Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

iPhone 4 - No data on 3 network

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭nightster1

Howya Pah! Have you noticed any particularly bad reception areas around Cork City or County on 3, i'm thinking now of getting their iphone4. ta

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 rexton270

Well...Not happy with iPhone at all. The signal issue isn't network related for sure!!!

I used two microSIMs ( O2 & 3) in following devices :

1) i4 16GB
    2) HTC Desire
    3) Nokia E72

and the results are following :

O2 microSIM in i4 - no 3G signal or very rarely for few seconds, keep switching
    O2 microSIM in Desire - constant 3G signal (3-5 bars,switching to H when download/browsing)
    O2 microSIM in E72 - same as Desire

3 microSIM in i4 - rare 3G signal, most of the time "No network coverage"
    3 microSIM in Desire - constant signal ( 3-5 bars)
    3 microSIM in E72 - same as Desire.

All phones were laying on the table for 1 hour untouched.

(In Desire & E72 used adaptor from O2)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭borygo77

have been writing before about data workin with 2G...so its workin on my e72 but cant get it to work on my new iPhone 4. It's new sim on new contract just wonder if its network setup? Need give them call 2mmorow morning and let ya know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

rexton270 wrote: »
    Well...Not happy with iPhone at all. The signal issue isn't network related for sure!!!

I used two microSIMs ( O2 & 3)

I'm very glad someone else besides me went to the effort of testing the iPhone, I
    Just used a 3 sim but the results were the same. Galaxy S and Xperia x10 could pick up a good quality data connection where the iPhone failed to pick up a connection.

The iPhone sucks when it comes to reception bumper or no bumper. Anyone who thinks other wise is deluding themselves as it's not a network issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭pah

nightster1 wrote: »
    Howya Pah! Have you noticed any particularly bad reception areas around Cork City or County on 3, i'm thinking now of getting their iphone4. ta

I haven't noticed any areas in particular. Tbh I have the phone jailbroken and use sbsettings to flick the 3G switch on & off when I need it. I'm hoping a carrier update or firmware update will fix the 3G dropping and recovery issue because as it is I can live with it for the great call value I have

Just after call to 3 technical support. They said I have to update my iPhone 4 to 4.0.2 to get data works on it with gsm (2g)....
    Found nice tool iPhone Configuration Utility where you can change operator settings. But where I will find proper setting for 3 ?
    Standard apn 3ireland.ie with blank user and pass not workin....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Kaskade

borygo77 wrote: »
    Just after call to 3 technical support. They said I have to update my iPhone 4 to 4.0.2 to get data works on it with gsm (2g)....
    Found nice tool iPhone Configuration Utility where you can change operator settings. But where I will find proper setting for 3 ?
    Standard apn 3ireland.ie with blank user and pass not workin....

That is complete lies from 3. Some People excluding me have been able to connect to 2g data since before 4.0.2 was launched. Given my desperation to getbthis working I upgraded anyway and surprise surprise no 2g data.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭buzzymam

I got the iphone 4 from 3 on Monday and hanvt had any internet connection at all :(

I had tried out a pay as you go 3 sim and phone the previous week and always had a solid signal 3/5 bars 3G c. 70% of the time and H sometimes too. Enter iphone 4 and no 3G and no data.

Feckin raging. I now have to drive 30 miles to nearest 3 store for them to check the sim and possibly arrange for a replacment handset.

So pee'd of, I know 3 had their issues but i thought that after checking the signal in my area for a week I would be ok. :mad::mad::mad:

To quote 3 tech support " its either your sim, the network or the handset" Talk about covering all bases.

Do you know anyone around you with a 3phone or have you another 3g capable of phone you can stick the sim in to check it, what is your apn set at, 3ireland.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭corklad32

buzzymam wrote: »
    I got the iphone 4 from 3 on Monday and hanvt had any internet connection at all :(

I had tried out a pay as you go 3 sim and phone the previous week and always had a solid signal 3/5 bars 3G c. 70% of the time and H sometimes too. Enter iphone 4 and no 3G and no data.

