Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

FC Rabotnicki v Liverpool [Match Thread] Thursday 7:45pm

• 28-07-2010 1:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭

So it beings : the start of a new era - Roy's first competive game in charge against the mighty Fc Rabotnicki of Macedonia.

After this only another 18 games to go to get to the final :p

Given the 20-man party that travelled I'd imagine the team will look something like listed below.

No idea what the Rabot's are like and cba finding out.

I'd imagine 4-2-3-1 will be the formation on the basis of what we've seen in the friendlies so far. Even if it is 4-4-2 I'd imagine the lineup would be pretty much identical.

Kinda surprised that both Agger and Skrtel are going and my reason they're are not in the team is that they haven't even featured in the friendlies yet - wouldnt be surprised to see both of them get a run in the second half though. Beyond that the team nearly picks itself with Spearing getting in ahead of Shelvey based on the amount of time they have both seen in pre-season so far and Roy's comments on Jay. Amoo is the one who gets on the right wing but that's down to a lack of other options more than anything.

Cavalieri
    --Kelly--Kyrgiakos--Ayala--Darby---
    Spearing---Lucas
    --Amoo----Aquilani
    Jovanovic--
    Dave

Subs: Gulacsi, Agger, Skrtel, Shelvey, Eccleston, Dalla Valle, Ince

Not Named as Subs: Hansen, Wilson,

Hansen is 3rd choice GK and Wilson doesn't make the bench as we already have 3 CBs on the pitch and 2 on the bench

Looking at those who didnt travel - besides the WC guys, Degen, El Zhar, Nemeth, Plessis and Itandje :mad: all didnt make the trip. Pretty much confirms that all of these have no future of the club, especially Nemeth when LDV and Eccelston are travelling ahead of him. :(

On Degen kinda odd that he didnt travel given his experience and the fact that he featured in the friendly at the weekend, especially given the lack of experienced options at RB and RW.

Not so surre what the telly options for this are but I don't think any of the regular channels are broadcasting it :( Tis on pay-per-view in the UK so I'd imagine there will at least be streams.

Didnt travel
    Fernando Torres
    Steven Gerrard
    Glen Johnson
    Maximillion Rodriguez
    Dirk Kuyt
    Ryan Babel
    Javier Mascherano
    Joe Cole
    Jamie Carragher
    Pepe Reina

Philipp Degen
    Damien Plessis
    Krisztián Németh
    Charles Itandje
    Nabil El Zhar
    Who has flown to Macedonia?
    28th Jul 2010 - Latest News

Liverpool have landed in Macedonia ahead of the Europa League third qualifying round clash against FK Rabotnicki without any of their England internationals as Roy Hodgson puts his faith in the Reds' starlets.

The likes of Steven Gerrard, Jamie Carragher, Glen Johnson and Joe Cole have remained at Melwood as they continue to ease their way back into the groove following the World Cup.

Instead, youngsters such as Jonjo Shelvey, Nathan Eccleston, Martin Hansen, Peter Gulacsi, David Amoo, Lauri Dalla Valle and Tom Ince have been included in the 20-man travelling party.

However, Martin Skrtel, Daniel Agger and Sotirios Kyrgiakos were amongst the squad that departed from John Lennon airport this morning - as were new boys Milan Jovanovic and Danny Wilson - as the Reds prepare to kick off the 2010-11 season.

Liverpool squad: Cavalieri, Aquilani, Agger, Jovanovic, Kyrgiakos, Lucas, Wilson, Ngog, Spearing, Darby, Shelvey, Kelly, Skrtel, Eccleston, Ayala, Hansen, Gulacsi, Amoo, Dalla Valle, Ince.

http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/latest-news/who-has-flown-to-macedonia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

FC Rabotnicki has to be on the greatest club names ever. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Don't be ridiculous. Anorthosis Famagusta FTW!

