Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Miss Piggys Battle for the Big Plates

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

gymfreak wrote: »
    no need...I listened...don't get used to it though.

Rest today and fingers crossed for a good DL session tomorrow

You'd f*cking wanna cos I don't want ya stinking up the gym when I attempt to do cleans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭gymfreak

Hanley wrote: »
    You'd f*cking wanna cos I don't want ya stinking up the gym when I attempt to do cleans.

BAHAHAHAHA says he who doesn't even bother get up off his ass and go train!!! Bite your tongue in future:p

Sunday 25th September-S3

Was sick last night and still feeling nauseous this morning...really annoying cos I felt 'great' in an energetic kind of a way..just moving about made me feel sick:(...ya cant win!!

Deadlifts
    60kg x 8
    70kg x 8
    100kg x 3
    105kg x 2...I chickened outta trying 3reps:o
    110kg x 2 :)
    115kg x F..came off the ground fine, just couldnt lock it out
    115kg x F...same
    decided to go back and see if I could not wimp out:)
    105kg x 3
    105kg x 3...flew up...bar was nice and tight to me
    105kg x 3

105kg x 3

110kg x 2

Deadlift was a mixed bag...annoyed over the 115kg cos that's normally easy enough..happy enough with the triple at 105kg and the double at 110kg cos I'd never tried them before.

Step Ups
    These felt hard today
    5kg DBs x 10

Weighted Hip Pop ups
    20kg
    4 x 15

DB Incline Bench Press
    10kg x 8
    10kg x 8
    17.5kg x F...tried it a good few times....and nothing...nada.....zilch
    15kg x 10
    15kg x 10
    15kg x 8
    15kg x 9
    15kg x 8

Lat Pull Down
    64kg x 10
    64kg x 10
    64kg x 10
    64kg x 10
    70kg x 10..hard

Weighted Side bridge
    +10kg...grand today
    3 x 45/15

Back Extensions on the GHR
    4 x 15....ew

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

You look like some sort of rodent in the freeze frame on that first clip....

Damn! The camera keeps catching me in all the wrong positions:P

Monday 26th September-S2

Spin bike- 20mins

Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

Teeny tiny bit of foam rolling

Bench/ pinning myself
    20kg x 8
    20kg x 8
    30kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    45kg x 3...and a pinning
    45kg x 3
    45kg x 2..and a pinning
    dropped back the weight cos it wasnt happening
    43kg x 3
    43kg x 3
    progressed with the bench last week..and back to the normal inconsistent benching this week...damn. I'll skip the set at 40kg next time.

Lat Pulldown
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10

Sit Ups
    5kg against chest
    4 x 25

Close Grip BenchPress
    20kg x 8
    25kg x 8
    40kg x 4..and a pinning
    40kg x 4
    40kg x 4
    40kg x 4...serious struggle
    40kg x 3...and a pinning
    content enough with the 40kg..still only testing the waters on this one.

Seated Cable Rows
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    77kg x 10

Russian Twist
    15kg
    3 x 10/10

Cable Tricep Extension
    5 x 10
    @30kg
    @30kg
    @30kg
    @30kg
    @30kg

teeny tiny bit of foam rolling

spent most of the session trapped beneath a barbell...bruised ribs tomorrow Id say!

Tuesday 27th September-C3

Had to draaaag my ass to the gym today. Was nervous as hell attempting the sprints again but they were painfree..:)phew!

Con Block-10mins
    50m sprints
    Every 30 sec

Workblock 1-15mins
    10 Box jumps
    10 T-Pushups
    5 Unsupported DB row e/s 22.5kg
    9 rounds in 15.24..down a few rounds cos I upped the reps of box jumps

Con Block-10mins
    50m sprints
    Every 30 sec
    For some strange reason I tend to wind myself up to the highest of heights when doing conditioning..only started to calm down during this block

Workblock 2-15mins
    10 db pushup rows 7.5kg
    10 Bounding Jumps
    10 rounds in 15.50...up a round:)

Didn't do a 5th block today..the last block was part of the barter to actually get myself to the gym.

Mission accomplished

Wednesday 28th September-Rugby
    Nice light session.