Feckin raging. I now have to drive 30 miles to nearest 3 store for them to check the sim and possibly arrange for a replacment handset.

So pee'd of, I know 3 had their issues but i thought that after checking the signal in my area for a week I would be ok. :mad::mad::mad:

To quote 3 tech support " its either your sim, the network or the handset" Talk about covering all bases.

Get out while you can! I live in Cork city center and put up with their crap for 3 weeks and it nearly drove me crackers! Got out on day 21 (major hassle) moved to o2 and haven't looked back since. If the coverage is bad don't wait past day 14 - its highly unlikely to get any better in the short / medium term. For the 40 per month on 3 it will cost about 60 on o2

40 on 3 gets you
    350 minutes
    333 web texts (use jelly or eirtext)
    A free add on from Sep
    32gb phone - 319

60 on o2 gets you
    350 minutes
    150 texts + 250 webtexts = 400
    Same range as free add on's on 3
    32 gb phone - 299

BUT CAN YOU PUT A PRICE ON YOUR SANITY IF YOU STAY WITH 3!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 carrighdounman

Why 3 ? I just got mine on 02 . so far so good

Do you know anyone around you with a 3phone or have you another 3g capable of phone you can stick the sim in to check it, what is your apn set at, 3ireland.ie

I oddly dont seem to have an APN option...I have VPN which is currently "not connected" s Im hoping thats the issue. In fairness I dont know anything about APN/VPN stuff?

I had a 3G phone from 3 for a week (pay as you go) and always had great coverage incl 3G, hense my confidence in getting the iphone. Of to the 3 store now to get the sim checked and or replacemnt hansdet. need this like a hole in the head.

Why 3 ? I just got mine on 02 . so far so good

I was with 02 for 7 months, grand service then suddenly a massive drop off, no call/text or data. Tech support just kept stalling me so I left. Far to expensive a network to be having no coverage with.

I oddly dont seem to have an APN option...I have VPN which is currently "not connected" s Im hoping thats the issue. In fairness I dont know anything about APN/VPN stuff?

I had a 3G phone from 3 for a week (pay as you go) and always had great coverage incl 3G, hense my confidence in getting the iphone. Of to the 3 store now to get the sim checked and or replacemnt hansdet. need this like a hole in the head.

Can you make calls and texts? Have you 3G enabled, did you get your phone from the store your going back to?

If your apn is wrong you can't use data, have a look at, settings>general>network>cellular data network and tell us what's in there under there under apn.

You defo have 3G turned on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Mr Jin eL

Can you make calls and texts? Have you 3G enabled, did you get your phone from the store your going back to?

If your apn is wrong you can't use data, have a look at, settings>general>network>cellular data network and tell us what's in there under there under apn.

On the iPhone from 3 and Vodafone the option Cellular Data network settings are missing/removed (so people will not change the settings). U cannot view or change those settings, on the iphone from o2 u can. This change is done through carrier settings. Lets say you have an iphone from o2, then u unlock and move to vodafone or 3, once the carrier settings updates into your phone from VF or 3 sim card, that option will be disabled.

I hope I clearly explained :)

I dunno how to insert an image but this is what it says under Settings-General-Network..

Cellular data = On
    Data Roaming = On
    Internet Tethering = Off
    VPN = Not Connected
    Wi-Fi = Off

No reference to APN settings like poster above (thanks) mentioned.

In the three store today I told the sales staff that tech support told me to ask them to check my sim in another phone and try a new sim in my phone to rule in or out a handset issue...they looked like I was asking for their 1st borns!!! Not a chance, "we dont have those small sims lying around" kinda cr"p.

From playing around with it myself and reading the earier posts on this thread i somehow got the 3G working but when its gone i have no internet. "safari cannot open the page because it is not connected to the interne" Is that normal? Is 3G essential for data? How do i get it back?????

When i search under settings-carries somethings 3(g) is there sometimes its not, automatic always seem to be checked.

