Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Finally!!

• 29-07-2010 5:20pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭

News Break *** Stop Press**

I am currently on the M50 just outside Dublin on the way back from Bangor WITH BRUCE IN THE VAN!!!!!

:D:D:D:):):)

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭DBCyc

That's great news - fair play EGAR! I'm so happy for poor Bruce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Brilliant news! Go Bruce!! And go EGAR! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭CreedonsDogDayc

oh my god is that bruce from save bruce on youtube???????????????????????????????

ive been off the net for ages so havent been up to date if it is.

If it is bruce i would love to give him a home, but i assume you have a list as long as your arm for people who want to take him

• Registered Users Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

:D:D:D:D Well done!

• Registered Users Posts: 402 ✭✭Jelly2

I only caught this horrible tale turned good recently, but am so glad you have the best of news for us this evening! How does Bruce seem please?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭toadfly

Ah Sarah thats amazing I'm so happy for you and Bruce. Well done xx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

Well done EGAR, thats great news:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

Too knackered to copy in the pics so I hope it's ok to put in the link:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/East-Galway-Animal-Rescue/169411475888?v=wall&story_fbid=146271572056443#!/album.php?aid=192623&id=169411475888&ref=mf

800km and he was a model passenger :).

• Registered Users Posts: 530 ✭✭✭joyce2009

YIPPPIEEE,,, oh that is such great news,,,well done and thank you so much for all you've done for him:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭adser53

Fantastic news EGAR!!! Well done. Hopefully poor Bruce gets back on track soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭lisar201

thats fantastic news!!! I hope he can recover from the whole ordeal he has had to go through,You deserve a medal for all your hard and devoted work

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭CreedonsDogDayc

its like a never ending cycle though http://www.savelennox.co.uk/ is another dog that now needs saving.

The fact that you worked so tirelessly and finally got to save Bruce will go a lot in Lennoxs favour though!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭lorebringer

Well done! He's a fab looking chappy :D

what is this all about? I take it there is an other post on this . Can anybody send the link ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

He is gorgeous, those pics are fab. His markings are lovely.
    You must be delighted, well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭lisar201

what is this all about? I take it there is an other post on this . Can anybody send the link ?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055956725&highlight=victory%21%21 this is what it is about

The innocent citiziens of NI can sleep soundly now that the North has exported its most lethal weapon ;).

38307_429072295888_169411475888_4814085_7025226_n.jpg
    Thats what he thinks of BSL!

39727_429073640888_169411475888_4814096_966822_n.jpg
    HINT of a smile!

37521_429073900888_169411475888_4814097_7229336_n.jpg
    No more a Pit Bull than I am Irish!

37564_429073235888_169411475888_4814088_7834503_n.jpg
    Handsome!

Collecting him was surreal. SIX big strapping Enforcement Officers were milling about my van and no one was going to handle Bruce who was doped up on ACP :(. I opened their van door and said hello to the poor mite and attached the lead to his collar and he came out very unsteady. ALL six jumped back and one hid behind my van with a catchpole. I told him there was no need for this contraption and led Bruce across the yard to my van. He clambered into my van and collapsed in the crate. They took pics the whole time in case he attacks me...

I had to MUZZLE him, lock the crate and then lock the van! We even got an Enforcement escort out of Belfast and I had to sign that we wont stop on NI (amongst other things).

This is ludicrous. It felt like I was transporting Hanibal Lecter (sp?).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Michael B

Jesus that's extreme. Ridiculous. Best of luck to Bruce.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭lrushe

My heart breaks for what this poor dog was put through, when are people gonna open their eyes and see how ridiculous they are being when it comes to these innocent dogs.
    I applaud Bruces' fighting spirit and I applaud your dedication to these misunderstood, incredible dogs, well done!

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭DBCyc

He's a cracking looking dog alright EGAR. That is a feckin crazy story alright. What kind of an idiot do you have to be to think a dog like that could harm you?!

You must have been their hero! Those officers are going to tell stories to their grandchildren about the hardest person they have ever met who took a doped up "pit bull type" dog with their bare hands. They will be telling those jokes and replacing Chuck Norris with EGAR :D

I had to laugh though, here was I, middle aged frumpy :D woman two hands higher than a duck and all six guys were built like bouncers and over 6 foot. They were collectively holding their breath when I opened the van and the guy next to me nearly died when I stuck my hand into the van. My volunteer (he's a board member here but he can out himself :D) was the only one who didnt jump back when Bruce came out of the van.

Still doped to his eyeballs on arrival here, he was kind and seemed relieved to be out and on grass. He is very affectionate:

35943_428785050888_169411475888_4807243_3270581_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Never heard about bruce until this evening. Read the previous post and checked out the videos on youtube and i cried my eyes out. Poor bruce. But so glad he was saved. EGAR, you're a saint.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

EGAR, he's a far cry from the pictures of the worst of his incarceration. He looks to be a good weight and his nose has healed (I had the horrors, thinking you'd end up collecting this horribly underweight dog with weeping ulcers). They must have picked their socks up somewhat in terms of his care - which begs the question of who was looking after him well enough to bring him back from that previous state if they're all so ridiculously terrified of him?

Am glad the whole thing is at an end for him and he's with you.

• Registered Users Posts: 152 ✭✭Eibhin

Well done EGAR. That's such a good outcome. Enjoy every second with him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Am in tears here... Cannot believe so many big men would be terrified of a dog... honestly what kind of lies are NI spreading about breeds like this? What terrible uneducation of dogs!

He looks a little dote. If I was in a position to I'd have a breed like that in a second but I don't have enough room :(

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭Tootle

Well done. I've just caught up on the whole story now and I can't stop sobbing. What a beautiful dog. I'm delighted with the "Disney" ending.

Obviously he had been moved from the first place. Close up you can see the scar across the muzzle and of course the amputated tail.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭GalwayKiefer

I was amazed to see how the Enforcement Officers reacted to him when he hopped out of one of their vans and into egar's van. The whole thing was ridiculous, I joked to Sarah when I saw all the vans and the heavies, as we drove into the compound, that I needed reminding were we picking up a dog or buying ex-Soviet rocket launchers from the Russian Mafia...
    It is vitally important that people realise that regardless of what he looks like, he was identified as a pitbull in all the legal paperwork. In the eyes of the NI government he is a pitbull and his release into the Republic sets a legal presedent that will hopefully help the many other dogs suffering at the hands of man under the ridiculous Dangerous Dogs Act.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

EGAR wrote: »
    Obviously he had been moved from the first place. Close up you can see the scar across the muzzle and of course the amputated tail.

Fair enough. It's good to know the lobbying did something to improve the conditions he was kept in before he was released. I just say this because hopefully it means you can get on with nurturing his spirit and finding him a home, without a long haul of physical rehabilitation first.