Training is gonna be twice a week starting next week Mondays being mainly fitness work and Wednesday more skill/ drill..so I'll probably try get my bench day done on a Wednesday before training

Thursday 29th September-S1

Spin Bike-15mins

Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

Squats
    20kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 2..was stressed and panicked and I just gave up:(
    60kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    60kg x 3 + F:(
    60kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    60kg x F:(
    60kg x F:(
    Left it at that..the 5's at 60kg were really tough and not that pretty either..not a happy camper. Tried to sit into them and keep my back tight-ish.

DB RDL's
    27.5kg x 10
    27.5kg x 10
    27.5kg x 10
    27.5kg x 10
    27.5kg x 10

Weighted bridge
    +15kg
    3 x 60

Barbell Row
    20kg x 8
    35kg x 8
    35kg x 8
    50kg x 5
    50kg x 5
    50kg x 5
    50kg x 5
    50kg x 5

Bent Over Rear Laterals
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10

OH Plate Arches
    10kg
    3 x 10/10

Bicep Curls
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10

Saturday 1st October-S3

Spin bike-20mins

Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

Deadlifts
    60kg x 8
    70kg x 8
    100kg x 3
    105kg x 3
    110kg x 3 smile.gif
    115kg x 2:):)
    115kg x 1..this one was really slow to lock out..was gonna attempt a double but I remembered COHs words of wisdom ...STOP FAILING THINGS..so left it there

110kg x 3

115kg x 2

Step Ups
    5kg DBs x 10

Weighted Hip Pop ups
    20kg
    4 x 15

DB Incline Bench Press
    10kg x 8
    10kg x 8
    17.5kg x 5:) That's a first
    17.5kg x 4
    17.5kg x 4
    17.5kg x 4
    17.5kg x 4

Lat Pull Down
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10..hard

Weighted Side bridge
    +10kg
    3 x 45/15

4 x 15....ew

Pretty chuffed with the DLing..bit of a relief hitting 115kg again..and the double was completely unexpected. Only problem is the lockout and I know that's because I'm setting up and starting with a beautifully rounded back:o

Sunday 2nd October
    I've decided to take a different approach to training (just until after the comp) because motivation has been a little low lately. The plan is to get the 3 strength sessions done, 2 rugby and then 1/2 EASY con sessions where I amnt pushing hard

Con Block-10mins
    Sled Pushes +15kg
    Yellow line to 3rd yellow line
    ~20m each way
    5 up and backs in 10mins..that is embarrassingly slow..down about 3 rounds from what I can get..but I was keeping the idea of 'easy con' in mind.
    Legs were killing me though

Work Block 1-15mins
    5 Goblet Squats 27.5kg..felt a wee bit easier than normal
    5 Floor Press 17.5kg
    5 Rows e/s 22.5kg
    8 rounds in 16.30...slower

Con Block-10mins
    Sled Drags +50kg
    ~20m each way
    6 up and backs in 10mins....down 2 rounds

Work Block 2-15mins
    10 Reverse Lunges +10kg
    3 Pullups
    10 pushups
    8 rounds in 15mins...down loads:(

Monday 5th October-Rugby
    Lots of running and drills...easy enough fitness wise. Was feeling really confident with passing and catching the ball last night, no tackling.. that's for Wednesday.....eeek.

Started moving people around trying out positions...I'm being eyed up as a 13..no idea what it means..except that the person beside me is supposed to run fast to give me room to sprint to catch the pass..that's about all I got outta it??
    I've decided to take a different approach to training (just until after the comp) because motivation has been a little low lately. The plan is to get the 3 strength sessions done, 2 rugby and then 1/2 EASY con sessions where I amnt pushing hard

:o Yeh...so....that plan was kind of foiled:( Back to doing things properly.

Tuesday 4th October-C3 Did conditioning today outta pure guilt.