I know there is 3G in the area, had in on a crap"y cheapest 3pay phone last week, iphone cant seem to "hold" it though
    Anyone??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭deep1

I dunno how to insert an image but this is what it says under Settings-General-Network..

Cellular data = On
    Data Roaming = On
    Internet Tethering = Off
    VPN = Not Connected
    Wi-Fi = Off

No reference to APN settings life poster above (thanks) mentioned.

In the three store today I told the sales staff that tech support told me to ask them to check my sim in another phone and try a new sim in my phone to rule in or out a handset issue...they looked like I was asking for their 1st borns!!! Not a chance, "we dont have those small sims lying around" kinda cr"p.

From playing around with it myself and reading the earier posts on this thread i somehow got the 3G working but when its gone i have no internet. "safari cannot open the page because it is not connected to the interne" Is that normal? Is 3G essential for data? How do i get it back?????

When i search under settings-carries somethings 3(g) is there sometimes its not, automatic always seem to be checked.

Anyone??

Go to settting-general-about and Post what carrier says= it should be 3 Ireland 7.1

If not then you need to update the carrier file by syncing iphone to itunes.
    Now from setting-carrier just select 3 and see if you see the little circle "o" instead of 3g, if it stays there then fine, if not then restart phone.

If it still not stay then carrier update should sort that out, and then you can change the carrier to Automatic so when you loose 3g coverage you should have have Edge network.

Mr Jin eL wrote: »
    On the iPhone from 3 and Vodafone the option Cellular Data network settings are missing/removed (so people will not change the settings). U cannot view or change those settings, on the iphone from o2 u can. This change is done through carrier settings. Lets say you have an iphone from o2, then u unlock and move to vodafone or 3, once the carrier settings updates into your phone from VF or 3 sim card, that option will be disabled.

I hope I clearly explained :)

thanks for that, i have no APN settings on my iphone 4 form 3. Do you happen to know what "VPN" is?

deep1 wrote: »
    Go to settting-general-about and Post what carrier says= it should be 3 Ireland 7.1

If not then you need to update the carrier file by syncing iphone to itunes.
    Now from setting-carrier just select 3 and see if you see the little circle "o" instead of 3g, if it stays there then fine, if not then restart phone.

If it still not stay then carrier update should sort that out, and then you can change the carrier to Automatic so when you loose 3g coverage you should have have Edge network.

Hi deep1.....the carrier is 3 Ireland 7.1.
    I have synched with itunes a few times already and updated to version 4.0.2
    I searched the carries and selected 3 but no little circle appeared. Powered of and on, still no little circle.

Should i reselect 3G in carrier search so in case it comes back? God that sounds so pathetic after just spending over €200 for the phone and signing an 18 month contract dosnt it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Mr Jin eL

thanks for that, i have no APN settings on my iphone 4 form 3. Do you happen to know what "VPN" is?

VPN is: "Virtual Private Network"

for example: lets say in work there is a private network that all the PCs work from and they have access to the local secured files. And you want to access that network from outside, you can communicate with that Work Private network through VPN. Through a secure process. Lets say you want to access your work email that are stored on the local computers/servers VPN will allow to do that from anyware in the world through VPN connection that works over wifi and network data. Of course you need to have the settings to connet though. :)

Mr Jin eL wrote: »
    VPN is: "Virtual Private Network"

for example: lets say in work there is a private network that all the PCs work from and they have access to the local secured files. And you want to access that network from outside, you can communicate with that Work Private network through VPN. Through a secure process. Lets say you want to access your work email that are stored on the local computers/servers VPN will allow to do that from anyware in the world through VPN connection that works over wifi and network data. Of course you need to have the settings to connet though. :)

:) not much use you to my 3G-less iphone so!!! Tnks

Hi buzzy, have you got this sorted? Have had same problem in Wexford last week but call three customer service couple times and got it fixed...
    It's not the iphone problem just nettwork settings in area where you live.
    Someone posted above about little circle ;)
    It's not Edge data speed. If you got edge then you will find E beside carrier logo.

