Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick Grand Prix 2010

• 27-07-2010 5:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭

Great event in Limerick this Sunday if any of you have an interest in motoring.

http://www.limerickgrandprix.com
    On Sunday August 1st 2010 the Limerick Classic and Vintage Car Club will be holding an event to celebrate the 75th anniversary of the first Limerick Grand Prix race. The event will include a couple of parade laps around the original street circuit, followed by a short run. Following lunch at Adare Manor the cars will return to a display area in the city centre. The event will also include an exhibition of photographs, information and memorabilia on the races.

A selection of the Pre 1940 cars confirmed to date include :-

Alfa Romeo 8 C 2300

Fiat Ballia (Finished 4th Place in 1935 Race)

Bentley 4.5 Litre Tourer

Ford Smithfield Special (Finished 5th in 1935 Race)

T.R.S. (Finished 6th in 1938 Race)

Lagonda 3.0 Litre Tourer

BMW 328

Also, a selection of the Prestige cars confirmed to date include :-

Ferrari 308 GTB

Maserati Bora

De Tomaso Pantera

Ferrari Mondial

Ferrari 360 Modena

Aston Martin V8 Vantage

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,654 ✭✭✭RINO87

this looks really cool!!!!

did someone not mention the other day about resurrecting the grand prix?!!

hopefully some of ye will be there to take a few snaps as I wont be in Limerick that day. (CCSL, im looking at you!!!)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Ill go down for a look and a few pictures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭kilburn

This looks good to be honest apparently after Monaco, this is the only remaining street circuit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭The Snipe

I should be around, (wow its a long weekend with the ammount of stuff I'm doing.. :P) and if I am I'll take a few shots. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 422 ✭✭CCSL

9.00 Registration at No 1 Pery Square Limerick.

9.20 Pre 1940 Race Cars & Sports Car's assemble in
    Barrington Street for parade laps.

9.30 - 10.30 Parade laps of the original circuit by pre 1940
    sports and racing cars.

10.10 Club member's cars to assemble in Barrington
    Street to join parade lap.

10.45 Return to Pery Square for Tea / Coffee.

11.45 (Sharp) Leave Pery Square for Adare Manor

1.00 - 2.00 Lunch at Adare Manor golf club

2.30 (Sharp) Leave Adare Manor & return to Pery Square.
    3.00 Display at Pery Square including: -
    Pre 1940 sports and racing cars.
    Prestige and performance cars.
    Exhibition of memorobilia, photographs & information relating to the original Grand Prix races.

Will be there on Sunday hoping to recreate some of the original footage for the organisers

Definitely gonna be there think this is great PR for Limerick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

going to make it my business to get too some of this aswell...man great weekend in Limerick with the mma and this....its like someone rolled all my interestes into one weekend...it just needs cheap whiskey and wimmen....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Twin-go

kilburn wrote: »
    This looks good to be honest apparently after Monaco, this is the only remaining street circuit.

Eh, no its not. It hasn't been used since the 1930's.
    List of street circuits
    Americas
    Asia and Africa
    Europe
    Oceania
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Street_circuit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

kilburn wrote: »
    Twin-go wrote: »
    Eh, no its not. It hasn't been used since the 1930's.
    List of street circuits
    Americas

The route is believed to be the only street racing circuit outside of Monte Carlo which remains unchanged 75 years on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Going to try and make this even though I am working nights this weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

Would love to go but I'm going away for the weekend. It would have been a great excuse to give my camera a spin. Ah, well. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭Builderfromhell

Cars parked in Pery square now.
    Unbelievable display of vintage cars.
    Would strongly recommend going to see.
    Havn't bothered taking photos as loads of others with better cameras doing so and hopefully some will post here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

Havn't bothered taking photos as loads of others with better cameras doing so and hopefully some will post here.

Just watching the parade lap from William street, really cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Ah,ya should of taken some anyway!

h3000 wrote: »
    The route is believed to be the only street racing circuit outside of Monte Carlo which remains unchanged 75 years on.

True and Twin go champ car isnt F1 Grand prix, which is what the day is about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,403 ✭✭✭jonski

Got down to O'Connell Street in time to see the second lap , then up to Perry Square to see them parked up . Great to see them there , and the owners were all standing beside them answering questions .

I was there with my dad who remembers going to see the actual races as a kid .

Went along today to cover the event for the Vintage Club.

Had 2 cameras mounted on the cars as they went round. Am just aging the film to make it look like old newsreel will link here when its uploaded later this evening.

Heres a few pics to tide ye over.

