Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Disruptive posting in rail threads

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

No I have no axe to grind with Callina or anyone else. She does seem unhappy at her lot as a Mod though and I'm just reminding her she does it because she wants to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

I think there is a difference from being pissed of with being a mod and
    being pissed off with a group of posters who flaunt the rules and think they can behave as they like when the forum is not thier sandbox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

corktina wrote: »
    I dont know if Im not saying this clearly enough, I'll try once again.

Callina said "I happen to have to deal with their complaints"

My point is that she is a moderator because she wants to be (I assume). If she doesn't want to HAVE to deal with complaints, noone is forcing her to HAVE to do so. A Moderators job is to Moderate, should it be necessary to do so, then thats why they are there.
    Do you think a street sweeper who gets up at 3am goes out on to the street and will have a delighted look on his face as he removed the recent vomit from the street? Sure its what pays his wage, but I doubt he would delight in the work.

Being a moderator has long been compared to being a janitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

I am not unhappy with being a mod. I am, however, extremely unhappy with the behaviour of a number of posters on this forum, hence this thread reminding them that there is a forum charter.

What is obvious to me is that a number of posters are unwilling to recognise their own contributions to the lousy atmosphere in a number of threads, specifically rail related.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

It seems to me that most of those complaining about posts were those posting the least and now that DW and Nostradamus are gone and others, myself included, are inclined to post less in the forum. I still post on the Waterford/Rosslare thread as I started it and would like to see it through but when the line closes I will probably drop out of the forum. I see this discussion thread leading to further bans if it goes on for much longer but I won't be falling into that trap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

I hope I am not one of those posters but if you think I am or could benefit from reading the charter again a gentle non-banning pm would be much appreciated:)
    Calina wrote: »
    What is obvious to me is that a number of posters are unwilling to recognise their own contributions to the lousy atmosphere in a number of threads, specifically rail related.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,282 ✭✭✭westtip

It seems to me that most of those complaining about posts were those posting the least and now that DW and Nostradamus are gone and others, myself included, are inclined to post less in the forum. I still post on the Waterford/Rosslare thread as I started it and would like to see it through but when the line closes I will probably drop out of the forum. I see this discussion thread leading to further bans if it goes on for much longer but I won't be falling into that trap.

JD I'm with you apart from this thread I have pretty much given up on C&W as clearly those with a voice saying things some don't like to hear are going to be banned anyway. The one thread I used to post on the WRC is now hardly worth looking at - the project is a dead duck, the line will be flooded again soon and north of Athenry won't happen (believe me I have this on good authority), passenger numbers are pitiful on the southern branch line. The infrastructure forum remains pretty interesting, mainly blokes over there, I like it, (I might turn up for the beers in Athlone on Saturday), mind you having said that as it seems likely no new infrastructure projects are ever likely to happen soon its just about watching out for finishing dates on existing projects - otherwise its about looking at .pdfs of projects that will never happen, and no point debating them. One or two other threads and forums I disappear off to now and again. Mind you I have enjoyed the interjections of watch out she's behind you this evening. Mildly entertaining in fact at times hilarious.

I'm for a ginger beer (well pint with the blokes actually) and my good friend Dick - he goes with me whereever I go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭shamwari

If I didn't no better, I'd swear some people are trying to set themselves up to be banned now as well. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭zagmund

A scene comes to mind of a couple of people out in the street having a fight among themselves. Along comes the local constabulary to try to restore order. The couple then decide to rant and rave and generally berate the law enforcers. "You'se can't be doing this and yis can't be doing that and denying my constitutionals wotsits, and see that, that was assault that was. I know my rights, I do. My mate Tony vanished one day and I just know it was you'se that made him go away. Wouldn't touch a fly, so he wouldn't. Ah yeah, well except when he was in an argument. Yeah, which was most of the time alright. And now you're picking on us and we're not doing anything. You're oppressing me, that's what it is. Oppression - we're being oppressed here." and on and on it goes.

