Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chasing the Kona dream and a Mai Tai cocktail

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

I don't think I'll make it to Donadea. Have college / work / training to be doing ;) Will try to send some chocolate biscuit cake for you!
    grrrrrrrrr :mad:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,365 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Oryx wrote: »
    grrrrrrrrr :mad:

Crap I forgot about you. Ummm if I get time I can send you some flourless choc cheesecake brownies? :P

• Registered Users Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Crap I forgot about you. Ummm if I get time I can send you some flourless choc cheesecake brownies? :P

Perhaps made with the chocolate I brought you from New York??? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

I don't think I'll make it to Donadea. Have college / work / training to be doing ;) Will try to send some chocolate biscuit cake for you!

BE THERE WITH CAKE! or else

Its not about the cake. Its about a lack of raccoons in donadea. :mad:

Oryx wrote: »
    Its not about the cake. Its about a lack of raccoons in donadea. :mad:

Good cos I couldn't get the cheese. :p

Will make a call on Saturday, but since I've got zilch work done today I'd say chances of making Donadea are slim :(

I have ran 74k for the week so far and remember very little of any it as this week is a bit of a blur.

Mon 10th Feb
    Double run day
    AM - 47mins easy - 9.5km
    PM - 45mins easy with some strides - 9.5km

Tues 11th Feb
    Double run day. I was due to do an interval session but decided i was too tired for any intensity and pushed it out to Wednesday instead
    AM - 40mins - 7.6km - recovery effort
    PM - 64mins - 12.5km - easy - I have noticed all my easy runs are now almost touching on recovery by rpe/feel. Am i being too lazy or just allowing the body to run at whatever pace it feels like on the easy days?

Wed 12th Feb
    Intervals - 69mins, 15.8kms, 4.24km pace
    The rescheduled session from Tuesday. Weather was brutal so this called for the treadmill, polar hrm on which allowed me to ensure effort levels were at the right level as it connects up to the treadmill.
    Session called for 10 easy, 5 min with builds and into the main set of 3x(2km MP/effort, 500 easy, 1km 10k pace/effort, 500 easy) with 5 easy to finish. Finding the faster work tough, in particular the 10k efforts stung. I actually wimped out about 1.30 into the last 1k effort, with the treat of a hot chocolate and a muffin as the carrot on the stick i took a min recovery and went at it again to complete it out. Reward granted!!
    Paces (not that important on treadmill) on the MP effort was at 4min ks for a 163-65ahr and 3.45min km pace for a 171-174ahr on 1ks @ 3.45k pace.

Thurs 13th Feb
    Med Easy Run - 19km/5.08km pace - Just a long trot around the town in miserable conditions wondering to myself why is running not feeling as easy as it should be!!

By the looks of the weather i reckon i will end up swimming instead of running around Donadea in the morning. Hopefully a little RQ will brighten up the day and actually show up with some cake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

How you finding the double days? Feeling the benefit?

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    How you finding the double days? Feeling the benefit?

Double days certainly are helping with getting the mileage in which should benefit me over time. They are normally both run at easy or recovery effort so do not take that much out of you. For some reason i always seem to enjoy or run better on the 2nd run of the day. I suppose there is less risk involved in running 2x10ks as a double day rather than a 20k straight.

I am still unsure if the high mileage approach suits me or not. I have never ran consecutive 100-140k weeks so unsure how it will all end up. One thing for sure is recovery is becoming an issue, not so much from the actual running but long hours in work. If i was actually doing tri training right now i would be missing a lot of sessions. With running you just lace up and go when you have the opportunity.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

If i was actually doing tri training right now i would be missing a lot of sessions.

are you still planning on Frankfurt? At what point do you swing the training over?

mossym wrote: »
    are you still planning on Frankfurt? At what point do you swing the training over?

Completing not competing approach as work will not allow any decent training from now really until July as i have a lot on. I have unfinished business over there and not bothered about time but should make the cut off:)
    I will take 2 weeks off after London and then look to get some cycling and swimming in.

Just to remind you...it's perfectly normal not to feel right or in anyway ready or well prepared for a marathon with 8 weeks to go.

Can't beleive you ran off without collecting the cake I sent for you!

Didn't see you afterwards but was nice to bump into you before.

I didn't get cake either. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Just to remind you...it's perfectly normal not to feel right or in anyway ready or well prepared for a marathon with 8 weeks to go.

I enjoyed that cake, Thanks :)

Fri 14th Feb
    45min easy run - 9.4kms,4.47km pace. Another long day but bagged 45mins for an easy run

Sat 15th Feb
    Donadea - Planned long run - 1:59,25.3kms,4.43km pace, 158ahr
    Met up with a few familiar faces before the start which was good. Lined up at the front and the initial plan was to run with TRR/BeepBeep/TBB around 7.15 mile pace (need to convert those lads) for a 35k long run. After only 2-3kms in i felt shagged and no energy so slowed the pace down and waited up on Meno on the 2nd loop for company. I swear to god the whole run was dreadful. I was ready for binning it after the 2nd 5k loop as i just felt dead on my feet. Struggled through 10,15 and decided to go 20 only to be convinced by Meno to do another 5k to bring it to 25k.
    It was a terrible run and i just felt dreadful all the way through. Not sure what was up with me but ended up napping for 3hrs that afternoon and sleeping 12hrs that night. Work toll is taking more out of me than i had imagined. Needless to say my form was shocking on Sat evening, like a scalded cat and in my mind London was off the cards.

