Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin versus Tyrone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Fair play to the Dubs. The team has certainly come along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

toiletduck wrote: »
    Fair play to the Dubs. The team has certainly come along.

Thats the word ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,748 ✭✭✭✭maccored

well done dublin - they deserved to win that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

Congrats to Dublin - delighted for them and for Gilroy. I am fond of criticising some of their sunshine "supporters" but for the great genuine GAA people in Dublin who support them through thick and thin, they deserve this. Great performance.

An all Ireland final without Kerry or Tyrone - who would believe it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Was an exciting game, but the quality of the kicking left a lot to be desired..

Was always going to be. Well, Q/F's especially as Ulster Champions is the time to play Tyrone.

The quality wasn't great, Down would be by far the most impressive today.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

LOVELY!!! Fecking delighted really best i have seen a Dublin team play in years even more so cause was up with one the big teams.

The young lads have added so much to the team Bernard Brogan again was class and even though didnt like him when went school him lol O Gara having quite the debut season :-) St Josephs in Terenure be loving how well hes doing.

Kerry Tyrone beaten and im off to get pissed what a day :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

Well done to the Dubs and also a big well done to Pat Gilroy who turned things around for this team when it seemed all was lost for them. Overall a great day for the GAA and now I'm going to crack open a few cans of beer and celebrate the rebirth of the Football Championship!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭Raedwald

Feeekin brilliant result! Teams workrate out there was unreal for the whole game, the lads ran their legs off and gave it all. Stark contrast to last year were the lads gave up after twenty mins.

Bring on the semis this team will fear no one now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

who do Dublin play next?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

SantryRed wrote: »
    who do Dublin play next?

Winner of Cork vs Roscommon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

who do Dublin play next?

Cork/Roscommon.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Hackysack

who do Dublin play next?

The winner of Cork Vs Roscommon. Probably Cork.

I'm delighted with the win today to be honest. I had Dublin well written off. I thought the game was very enjoyable and very exciting.

I'm really against O'Gara as player personally. I'm aware he scored the goal, yes, but he was in the right place at the right time. Apart from that he had lost every ball he touched and contributed reasonably little to the game (yeah this is probably gonna get me a good bit of stick).

But yeah, i'm actually hopeful. Overall the team played very well, and i'm thrilled with the win.

Go on the Dubs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Irish-trucker

Great Performance by the Dubs.

Anyone know where you can see highlights on the net?
    My uncle is Canada is looking to see them .

Cheers,
    John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

I agree with you about O'Gara's general play but he is brave and strong and a natural striker. Being in "the right place at the right time" is a very important skill in a forward and not to be dismissed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Cheers,
    John

When the Sunday Game is shown they will have it up on the RTE player at some stage afterwards. Unless someone does their own editing and throws a video up on youtube there would be no other way of getting highlights. He could watch RTE news if they show that on the player?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Cheers,
    John
    deisedevil wrote: »
    When the Sunday Game is shown they will have it up on the RTE player at some stage afterwards. Unless someone does their own editing and throws a video up on youtube there would be no other way of getting highlights. He could watch RTE news if they show that on the player?

For people outside of Ireland the Sunday Game will be available to watch on the RTE website from Wednesday night. It should be available from then until the following weekend. Will be available here http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/mediaplayer.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

great game to watch, fair play to the dubs, the brogans did very well. the kerry/tyrone strangle is finally broken!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

Congrats to Dublin, fully worth the win. You could pick holes in their performances in the Tipp and Armagh games and maybe even the Louth game but today they were awesome, excellent defence and always dangerous going forward.
    A tip of the hat to Dublin and their loyal supporters from a Meath man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭danjo-xx

Well done lads I kinda felt that loosing Leinster this year would actually not be a bad thing....but wow I wasn't expecting this! I was hoping they would get a goal but not too early on and boy did it come at exactly the right time.

