Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Miss Piggys Battle for the Big Plates

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

**** James Hanley i know gymfreak....

• Registered Users Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Da Za

Great job again freak, you'll def smash those records in November.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭gymfreak

**** James Hanley i know gymfreak....

I think that would make a great t-shirt!!

Tuesday 26th July
    So, basically it's not that my ego has not got ridiculously inflated and that I haven't bothered training the past two days..its that I've been extremely hungover and barely able to move:(:(

Promised L I'd accompany him to the gym today so had to drag my ass there. Took me a good hour/hour and a half before I was ready to even attempt anything.

DB RDL's
    27.5kg x 10
    27.5kg x 10
    27.5kg x 10
    27.5kg x 10
    27.5kg x 10

Plate Shifting
    5 x 60/60

Bench Press
    20kg x 12
    20kg x 12
    35kg x 10
    35kg x 10
    35kg x 10
    35kg x 10
    35kg x 10

Inverted Rows
    5 x 10

Just about started to resume normal functioning at this stage, so L decided to teach me some olympic lifts

Snatch
    Some sets of some
    from the hips
    from above the knee
    below the knee
    from the ground
    ..have no idea what we worked up to

Clean
    I'm still quite tired so can't even differentiate between the snatch and the clean..I know my grip on the bar was different and that I squated down for the cleans...but that's about it.
    Some sets of some..worked up to 30kg

Mucking about....27.5kg

Front Squats
    40kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    40kg x 5

Hopefully I'll be back in full flying form tomorrow to get some work done:)

That all took about 4.5-5hours...yes..I was THAT dead to the world

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Miss Piggy decides to weightlift?

:D:D one sport at a time!

And anyway, I like the alliteration with Piggy and Powerlifting:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭cmyk

Well done Karla, just saw your videos now, and i'll second what others have said...you've definitely got more than that in the tank too.

Thanks for all the well wishes guys!!

I've just been taking it easy over the last few days, had a crazy hangover that's lasted for daaaaaays, I'm eating everything in sight and just mucking about in the gym...pure dossing.

Wednesday 27th July
    I was acting chaffeur to L today who wanted to train in ECB..so there is where we went. Very class set up there and sound blokes too.

I'm in between programmes at the moment so was only too happy to let someone else tell me what to do..and to try something different.
    Snatch
    Some sets of some of some type of snatch???

Clean
    Some sets of some of some type of clean???

I never remember anything.

Squat
    20kg x 5
    50kg x 3..not the nicest looking:)
    40kg x 3
    40kg x 3
    40kg x 3
    40kg x 3
    40kg x 3

Single Arm Seated Press
    8kg x 10/10
    8kg x 10/10
    10kg x 10/10

Chin Ups
    Supposed to be 3 sets of 8 but ended up being sets of something and then a few assisted to total 8

Hamstring Curls
    3 x 15

Side Crunches
    3 x 15/15

Only starting to feel back on form this evening.. excited about getting back at it properly tomorrow:D

gymfreak wrote: »
    Some sets of some of some type of snatch???

Clean
    Some sets of some of some type of clean???

you even log like L now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭howtomake

I'd bet you'd kill it if you took up some oly lifting too.

you even log like L now...

I logged like that cos I havent the slightest inkling or memory as to what I did...I'm pretty sure L is just too lazy to log properly
    I'd bet you'd kill it if you took up some oly lifting too
    I have to admit, I thought it was great craic altogether. But I don't think I'm ready to desert powerlifting yet:P:P

mmm dessert, oh sorry you said 'desert'. You're still a youngin (actually lots of you are on here), oly will still be around.

Thursday 28th July-C1
    Finally back on form and ready to go again:)

Con Block-10mins
    Bike Level 7
    This was unpleasant:(
    4.70km in 10mins

Work Block 1-15 mins
    7 Box Jumps
    7 DB Incline Press 15kg
    7 Unsupported DB row e/s 22.5kg
    Forgot my watch and my phone is not allowed anywhere near the gym so just did 9rounds...it's what I got last time.

