Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Legislation From the Irish Government Will Allow Foreign Police On Irish Streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

owenc wrote: »
    The RUC are native people to northern ireland.. my dad was in it hes native.. what do you mean?

Because the RUC were primarily a Unionist police force and the nationalist community were treated as second class citizens for many many years. And that is a well acknowledged fact. You also say: 'i wouldn't like foreign police controlling my streets' when basically that is what happened in Northern ireland, well as far as the nationalists were concerned anyway.

TBH how you can know so little about your own history is mind boggling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Is this the start of them trying to join up all the european contries which have no similarites to here at all?:rolleyes:

you don't fuking live "here", you live in a foreign country, so it's none of your concern.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

genericguy wrote: »
    you don't fuking live "here", you live in a foreign country, so it's none of your concern.

"The past is a foreign country: they do things differently there"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

mikom wrote: »
    "The past is a foreign country: they do things differently there"

Who said this? Great quote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Oh.. did they not reject it because some poll said 70% of the county didn't want it or something. EDIT: we did, but who cares i couldn't care less i don't want to have anything to do with any european country trying to take all our money and has nothing in similarity to us so they can just get lost!
    We have quite a lot in common with other European countries. There's nothing wrong with setting standards and getting us all working off the same hymn sheet, how we do business has little effect on culture, I don't see the Spanish or Irish or English changing all that much, all that's happening is it's easier for us to travel and do business with each other. The union between European counties has been great for us all. We could do with being more like other European countries and many of them can benefit from our input too.

European police forces are more than likely fairly committed to preventing criminals from fleeing one country to hide out in another and I don't see anything wrong with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/L._P._Hartley

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

So lets imagine in the morning the Irish people actually grew a backbone and we had an armed insurrection against our own government.

The Government desperately clinging onto power has used the Gardai against the people but have now asked for help from Germany and the UK "to help restore calm, law and order"?

For the Irish government right now to sign this law into force is firstly usurping our defined policy of neutrality and secondly betraying the Irish people by essentially entering into a Military alliance with foreign countries and making us more likely to get drawn into conflict.

It shows the disgrace that this government is and how they have lost all authority in the eyes of freedom & democracy loving citizens. They are an illegal government with about the same claim and authority to dictate to the Irish people as Queen Elizabeth II has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Because the RUC were primarily a Unionist police force and the nationalist community were treated as second class citizens for many many years. And that is a well acknowledged fact. You also say: 'i wouldn't like foreign police controlling my streets' when basically that is what happened in Northern ireland, well as far as the nationalists were concerned anyway.

TBH how you can know so little about your own history is mind boggling

Being in the RUC, it would have been dangerous to have much, or anything, to do with the nationalist community on a social level, so it would have been easy to get just a one-sided view of the situation for them and their families.

People up there have still got a long way to go in finding out about each other.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,524 ✭✭✭owenc

Its happening in the countries were this treaty is in effect.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

why, what could our measly Garda "force" do that the British or French army couldn't simply step in and do instead.

I'm not sure I get the point of this legislation, apart maybe from info sharing, but that's what Europol is for

Leaving the door wide open is the worrying part of this legislation, yes its great that Gardai can assist foreign counterparts with intelligence.

What if the state decides to call in a foreign police force to assist them in the next major public demonstration ? (And there will be many of them)

It would take less than three hours to round up an anti riot squad from abroad and have them deployed on the streets of Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭eightyfish

Stinicker wrote: »
    The Government desperately clinging onto power has used the Gardai against the people but have now asked for help from Germany and the UK "to help restore calm, law and order"?

Conspiracy Theories is that way---->
    Creative Writing is that way also---->

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Being in the RUC, it would have been dangerous to have much, or anything, to do with the nationalist community on a social level, so it would have been easy to get just a one-sided view of the situation for them and their families.

People up there have still got a long way to go in finding out about each other.

I think the police officers i have at least a slight idea what nationalists are like , after all they had to face the ira etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

So lets imagine in the morning the Irish people actually grew a backbone and we had an armed insurrection against our own government.
    Luckily this is a democratic country and that won't happen, the people get the government they deserve. We don't get involved in local government so really haven't a leg to stand on when it comes to who's to blame for our travesty of a government.

