Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Frustrated and stuck

Options
  • 04-08-2010 2:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭

Hi guys!

I'm a 21 year old student entering my final year in university and I stammer (for some reason, the word stutter bothers me whereas stammer doesn't).

I'm usually a covert stammerer - to the point that a speech therapist I attended when I was 15 advised me that she could not help me, as she did not believe that I stammered at all (I realise now that she was incompetent), but at that point I gave up on speech therapy and have sought no help until recently.

I always felt that I could control my stammer - that I was its master. In secondary school I never avoided public speaking and weirdly, was am pretty fluent speaking in front of groups. However, this year in college my academic work undeniably suffered as the emphasis came more on to oral examinations than written (I'm in a health science course). My stammer comes for months at a time when I'm stressed, quite predictably, and is most marked in professional/placement interactions and can range from mild to crippling and muting.

It seems that adult stammering services in this country are appallingly lacking. I looked into the McGuire Programme but it just looked really really daunting. Plus, it seems that over 100 people attend each session and I really feel that I'd function better in smaller groups, or possibly with 1-on-1 attention (not to mention that the programme requires a not insiginficant initial investment).