Con. Block-Bike
    Bike Level 7
    Didnt hurt as much as the first block
    4.68km in 10mins

Work Block 2-15mins
    5 e/s Step ups
    10 DB Pullovers 12.5kg
    10 pushups
    10 rounds

Con. Block-Bike
    Bike Level 7
    Didnt push as hard
    4.57km in 10mins

First session done..looking forward to getting back into a routine.

Friday 29th July-S 1
    I went and trained in Westwood today..very snazzy gym altogether. Was training with someone else so time was limited..just kinda rushed through it.

Goblet Squat
    15kg x 8
    20kg x 8
    27.5kg x 8
    27.5kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    30kg x 8I'm not so sure of this one..always feels like I'm doing something wrong..gonna video it next week so I can see what it looks like.

Barbell RDL's
    50kg x 12
    55kg x 8..grip started to fail
    55kg x 8
    55kg x 8

Alternate Plate Situps
    20kg
    3 x 20

Incline DB Press
    10kg x 8
    10kg x 8
    17.5kg x 1:)first time able to incline press 17.5kg..but was only able for 1rep
    15kg x 10
    15kg x 10
    15kg x 10
    15kg x 10
    15kg x 10

Inverted Rows
    5 x 10Really trying to do these along my bench line and with a sense of purpose

Side Bridge
    10kg
    3 x 40/20

Preacher Curls
    Didn't have time

Saturday 30th July-C2
    Wasnt feeling the best today..a bit of a headache and the gym was roasting. Didn't want to do the running block so settled for the rower instead.

Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk......yes....yes I did look awfully strange doing these and it hurt too

Con Block-rower
    150m x 10, 60 sec recoveries
    1. 36.2
    2. 36.3
    3. 35.8
    4. 36.3
    5. 36.5
    6. 36.5
    7. 36.4
    8. 36.5
    9. 36.3
    10. 36.2
    Can you say slooooow?

Work Block 1
    This block was hard..I needed that..stopped all the messing about.
    5 Burpees
    5 DB Pushpress 12.5kg..hard
    3 Chinups..hard
    12 rounds (-1 measley chinup that I just couldnt get:pac:) in 14.45

Con Block-rower
    1. 36.8
    2. 36.8
    3. 36.9
    4. 36.6
    5. 36.6
    6. 37.3
    7. 36.9
    8. 37.3
    9. 38.0:o
    10. 37.4

Workblock 2-15mins
    5 DB Snatch e/s 15kg
    3 Dips..just did 3 cos I wasnt sure if my shoulders would be happy
    5 DB rows e/s 22.5kg
    9 rounds in 16.16
    Used a 17.5kg DB for the first round but quickly realised that the possibility of me whacking myself with it was quite high so settled for the 15kg

Con Block-rower
    1. 37.4
    2. 37.4
    3. 36.7
    4. 37.7
    5. 37.3
    6. 36.9
    7. 36.9
    8. 37.7
    9. 37.3
    10. 37.1

Rower times were absolutely terrible this week. On top of this I am always amazed that the times are slower with a 60sec recovery than they are with a 40, 45 or 50sec recovery:confused:

Food and training will be back on track as of Monday:) It was suggested that I change things round for this month..haven't decided what or how yet:)..maybe just use the month as a bit of 'downtime' ..or more running..or some swimming or gym classes..or some OLing or else just back to my normal S +C routine:D We'll see..havent decided yet.

-.-

• Registered Users Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Red Cortina

Friday 29th July-S 1
    I went and trained in Westwood today..very snazzy gym altogether. Was training with someone else so time was limited..just kinda rushed through it.

Goblet Squat
    15kg x 820kg x 8
    27.5kg x 8
    27.5kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    30kg x 8I'm not so sure of this one..always feels like I'm doing something wrong..gonna video it next week so I can see what it looks like.
    You thinking of ditching Ben Dunne's???
    Or are you considering going back to the old/new IP???