Just stop voting for FF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

I think the police officers i have at least a slight idea what nationalists are like , after all they had to face the ira etc etc.

So, all nationalists are the IRA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

:) I hope this is not a case of 'Like [RUC] father, like son".

Fuhrer wrote: »
    So, all nationalists are the IRA?

*sigh* again.:rolleyes: Everytime i post on here yous all attack me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

So if "yous" all attack, well, you, what are the chances that the problem could be the sort of things you write in your posts?

you just changed your post there from "fine republicans".
    if you stopped spouting narrow-minded sectarian bollox through atrocious grammar and spelling so that we at least didn't think you were a barely-literate shít stirring teenage troll, you'd probably get on ok.

Dionysus wrote: »
    So if "yous" all attack, well, you, what are the chances that the problem could be the sort of things you write in your posts?

Do yous ever stop and think that i might be getting offended with some of the critical things you lot of have said, in fact sometimes i think yous are rather daft with the things yous come out with.

no, because you're a troll and it's obviously what you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,171 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Nobody forces you to post here though, if you're offended you know where the door is:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Owen, if you have a serious interest in politics, do yourself a favour and read some of the history of the north from a nationalist perspective. You may not agree with it but that doesn't mean you can't further your understanding of their position.

no, because you're a troll and it's obviously what you want.

OH MY GOD!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Thanks again to all those that voted Yes in this farcical referendum.

You're welcome.

Nah just kidding. I voted "no" .... twice in fact. Democracy is very confusing! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,565 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

It would take less than three hours to round up an anti riot squad from abroad and have them deployed on the streets of Dublin.

less than half that to get the army on scene...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭shampon

Wont somebody please take the time to consider the Native American Indian.

less than half that to get the army on scene...
    From the UK yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

We already let bleedin fordiners into the gardai so why not go the whole hog?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭JayEnnis

I wouldn't mind some spanish police to kick the **** out of the scummers/junkies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    Personally I have a major problem with this legislation - say in the event of the "terrorists" attacking Britain again our guards could be expected to go to England to put their lives at risk to defend the English people...

Now if I was to join the guards I'd be joining up knowing that there's the possibility of injury/possibly death but it'd be for the Irish people... I wouldn't be worrying about international terrorists targeting Ireland because I feel Irish foreign policy on attacking middle east states is sound enough to prevent Ireland ever becoming a target...

If any of our guards are ever injured because they have to serve on foreign soil it's a disgrace - They didn't sign up to fight someone else's war - they signed up to enforce the law in this country... not another country who's laws and policies make it a prime target to be attacked...

It's only in cases where the other country desperately needs more help in major situations where their own police force can't cope.
    It's only if the government agrees to send them over.
    It's only members of the Emergency Response Unit.
    They still have the choice to say no.
    Stinicker wrote:

For the Irish government right now to sign this law into force is firstly usurping our defined policy of neutrality and secondly betraying the Irish people by essentially entering into a Military alliance with foreign countries and making us more likely to get drawn into conflict.

It shows the disgrace that this government is and how they have lost all authority in the eyes of freedom & democracy loving citizens. They are an illegal government with about the same claim and authority to dictate to the Irish people as Queen Elizabeth II has.

Firstly, modern Ireland will never have an armed revolt.

Secondly, it's not like the rest of the world sends their armies in to kill everyone who looks at them funny. They'd be sent in to diffuse situations.

Thirdly, an armed uprising is an act of treason, which is against the law. The government would be right to try and stop a crime being commited. We have elections to enact change.
    Leaving the door wide open is the worrying part of this legislation, yes its great that Gardai can assist foreign counterparts with intelligence.

What if the state decides to call in a foreign police force to assist them in the next major public demonstration ? (And there will be many of them)

They can't use the legislation to call in European police forces for demonstrations. And why would they need to? They have lots of gardaí and many of them are armed.

And stop with the "leaving the door wide open" lark. It was nonsense during the Lisbon campaign and it's nonsense now.