Con Block-10mins
    50m sprints
    Every 30 sec..about 9sec and less

Workblock 1-15mins
    10 Box jumps
    10 T-Pushups
    11 rounds in 15mins...up 2 rounds:)

Con Block-10mins
    50m sprints-outdoors
    Every 30 sec

Workblock 2-15mins
    10 db pushup rows 7.5kg
    10 Bounding Jumps
    10 rounds in 15mins..wahoo..faster

And....back to doing a 5th block again
    Con Block-10mins
    50m sprints
    Every 30 sec..left knee started to hurt a bit doing these.ITB must just be tight from all the running in rugby last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Started moving people around trying out positions...I'm being eyed up as a 13..no idea what it means.

Brian O'Driscoll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

When you deadlift its looks like your shoulders are too far behind the bar, and when you actually pull nothing happens until your body rocks forward putting you into a better pulling position. This forward rocking motion happens every time you pull from the ground.

Looks like your trying to involve your legs to much. Your sitting way down which is essentially moving you away from the bar, putting your shoulders behind the bar. After you rock forward and the bar begins to move this is petty much where your shoulders and arms should be placed at the setup.

Don't take too much heed of me, we have no tv and L is asleep, im just lonely and he always locks his door :(

JJayoo wrote: »
    When you deadlift its looks like your shoulders are too far behind the bar, and when you actually pull nothing happens until your body rocks forward putting you into a better pulling position. This forward rocking motion happens every time you pull from the ground.

Looks like your trying to involve your legs to much. Your sitting way down which is essentially moving you away from the bar, putting your shoulders behind the bar. After you rock forward and the bar begins to move this is petty much where your shoulders and arms should be placed at the setup.

Don't take too much heed of me, we have no tv and L is asleep, im just lonely and he always locks his door :(

She has less than zero hamstring strength. She pulls that way to compensate.

Wednesday 5th October-S2

Skipped the spin bike cos I was supposed to be heading to rugby after..but it got cancelled.:(

Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

Bench
    20kg x 8
    25kg x 8
    40kg x 5
    43kg x 4
    43kg x 3 + a pinning
    43kg x 4
    45kg x 1 and a pinning
    43kg x 3
    43kg x 3
    Bench is completely erractic these days.

Lat Pulldown
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10..felt very heavy today

Sit Ups
    5kg against chest
    4 x 25

Close Grip BenchPress
    20kg x 8
    25kg x 8
    40kg x 3 and a pinning
    40kg x 3
    40kg x 3
    40kg x 3
    40kg x 3
    Going backward aswell???!!

Seated Cable Rows
    77kg x 10
    77kg x 10
    77kg x 10
    84kg x 10
    84kg x 10

Russian Twist
    15kg
    3 x 10/10

Cable Tricep Extension
    5 x 10
    @30kg
    @30kg
    @30kg
    @30kg
    @30kg

JJayoo wrote: »

I do find it easier to lift when I DL with a rocking motion rather than without:)
    She has less than zero hamstring strength. She pulls that way to compensate.
    Zero? Reeeeaaaally...surely I've got a teeny tiny bit of strength back there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭superfish

great deadlifting gymfreak keep up the heavy lifting :)

superfish wrote: »
    great deadlifting gymfreak keep up the heavy lifting :)

Thanks!:)

There's been a few minor setbacks recently, but the compliment is appreciated!! :)

Thursday 6th October-C2
    looking back over my log..it's actually been over 2weeks since I did this session...whoops...also, the rower is just one stupid machine.

Con Block - 10mins

Rower -5x200m efforts with 45 second recovery
    1km warm up
    1. 46.2
    2. 47.8
    3. 47.7
    4. 47.9
    5. 48.4

Work Block 1 - 15mins
    5 TB Deadlifts 60kg
    10 Inverted Rows
    16 rounds in 15mins..waaaay better than the last time I tried it..but I had managed 17 before:mad: Was able to hang onto the TB for all the rest..but it really was causing some fatigue.

Con Block - 10mins
    1km warm up
    1. 47.2
    2. 47.6
    3. 48.3
    4. 49.6
    5. 49.3

Work Block 2 - 15mins
    5 Clean and Push Press 20kg
    10 Ab Roll Outs
    13 rounds in 14.45mins...same

Con Block - 10mins
    1km warm up-
    1. 46.8
    2. 48.4
    3. 49.4
    4. 49.4
    5. 48.8...arms were just dead, dead, dead

The rower is just sooooo annoying...times are still getting slower!:(

Seriously though, WTF!!