Fair play to you on those goblet squats too BTW:D

You thinking of ditching Ben Dunne's???
    Or are you considering going back to the old/new IP???

Fair play to you on those goblet squats too BTW:D

Nah, I like Northwood..it's spacious..soul crushing at times:P:P but spacious. Wouldnt mind training somewhere else occassonaly just for a change..and I'm looking into that. Yes, I had heard about that new gym opening up but I don't think it's a runner for me to be honest...we'll see

Sunday 31st July-S2

Warm up

Bike- level 4/5
    20mins-10.02km

Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

I actually saw someone else do 'spiderman walks' across the weights floor today..so it's not just me:D

Deadlifts
    Felt like I had a little eureka moment earlier on in the week when I was playing around with the OL with L. I finally felt the 'pull' in my hamstrings that everyone had talked about. Attempted to use this position for the DL today to see what happened.

60kg x 8
    70kg x 8
    95kg x F...wouldn't work the pull way..switched back to my style:)
    95kg x 3
    95kg x 3
    95kg x 3
    Did the last two sets without my crazy rolling of the bar to see if that made a difference. I like rolling the bar though..it gets me ready.
    95kg x 3
    95kg x 3

Technique work-went back to doing it the pull way
    80kg x 2
    80kg x 2..hamstrings were shaking for the 2nd rep on all of these...that
    80kg x 2 has never happened before:confused:

ALot of playing around with the DL today..gonna post up a few different vids so that I can compare.

Step Ups
    BW x 8
    5kg x 8
    5kg x 8
    5kg x 8
    5kg x 8
    I'm liking the low reps:) Also, tried using 7.5kg but my ass was too sore.

DB Side Arches
    22.5kg x 10/10

Neutral Grip Pullups
    Asstd 25kg x 8
    4, 3, 3, 3, 3..arms just wouldn't work after all the chins yesterday.

Barbell Push Press-I really like this one:)
    20kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    35kg x 8...hard

Seated Plate Shifting
    3 x 60sec
    (4 x 2.5kg, 4 x 5kg)..ouch

Overhead Plate Extensions
    10kg x 12
    10kg x 12
    10kg x 12
    10kg x 12

95kg x 3..my way

95kg x 3 minus the rolling

80kg x 2

• Registered Users Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dartstothesea

Anyone able to tell detes about the "new IP" that was alluded to in the last few posts? Location is all I'm wondering about really.

It's the same building that IP was in, a lot of the same equipment and it's being run by Brian Kavanagh, mainly for bootcamp classes. I'd say contact him if you want more details.http://www.bryankavanagh.com

Monday 1st August-C1
    Eating and training back in full swing this week:)

Got talking to someone when I went into the gym and completely forgot to do the mobility stuff:eek:

Con Block-10mins
    Speed ranged between 14.0-14.5..mostly settled at 14.2
    I could of pushed a lil harder but then I would of terrified myself..and it still was quite tough
    2.32km in 10mins

Workblock 1-15mins
    5 step ups e/s
    10 T Pushups
    10 Inverted Rows..trying hard to do these along my bench line
    9 rounds in 14.46mins.

Con Block-10mins
    Treadmill
    Speed 14.5-was actually really relaxed doing this, comfortable enough until 7mins in.
    2.37km in 10mins

Workblock 1-15mins
    5 Elevated Split Squats e/s
    5 DB Bench 15kg
    3 Pullups
    9 rounds in 15.30mins
    Pull ups were a disaster today..completely..3rd day in a row of doing some variant of them..so it's allowed:)

Con Block-10mins
    Bike-level 7
    My legs were absolutely shattered by this stage.
    4.50km in 10mins..I dont think I'm ever gonna hit 5km on this:(

Good session:)

It's the same building that IP was in, a lot of the same equipment and it's being run by Brian Kavanagh, mainly for bootcamp classes. I'd say contact him if you want more details.http://www.bryankavanagh.com

Bryan's sound, he's young (relatively speaking) and full of beans (among other things), but he got my shoulder back in shape after lots of physios, doctors, etc.