Bambi wrote: »
    We already let bleedin fordiners into the gardai so why not go the whole hog?
    Pun intended. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

mikom wrote: »

I always thought it was Bill Bryson :o.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

humanji wrote: »
    It's only in cases where the other country desperately needs more help in major situations where their own police force can't cope.

...or in Ireland's case, where the Guards are too busy earning money on traffic offences to get involved in dodging bricks and bottles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

OH MY GOD!:mad:

Owen I always wonder why you're a poster on an internet forum based in Ireland/the 26 counties/the south/whatever you want to call it.You seem to get your back up constantly in every thread by bringing up the Northern Irish situation yourself and then getting annoyed when peopel disagree with you.

Is there no British version of boards.ie that you would be more at home at if you're fed up of all the supposed bullying you have to suffer on this ?

It's only if the government agrees to send them over.
    It's only members of the Emergency Response Unit.
    They still have the choice to say no.

Firstly, modern Ireland will never have an armed revolt.

Secondly, it's not like the rest of the world sends their armies in to kill everyone who looks at them funny. They'd be sent in to diffuse situations.

Thirdly, an armed uprising is an act of treason, which is against the law. The government would be right to try and stop a crime being commited. We have elections to enact change.

They can't use the legislation to call in European police forces for demonstrations. And why would they need to? They have lots of gardaí and many of them are armed.

And stop with the "leaving the door wide open" lark. It was nonsense during the Lisbon campaign and it's nonsense now.

So our forefathers should have stayed in bed on the Morning of Easter 1916, and the whole war of independence was only for the craic then? Treason is only subjective through the eyes of the oppresssor and what this government has done to the public in this country is far more traitorous that anything the people themselves would do.

Our Government are undemocratic and are Traitors to this country, if there was to be an armed revolt then the people of this country would be very right to defend the nation and if the Government were to try and use the Gardai or Army to defend themselves then they would be legitimate targets in a civil war.

The only Traitors in Ireland right now are the FF and Green TDs and each and every single one deserves a bullet through the back of the head for have they have done to our little island and its people. If we were British administered their would outcry and we would have started killing the forces of British occupation long ago, RIC to Public servents would all be fair game; however when it is FF scumbags in charge the people stand idly by and watch the utter destruction of Ireland, her people and way of life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,171 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

The only Traitors in Ireland right now are the FF and Green TDs and each and every single one deserves a bullet through the back of the head for have they have done to our little island and its people. If we were British administered their would outcry and we would have started killing the forces of British occupation long ago, RIC to Public servents would all be fair game; however when it is FF scumbags in charge the people stand idly by and watch the utter destruction of Ireland, her people and way of life.

Indeed..infact YOU should be at the spearhead of such an assault, you get a gun and run into the Dail first...we'll.....follow....

So our forefathers should have stayed in bed on the Morning of Easter 1916, and the whole war of independence was only for the craic then? Treason is only subjective through the eyes of the oppresssor and what this government has done to the public in this country is far more traitorous that anything the people themselves would do.

Our Government are undemocratic and are Traitors to this country, if there was to be an armed revolt then the people of this country would be very right to defend the nation and if the Government were to try and use the Gardai or Army to defend themselves then they would be legitimate targets in a civil war.

Our forefathers died to give you democracy and you want to get rid of it?

Owen I always wonder why you're a poster on an internet forum based in Ireland/the 26 counties/the south/whatever you want to call it.You seem to get your back up constantly in every thread by bringing up the Northern Irish situation yourself and then getting annoyed when peopel disagree with you.

Is there no British version of boards.ie that you would be more at home at if you're fed up of all the supposed bullying you have to suffer on this ?

yeah, head to stormfront owen, they'll like you. well, they won't, but hey.

That was all thrown away on October 2nd 2009. :rolleyes:

Want to explain that? Or are you still panning the "Lisbon is evil" tripe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Will the foreign police get paid €1.84 an hour?

Our forefathers died for freedom and this Government is not about freedom, ask the citizens of Donegal South West, Dublin South or Waterford about democracy and if they are being represented democratically?