Never heard such great praise from Joe Brolly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Fair play to the Dubs. Hard fought and well deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Super5onic

What a game...unreal intensity for 70 mins...I am normally Dublin's biggest critc but hats off to them today...played for 70 mins as a team! Wide open now. I just hope now that the inevitable over confidence doesnt start creeping into these posts which will just encourage me to support Cork or Ross :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

Super5onic wrote: »
    What a game...unreal intensity for 70 mins...I am normally Dublin's biggest critc but hats off to them today...played for 70 mins as a team! Wide open now. I just hope now that the inevitable over confidence doesnt start creeping into these posts which will just encourage me to support Cork or Ross :)

In fairness it's never the genuine supporters who start talking up Dublin, it's usually just the media trying to sell papers. Most Dublin supporters are decent Gaa folk, same as any other county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Super5onic

In fairness it's never the genuine supporters who start talking up Dublin, it's usually just the media trying to sell papers. Most Dublin supporters are decent Gaa folk, same as any other county.

Couldnt agree more Royal. What you say about the majority is bang on....But lets just wait and see....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭paulcorr

O gara has to be one of the worst players i have ever seen in a dublin shirt yet he scored 2 goals last week and 1 this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

The game proved one thing, theres just no substitute for honest endeavour. Dublin have had more skilful sides in recent times but none that battled through adversity with any courage. As a Dub this pleased me most.

The positives for the Dubs are obvious i suppose. High work rate, defenders looking reasonably decent now, BB and finally getting a monkey off the back by beating a 'big 2' team. Negatives. Still stupidly giving the ball away an awful lot and from my vantage point in the upper cusack the difference in movement, off the ball, between the Down forwards and the Dublin forwards is startling. Need to give the player in possession more options.

For Tyrone. I don't agree with Mickey Harte when he says they worked as hard in that game than at any stage in the past. They didn't. They seem to lack the bite of old. Sean Cavanagh came off worse against his man which is a rarity. I know they had wides but for me they were shooting from just inside the 40 throughout the first half, with defenders most of the time. Creating scorable chances was their forte. Half of the scores were from frees.

Super5onic wrote: »
    Couldnt agree more Royal. What you say about the majority is bang on....But lets just wait and see....;)

Dublin for Sam!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭flanzer

paulcorr wrote: »
    O gara has to be one of the worst players i have ever seen in a dublin shirt yet he scored 2 goals last week and 1 this week.

O'Gara is useless at knocking them over for the points but lethal at finding the net... As long as he keeps finding the onion bag, keep him in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

flanzer wrote: »
    O'Gara is useless at knocking them over for the points but lethal at finding the net... As long as he keeps finding the onion bag, keep him in

He was lazy, and useless all match, I was behind the goal in the Davin which he was shooting at in the first half and he made little or no runs, and contributed a sum of fcuk all. The goal was timely and ultimately turned the tide of the game, but he's hardly worth his place on the evidence of that 70 minutes.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Just back, what a day, delighted. MacCauley was man of the match for me, won ball after ball and in spite of a few poor passes just kept going and going. Obviously Bernard was back in form but really it was a solid team performance with everyone working really hard to stay in it. Especially after Tyrone came back and went ahead toward end of seconf half. Would have been easy to let the heads go down at that stage.

Plenty of bad points too and some frustrating passes and decsions made on the ball but the intensity of the day can be blamed for that possibly as Tyrone suffered worse from it than we did. Very little between the teams on the day except for the ball off the bar and away for them and off the post and back to O'Gara for the goal for us. Still plenty to work on for Dublin and doubt anyone will get too carried away except the media. Every one of which got the results of both games well wrong today..

O'Gara is frustrating alright, but he got another goal and fought hard all day. A lot of his best work is off the ball that doesn't show up on tv imo. He is kicked, pushed and shoved around but just stands his ground and takes the balls in. His touch and basic skills need work but when he turns inside defenders just try to pull him down and can't.

The bench did their part again also, Fennell his usual solid performance of strength on the ball when coming on. If anything Dublins bench may have been the key. I'll have to watch it again to really see as it was all a bit hyper and went by quite quickly with the nerves on the day.

(Short note on Down, they were impressive and should have had a much bigger win over Kerry who were totally outplayed. fair play to them)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

One of the sweetest Dublin wins for a long long time. They are motoring along lovely and would love to meet Cork next. No fear! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

bohsboy wrote: »
    One of the sweetest Dublin wins for a long long time. They are motoring along lovely and would love to meet Cork next. No fear! :D

i bet you would prefer roscommon!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Well done, Áth Cliath. Very well done. Great to see the Tir Eoghains and Ciarraís brought down to earth. It will be pretty much a waste if you don't go on and win the All-Ireland after this. Work on your scoring. It's far too often utter shíte.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

aDeener wrote: »
    i bet you would prefer roscommon!!

nah, cork and being underdogs will do thank you very much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭juma

who do Dublin play next?