Jay Farrant works there...:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dartstothesea

Oh. Took the "new IP" comment more literally than it was meant so.

Tuesday-2nd August-S1

Warm up
    x-trainer-20mins
    level 11-13

Bike-10mins
    Level 4

Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

My hips are not liking the mobility stuff or the goblet squats..yuck.

Goblet Squat
    20kg x 8
    20kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    Went looking for heavier DBs but 30kg was the highest

Barbell RDL's
    55kg x 12
    55kg x 10
    55kg x 9
    55kg x 8
    The only problem with these is my grip:(

Alternate Plate Situps
    20kg
    3 x 20

Incline DB Press
    10kg x 8
    10kg x 8
    15kg x 10
    15kg x 8
    15kg x 9
    15kg x 10
    15kg x 10

Inverted Rows
    5 x 10

Side Bridge
    10kg
    3 x 40/20

Bicep Curls
    Should of been preacher curls but there was a guy sitting on the preacher thing for over 30mins...and I didn't wanna use an incline bench cos it's too manly:)
    7.5kg x 12
    7.5kg x 12
    7.5kg x 12
    7.5kg x 12

I like this strength session:)

PMEasy jog-47mins
    Knee started feeling a bit weird towards the end and I started to run oddly so I walked the last bit home. Happy enough that I lasted 47mins without getting pains.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

How long did that take?

Hanley wrote: »
    How long did that take?

Not as long as it normally takes me:D:D I was quick today.

HIYO!

Wednesday 3rd August
    Finally decided to brave the roads and go for a cycle...was fecking terrified but there wasn't really any cars on the roads.

16km easy cycle..with a fair few hills that I didn't expect.
    Really enjoyed that:D

Plan for the week: 2 strength,2 con and 2 whatever I feel like doing days:)

Thursday 4th August-C2
    Went for a sports massage yesterday and woke up quite sore this morning..calves and hamstrings :(

Mobility
    ...Took a while
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

Con Block-rower
    150m x 10, 40 sec recoveries
    1. 36.1
    2. 36.4
    3. 36.2
    4. 36.3
    5. 35.8
    6. 36.2
    7. 36.1
    8. 35.9
    9. 36.6
    10. 36.6

Work Block 1
    5 Burpees
    5 DB Pushpress 12.5kg
    3 Chinups..hard
    13 rounds in 14.50...up a round:)
    I'll go for 4 chinups next day..but that'll annoy me cos I'll end up having to break up the reps.:mad:

Con Block-rower
    1. 36.2
    2. 37.0
    3. 36.7
    4. 37.1
    5. 37.3
    6. 37.2
    7. 37.2
    8. 37.5
    9. 37.2
    10. 36.6

Workblock 2-15mins
    5 DB Snatch e/s 15kg
    3 Dips..just did 3 cos I wasnt sure if my shoulders would be happy
    5 DB rows e/s 22.5kg
    9 rounds in 15.30...faster this week:)

Con Block-rower
    1. 36.8
    2. 38.0
    3. 37.2
    4. 37.7
    5. 38.0
    6. 38.2
    7. 38.5
    8. 37.6
    9. 37.4
    10. 37.1

Happy out:)

My rowing times are sporadic..as always..60 sec recoveries next day and then test it the time after..see if I've improved at all..although I think I already know the answer to that!

