:D
    online%20safety%20-%20poster%203.jpg

Damn. My cunning plan is ruined. I would have gotten away with it, if it wasn't for that damn Turkey poster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭Isotonic

Evening all having a few quid on the Ospreys to cover the 7 point cap at home v the Dragons. Os out of the heineken cup so will be looking to bounce back. Pretty much second strings for both but the Os have more class and Dragons without Tovey are poor. Good luck if you play

Just got me a 8 pack, time to crack 1 open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Think Dunphy is on the Late Late tonight. Might make watching it worthwhile.

I see Paddy Power have the New England Patriots as favs for the superbowl at 8/11 but on the handicap -2.5pts there 5/6:confused:
    Perhaps Paddy should hire some staff that can actually do there Job properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

On the beer all week, training in half an hour:( Not looking forward to it at all.