Cork according to Des Cahill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Cant believe it, was not expecting that result. The best I was hoping for was to run them close. O Carroll was brillant today at the back, MacAuley has grown into his role in Midfield. I think the change in this team happened the day they beat Armagh, you could feel the change that day in the players and in the supporters. Role on the semi finals wont be afraid of anyone now. Maybe we might get a crack at Meath in the Final if we both get there. Fantastic day especially after the disappointments of the last 3 years. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

Well done Dublin, delighted for ye. And a nice 20e double with down made the win very sweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

well done to dublin its really been blown wide open today i think we can safely say leinster footballs back on the map

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Ah O'Gara . . What a quandry . .

On one hand he looks awkward, clumsy and not really good at taking points . .

On another he seems to allow the rest of the forward line space, unnerves defences and takes the pressure off the Dubs forward line . . He also upsets defences (despite his awkward appearances/comfort on the ball).

As far as I am concerned O'Gara is a completely unorthodox forward who we might not be able to put our finger on their qualities, but whom, for some reason is the differance between dublin having an impotent forward line, to one that plays with confidence and the eyes of the media on it.

As far as I am concerned O'Gara is far from the perfect forward or the finished article (and may never be) but he is more deserving of his place then most Dublin forwards and has contributed immenslely to Dublins progress. . Hard work, team play and ability to be in the right place at the right time are so underrated . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭danjo-xx

Dionysus wrote: »
    Well done, Áth Cliath. Very well done. Great to see the Tir Eoghains and Ciarraís brought down to earth. It will be pretty much a waste if you don't go on and win the All-Ireland after this. Work on your scoring. It's far too often utter shíte.

I disagree completely with that......things auger well for the future and anything else we get this year is a bonus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

Really is hard to have any love for Dublin fans... I mean every match is a home game (dont give me that Parnell park crap), games organised to sort fans .. double headers and the like, fans booing through out the match from their own unofficially designated stand Hill 16, and now they are have whistles to put off the opposition...

If it means that much to the GAA to allow Dublin gain such unfair advantage why dont they just GIVE them the fkn All Ireland..

Really good post. Fact Parnell Park is Dublins home ground, fact GAA need Dublin to fill Croke Park to pay for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭paulocon

Suprised more hasn't been made about the whistles. Really impressed with the reception the hill gave the Louth team last week but it's idiots like this that give Dublin fans a bad name..

Apart from that, well played Dublin. Tyrone kicked themselves out of it but Dublin took their scores when they needed to. Looks like John O' Brien is the only man that can contain Bernard Brogan - that point in the second half that he kicked on the turn was simply sensational.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭M007

good win for the dubs. But some crazy subs decisions too. Doubt the forward subs will be impressed with the lack of confidence in them by re introducing brogan- mad taking off cahill and henry at half time- especially after the great block by cahill after tyrone hit the cross bar - gave dublin a big lift to survive that scare and only be down one at half time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

corny wrote: »
    The game proved one thing, theres just no substitute for honest endeavour. Dublin have had more skilful sides in recent times but none that battled through adversity with any courage. As a Dub this pleased me most.

The positives for the Dubs are obvious i suppose. High work rate, defenders looking reasonably decent now, BB and finally getting a monkey off the back by beating a 'big 2' team. Negatives. Still stupidly giving the ball away an awful lot and from my vantage point in the upper cusack the difference in movement, off the ball, between the Down forwards and the Dublin forwards is startling. Need to give the player in possession more options.

For Tyrone. I don't agree with Mickey Harte when he says they worked as hard in that game than at any stage in the past. They didn't. They seem to lack the bite of old. Sean Cavanagh came off worse against his man which is a rarity. I know they had wides but for me they were shooting from just inside the 40 throughout the first half, with defenders most of the time. Creating scorable chances was their forte. Half of the scores were from frees.