Meantime a crowd gathers to watch and see what sort of stuff they're going to come out with next. I don't know why this came to mind, it just did. Apropos of nothing really.

z

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

shamwari wrote: »
    If I didn't no better, I'd swear some people are trying to set themselves up to be banned now as well. :rolleyes:

I would have thought that was the purpose for allowing the thread remain open. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

It's lose-lose, if the thread's closed then it's further proof of the mods heavy-handedness and fear of criticism, if it remains open people will continue to push things until they're banned, thereby proving the mods are heavy-handed.

I'd vote for leaving it open and hashing this out until everyone's happy and there's a chance for a clean slate. If that includes discussing amendments to the Charter or similar, fair enough.

A lot of this seems to me like kids trying to push the substitute teacher to see how far they'll go before they explode or run out of the classroom in tears. Aggravation for the sake of aggravation.

I also wonder if some of the rivalries are too deeply entrenched for them ever to be resolved (both between various posters and between posters and mods).

What do you want to do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭shamwari

-Chris- wrote: »
    It's lose-lose, if the thread's closed then it's further proof of the mods heavy-handedness and fear of criticism, if it remains open people will continue to push things until they're banned, thereby proving the mods are heavy-handed.

I'd vote for leaving it open and hashing this out until everyone's happy and there's a chance for a clean slate. If that includes discussing amendments to the Charter or similar, fair enough.

A lot of this seems to me like kids trying to push the substitute teacher to see how far they'll go before they explode or run out of the classroom in tears. Aggravation for the sake of aggravation.

I also wonder if some of the rivalries are too deeply entrenched for them ever to be resolved (both between various posters and between posters and mods).

What do you want to do?

I'd continue as things are Chris. The current wave of unrest will proably run its course in time.

As regards moderation, I mean if some people want to break the rules and get themselves banned, then they only have themselves to blame. I see strong evidence of "goading the mods" here that could well end with someone being banned, and I certainly hope that doesn't happen. Time for a few to step back and take some deep breaths.

Taking the quality of some of the debate here, people behaving themselves can actually add a lot of value to the forum, and I think everyone would welcome that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

maybe close this thread and carry on modding as well as Calina who has always been fair in modding and gave good reasons for any warnings on thread as well as closing some threads to stop some people from getting themselves banned, if people cant behave even after a red card warning or two then they are looking for a short holiday imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭steamengine

foggy_lad wrote: »
    maybe close this thread and carry on modding as well as Calina who has always been fair in modding and gave good reasons for any warnings on thread as well as closing some threads to stop some people from getting themselves banned, if people cant behave even after a red card warning or two then they are looking for a short holiday imo.

+1........very few posters have a problem with Calina's modding, as witnessed by all the thank you signatures she has received. The self-destruct button was an option for those who pressed it, and its pointless whinging on about it. The mods in general have been more than fair and IMO have shown the proverbial patience of Job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

westtip wrote: »
    well apologies however you have seriously misquoted me. I did not say nobody missed you. I said you weren't missed by a lot of us. This is important syntax, I would never speak on behalf of everyody. Did anyone report the post? No. Including your fellow mods.
    Ohhhhh right, because I just though that:
    Thaed: If you want you can pm the cat mods about it but rabble rousing on a forum and 'being a dick' only tends to result in more people getting banned.

Westtip: I could PM you about a comment about being a dick - but there you go, I could complain about your very offensive post, but lets have it out in the open eh? So you have called me a dick in a post in a public forum - fair play to ye.
    It's only syntax when it suits you, right?
    I quite agree however a Moderator can hardly complain about having to Moderate...
    Actually: it was. Though I think it odd that you think you would know one way or the other, with no access to Reports.
    westtip wrote: »
    I am not determined to disrupt the forum, and actually I don't believe I am disrupting the forum nor am I calling anyone "a dick". I have asked a civil question on a thread that was started about this whole issue, DWs banning was in several posters opinion a farce and was the result of a campaign against him by folks who did not like his opinions about the cr*p state of railways in this country and the pathetic long term planning for rail travel that resulted in decisions we the travelling public, blokes, guys, wimmin, and dicks have to put up.
    Actually thats the textbook definition of disrupting a forum. You've taken it out of it's normal flow of discussion to argue with a mod. There are ways to do this that don't involve disrupting the forum. Namely, PM'ing the Moderator, PM'ing the Cat Mod, or starting a Help Desk thread that would get answered by an Admin.