Match is live on Setanta Ireland, btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,142 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

liverpool-fc-crest.jpgV 150070-168043-dr-robotnik_large.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Just found out that this is on Setanta Ireland for anyone who has it. :)

Look up a few posts ;)

An ITK on another site who has been fairly reliable in the past says the team below is the lineup

Cavalieri
    --Kelly--Kyrgiakos--Skrtel--Agger---
    Spearing---Lucas
    --Amoo----Aquilani
    Jovanovic--
    Dave

DaPoolRulz wrote: »
    Look up a few posts ;)

Gah - got distracted by Rebel's pics.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭hitman79

Looking at the expected team im glad i threw a tenner on Rabotnicki at 10/1. The pool will hammer them at home tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

If thats the starting 11 I'd be concerned about lack of match fitness rather than a talent deficit.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭JimsAlterEgo

hitman79 wrote: »
    Looking at the expected team im glad i threw a tenner on Rabotnicki at 10/1. The pool will hammer them at home tho.

wouldn't be suprised, if nothing else it gives them a boost.
    Whens 2nd leg? next week or 2 weeks?

Next Thursday

It's hard to judge whether the squad Liverpool are sending out will be strong enough or not since we know SFA about the opposition, but since they had to start in the First Qualifying Round I'd say they're roughly on the same level as third place in the LOI

I think Rabotnicki could easily get a draw out of this match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,328 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Does anyone know if this game on any British tv Channel?

Im in England at the moment and don't have Setanta Ireland obviously.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Its on pay-per view on british tv

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

hitman79 wrote: »

think il put a tenner on it meself considering the weakend liverpool side.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Really hope we get the win tonight it will be a great boost for all involved; the young lads, Roy and the fans. I reckon we can do it, it all depends on how the other team shape up though. We'll have a fair amount of experience in our line up, Soto, Agger, Scary, Lucas, Aqua, Jova and even NGog to an extent so i'm looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭mormank

Does anybody know if there will be live streams for this to be found online?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I suspect if you point your mouse at the sticky on the top of the front page you shall find a link or three soon if not already. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭mormank

mike65 wrote: »
    I suspect if you point your mouse at the sticky on the top of the front page you shall find a link or three soon if not already. :)

Sweet! Thanks. And kick off is in just over an hour right?? May seem a silly question but I'm in oz and think their is a time change or something due and just wanna double check on the lick off time...

Just over an hour, yeah. An hour and 9 minutes after I post this :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭stumpypeeps

Liverpool: Cavalieri, Agger, Kyrgiakos, Skrtel, Kelly, Jovanovic, Lucas, Spearing, Amoo, Aquilani, Ngog. Subs: Gulacsi, Darby, Shelvey, Dalla Valle, Eccleston, Ayala, Ince

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Exactly as expected. Debut for amoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Captain Fantastic

lucasleivaPA_450x300.jpg

Is Lucas captain? It should be Agger imo, but id be delighted for either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭cantgetright

Game not on setanta Ireland:eek:

Yes it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Yes it is.

it aint advertised:confused:

major bill wrote: »

Its on the sky guide. I have a reminder beside it.

If your Chorus they're pretty useless at updating their tv guide.

major bill wrote: »

Ye Utds repeat of last night game is advertised

The guy on the sports show just said stay tuned for liverpool vs. rabotnicki so I'm pretty sure we're sorted.

Not that its going to be a classic but still nice to be able to watch them, feck ntl for having me sweat..

Strange, I'm on Chorus NTL and it was on their guide since last night for me :confused:

Ah well, the match is on, that's all that matters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭TechnoPool

is it being shown anywhere lads?

Seriously?

It's on Setanta Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭TechnoPool

Seriously?

It's on Setanta Ireland

cheers pal! didnt have a chance to look it up :o

Poor Kyrgi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭_Bella_

Crowd is really annoying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Why are they booing him?

Macedonians don't like Greeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

The booing of Soto is embarrassing, these have to be the worst football fans ever. You would think the stadiums empty apart from their boos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

The booing of Soto is embarrassing, these have to be the worst football fans ever. You would think the stadiums empty apart from their boos.

Sounds to me like they're havin' great craic!!, 2 or 3 vuvuzelas an' all!!!

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Macedonians don't like Greeks

They invented gayness...

bright start. Amoo has been bright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭101001

anyone jumping in late and wondering what the lineup was... as i was

Cavalieri, Kelly, Kyrgiakos, Skrtel, Agger, Spearing, Aquilani, Lucas, Jovanovic, Ngog, Amoo

Nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭_Bella_

1-0 liverpool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

Get in Dave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,282 ✭✭✭Glico Man

Lovely finish, terrible defending

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

ha ha ha weak

• Registered Users Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

shocking by Rabo... Still we'll take it