Sun 16th Feb
    Angry run - 1.43,23kms,4.29km pace.
    Amazing the difference of being well rested. This was all guns blazing sort of run, sort of a fvk you sub 3 Mpace. In truth i settled into mpace without really pushing it. First 10mins was coming in at 4.10km pace, took it easy going up a 2.5k drag and then bolted on 30mins of further mpace work, again coming in at 4.10km pace. Nice to get just shy of 10k of mpace work into this run.
    I ran easy after that and bumped into a lad i coach and tacked on a few more kms with him. Slightly over what i had planned to do and in fact considered running my missed 35k but sense prevailed. Felt much happier after this. Running is fickle.

Weekly RU
    Swim: nada
    Bike: zilch
    Run: 10:34/131.6kms/9 runs with 2 doubles/4.49km pace
    Total: 10hrs 34mins
    TSS: 834

Yet another up and down week, jeez i am all over the place:). Running can really fry your head if you start over thinking things. Need to keep a very close eye on recovery over the next few weeks. If Saturday told me anything it is to rest more as it can just come up on you and bite you in the a$$.
    The days on me surviving on 5hrs sleep a day are long gone. Plan for this week is to take it day by day and see how the body feels. I am hopeful of running a 5k on Saturday to lay down a benchmark and also i am long overdue a blast out. No plans to hit xx number of kms this week, just a suck & see approach.

Either can I, did not spot the girl afterwards but i see Meno got his greedy hands on it.:(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭zico10

I'm not sure how welcome or accurate this comment is, but you have increased you mileage by a huge percentage comparing January to February. 16 days into February you are less than 60km off January's total. Whatever way you calculate it, it's a massive increase. Not to be pointing out the obvious, but do you not think this has anything to do with your current mixed feelings about running?
    I subscribe to the view that miles make champions, but you seem to be just increasing the distance for the sake of it, without regard to where you're coming from.

Amazing the difference of being well rested.
    Sleep matters more than anything else in how Im doing. Sorry to hear donadea was bad for you, but at least you know its just more rest needed.

Either can I, did not spot the girl afterwards but i see Meno got his greedy hands on it.:(

I knew I should have put nuts in it. Next time....

zico10 wrote: »
    I'm not sure how welcome or accurate this comment is, but you have increased you mileage by a huge percentage comparing January to February. 16 days into February you are less than 60km off January's total. Whatever way you calculate it, it's a massive increase. Not to be pointing out the obvious, but do you not think this has anything to do with your current mixed feelings about running?
    I subscribe to the view that miles make champions, but you seem to be just increasing the distance for the sake of it, without regard to where you're coming from.

Had a quick look to check on mileage from Xmas, probably unfair to just look at monthly numbers, better to look at week to week

Wk 1 (w/c 3012) 91.8kms
    Wk 2 103.2kms
    Wk 3 100.7kms

Wk 5 114kms
    Wk 6 132kms
    Wk 7 131.6kms

At a quick glance it does not look too bad. Rule of thumb would normally suggest increasing by 10% week on week. Probably not feeling the improvements (yet) that i was expecting from the extra mileage. Certainly not running the distances for the sake of it as each session i try have a purpose for it.
    I think the bigger two concerns i have is that i would be better equiped if i had used 8-10 weeks prior to Xmas building a solid base of 100k consistent weeks of easy running. The other concern is that generally i have been mentally tired for some time from external sources outside of running. This in turn is impacting on my ability to execute sessions well, which then leads to runs being frustrating when i dont see improvements or run poorly. Actually a third one rNr time or lack of it!
    I normally have a plan a week ahead but changing that to day by day depending on feel and how tired i am. Think thats more beneficial for London right now rather than digging myself into a hole i cannot climb out of.

BTW do not see myself increasing much more than 130/140k in a week. I think thats my ceiling given work etc....which actually means 110/120k weeks are probably right:)

As I said to you on Saturday, you won't see improvements while you are in the middle of increasing the mileage. It's only when you have a step back week or taper that you will start to reap the rewards.
    To me the above looks like it is a massive stepup in mileage of late, but provided you don't get injured/burned out you will reap the rewards down the line. For now you just have to trust the training and be patient.

Mon 17th
    42min Easy run - 8.6km, 4.56km pace - Standard enough run.