Friday 7th October -S1

Gonna have to rejig the days that I do S + C, cos all week I've been trying to use the track for conditioning its been busy with a group of sprinters..and then today when I went to do strength they were occupying the rack, all the platforms and the bike...so I'm gonna try do opposite days to them!!

Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

Squats
    20kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    40kg x 5
    55kg x 5
    60kg x 5..tough..really trying to push the knees out
    63kg x 3
    63kg x 2..and a fail
    I think I really should have gotten the last two sets, just wasn't confident
    enough to really go for it

Last set 63kg

DB RDL's
    27.5kg x 10
    27.5kg x 10
    27.5kg x 10
    30kg x 8..its the grip that goes first
    30kg x 8

Weighted bridge
    +15kg
    3 x 60

Barbell Row
    20kg x 8
    35kg x 8
    35kg x 8
    50kg x 5
    50kg x 5
    50kg x 5
    55kg x 5
    55kg x 5

Bent Over Rear Laterals
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    10kg x 10..had to break up the reps..wasnt able

OH Plate Arches
    10kg
    3 x 10/10

Bicep Curls
    7.5kg x 10
    10kg x 6
    10kg x 6
    10kg x 6
    10kg x 6

I know time is a ticking...really need to try harder at the squatting...its just I panic a bit when it feels heavy:(

Saturday 8th October-C1
    Serious..serious work to drag myself to the gym...really wanted to skip conditioning and just deadlift but I knew I'd get slagged for not doing it...so...yeh..peer pressure..it works

Con Block-10mins
    Sled Pushes +10kg
    ~20m each way
    8 up and backs in 10mins.Normally do it with +15kg..but seeing as I've been getting progressively slower I dropped back the weight and hoping to get more work done. 8 rounds..that's what I was able to get at the start of Sept with 15kg..sigh:( ..Onwards and upwards though!!:)

Work Block 1-15mins
    5 Goblet Squats 27.5kg.
    5 Floor Press 17.5kg
    5 Rows e/s 22.5kg
    9 rounds in 16mins..an extra round

Con Block-10mins
    Sled Pushes +10kg
    ~20m each way
    8 up and backs in 10.50mins....that was fecking hard, my poor hamstrings.

Work Block 1-15mins
    10 Reverse Lunges +10kg
    3 Pullups...really **** when your heavy!! Really ****
    10 pushups
    11 rounds in 15.30mins
    Way better than last week..but down a round from my best though

Con Block-10mins
    Sled Pushes +10kg
    Suicides-Yellow line 2nd Yellow and back, Yellow to 3rd yellow line and back
    5 rounds in 10.25....made sure not to stop mid length when it got hard like I had been doing in the previous blocks..just trying to grind it out more than I have been doing at all lately

Faaaaar better effort than last week:D Deadlifting tomorrow:)

Sunday 9th October-S3

Got chatting to a pole vaulter in the gym today. Was actually great to chat to another girl about training and stuff.
    Spin bike-20mins

Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

Deadlifts
    60kg x 8
    70kg x 8
    100kg x 3
    105kg x 3
    110kg x 3
    115kg x F
    115kg x ...not too sure what to call this
    115kg x same
    115s were gross looking..once the bar stopped moving I literally had to stand there for 10sec waiting for my hips to go through...rotten...rotten...rotten

Step Ups
    5kg DBs x 10

Weighted Hip Pop ups
    20kg x 15
    25kg x 15
    25kg x 15

DB Incline Bench Press
    10kg x 8
    10kg x 8
    17.5kg- wouldnt work today...but only realised after that I had the bench set to a different incline:rolleyes:
    15kg x 10
    15kg x 10
    15kg x 10
    15kg x 10
    15kg x 10

Lat Pull Down
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10 grand

Weighted Side bridge
    +10kg
    3 x 45/15

4 x 15 grand today

Sunday 9th October-S3

Got chatting to a pole vaulter in the gym today. Was actually great to chat to another girl about training and stuff.

Was she hot?