If Brian Cowen or his Fianna Fail party had a shred of ethics or decency they would have called a general election long ago and given the people of this country the choice. They are traitors to Ireland and are denying the people the vote because they know we will vote them out.

We don't have a system of checks or balances and a true democracy would allow the people to force an election and get new leadership, in our country right now the only way to do this is through mass scale civil unrest and war if necessary. Brian Cowen is the biggest traitor this country has seen since Charles Haughey and traitors deserve the death penalty.

Our forefathers died for freedom and this Government is not about freedom, ask the citizens of Donegal South West, Dublin South or Waterford about democracy and if they are being represented democratically?

If Brian Cowen or his Fianna Fail party had a shred of ethics or decency they would have called a general election long ago and given the people of this country the choice. They are traitors to Ireland and are denying the people the vote because they know we will vote them out.

We don't have a system of checks or balances and a true democracy would allow the people to force an election and get new leadership, in our country right now the only way to do this is through mass scale civil unrest and war if necessary. Brian Cowen is the biggest traitor this country has seen since Charles Haughey and traitors deserve the death penalty.
    They died so that you could have a government of your own. Fianna Fáil were democratically elected by the people of this republic. Don't forget that. You want to remove our rights, while claiming it's to stop others from doing it. And you want to kill people while doing it. Who really is the traitor in this situation?

yeah, head to stormfront owen, they'll like you. well, they won't, but hey.

What is that.:rolleyes:

Because there is not much discussion about this on there in the northern ireland forums. BYE i can't stick arguing with yous anymore it does my head in!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

BYE

Ah no don't go, its great craic arguing!! Mostly ould rubbish been spouted in here anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Scrambled egg

I think its a good idea. It means closer co-operation with our neighbours to tackle crime and increase our security.

Wheres the harm in that ?, its not like your average French gendarme is going to be patroling your local streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,370 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Wouldn't mind seeing Spanish police (in some cases) on the streets in Ireland.

They are so many of them around the place and they are not like the Irish thickos who try to antagonise you into smart-mouthing them. They are competent and think rationally.

They are swift and efficient. If you do something, they'll quickly pick you up and tell you off. No messing about like Irish ones who seem to be looking for a reason to get you into more trouble.

Twice, I was walking down the street there drinking a beer. Both times, the police officer grabbed the bottle off me and told me to keep on moving. Nothing more.

Despite this, when you're part of a crowd, they have a tendency to be lax if you're drinking or smoking weed. They don't call for back-up and corner yez, they just see that it's not worth the trouble and continue moving.

Compare this to Irish police who once stopped me and a group of my friends, took down all our names (there was about ten of us) and then let us go. The only reason they did this was because they heard there'd been a fight in the area and thought we were part of those responsible. If they did think that, what good is taking down names going to do?

Again, the Spanish police are a lot better at that kind of thing. I had my name taken down for trying to buy weed on the street. Two undercover cops overheard us and asked for my ID. They radioed the nearest station and asked for a search on my name. When the guy at the other end radioed back and said I had no record, they just told me to go home. They didn't lecture me on drugs or anything. They didn't even watch me to see where I went.

On the other hand, the Spanish police constantly harass anyone who doesn't look European, which I hate. If you're black, Asian or Latin American, they will harass you for papers at any time of the day. It's just a wate of everyone's time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Because there is not much discussion about this on there in the northern ireland forums. BYE i can't stick arguing with yous anymore it does my head in!:eek:

Owen, we love you really. Just stop going on the defensive all the time. Nobody is out to get you. Think before you post. You do tend to post alot of shíte on here, without thinking about what you're actually saying.

dlofnep wrote: »
    Owen, we love you really. Just stop going on the defensive all the time. Nobody is out to get you. Think before you post. You do tend to post alot of shíte on here, without thinking about what you're actually saying.

Its actually quite hard not too with the stuff that they post ,when mods start banning you when they were clearly offending me or when someone acuses me of doing this like some bigoted loser would do in the orange order or something but whatever.. theres so much hatred in here.