got our issue with no data on 2g sorted on Friday after two weeks of hounding tech support. It wasn't an issue in the area as it didn't work anywhere. I was told that there was an issue with the provisioning on our accounts. Mine was fixed first and then our second one was done about an hour later but it was manual work on the side of tech support to do this. I was speaking to somebody in 2nd tier iphone technical support if that helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭dsender

Kaskade wrote: »
    got our issue with no data on 2g sorted on Friday after two weeks of hounding tech support. It wasn't an issue in the area as it didn't work anywhere. I was told that there was an issue with the provisioning on our accounts. Mine was fixed first and then our second one was done about an hour later but it was manual work on the side of tech support to do this. I was speaking to somebody in 2nd tier iphone technical support if that helps.

What version ios on you on? I'm having the no data 2g issue at the mo and they want to me to upgrade to 4.0.2, currently on 4.0.1 and don't want to upgrade. I think I'll just lie to as it's a network issue.

dsender wrote: »
    What version ios on you on? I'm having the no data 2g issue at the mo and they want to me to upgrade to 4.0.2, currently on 4.0.1 and don't want to upgrade. I think I'll just lie to as it's a network issue.

we have one phone on 4.0.1 and one on 4.0.2.

Neither were working until they made the provisioning fix and now both are working. Still waiting to get the issue where the phone spends most of its life on 3 instead of 3G though.

Just tell them that you already upgreaded and nothing changed...
    That's what I said ;)

@Kaskade my one is switching back after 6 min if I have good 3G reception....
    But usually doing manual search to get it quicker....

Just tell them that you already upgreaded and nothing changed...
    That's what I said ;)

@Kaskade my one is switching back after 6 min if I have good 3G reception....
    But usually doing manual search to get it quicker....

Mine switches back too at times but it is really frustrating having to go an switch on airplane mode, or go in and manually select the carrier everytime I want to do something.

Hi buzzy, have you got this sorted? Have had same problem in Wexford last week but call three customer service couple times and got it fixed...
    It's not the iphone problem just nettwork settings in area where you live.
    Someone posted above about little circle ;)
    It's not Edge data speed. If you got edge then you will find E beside carrier logo.

Hi, I am "kinda" sorted. Spoke to 2nd tier tech support, very helpful nice guy. All my settings are right, local mast working fine etc... I cant get 3G in my home but im beginning to accept that that might me a location thing, when i leave our road and "do the airplane switch" thingy it finds 3G. When it loses it, it never automatically refinds it so there is fair bit of carrier searching/airplane switching!

Tech guy said i should be able to access internet on 2G when i have the little circle...problem is I have never got the little circle on the phone! Ive had 5 bars solid coverage with 3 but it wont connect to internet. Seems for me that 3G is ESSENTIAL for browsing :(

When ive had 3G with 5 bars the speed of the connection is fantastic, much faster than my eircom BB. If only i could get 2/3G at home then I'd be sorted.

Hi, I am "kinda" sorted. Spoke to 2nd tier tech support, very helpful nice guy. All my settings are right, local mast working fine etc... I cant get 3G in my home but im beginning to accept that that might me a location thing, when i leave our road and "do the airplane switch" thingy it finds 3G. When it loses it, it never automatically refinds it so there is fair bit of carrier searching/airplane switching!