So you are being disruptive, even if you're completely ignorant to it.
    I quite agree however a Moderator can hardly complain about having to Moderate...

Yes and No. There are forums on this website that require virtually no moderation, because the regular users of that forum are capable of moderating themselves. Most of the regulars in politics for instance are plenty capable at this stage of having a heated debate among themselves with the Restraint necessary to resort to personal abuse or downright lunacy. And other forums just need light moderation to deal with spambots, illegal content, duplicate threads, and that sort of thing. So even when the users moderate themselves, there still needs to be a moderator in the loop.

Most moderators here don't typically volunteer to constantly be putting out fires between users who haven't learned how to co-exist. And yes, when a users repeatedly fails to co-exist among the other users and is breaking the rules, a ban is usually the result.

If you disagree with that, nobody is forcing you down. Theres a Log Out button in the top right and you can change your password and email address in the User CP to a faceroll that will be nigh irretrievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

A few quick points from me. Sorry for putting them in a list fashion but it's the middle of the night and in the middle of the night, I find it easier to do a list thang.

1. No site member (moderator or registered user) should have to put up with idiotic sexist comments. This site isn't a convenient alternative to sorting out whatever misogynous or misandrous issues people have. Ditto with regard to abusive posts, racist posts, etc etc.

2. If any forum member has an issue with abusive posts, trolling posts etc by another member, use the "report this post" button. It isn't there as a decoration. Forum moderators on every boards.ie forum get those reports by email and deal with them as soon as they can. Administrators have access to those reports when and where they're made.

3. If you have an issue with a moderation decision, there is a process in place for you to raise that as an issue. That procedure is the disputes resolution procedure and as currently constituted, it's listed here for your convenience. It includes escalating the issue to the category mods and to the admins if you're not satisfied with the response you get from the forum moderators when you PM them. Anyone who feels that they have not had a fair hearing is able to follow that procedure.

4. If you have an issue with a moderator, you can raise it with that moderator, other moderators of the relevant forum, the category moderators or the admins. Ideally you should follow the same procedure as listed in the disputes resolution procedure.

5. Generally, politeness is cheap and mutual respect is expected. You may feel that it's your god-given right to act the git if you don't get your own way but rest assured that it isn't. Not on this site. If politeness doesn't come naturally to you, I suggest practising, it'll come easier as you continue to use it. Other people will like you better as a result, if that's worth anything.

6. No single forum contributor should feel as though they have some sort of ownership of the forum. Other people choose to use it too, your politeness facilitates their use as well as your own.

7. The forum charter is always a useful read. Particularly for anyone who's going to be posting on a forum regularly.

8. As I mentioned to a contributor of another forum by PM earlier, I find that the best threads often involve people who will never agree with each other but have a great deal of mutual respect for each other, based on genuine interest, effort and high-quality posting. That's an ideal of course but those tend to be the best threads of all. This forum is an excellent resource for people interested/involved in C&T at a professional or personal level. There are some people who'll never agree with you but that doesn't mean they're gits, they have a different point of view. If they post constructively without abusing or trolling etc, they probably deserve your respect as a fellow forum contributor. There are plenty of proper avenues to voice dissatisfaction if you feel the need to do so.

I may have left something important out, despite the numbered list. I've covered most of what I came here with after reading the thread though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

I would have thought that was the purpose for allowing the thread remain open. :rolleyes:

No it wasn't and frankly there are a lot of posts and behaviour in this thread which have illustrated the point of the original post immaculately and which do merit bans given the thread they've appeared in.

Posters appear to forget that their ability to avoid being banned lies in their own hands. If people post in such a way as to get banned in a thread reminding them for the need to be polite, it's hardly my fault. It's the poster's own fault. If they can't actually see that, then ultimately, there is little more to be said.

Thread closes at lunch time today but will remain sticked for while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Calina wrote: »
    Thread closes at lunch time today but will remain sticked for while.

IBTL :P