Friday 5th Aug-S2

Warm up

Bike- level 4
    20mins

Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

Deadlifts
    Didn't do my normal multiple rollings of the bar like I normally do....all I need now is to figure out what this whole 'arch your back' malark is about:rolleyes:
    60kg x 8
    70kg x 8
    95kg x 3
    95kg x 3
    95kg x 3
    95kg x 3
    95kg x 3
    95's felt ridiculously easssssy

Step Ups
    5kg x 8
    5kg x 8
    5kg x 8
    5kg x 8
    Was just making sure I was staying upright. Defo have to up the weight next week:(

DB Side Arches
    22.5kg x 10/10
    25kg x 10/10

Neutral Grip Pullups
    Asstd 25kg x 8
    4, 4, 3, 3, 3
    I am amazed...yet again. I was doing 5 x 5 for normal pullups at the pullup station last month and now I can't knock out 5 for neutral grip???These should be easier. I think I'm gonna blame the machine for some of this...I'm not able to donkey kick myself up the last lil bit to get extra reps..cos when I do I smack my legs of the machine..negative reinforcement and all that has lead me to stop trying

Barbell Push Press
    35kg x 8
    35kg x 6...some bloke got in my way admiring himself in the mirror
    35kg x 8
    35kg x 8
    35kg x 7...hard

Seated Plate Shifting
    3 x 60sec
    (4 x 2.5kg, 4 x 5kg)

Overhead Plate Extensions
    10kg x 12
    10kg x 12
    10kg x 12
    10kg x 12

Finished that session in just over 2hours..that is completely and utterly ridiculously quick for me!

...some bloke got in my way admiring himself in the mirror

Yeah... sorry about that :o

Deadlifts
    Didn't do my normal multiple rollings of the bar like I normally do....all I need now is to figure out what this whole 'arch your back' malark is about:rolleyes:
    How are you finding the set up even before you pull? What cues are you using? Colin has given me some really great cues that I think about before I lift which have really helped me.
    Barbell Push Press
    35kg x 8
    35kg x 6...some bloke got in my way admiring himself in the mirror
    35kg x 8
    35kg x 8
    35kg x 7...hard
    Jeez, what is it with some of these dweebs who find there way to the gym!! You should have seen a dude at the gym tonight taking up a whole aisle and blocking everyone's way, just so he could check himself in the mirror..:rolleyes:

Yeah... sorry about that redface.gif
    Now that you say it, he did take off his top to get a better view...that is something you've been known to do alright!:P
    How are you finding the set up even before you pull? What cues are you using? Colin has given me some really great cues that I think about before I lift which have really helped me.
    To be honest, I know I should be thinking of pulling at the bar, getting my ass down and pushing through the floor...but I don't. I tend to overthink things..so instead all I think when I get to the bar is 'lift'.

Jeez, what is it with some of these dweebs who find there way to the gym!! You should have seen a dude at the gym tonight taking up a whole aisle and blocking everyone's way, just so he could check himself in the mirror..:rolleyes:
    In fairness people ACTUALLY talked to me in the gym today...4 to be exact..I was shocked...happily shocked:)

To be honest, I know I should be thinking of pulling at the bar, getting my ass down and pushing through the floor...but I don't. I tend to overthink things..so instead all I think when I get to the bar is 'lift'.
    As you well know, I've gone for a lot of PT sessions and there is something to be said for somebody standing beside you, critiquing you as you lift and constantly providing you with feedback as to how you are doing. So instead of you training on your own, getting to the bar and thinking 'lift'. You would, hopefully, have someone saying 'remember this, this and this'. And also cueing you between reps, until the new habits are ingrained.

You want your deadlifts to look pretty. Well as Damien was fond of saying, the definition of insanity is doing the same thing but expecting a different result. Hope I don't sound harsh but I think that this applies here.
    In fairness people ACTUALLY talked to me in the gym today...4 to be exact..I was shocked...happily shocked:)
    They are finally getting to know you in the new gym:pac:

As you well know, I've gone for a lot of PT sessions and there is something to be said for somebody standing beside you, critiquing you as you lift and constantly providing you with feedback as to how you are doing. So instead of you training on your own, getting to the bar and thinking 'lift'. You would, hopefully, have someone saying 'remember this, this and this'. And also cueing you between reps, until the new habits are ingrained

You want your deadlifts to look pretty. Well as Damien was fond of saying, the definition of insanity is doing the same thing but expecting a different result. Hope I don't sound harsh but I think that this applies here.
    They are finally getting to know you in the new gym:pac:

I've been as vocal as anyone on here both in person and in the log in critiquing her DLs so Imma weigh in!