Tech guy said i should be able to access internet on 2G when i have the little circle...problem is I have never got the little circle on the phone! Ive had 5 bars solid coverage with 3 but it wont connect to internet. Seems for me that 3G is ESSENTIAL for browsing :(

When ive had 3G with 5 bars the speed of the connection is fantastic, much faster than my eircom BB. If only i could get 2/3G at home then I'd be sorted.

sounds like you also have that provisioning issue if you done have the blue o. I would certainly push them to fix that as it is settings on 3's side, at least then you will have some sort of connectivity when you have no 3G

Don't be so excited... Speed with 2g are too slow for browsing with safari. U will need Opera mini if dont want throw your phone in to the wall ;)
    Call CS and push them to fix your problem with 2G connection. Dont upgrade to 4.0.2 cos it'll do nothing!
    Regards

sounds like you also have that provisioning issue if you done have the blue o. I would certainly push them to fix that as it is settings on 3's side, at least then you will have some sort of connectivity when you have no 3G

So as not to sound like a complete novice when i call CS, could you tell me or direct me to an explanation of what the "provisioning issue" is? Thanks.

ask to speak to 2nd tier iphone technical support. Tell them that you have no data at all on 2g and you have spoken to other customers who had the same problem. I was told it was a provisioning issue that meant the gprs settings were never set up properly and it would not work as a result.

@borygo77 - dont worry, I'm well away of the limitations of 2g data, but its better that 0g data!!! Just handy to be able to download emails and check directions on the map if needs be.

ask to speak to 2nd tier iphone technical support. Tell them that you have no data at all on 2g and you have spoken to other customers who had the same problem. I was told it was a provisioning issue that meant the gprs settings were never set up properly and it would not work as a result.

Thanks for that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 tt2006

I got an IPhone 4 the night they launched on 3. I found the staff in the shop to be totally incompetent!
    - The guy who was putting through the contract had to fill out a manual contract and had to ask the manager to show him how to do it (He's been working there for at least a year as I've been in the store a few times before).
    -Another girl then took payment for the phone and when I asked about insurance for my new IPhone I was told that she "Only worked there" and was extremly rude!
    -2 days later I noticed that the promixity sensor on my new IPhone was not woking properly and when I went into the store the guy (a different one) hummed and hawed, (with no answers) and told me that he didn't know if I could return it. A person in The Carphone Warehouse told me that there is a 7 day faulty exchange policy on all networks.
    I wont be going to 3 shops directly ever again if I can help it!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭stringy

@borygo77 - dont worry, I'm well away of the limitations of 2g data, but its better that 0g data!!! Just handy to be able to download emails and check directions on the map if needs be.

I called them, and they said that because I was on version 4.02, it automatically configures the settings and that my 2g settings are correct. They are currently working at "highest priority" to fix the problem some customers are having with the no data on 2g issue, and the fact that the network keeps toggling between 3 and 3(3G).

They are calling me tomorrow to update as it should be fixed by then.

If not I'm returning my phone on Wednesday, and going to Vodafone. Iphone4 is great, 3 network not so much.

My experience so far:

3g at home (Swords), and in work (Glasnevin), and in city centre and on golf course in Donabate. No 3g in Rathdrum when I was camping at the wknd, which turned the iphone into a plain phone.

stringy wrote: »
    I called them, and they said that because I was on version 4.02, it automatically configures the settings and that my 2g settings are correct. They are currently working at "highest priority" to fix the problem some customers are having with the no data on 2g issue, and the fact that the network keeps toggling between 3 and 3(3G).

Thats complete bull from them. We have two phone, both were on 4.0.1 and they told me to update to 4.0.2. I updated 1 and the 2g data still didn't work. Got a call from some guy from +44 083 3333333 (very strange I know) said his name was veereg or something and he told me that it was a provisioning issue with my account and the gprs settings were not configured correctly. He told me to switch the phone off and back on and see if the blue o showed up and it did. He rang me back and then he did the other phone on our account and then it worked so there was something wrong on the setup of each of the phones on 3s side that they had to configure and then it worked.

Agreed that the 3g to 2g issue is seriously annoying and hopefully that will be fixed soon.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,120 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Thats complete bull from them. We have two phone, both were on 4.0.1 and they told me to update to 4.0.2. I updated 1 and the 2g data still didn't work. Got a call from some guy from +44 083 3333333 (very strange I know) said his name was veereg or something and he told me that it was a provisioning issue with my account and the gprs settings were not configured correctly. He told me to switch the phone off and back on and see if the blue o showed up and it did. He rang me back and then he did the other phone on our account and then it worked so there was something wrong on the setup of each of the phones on 3s side that they had to configure and then it worked.

