Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Juve vs Rovers 2nd leg

• 05-08-2010 7:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭

Has to be called off, pissing rain and the ball barely moving on the pitch.

Best possible result for me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

No way UEFA will call it off tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Tis fierce wet alright. Great for Rovers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

No way UEFA will call it off tbh

Cant remember last time it ever happened other than crowd violence but they would rather not call it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

What would be the consequences of it being called off? Would it just be replayed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

What would be the consequences of it being called off? Would it just be replayed?

replay the remaning minutes.

For feck sake, theres about two inches deep of standing water around the left touchline.

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Cant remember last time it ever happened other than crowd violence but they would rather not call it off.
    the closest I can remember was when a Real-Villarreal match was called off due to some Eta threat.

Won't be called off when they are 20 minutes in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,393 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Shocking weather. My picture is breaking up every 5 seconds.

Frozen now with a test card showing.

FFS

Is RTE working or is it the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,622 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Fingal-Bray was very similar in the playoffs last season. Game shouldn't be going ahead at all.

Oatesy23 wrote: »

FFS

RTE is grand visually with grainy sound

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Oatesy23 wrote: »

FFS

RTÉ is poor tbh. Commentary is muffled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Shocking conditions. Can't see this going for 90 minutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,024 ✭✭✭JokerD

The commentary reminds me of the moon landing broadcast.

JokerD wrote: »
    The commentary reminds me of the moon landing broadcast.

It's great, proper European match with the commentary coming down the phone in the pissings of rain at a stadium no-one's ever seen before.

I blame Jon Kenny for the weather

I blame Bono.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Some commentary, are they on a phone in the jacks there or what.
    But I'd say this one will see it out. For UEFA its a nothing qualifier game which the team they want through is already through anyway. So what if its a joke of a game on a lake that ends 0-0. Juve are still in next round, thats good enough for them! This won't be called off, thats for sure.

It's great, proper European match with the commentary coming down the phone in the pissings of rain at a stadium no-one's ever seen before.

It'll be coming through on morse code soon enough, just incase:pac:
    morse_code_table.jpg

So close!

Binary Code: 00001-00001000-000001000-000011000-00GaryTwiggGoal100

Aw feck, that should have been 1-0 rovers...inches away :( Pity would have made it interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

All the best to Rovers, would love to see them pox 2 goals and bring it to extra time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭DerekDGoldfish

If the rain comes back they have a change its a well known fact Juventus hate the rain.

Well they lost a title on the last day about 10 years ago on the rainiest game in history but rovers have to cling to something.

If the rain comes back they have a change its a well known fact Juventus hate the rain.

Well they lost a title on the last day about 10 years ago on the rainiest game in history but rovers have to cling to something.

gremlins.jpg

Del Piero, yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Its like european footie used to look and sound before the money arrived.

This game is calling out for a Michael Phelps.

Rovers doing well there, but Juve seem at a half arsed effort really! Seem like they wanna get thru this without an injury. 0-0 is looking very likely. Good for Irish co-efficient if nothing else.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

That fella..whathisname...Del Piero takes a decent free-kick..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭CR 7

dfx- wrote: »
    That fella..whathisname...Del Piero takes a decent free-kick..

Fluked one in eventually.

Some free from Del Piero.

1-0

Wow that was quality!! What a strike!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭mal1

No shame on going down 1-0 to that goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Some auld goal,there's still life in the old dog!

Nothing could have stopped that. Just hope that's all they have in the tank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,430 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Love see Rovers score

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

Wonder strike from Del Piero, still a class act. Fair play to Rovers, despite the result they have done themselves justice.

Can see Juve getting another tbh. Hope not.

Love see Rovers score

Ah no, I put everything in my betting a/c that they wouldn't. Was just above evens so seemed a cert.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭SarahBM

Fair Play to Rovers!!! they played very well!

MON interview coming up.
    I could probably guess word for word what he'll say.

Well done rovers, nothing to be ashamed of!

Liam Brady's lack of knowledge is shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

Biiiiillllllll CSF is always picking on me Biiiiilllll

• Registered Users Posts: 903 ✭✭✭bernardo mac

Yeah,great effort Rovers.Well done.Congrats to all involved including the Fans!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Here's the goal for anyone who missed it:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

CSF wrote: »
    Liam Brady's lack of knowledge is shocking.

To be fair he admited he did'nt have much knowledge of the league but Rico was there for that.

It was a good result for Rovers. They lost to a brilliant goal and gave a good account of themselves.

It was nice to see Juventus show them respect as well. I think the bigger clubs always show LOI clubs more respect in europe. The mid-level clubs from Sweden, Austria etc are always far more arrogant for some reason.

To be fair he admited he did'nt have much knowledge of the league but Rico was there for that.
    Yeah I know that, but what was he there for really?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Brady played for Juventus so i reckon thats the reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭AIR-AUSSIE

Guess cos he played his club football in Italy for 7 years.

He played for Juve so they suspected he had a knowledge of the Italian game.

Brady played for Juventus so i reckon thats the reason.
    No I know that, but surely its obligatory that the chap does a bit of research on both teams playing. Especially when one is the local side who the viewers will be cheering for. I don't even think he seemed that informed on Juve tbh. I genuinely get the impression that if its not the Premiership or Ireland he just doesn't want to know.