Having someone beside ya like that isn't always practical... there's really a limited amount of people in dublin with the expertise to:
    1) effectively cue a deadlift
    2) write a program for powerlifting

So in that regard, you'd effectively be paying a PT to just stand there talking to you during your DLs, I'm not saything that's the case for you, but it probably would be with K. The solution might be to find a good group to train with, but again, the amount of people who can que a DL effectively is limited. It's not even a case of just cueing it, it has to be cued correctly for the person!!

In regards to how they actually look at the moment, they look better than they have, slightly :D Still a long way off optimal tho, but she knows that. The biggest problem over the last 6-8 weeks or whatever was that because she was prepping for a comp, it's very difficult to learn new technique without impacting your numbers. Obvs it'd be preferable to fix it, but when a comps coming up it tends to take a back seat.

I do think just using the same weight every week and hoping for it to click and make sense isn't going to deliver the results, I'd much rather see a progressive build up over 6-12 weeks where the weight climbs in relation to ability to maintain proper form, but hey, ya gotta do what ya gotta do!!

So in that regard, you'd effectively be paying a PT to just stand there talking to you during your DLs, I'm not saything that's the case for you, but it probably would be with K.
    That might be the case. However we're not talking each and every training session here. And at least it is a suggestion for doing something differently!
    The solution might be to find a good group to train with, but again, the amount of people who can que a DL effectively is limited. It's not even a case of just cueing it, it has to be cued correctly for the person!!
    Lets not make this harder than it should be. You figured out how to deadlift with terrific form. So did lots of other people. So how did they manage it if it is so difficult to get one of the 'limited amount of people in dublin with the expertise to cue a deadlift properly'????
    In regards to how they actually look at the moment, they look better than they have, slightly biggrin.gif Still a long way off optimal tho, but she knows that. The biggest problem over the last 6-8 weeks or whatever was that because she was prepping for a comp, it's very difficult to learn new technique without impacting your numbers. Obvs it'd be preferable to fix it, but when a comps coming up it tends to take a back seat.

I do think just using the same weight every week and hoping for it to click and make sense isn't going to deliver the results, I'd much rather see a progressive build up over 6-12 weeks where the weight climbs in relation to ability to maintain proper form, but hey, ya gotta do what ya gotta do!! !!
    Yup, you got it!!!

BTW is L working at the mo??? I have a great idea.....:pac:

That might be the case. However we're not talking each and every training session here. And at least it is a suggestion for doing something differently!

She's actually already done a few sessions with different people recently working on just that.
    Lets not make this harder than it should be. You figured out how to deadlift with terrific form.

I spent 5 years training day in and day out with some of the best powerlifters in Ireland!!!
    So did lots of other people. So how did they manage it if it is so difficult to get one of the 'limited amount of people in dublin with the expertise to cue a deadlift properly'????

I dunno... I've been around quite a few gyms in Dublin, and there's only been a tiny percentage of people deadlifting with what I'd call good form. Like I'm tihnking back to my TF days, and there were like < 10 guys there who I know DL'n well - 1 has competed in worlds strongest man, 2 have placed top 3 at irelands strongest <105kg, 2 competed in PL, and the other 5 would be good friends of those lads!