Monday 10th October-Rugby

Tonight was all about the 'eeeeeeeeeeps'. I blame the tackle bags..I was absolutely terrified of them...terrifed of tackling them and terrified of falling...until I realised that I was supposed to fall..and that is what tackling is:rolleyes: .....yes,....I never cease to amaze myself.

Really enjoyed tonights session, lots of different drills and games.

I'm also getting really good at catching and passing the ball...whoop whoop...well...only when I dont have someone charging at me...that still scares the beejebus outa me.

Conditioning tomorrow:)

Tuesday 11th October-C3

Con Block-10mins
    50m sprints Outdoors
    Every 30 sec..about 9sec and less

Workblock 1-15mins
    10 Box jumps
    10 T-Pushups
    12 rounds in 15.35..up a round:)...I was a sweaty mess though.

Con Block-10mins
    50m sprints-indoors
    Every 30 sec
    Other people were using the track too so I was going hell for leather..started to feel a tad unwell near the end.

Workblock 2-15mins
    10 db pushup rows 7.5kg.........so frickin hard
    10 Bounding Jumps
    11 rounds in 14.40..up a round:)

Con Block-10mins
    50m sprints-outdoors
    Every 30 sec

Was well and truely spent throughout the session..and plain exhausted by the end. Feel great now though, motivation is back where it should be and my body is co-operating these days..whoop whoop

• Registered Users Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Red Cortina

Feel great now though, motivation is back where it should be and my body is co-operating these days..whoop whoop
    Can I have some of your movtivation please? I've lost mine:(

Believe me...am soooo chuffed to have it back!! Really feeling in flying form:) As they say..it goes in circles!

Wednesday 12th October-S2

Spin Bike-20mins

Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

Bench
    20kg x 8
    25kg x 8
    40kg x 5
    43kg x 5
    45kg x 3
    45kg x 2..and a pinning
    43kg x 3
    43kg x 3
    43kg x 3
    Didnt want to fail today so was being a tad cautious.

Lat Pulldown
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10

Sit Ups
    5kg against chest
    4 x 25

Close Grip BenchPress
    20kg x 8
    25kg x 8
    40kg x 2
    38kg x 2...grip was waaay to narrow on these

lowered the weight to figure out what was wrong
    35kg x 5
    35kg x 5
    35kg x 5
    38kg x 4
    38kg x 4

Seated Cable Rows
    completely forgot:o

Russian Twist
    15kg
    3 x 10/10

Cable Tricep Extension
    5 x 10
    @30kg
    @30kg
    @30kg
    @30kg
    @30kg

Spin Bike-20mins

Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

Squats
    Took my time setting up for each set/rep
    20kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    40kg x 3
    45kg x 3
    50kg x 3
    50kg x 3
    55kg x 3

60kg x 3
    63kg x 3..hard
    65kg x 3...oh so very nearly chickened out of the 3rd rep..but a little encouragement goes a long way:)

63kg x 3

65kg x 3

DB RDL's
    30kg x 8
    30kg x 7
    30kg x 6
    30kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    ...stupid grip

Weighted bridge
    +20kg..decided to give 20 a whirl here..manageable but tough
    3 x 60

Barbell Row
    20kg x 10
    25kg x 10
    35kg x 8..nice and strict
    35kg x 8
    35kg x 8
    35kg x 8
    35kg x 8

Bent Over Rear Laterals
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10

High/ Low Woodchoppers-Cable Machine
    14kg
    3 x 10/10

Bicep Curls
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Squats
    65kg x 3...oh so very nearly chickened out of the 3rd rep..but a little encouragement goes a long way:)

Well done, you worked hard on it and didn't compromise depth. Well deserved triple!

Thanks:) Let's hope I can keep up the 'fighting for reps' mentality over the next few weeks!!

Final countdown is on..only 4 weeks to go. Really cutting back on everything to give it a proper whirl. I'll do 3 strength a week and after that just a few bits to keep me ticking over. One goal at a time..:)

Sunday 16th October-S3
    Weight- 54.0kg
    Kcal: 1400 Protein: 105g
    Spin bike-20mins

Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

Deadlifts
    50kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 3
    85kg x 3
    90kg x 3
    95kg x 3
    100kg x 3

105kg x 3
    110kg x 3
    115kg x 2...my heart was racing crazily at this set today..doesn't normally happen!