Agreed that the 3g to 2g issue is seriously annoying and hopefully that will be fixed soon.

Maybe they are working on an "across the board" fix of provisioning for all phones and f/w versions? I had this problem of not seeing 3G on a 3G iPhone and I still have it on the iP4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Steveirl2010

If not I'm returning my phone on Wednesday, and going to Vodafone. Iphone4 is great, 3 network not so much.

My experience so far:

3g at home (Swords), and in work (Glasnevin), and in city centre and on golf course in Donabate. No 3g in Rathdrum when I was camping at the wknd, which turned the iphone into a plain phone.

The internet works without any issues in Swords?

whiterebel wrote: »
    Maybe they are working on an "across the board" fix of provisioning for all phones and f/w versions? I had this problem of not seeing 3G on a 3G iPhone and I still have it on the iP4.

Maybe they are but if I didn't have my issue fixed I would be still ringing up to make sure they knew about it as opposed to just waiting to see if they do a fix for everybody.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,120 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

My experience so far:

I rang them as well. 35 minute call, went through everything with a very helpful guy who spoke with a dutch accent. He confirmed they know of the problem, but checked out the 3 signal in the area, the local masts for me etc. Their tier 2 reckon they will have a fix tomorrow.

I'm still not getting any 2G coverage and patchy 3G. Bizarrly I am finding Isle of Man carriers in my carrier searches!! Madness, I can find Manx telecoms but not 2g or decent 3G signal that will hold :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 stevebreslin

Three are moving to 4G soon

LTE? I thought that was seveal years from roll-out...phones haven't been made for it yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 stevebreslin

whiterebel wrote: »
    I rang them as well. 35 minute call, went through everything with a very helpful guy who spoke with a dutch accent. He confirmed they know of the problem, but checked out the 3 signal in the area, the local masts for me etc. Their tier 2 reckon they will have a fix tomorrow.

I've rang support every day in the last week on both these issues.

The staff in the 3 shops say you cannot get data unless you have a 3G signal (and 3 Ireland's "84% voice/text + 99% data coverage" ads would seem to back this up) BUT their technical support in India have contradicted this every time I rang them. Lately I've noticed occassionaly an 'o' appears by my signal bars (suposed to represent GPRS) and I can actually access data, albeit at excruciatingly slow speeds.

Regarding the issue of not automatically switching back to 3G when available, their latest suggestion is to use the worakaround of turning airplane mode on/off. Seriously, that is their current answer. Totally unacceptable if like me you're on the DART a lot or in a poor 3G-area and the signal is constantly switching from 3G to 2.5G.

My gut feeling after talking to them all week is:
    1. 2.5G data issue: They may get a fix or this in a few weeks, sounds liek they are actually looking into it.
    2. 3G switch: they have no idea how to fix this and are hoping their 'workaround' will keep people off their backs for a while.

Does anyone know of anyone who has an iphone4 with 3 Ireland who hasn't had this 3G switch issue?

I love the iphone4 but have regretted buying it on 3 Ireland. For the sake of a few quid, being tied to this broken nwetowrk for 18 months is not worth it. Hopefully I can cancel my contract this week before my 14 days are up.

I've rang support every day in the last week on both these issues.

The staff in the 3 shops say you cannot get data unless you have a 3G signal (and 3 Ireland's "84% voice/text + 99% data coverage" ads would seem to back this up) BUT their technical support in India have contradicted this every time I rang them. Lately I've noticed occassionaly an 'o' appears by my signal bars (suposed to represent GPRS) and I can actually access data, albeit at excruciatingly slow speeds.

Regarding the issue of not automatically switching back to 3G when available, their latest suggestion is to use the worakaround of turning airplane mode on/off. Seriously, that is their current answer. Totally unacceptable if like me you're on the DART a lot or in a poor 3G-area and the signal is constantly switching from 3G to 2.5G.