It's funny, I was actually talking to her earlier and there was a PT working in with her on the DLs. She had to show HIM what she was doing wrong on the video afterwards because he didn't know what to look for.
    BTW is L working at the mo??? I have a great idea.....:pac:

I think he's found some means to support his weightlifting, beer and grease requirements alright :D

I dunno... I've been around quite a few gyms in Dublin, and there's only been a tiny percentage of people deadlifting with what I'd call good form. Like I'm tihnking back to my TF days, and there were like < 10 guys there who I know DL'n well - 1 has competed in worlds strongest man, 2 have placed top 3 at irelands strongest <105kg, 2 competed in PL, and the other 5 would be good friends of those lads!
    So the rest of us should give up on deadlifting cause only a very small percentage of us can do it right, ie without injuring ourselves??
    Sorry but you make it sound like only an elite lifter can actually deadlift correctly and this doesn't make sense to me...
    It's funny, I was actually talking to her earlier and there was a PT working in with her on the DLs. She had to show HIM what she was doing wrong on the video afterwards because he didn't know what to look for.
    Jeez, quality:rolleyes:
    I think he's found some means to support his weightlifting, beer and grease requirements alright :D
    Ah well:p

So the rest of us should give up on deadlifting cause only a very small percentage of us can do it right, ie without injuring ourselves??

What? No?! I didn't say that?!?!

Just because the majority of people pull with bad form doesn't mean everyone is doomed to. It's usually because they try to progress too quickly and don't have someone around telling them when they do something wrong.

Trying to correct deadlift problems in someone who's already pulling 2.5x BW is a totally different proposition to teaching someone not even pulling 1x to deadlift. The theory might be the same, but the application is different.

What? No?! I didn't say that?!?!

Just because the majority of people pull with bad form doesn't mean everyone is doomed to. It's usually because they try to progress too quickly and don't have someone around telling them when they do something wrong.

Trying to correct deadlift problems in someone who's already pulling 2.5x BW is a totally different proposition to teaching someone not even pulling 1x to deadlift. The theory might be the same, but the application is different.
    Good, was about to give up entirely on the whole thing there myself:pac:

Ah here I'm not as up to speed on these things as all the rest of you guys. Was just throwing my 2cents worth into the mix!

Suppose it's my turn to wade in:P

As far as having a PT stand over me..that really would be a complete no-go for me. I am friendly with quite a few PTs and I know quite alot more but as far as getting help I want..I doubt it would happen...and that's nothing against them..they know it too. I suppose what people mightn't notice from my log is that I regularly annoy Hanley, L and Coh for advice and help..and they're always happy to help..well maybe not happy but they always oblige without argument:D As Hanley said earlier I did have a well read, uptodate and in good condition PT work in with me for the DLs and i was replaying the vids and pointing out the flaws.

As for pulling the same weight week in week out and expecting different results..I can completely see where ye are coming from. But it was what I was told to do..although I may have skipped the minor detail of getting myself set properly:P I played around with my DL technique last week and posted 3 different vids 1) my normal rolling of the bar [but I have a different cues for that..it's more 'ready..set...go':P] 2) I changed the starting position of the bar and didn't roll and 3) created the pull in my hamstrings..we looked through the videos and have decided to go with the 2nd way.

So I'm gonna pull 95 for triples for the next few sessions, see what it looks like, get advice from Will about weight/reps and then if it aint getting any better I'll hit up the lads for help...again:)

Damn..stupid..'arch your back'..like who the hell knows what that means!?!?!:D

I was just throwing my tupence worth into the mix!
    TBH I had thought that you were still just doing online coaching with Will and I didn't know that you were also enlisting the help of those fine gentlemen:D

Best of luck with it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Will Heffernan

This whole discussion sums up the complete and utter retardation of the Irish fitness industry.

It used to make me want to cry...now it just makes me laugh my head off.

I am tossing up 50/50 in my mind whether I should bother to even point out how ridiculous the whole discussion is...considering as much as my breath was wasted while I was there...it is probably even more wasted now....or whether to just kick back and laugh.

I'll think about it for a while and may or may not come back...but a lot of people here need to kop on to themselves.