Barbell Lunges
    30kg x 10
    30kg x 10
    35kg x 10
    35kg x 10
    35kg x 10

Weighted Hip Pop ups
    25kg x 15
    25kg x 15
    25kg x 15..I'll up the weight next week
    25kg x 15

DB Incline Bench Press
    10kg x 8
    10kg x 8
    17.5kg x 3
    17.5kg x F, F...just couldnt get it into the right position to start
    15kg x 10
    15kg x 10
    15kg x 10
    15kg x 8..really was struggling to get the reps with 15kg

DB Rows
    27.5kg x 7...dropped down so I could get 10s
    25kg x 10
    25kg x 10
    25kg x 10
    25kg x 10

Weighted Side bridge
    +10kg
    3 x 45/15

4 x 15

Going to keep a log of my weight and kcals to keep me accountable in the run up to the competition.

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭Beffy

You are super strong! Fair play!

*super jealous*

What competition will you be competing in?

Beffy wrote: »
    You are super strong! Fair play!

*super jealous*

Thanks, but I'm really not,...I'm a long way off want I want/ expect of myself. As for jealous...you mustn't have watched my vids..atrocious form..but I'm trying!!:)
    Beffy wrote: »
    What competition will you be competing in?
    I went to my first powerlifting competition with a few boardsies back in July and this is the follow-on comp-run by GPC.

I've actually been following your log..even though I haven't commented yet.keep up the good work!!

Monday 17th October
    Rugby was cancelled due to the stooopid weather:( Quite disappointed.

So, I settled for some steady state cardio instead..feels like it's been years
    since I did any.

X-Trainer-20mins

Bike-25mins

Nothing strenuous..nothing too long..just burnng a few kcal

Weight: 53.6kg:)
    Kcal: 1339 Protein: 102g..I'll bunk up the protein tomorrow..just had cravings for apples and nuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,282 ✭✭✭COH

..just had cravings for nuts

Be careful.. L might be lurking :pac:

Tuesday 18th October-S2

Weight: 53.7kg

Kcal:1400 Protein: 126g
    Spin Bike-20mins

Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

Bench
    20kg x 8
    20kg x 8
    30kg x 3
    33kg x 3
    35kg x 3
    38kg x 3
    40kg x 3
    42kg x 3
    44kg x 2 + a pinning
    44kg x 2
    Kinda overshot the mark with the bench..was aiming to make a good stab at 46kg for 2/3 but..didnt really factor in the fact that im normally only good for 1 or 2 triples at 45kg..and that my arms would be tired by the time I got up to it

Lat Pulldown
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10

Cable Ab Pulldowns
    23kg x 25
    30kg x 25
    36kg x 25
    43kg x 25
    43kg x 25

Close Grip BenchPress
    20kg x 8
    25kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    35kg x 8
    35kg x 8
    35kg x 8
    35kg x 8

Seated Cable Rows
    84kg x 10
    84kg x 10
    84kg x 10
    84kg x 10
    84kg x 10..myt neck kept doing some horrible sounding cracking doing these...eeeuugh

Russian Twist
    15kg
    3 x 10/10

Cable Tricep Extension
    5 x 10
    @30kg
    @30kg
    @30kg
    @30kg
    @30kg

Glutes are still sore from lunges on Sunday...forgot what DOMS felt like!

Some foam rolling and even a wee bit of stretching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

wtf....your playing Rugby....

Hanley how the **** did this happen?

wtf....your playing Rugby....

Hanley how the **** did this happen?

Playing rugby......emmmmm....errrrr......not really. I kind of look the part..gumshield, boots. socks...but not really sounding or acting the part:D:D

Wednesday 19th October-Rugby

Weight= 53.2kg:)..
    Kcal =1300 Protein=102g...skipped having a protein shake..must get back to upping the protein

Rugby training
    Lots of passing drills, running lines, tackling the bags(without having to hit the deck...phew) and then just a quick game at the end.

I was hitting the tackling bags a bit off..kept hitting it with my right shoulder ever so slightly behind..which meant too much force on my left...my back keeps cracking as a result...eww

Any time we looked like we were getting cold... it was back to the ladders and little hurdles.
    I always looked cold despite wearing loooooads of layers...so...a lot of that was done.
    Gloves next week!

Thursday 20th October-S1
    Weight=53.7kg
    Kcal:1350 Protein=111g

Spin Bike-20mins

Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

Squats
    20kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    40kg x 3
    45kg x 3
    50kg x 3
    50kg x 3
    55kg x 3

60kg x 3
    63kg x 3
    65kg x 3..wasn't as hard as last week:)..concentrated on pushing the knees out

63kg x 3..had a wee bit of trouble trying to tighten up before 3rd rep

65kg x 3

DB RDL's
    30kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    30kg x 8

Weighted bridge
    +20kg.... I shook like a frickin leaf
    3 x 60

Barbell Row-strict
    20kg x 10
    25kg x 10
    35kg x 8
    35kg x 8
    35kg x 8
    38kg x 8
    38kg x 8

Bent Over Rear Laterals
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10

High/ Low Woodchoppers-Cable Machine
    18kg
    3 x 10/10

Bicep Curls
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10

Was sooooooo good--stretched AND foamrolled.....it was horrendous...i hate stretching..it hurts..faaaar too much.

And finished the day off with Hanley telling me that I'm fatter:(
    Skinfolds up 5mm from the last time he took them. Hate being told skinfolds...makes me feel accountable cos I dont want to see them going up...grrr.

Squats looked pretty solid there. Unlike your belly. Fatass.

Hanley wrote: »
    Squats looked pretty solid there. Unlike your belly. Fatass.

Just wait till next week..I'll be uber lean and you will be uber jealous.

Well...maybe not uber lean...but lean-er

And anyway..its due to be a long Winter..a bit of insulation goes a long way...I'm just thinking ahead is all!

Friday 21st October
    Weight: 53.2kg
    Kcal:1500 Protein...didn't check yet

Spin Class-30mins
    Went to a spin class with a girl that I used to partner/train with about a year ago. Spin was quite different to what I'd expected cos there were only 9 bikes..all arranged in a row...with nowhere to hide....so no dossing:( Been a looooong while since I was in a spin class!

XTrainer-25mins

Happy out! Might DL tomorrow if I'm feeling good

Saturday 22nd October
    Weight:52.8kg:)
    Kcal-ate up to about 2000 today..had a lovely toasted sandwich and all..which I'm blaming for Sunday's upset tummy.

Hamstrings were feeling a bit tight so decided to leave off deadlifting until Sunday. Then was all set to go do some sprints in the afternoon btu decided that'd be stupid too..I really don't know where this 'sensibleness' came from..still quite shocked

Sunday 23th October-S3
    Weight- 53.0kg

kcal-1300 Protein-95g :o
    Spin bike-20mins

Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

Deadlifts
    Started to get a weird twinge in my right shoulder the minute I started warming up...I've a vague recollection of getting the twinge before..have to remember to ask Will about that

50kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 3
    85kg x 3
    90kg x 3
    95kg x 3
    100kg x 3

105kg x 3
    110kg x 3...smacked my shin with the bar:( wasn't pleasant
    115kg x F:(..fiddled and fiddled stupidly with the bar beforehand, got it off the floor just couldnt lock it out
    115kg x F:(:( really wasnt happening

Yeh, deadliftng sucked cos..
    1. Think I just didn't have it today
    2. Was put off by Hanley being there..knew he'd be disapproving.
    3. The awful bump on my shins hurt placing the bar again it

Barbell Lunges
    35kg x 10
    35kg x 10
    35kg x 10
    40kg x 10
    40kg x 10

Weighted Hip Pop ups
    30kg x 15
    30kg x 15
    30kg x 15
    30kg x 15

DB Incline Bench Press
    10kg x 8
    10kg x 8
    17.5kg x F..wouldnt work again today:(:(
    15kg x 10
    15kg x 10
    15kg x 10
    15kg x 10
    15kg x 10

DB Rows
    25kg x 10
    25kg x 10
    25kg x 10
    25kg x 10
    25kg x 10..didnt up the weight today cos wasn't sure how happy my shoulder was

Weighted Side bridge
    +10kg
    3 x 45/15
    Might up the weight here

Back Extensions
    4 x 15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,282 ✭✭✭COH

Yeh, deadliftng sucked cos..
    1. I don't listen
    2. I don't listen
    3. I don't listen

Fixed that for ya :P

COH wrote: »
    Fixed that for ya :P

Was gonna retort and call you an ass...but that's actually pretty funny, kudos!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

Hamstrings were feeling a bit tight so decided to leave off deadlifting until Sunday. Then was all set to go do some sprints in the afternoon btu decided that'd be stupid too..I really don't know where this 'sensibleness' came from..still quite shocked

Yeah, I wonder where all the sensibleness is coming from - oh wait, you're starting to listen to people on occasion!

Barbell Lunges
    35kg x 10
    35kg x 10
    35kg x 10
    40kg x 10
    40kg x 10

That's savage weight for BB lunges - good on ya

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭Turbo_diesel

When is your next powerlifting meet ? What do you hope to hit?

Competition is the 13th of November, so just under 3weeks away:) Still not panicking yet...which is amazing for me!!

Em..I'm a pretty simple fish, just want more than last time-42.5/75/118.5
    so maybe 45ish/80/125????if I'm really really lucky..

To be honest I'm just trying to focus on getting consitent at the lifts and not get the reps some weeks and miss others...like I did yesterday:rolleyes:

Monday 24th October
    Weight-52.8
    Kcal-1500 Protein-137g:)yay..finally getting there with the protein
    Rugby was cancelled due to **** weather:(:(

Gymed it up instead...fancied doing something other than machines.

Classes were easy but a bit of a laugh, just to burn a few kcal as there wasn't a hope of me going out for a run in the floods!

Cardio Kick something or other style class-45mins

Step Aerobics-45mins

Tuesday 25th October-S2

Weight: 52.8kg...
    still hasnt gone down over the last few days...grr

Spin Bike-20mins

Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

Bench
    20kg x 8
    25kg x 8
    30kg x 3
    33kg x 3
    35kg x 3
    38kg x 3
    40kg x 3
    42kg x 3
    44kg x 2
    44kg x 1 + a pinning

Damn..down a rep on the last set..managaged 2 x 2 at 44kg last week..damn..gave it another go and...nada!

Lat Pulldown
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10

Cable Ab Pulldowns
    43kg x 25
    43kg x 25
    43kg x 25
    43kg x 25

Close Grip BenchPress
    20kg x 8
    25kg x 8
    35kg x 5..felt awkward and bum kept leaving the bench so dropped it down:(
    33kg x 8
    33kg x 8
    33kg x 8
    33kg x 8

Seated Cable Rows
    84kg x 10
    84kg x 10
    84kg x 10
    84kg x 10
    84kg x 10

Russian Twist
    15kg
    3 x 10/10

Cable Tricep Extension
    5 x 10
    @30kg
    @30kg
    @30kg
    @30kg
    @30kg

Didn't get what I was aiming for in this session..ah well....at least I was concentrating!

Rugby is cancelled tomorrow because the pitch is water logged:(:( Going to have to find something else to do!

Wednesday 26th October
    Weight=52.8kg....still!!!:mad:
    Kcal= Protein=

No rugby tonight..so

X-trainer-15mins

Boxercise-45mins
    Always my frickin luck to get partnered with the instructor. Good class tho.

There were box jumps at one stage....and yes, I squeaked.

X-Trainer-10mins

No work tomorrow...whoop whoop:)

Thursday 27th October-S1
    Weight=52.6kg

Kcal:...quite high...whoops

Spin Bike-10mins

Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

Squats
    20kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    40kg x 3
    45kg x 3
    50kg x 3
    55kg x 3
    60kg x 3

63kg x 3
    65kg x 3
    68kg x 3:)

65kg x 3

68kg x 3..didn't actually feel that, that bad.

DB RDL's
    30kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    32.5kg x 6
    32.5kg x 7

Weighted bridge
    +20kg..didnt shake as bad today, only for the last 10-15 sec of each set
    3 x 60

Barbell Row-strict
    20kg x 10
    25kg x 10