Tue 18th
    Nothing done, no biggie. I had planned on some 400s as a sharpener for the 5k on Saturday but Ryan felt the need to injure himself again so i was on Doc McDaddy duty for the night

Wed 19th
    6x400s-38mins,8.3kms,4.35km pace
    Really enjoyed this session, reasonable warm up and then into 6x400 at 5k effort/race pace. I had targeted around 85/86secs per 400 which would be sub 18 pace. Ended up being much faster as the legs were very responsive. You really feel like you are running proper on the shorter intervals, missed these type of sessions. Love 200s/400s for some leg speed.
    Reps were
    1 - 81secs-3.22km pace-mhr174
    2 - 79secs-3.13km pace-mhr179
    3 - 81secs-3.21km pace-mhr180
    4 - 79secs-3.17km pace-mhr176
    5 - 79secs-3.17km pace-mhr176
    6 - 80secs-3.20km pace-mhr173
    Felt like i was only getting started and could have done the same again. Keep it in the pants for Saturday!!

Plans for today is an easy run at lunch if i can get out (failed every day this week:)) and a double this evening with some strides thrown in. Core class a possibility depending on what time i get finished up at. I will take it easy tomorrow and see how i go on Saturday. If i can get close to 18 i would be reasonably happy, i think the pb is 18.2x which is pretty poor.
    menoscemo wrote: »
    As I said to you on Saturday, you won't see improvements while you are in the middle of increasing the mileage. It's only when you have a step back week or taper that you will start to reap the rewards.
    To me the above looks like it is a massive stepup in mileage of late, but provided you don't get injured/burned out you will reap the rewards down the line. For now you just have to trust the training and be patient.

Yeah you are right about only feeling better after recovery or taper. Cannot expect to be bouncing around all the time. I dont think on paper the mileage is that big of deal but factor in everything else it probably is. In terms of actual training load its less training than i normally do when full on tri training, the big difference though out of the three the running takes it out of the legs more than swim and bike.
    Signed up for Bohermeen last night as its near sold out. Using it as a PMP session as part of a longer run, is that still your plan?

Nice one.
    Yeah the plan will be a nice 5-6 mile warmup and the then the race at MP, with a few miles after. We might even do the cool down at MP to make up the magic 15 @ MP?

I am out for this Sunday btw, ankle has been troubling me since Saturday, must have twisted it in the mud. Have decided just to run easy this week and just do an easy paced LSR at the weekend. Going to see the physio tomorrow, I suspect a touch of peronial tendonitis which he has fixed for me in the past so hopefully it won't be abig issue going forward.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,583 ✭✭✭✭tunney

You work twice/thrice the number of hours a week as most people.
    You have a high stress, high pressure job.
    Regardless of your commitment and drive you cannot manage everything.

In the US IM events and the like have a large proportion of type-A personalities partaking in them. Not so the case in Ireland in my opinion. You are comparing yourself to people who work feck all hours, have little drive outside of sports and are probably single, or abandoned partners and kids.

You know my plan, come join me!

menoscemo wrote: »
    Nice one.
    Yeah the plan will be a nice 5-6 mile warmup and the then the race at MP, with a few miles after. We might even do the cool down at MP to make up the magic 15 @ MP?

I am out for this Sunday btw, ankle has been troubling me since Saturday, must have twisted it in the mud. Have decided just to run easy this week and just do an easy paced LSR at the weekend. Going to see the physio tomorrow, I suspect a touch of peronial tendonitis which he has fixed for me in the past so hopefully it won't be abig issue going forward.

Sounds like a plan, perhaps shortern the warm up to 3,15 MP, 2 cool down to make up 20?? We should really be aiming to hit old money 6.45mile pace although let MP HR/feel dictate the pace
    This Sunday would not have suited me any way as up in diddle doo land from where you are:pac: Careful with that peronial injury.
    tunney wrote: »
    You work twice/thrice the number of hours a week as most people.
    You have a high stress, high pressure job.
    Regardless of your commitment and drive you cannot manage everything.

In the US IM events and the like have a large proportion of type-A personalities partaking in them. Not so the case in Ireland in my opinion. You are comparing yourself to people who work feck all hours, have little drive outside of sports and are probably single, or abandoned partners and kids.

You know my plan, come join me!

There is no doubting or hiding the fact i am a pure breed of type A personality:) Its a weakness of mine, this http://www.simplypsychology.org/personality-a.html could be just changed to "meet fran"

Is this the 6 month run focus & conquer the world plan or the hookers,haribo,beer,vegas one:)

why do you feel the need to make them seperate plans? a 6 month run around the casino's of vegas in the company of a hooker, living on beer and haribo. now there is a story to tell the grankids

• Registered Users Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭pointer28

• Registered Users Posts: 12,583 ✭✭✭✭tunney

No - it was a 30 month run focus....... Someone wasn't listening. And then an event in 2018 that we have scores to settle with.
    mossym wrote: »
    why do you feel the need to make them seperate plans? a 6 month run around the casino's of vegas in the company of a hooker, living on beer and haribo. now there is a story to tell the grankids

Just one hooker? Might as well just bring the wife.

No - it was a 30 month run focus....... Someone wasn't listening. And then an event in 2018 that we have scores to settle with.

Ah right yes to that in 2018.

Just one hooker? Might as well just bring the wife.

someone has to look after the kids