In October 2010 Karla couldn't move 80kg off the ground and couldn't hit depth with a 40kg squat....she deadlifts 118.5kg and squats 75kg in competition at 50kg and people are discussing all the problems with her program?

What you should do is get on to all the expert personal trainers and coaches in Ireland...and ask them...I mean all the Irish personal trainers and Irish coaches who have produced Irish athletes who have excelled? Get them all together. It shouldn't take you very long and you won't need a very big room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

I love the way fellas make a point of walking over your bar, for **** all reason, when you deadlift in the middle of a floor.

Bonus points for doing it, just before you address the bar to lift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

He walked over just to perv on your bum lol

In October 2010 Karla couldn't move 80kg off the ground and couldn't hit depth with a 40kg squat....she deadlifts 118.5kg and squats 75kg in competition at 50kg and people are discussing all the problems with her program?

I honestly had forgotten all that. Was re-reading my log yesterday after that discussion and had completely forgotten the time when I couldn't even do a pullup:pac::pac: kinda take that for granted aswell now...knocking them out in con blocks. It's funny how quickly you forget what you were like as a beginner..like I can't imagine putting 40kg on the bar as my warm up sets for DLing..this is definitely why I'm glad I started a log:)
    d' Oracle wrote:
    I love the way fellas make a point of walking over your bar, for **** all reason, when you deadlift in the middle of a floor.

Bonus points for doing it, just before you address the bar to lift.
    In fairness, that doesn't even faze me in the slightest, happens so often. The worst is when guys are taking plates from the sides of the rack and you have to wait with a heavy bar till their finished to re-rack after squatting..that gets annoying.
    Jayoo wrote:
    He walked over just to perv on your bum lol

It's okay, I had baggy shorts on, he wouldn't of got much of a view

Saturday 6th of August- Doss Day:D

Xtrainer-10mins

Step Aerobics-45mins... great craic altogether

Tae-Bo-30mins..meh

The classes were far too easy, but the step aerobics was highly entertaining.Gonna try get to another class or two of this next week if I can just for the mess:)

Sunday 7th of August-C1

The intention for this week was to get 2 strength and 2 con done and then 2 days of whatever I wanted..ended up 2 S, 3C, 10k run and 16k cycle..not too bad for a weeks work:)

Next weeks aim is 3 Strength, 2 Con and 2 days of messing:)..also..got a citydeal voucher for KB classes so gonna try that this week too.

Con Block-10mins
    Bike
    Level 7
    4.85km in 10mins....is 5k too much to ask:(

Workblock 1-15mins
    5 step ups e/s
    10 T Pushups
    10 Inverted Rows..realised this was supposed to be 5reps..ah well
    11 rounds in 15.46mins...up two rounds:) felt crazily easy

Con Block-10mins
    Bike-level 7
    4.67km in 10mins:(...I may have slacked a lil

Workblock 1-15mins
    5 Elevated Split Squats e/s
    5 DB Bench 15kg
    3 Pullups
    12 rounds in 15.53mins..up 3 rounds:D..that's purely cos I had a doss day yesterday so my arms weren't tired..also felt ridiculously easy.
    I'll either make the split squats weighted next week or up the reps of pullups.

Con Block-10mins
    Bike-level 7
    A good constant effort throughout
    4.88km in 10mins:)

Abz..just cos
    Hanging Leg Raises
    Back Extensions
    5 x 10

Cable Ab Pulldowns 17.5kg, 20kg, 22.5kg
    Russian Twist 15kg
    3 x 10/10

Was in absolutely flying form today..everything felt soooo easy..gym wasn't in its normal humid state so that may have helped:)

PM
    7.5km walk with the dog down the beach

PM
    7.5km walk with the dog down the beach

wait....wait right there now piggy.....i remember..vaguely.....a drunken discussion on how you hate dogs....and in fact went as far as to insult mine!