Good points here. I thought Dublin fully derserved their victory. I turned to the lad with me in Croker and said Tyron'e legs were gone at the 55 minute mark and so it proved, Dublin looked to me the fitter, hungrier team at the finish. they are in unreal physical condition adn won the physical battle with Tyrone today. Right from the very first whistle they stood up to them and showed they wouldn't be pushed around - they were hugely up for it, as they should have been with revenge for the 2008 hammering fresh in their minds.

I'm delighted for Gilroy. He made absolutely the right decision at the start of the year, dispensing with some of the old guard and putting his faith in the younger fellas. Even after the Wexford and Meath debacles it was still the right decisoion and if they'd been beaten by Armagh a few weeks ago he'd still have done the right thing. So happy he's putting his critics in their places. I wonder how those two women who were on telly a few weeks ago with "Gilroy out" flags feel tonight?:pac:

Now to the downside. As the poster I quoted said there is still a lot lacking in their play. So many times their forwards failed to back each other up when surrounded by 2-3 defenders. They need to learn to function as a 6 man unit rather than individuals. tis is hopefully something they will learn in time, but for the moment they're not quite the full package but all on the right road. probably not quite good enough for an All Ireland yet, butthis is a team that's being built for 2012 and beyond not 2010.

On a side note I went to Croker as a neutral today but was 100% percent behind the Dubs from the first whistle mainly due to the ignorant pig behind me from Tyrone who nearly deafend me with his stupid comments all afternoon. He spent the entire Kerry game screaming at Donaghy that he was a donkey and then did the same to O' Gara for the entire Dublin match. Needless to say I was fair happy at who popped up with the goal at the end.:pac: Of course he's not indicative of all Tyrone supporters who were mainly very magnanimous in defeat. Just why oh why do the bad apples always end up sitting behind me?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,013 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

flahavaj wrote: »

On a side note I went to Croker as a neutral today but was 100% percent behind the Dubs from the first whistle mainly due to the ignorant pig behind me from Tyrone who nearly deafend me with his stupid comments all afternoon. He spent the entire Kerry game screaming at Donaghy that he was a donkey and then did the same to O' Gara for the entire Dublin match. Needless to say I was fair happy at who popped up with the goal at the end.:pac: Of course he's not indicative of all Tyrone supporters who were mainly very magnanimous in defeat. Just why oh why do the bad apples always end up sitting behind me?

I'm sure that was the same ignorant pig that I had the misfortune to be sitting near for last years semi - I too had the last laugh, I love it when that happens!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

It was one of those days that make sport special. Two unexpected but welcome results. It reminded me of the 2004 quarter final day when Fermanagh beat Armagh and Mayo beat Tyrone. That was a great day in Croke Park, and we've just witnessed another one. Cork will be favourites against Roscommon and for the All-Ireland. After the results we've just seen they'll be a bit more wary and Roscommon will get a boost. The championship has suddenly been blown wide open. Nothing can be taken for granted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Dublinproud

Biggest day for Dublin since 1995.Extremely proud of the effort and performance.

Not the managements biggest fan but if this continues i may have to sell out.Onwards and upwards!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Flukey wrote: »
    It was one of those days that make sport special. Two unexpected but welcome results. It reminded me of the 2004 quarter final day when Fermanagh beat Armagh and Mayo beat Tyrone. That was a great day in Croke Park, and we've just witnessed another one. Cork will be favourites against Roscommon and for the All-Ireland. After the results we've just seen they'll be a bit more wary and Roscommon will get a boost. The championship has suddenly been blown wide open. Nothing can be taken for granted.

Yep, as a neutral in Croker it ended up being a day that'll llive long in the memory. After a good few years of predictable results and winners in the football championship, this Summer and today in particular was a breath of fresh air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

Have to say stephen cluxton showed again today, what Dublin fans have known for years. He is the best keeper in Ireland.

flahavaj wrote: »

Its par for the course at Croker these days, for every county in fairness. A Dublin 'supporter' beside me at one stage called the Tyrone lads orange bast****. All for the perfectly understandable reason of the referee giving a free against Dublin. Mortified listening to him.

ANXIOUS wrote: »
    Have to say stephen cluxton showed again today, what Dublin fans have known for years. He is the best keeper in Ireland.

Excellent keeper but thats debatable. Very safe when the ball threatened the square and it seems he actually got a touch to Penrose's effort in the first half. Some of his kick outs went straight to Tyrone players though.