IMGP4996.JPG

IMGP5105.JPG

IMGP5004.JPG
    IMGP5184.JPG

IMGP4707.JPG

More pics over at munsterimages.ie loads more to upload later from Adare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭DemoniK

Was fantastic
    more cars that I thought were there, which made it all the better.
    And a very good turnout all round.

Very well organised too.

Took a few pics - all here http://picasaweb.google.com/Rik.Dunphy/Limerick_GP_2010
    Some vids also - but waiting for uploads to finish.

A few pics for your pleasure
    P1050683.JPG
    P1050743.JPG
    P1050685.JPG
    P1050714.JPG
    P1050710.JPG
    P1050782.JPG
    P1050723.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭counterlock

Sickened I missed this :( but thanks for the pix guys, the cars look absolutely amazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭junkyarddog

Nice pics,
    I'm fairly sure I spotted that yellow Renault Tw 8574,
    being recovered on the ballysimon road this afternoon,it appeared to have been involved in a RTA:(

I have a few myself. Turned up towards the end though.

Finally got the video edited and uploaded
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F9dYP3R0pmA
    Enjoy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

Nice video rikd,was there myself today with the kids,they loved all the old cars.I couldn't get over the noise off them took some pics aswell but my skills as a photographer are,well lets just say not good:(

cruiser178 wrote: »
    Nice video rikd,was there myself today with the kids,they loved all the old cars.I couldn't get over the noise off them took some pics aswell but my skills as a photographer are,well lets just say not good:(

A bit of an Alfa nut myself, so having 3 oldies to look over was manna for me.
    noise of them was fantastic - back in the days when there was no regulations :)

Am just an amateur when it comes to photos - a decent camera helps. Ended up trying to balance the use of the video camera with the still camera - and cocked it up a few times - lol
    First time with vid camera - something new to get to grips with, but worth the effort :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,477 ✭✭✭✭phog

:( forgot all about this.

Thanks for the pics and the video :)

Took Ages to process this today to add the old newsreel effect!

But video finally live on youtube now!
    Limerick Grand Prix 75th Anniversary video.
    http://www.youtube.com/user/munsterimages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

CCSL wrote: »
    Took Ages to process this today to add the old newsreel effect!

But video finally live on youtube now!

Limerick Grand Prix 75th Anniversary video.
    http://www.youtube.com/user/munsterimages

wow just wow the sound from that video sends shivers down my spine.Ive got a 1991 amazon straight 6,4.2 td with a six inch exhaust http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055602635&page=3 and it sounds like a kitten playing with a ball of string compared to these beautiful beasts,hence the user name,deffo keeping mine for good

Brilliant video CCSL!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 390 ✭✭jochenstacker

Too late to join the party? here are my two videos.

Nice vids jochenstacker
    You have the whole morning well covered :)

Anyone hear anymore on the yellow renault?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,821 ✭✭✭phill106

Nice pics,
    I'm fairly sure I spotted that yellow Renault Tw 8574,
    being recovered on the ballysimon road this afternoon,it appeared to have been involved in a RTA:(

I heard about that. Apparently a woman pulled out in front of the vehicle at punches cross. That will be expensive for whoever is at fault.
    I would imagine bob sweeney would not have any parts for a renault tw 8574!
    So all parts would have to be sourced at high cost or made specially? Ouch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭Builderfromhell

Nice video jochenstacker

Excellent pics and videos well done lads.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

phill106 wrote: »
    I heard about that. Apparently a woman pulled out in front of the vehicle at punches cross. That will be expensive for whoever is at fault.
    I would imagine bob sweeney would not have any parts for a renault tw 8574!
    So all parts would have to be sourced at high cost or made specially? Ouch.

A woman pulled out on them, jaysus.
    On the lap I saw the whole procession driving towards the Crescent (not the shopping centre;)) where I was stationed.
    Imagine, two police bikes, two police cars, lights, sirens and a whole line of very noisy, old cars driving down the road and not too slowly either.
    Car from the sideroad waiting to pull out, sees the whole procession approaching, waits, waits, waits and THEN pulls out in the last second.
    Not that whoever that was was in such a hurry, they just drove 20 meters down the road to pull into a space, probably worried that Bentley was going to take it:rolleyes: (and that thing was HUGE!)
    He got a good bolloking from the Guard on one of the bikes as they where driving by, but what good does it do? My theory is that some people are so thick they'd even pull out in front of a Garda escort (and a MKII Escort) and a whole heap of 30's Grand Prix cars, what can you possibly say to them that will get through to them?:(
    At least no mangled metal on that occasion.
    Thanks everyone for all the videos, really brings the event back to life again!
    Hope there is another one next year. (holds breath)