My gut feeling after talking to them all week is:
    1. 2.5G data issue: They may get a fix or this in a few weeks, sounds liek they are actually looking into it.
    2. 3G switch: they have no idea how to fix this and are hoping their 'workaround' will keep people off their backs for a while.

Does anyone know of anyone who has an iphone4 with 3 Ireland who hasn't had this 3G switch issue?

I love the iphone4 but have regretted buying it on 3 Ireland. For the sake of a few quid, being tied to this broken nwetowrk for 18 months is not worth it. Hopefully I can cancel my contract this week before my 14 days are up.

I have the same issue with my phone too. Never had the little circle and must be on 3G for data. I have wifi at home do its ok and usually picks up 3G when im out. In fairness, I had hoped to use the tethering facility on the phone and therefore get rid of my eircom BB to save a few quid but cant now. I must be in the 1% area with no 3G coverage!! ....according to threads on these boards that 1% area is friggin huge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭Ricky91t

I have the same issue with my phone too. Never had the little circle and must be on 3G for data. I have wifi at home do its ok and usually picks up 3G when im out. In fairness, I had hoped to use the tethering facility on the phone and therefore get rid of my eircom BB to save a few quid but cant now. I must be in the 1% area with no 3G coverage!! ....according to threads on these boards that 1% area is friggin huge

There are a huge number of limiting factors that will affect phone coverage, I was a vodafone customer and my house barely has any coverage 1 bar on edge usuaully and my 3 coverage is much better. If I move into one of the room in the older part of the house I loose coverage, and it drops back to edge, But If I go outside and stand right by that room I have 3G coverage, It's not 3's fault their masts can't transmit as strongly through building materials and things.

Also 1% of non coverage is 702km² which is quite alot...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭brophs

Quick question. My g/f is thinking of picking up an iPhone on Three. She lives right beside the Milltown Luas stop. I've suggested to her that she gets a Three sim to test the coverage/reception but she's away for a couple of weeks and I have a sneaking suspicion she'll get carried away and buy one without testing first. :)

Can anyone tell me how they find the coverage (3g and 2g) in that area/Dartry?

I've looked at the coverage map and it seems to suggest she'll have solid 2g in her apartment but possibly not 3g. But I've found these maps to be pretty inaccurate in the past.

Cheers.

It's not IPhone issue with switching to GSM. My Nokia e72 doing same **** in those places where coverage is poor.
    Have exactly same lasy week like Steve. Phone sometimes has circle beside reception bars but more often data is gone.
    I'm in bit better situation cos usualy have five bars even in my work place which is in Taghmon village ;)

If you don't want switch your ipone to plane mode and your iPhone is after jailbreak just instal Auto3G.

Regards!

brophs wrote: »

Quick question. My g/f is thinking of picking up an iPhone on Three. She lives right beside the Milltown Luas stop. I've suggested to her that she gets a Three sim to test the coverage/reception but she's away for a couple of weeks and I have a sneaking suspicion she'll get carried away and buy one without testing first. :)

Can anyone tell me how they find the coverage (3g and 2g) in that area/Dartry?

I've looked at the coverage map and it seems to suggest she'll have solid 2g in her apartment but possibly not 3g. But I've found these maps to be pretty inaccurate in the past.

Cheers.

http://www.three.ie/freesim/

You can visit my three for free with that, so it'll connect to three's network and you'll be able to see how it's connecting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭brophs

Ricky91t wrote: »
    http://www.three.ie/freesim/

You can visit my three for free with that, so it'll connect to three's network and you'll be able to see how it's connecting.

Cheers Ricky,

Unfortunately she's out of Dublin for a week off, so I can see her racing to the three store and getting the phone without testing the coverage in Dublin first.:)

brophs wrote: »
    Cheers Ricky,

Unfortunately she's out of Dublin for a week off, so I can see her racing to the three store and getting the phone without testing the coverage in Dublin first.:)

Post it to yourself, It'll make a nice gift :pac: