Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Great Big Manky Foods Thread [Merged]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

xzanti wrote: »
    Baked beans from a can O_o *VOM*

Same as. Baked beans are disgusting. The texture, the colour, the sickly smell.

They are the only food I find truly offensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

coleslaw and cucumber. absolutely vile

• Registered Users Posts: 17,040 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

xzanti wrote: »
    Baked beans from a can O_o *VOM*

Yeah, forgot baked beans - I really should like them as I love beans generally and I like tomatoes but there is some left over childhood aversion that stopps me from even trying them again.
    I can't won't eat them!!:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

Garlic and anything that contains garlic
    Raw Onion except baby pickled onions
    Coleslaw
    Radish
    Indian meals - currys, nan bread
    Chinese meals -noodles - anything spicy (except chilly beef and sweet n sour)
    certain nuts
    Fish/seafood
    quorn
    venison
    veal
    celery
    goat
    anything weird like kangaroo ( you will never get me in the jungle (im a celeb get me out of here))
    peppers & chilli peppers
    slimfast and and diet shakes
    asparagus
    avocado
    penut butter
    bovril
    mustard
    salad cream and salad dressings
    stir fry sauces
    courgettes
    marmite
    malt
    pizza ( can only have plain pizzas)
    gherkin
    olives
    'i know im fussy'

edit also certain cheese = cottage cheese, mature cheese, Edam, blue cheese, Stilton, cheese strings and Philadelphia
    feta cheese and brie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭Boxoffrogs

Coleslaw
    Radish
    certain nuts
    Fish
    quorn
    venison
    veal
    celery
    goat
    anything weird like kangaroo ( you will never get me in the jungle (im a celeb get me out of here))
    peppers & chilli peppers
    asparagus
    avocado
    penut butter
    bovril
    mustard
    stir fry sauces
    courgettes
    marmite
    malt
    'i know im fussy'

:eek: I hope you're taking some kind of supplement

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭foggy

Beetroot - won't eat it and won't eat anything that it taints on the plate either.
    and Eggs - if the white and the yolk are separate (e.g fried, boiled, poached) not a hope.. but i'll eat them scrambled!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,139 ✭✭✭olaola

God, ye are all so fussy!

I really don't have time for faddy notions. I understand cucumber is a physical thing that you cannot help. But the rest of ye are like children!

I was watching Celebrity Masterchef last night and yer wan the 'model' said 'I don't like cottage cheese, I've never tasted it before - but I think that's what was in the dish'.

love cucumber, hate cottage cheese, mature cheese, Edam, blue cheese, Stilton, cheese strings and Philadelphia .

• Registered Users Posts: 9 tuzex89

So, you don't eat chips in McDonalds, are you? They are full of vinegar...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,726 ✭✭✭sudzs

Liver!

*shudder*

sudzs wrote: »
    Liver!

*shudder*

Oh forgot that one, I second that. But I do love kidney!

sudzs wrote: »
    Liver!

I remember eating plates of that as a kid as i had very low iron, its ok fried but fried with kidney and heart and onions lovely.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Little Alex

Hill Billy wrote: »
    I was served a breakfast course of pickled cow's tongue in aspic jelly with a slice of hard boiled egg once. That was tough going. Probably had to do with the litre of Belarussian vodka I had the night before though.

Hill Billy, for some reason I can see Porta telling that story... hoping you're a Sven Hassel fan... :D
    Coleslaw
    Radish
    certain nuts
    Fish/seafood
    quorn
    venison
    veal
    celery
    goat
    peppers & chilli peppers
    asparagus
    avocado
    penut butter
    bovril
    mustard
    stir fry sauces
    courgettes
    marmite
    malt
    gherkin
    olives
    'i know im fussy'

edit also certain cheese = cottage cheese, mature cheese, Edam, blue cheese, Stilton, cheese strings and Philadelphia
    feta cheese and brie

Howly Jaysus! You're worse than my aul fellah! :pac:
    diddledum wrote: »
    :eek: I hope you're taking some kind of supplement

Me? I find cucumber (pukeumber) and melon absolutely disgusting.

Funnily enough, I used to very much dislike coriander and celery, but find them quite tasty recently. Celery only with hummus or blue cheese dip, though.

foggy wrote: »
    Beetroot - won't eat it and won't eat anything that it taints on the plate either.
    and Eggs - if the white and the yolk are separate (e.g fried, boiled, poached) not a hope.. but i'll eat them scrambled!!

I love beetroot, or rather I love beetroot juice which I think is just vinegar. I used to go to the fridge and drain the jar when I was a kid. After a while of this happening, my Mam and Dad said they were going to find out who was doing it by looking at the colour of our wee after we'd been the loo. Stopped doing it after that.

I also used to like eating raw sausage which I'm sure would be on a list of things people don't like to eat.

Just thought of another thing I can't stand and that's white sauce, it ain't got no flavour and the texture really turns my stomach

I also used to like eating raw sausage which I'm sure would be on a list of things people don't like to eat.

Jesus, raw sausage is delish! My granny in Waterford used to give it to me and my cousins! :eek: :D It tasted lovely. I rememer it until today.

Ha ha, and hear was me thinking it was a dirty little secret, it's not something I'd usually admit to. I don't do it anymore, although I think sausage in a coddle has quite a similar taste to it so I settle for that.

Even funnier... I'm from Lucan too! :pac:

Ha, maybe there's something in the air and we're all at it, I sure don't feel so wrong anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

Cucumber, tomato, ketchup, brown sauce and cold meat - can't go near the stuff.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 40 pr0

Suede's taste like pieces of muck.

• Registered Users Posts: 891 ✭✭✭MakaDonVeli

• Any of them small cakes covered in icing in a pack of 4 with each being a different colour.
    • Any fish that has bones, Just can't eat it without thinking of getting a bone.
    • Pot Noodles, turn my stomach.
    • Lobster.
    • Tinned Sweetcorn, love it off the cob tho.
    • Anything like hearts, livers etc.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,123 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Almonds (unless they're added and their taste is superceded by something else like currys or something).

Bovril

On the whole, I'm not too fussy. I used to absolutely hate stuff like spinach and brussel sprouts when younger, but happily enjoy them now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Most meat, but especially beef/ham/lamb/other random animals/turkey (I can tolerate chicken at times, and the occasional rasher)
    Smell of a fry turns my stomach, along with most meat cooking.

Fried Eggs, infact most eggs.
    Garlic in anyway shape or form, the smell makes me want to vomit and so does the taste.
    Orange juice, can't drink it anymore makes me vomit.
    Baked beans
    Celery
    Kidney/Liver
    Asparagus
    Aubergine
    Courgette
    Olives
    Lentils
    Olive Oil
    (Not supposed to eat bread cuz I can't digest it but I do like it)
    Beetroot
    Peppers (they make me sick)
    Avocado
    Malt/Milkshakes
    Gherkins
    Any form of coffee
    Cream (except for a small amount on strawberries that's about all I'll tolerate)
    Mousse
    SuperNoodles/PotNoodle things
    Packet Soups (make me sick)
    Salmon
    Can only eat Bananas occasionally and they have to be still kinda green (same with kiwis)
    Some seafood
    Cherries in cakes or glacé cherries
    Creamcakes
    Sponge
    Trifle
    Easisingle cheese type cheese
    Mayonnaise
    Soy Sauce/Brown Sauce
    King Crisps the smell alone makes me ill
    Custard
    Rhubarb
    Blueberries
    Yoghurt (again doesn't agree with me & I don't really like it)
    Pudding (as in black/white pudding)

I'm sure there's more, there's a lot of stuff I dislike and a lot of stuff I couldn't eat even if I wanted to as it upsets my stomach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Klove

Asparagus, fennel, caraway seeds, (anything aniseed tasting really. Pernod - ick) blue cheese. Oh, and chewing gum.

star-pants wrote: »
    Most meat, but especially beef/ham/lamb/other random animals/turkey (I can tolerate chicken at times, and the occasional rasher)
    Smell of a fry turns my stomach, along with most meat cooking.

Fried Eggs, infact most eggs.
    Garlic in anyway shape or form, the smell makes me want to vomit and so does the taste.
    Orange juice, can't drink it anymore makes me vomit.
    Baked beans
    Celery
    Kidney/Liver
    Asparagus
    Aubergine
    Courgette
    Olives
    Lentils
    Olive Oil
    (Not supposed to eat bread cuz I can't digest it but I do like it)
    Beetroot
    Peppers (they make me sick)
    Avocado
    Malt/Milkshakes
    Gherkins
    Any form of coffee
    Cream (except for a small amount on strawberries that's about all I'll tolerate)
    Mousse
    SuperNoodles/PotNoodle things
    Packet Soups (make me sick)
    Salmon
    Can only eat Bananas occasionally and they have to be still kinda green (same with kiwis)
    Some seafood
    Cherries in cakes or glacé cherries
    Creamcakes
    Sponge
    Trifle
    Easisingle cheese type cheese
    Mayonnaise
    Soy Sauce/Brown Sauce
    King Crisps the smell alone makes me ill
    Custard
    Rhubarb
    Blueberries
    Yoghurt (again doesn't agree with me & I don't really like it)
    Pudding (as in black/white pudding)

I'm sure there's more, there's a lot of stuff I dislike and a lot of stuff I couldn't eat even if I wanted to as it upsets my stomach.

It might be easier to list the foods you will eat.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 22,777 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

I forgot marzipan.

Hill Billy wrote: »
    I forgot marzipan.

Oh yeah, me too! (love almonds, though:confused:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭Ollchailin

It's only if you get that "oh Jesus i'm going to vomit" feeling about cucumber that you realise how much it's used in every frickin side salad going. I have to say it to every waiter/waitress to make sure there is absolutely NO cucumber anywhere near my food. If I even have to use my fork to remove it off the plate, I can taste it. And that's as you try not to get sick from the smell. *Shudder*

God there are no words to describe my hatred of this vile stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Ollchailin wrote: »
    If I even have to use my fork to remove it off the plate, I can taste it.
    I remember finding cucumber in a kebab and actually thinking to myself I would have preferred to have found a cockroach in it, and least I could have taken it out and not have to suffer the taste.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭cleremy jarkson

real butter
    cheese (except on certain pizzas...and if there is too much i end up taking lots off!)
    eggs
    milk (the thought of drinking it for a drink makes me sick, but i put a minimal amount on cereal, just to wet it!)
    broad beans
    baked beans
    gammon or any other rich meat derived from pigs
    beetroot
    gooseberries
    apple pie
    blackberries
    cream
    icing
    rich chocolate
    bananas
    peaches
    fruit cake
    olives
    onions
    peppers
    sultanas
    chives
    shallots

and more that I can't think of!

Funny thing is I never think of myself as a fussy eater because I eat most vegetables and I never feel restricted when it comes to finding something to eat!