Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

BHAA Grant Thornton Firhouse 10km 11/09/2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭W.B. Yeats

Am, totally undecided now about running this.
    Haven't really run since Saturday- when my knee seized up at km 20 out of 21. Completed the distance as I had to hobble back to the car. Did about 4km on tuesday and knee was still dodgy. Had physio yesterday and he said that its just muscle irritation* from running long distance and that I can run away at shorter distances until the half.
    Its in my head though now and am sh1tting heading out this evening in case I aggravate this more.
    If I go well this evening I'd give it a thought to running on Saturday but it would only be as jog as opposed to a "race"

Decisions decisions

* there was a more complex definition and diagnosis but it amounted to irritation of the lateral quad muscle as it extends over the bone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,535 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

I'm giving into peer pressure from Krusty and putting my macmillian predicted time down based on a recent 10 mile race. I'll French kiss Krusty if I get anywhere near this time.
    Only if you can break 29 mins. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Only if you can break 29 mins. :)

I'd want a lot more than a French kiss for breaking 29 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Right so we have 7 teams.
    So provisionally* the teams are:
    1. The Road Runner and Shels4ever (86:47)
    2. Tunguska and Aimman (82:13)
    3. Krusty Clown and Dunkelgrun (81:43)
    4. ecoli and LouthandProud (79:30)
    5. smmoore and Plodder (80:00)
    6. Figs and Menoscemo (82:43)
    7. Liamo and Ral3 (82:29)

Can we arrange to meet up at the reg area at say 10:30 to meet with teammates? *There may be a few that don't show up so I'll print off a list of the runners and redraw on the day accordingly.

The winning team will be the one whose combined results is the lowest % of their mcmillan predicted result.

Great stuff. Myself and Shels consider ourselves boards celebrities. So just like you have brangelina and jedward could we please be referred to as TheRoad4Ever on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Don't like the sound of the other teams though...
    TungMan
    Krustygrun....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

RayCun wrote: »
    Don't like the sound of the other teams though... [\QUOTE]

The teams sound like some of the music coilitions in the charts at the moment

will 'Eminem and Snoop Dog' be showing up? or perhaps 'B.O.B and David Guetta' ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Ah sounds good to me, So we'll be all out in team colors tomorrow then, but going on some of theRoadrunners post we'll be topless with guns out.. don't think i'll fancy pinning the numbers on.

shels4ever wrote: »
    Ah sounds good to me, So we'll be all out in team colors tomorrow then, but going on some of theRoadrunners post we'll be topless with guns out.. don't think i'll fancy pinning the numbers on.

Well, I'm getting two Tungman costumes sewn up at the moment. Faster then a speeding bullet, prepare for a lickin! :p

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Might still pop out to this to watch and take a few snaps. The winning team can get a hug from me for their efforts. Much better than any trophy!

Aimman wrote: »
    Well, I'm getting two Tungman costumes sewn up at the moment. Faster then a speeding bullet, prepare for a lickin! :p

I'm scared to ask what Tugmans powers are.

Might still pop out to this to watch and take a few snaps. The winning team can get a hug from me for their efforts. Much better than any trophy!

You may end up getting the bumps! :-)
    I'm scared to ask what Tungmans powers are.

Me too. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭W.B. Yeats

Don't think I'm going to chance this
    Had a run last night and no problems but I'm not going to tempt fate. I may pop along for a watch though seeing as its just up the road

seems to be a lot of road works on the last K, hope they are finished before the day could be a bit of a bottle neck with traffic?
    jcsmum wrote: »
    Not likely, they've been at that road and roundabout forever. :rolleyes::(
    Traffic is awful over there.

Drove course last night myself. Still a lot of cones at that round about. Should be fine as long as it's marshaled properly. I'm actually amazed (in a good way) the organisers got permission to run this route. It's pretty busy and I can see the race holding traffic up big time
    Racman wrote: »
    Some information for intending runners:

1. The course is accurate - and certified as 10km. There is an amazing level of precision involved in measuring a course which I saw when the course was measured by a qualified measurer last weekend. Remarkably, after we picked a starting point on Ballycullen Drive, we ended up two laps later within 5 meters of that point for the finish line. There will be markers at each km.

Anybody know if the route is entirely on the road or does some of it go up on the footpaths? The paths up along the Firhosue road look wide enough to take the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Aimman I hope I'll do Tungman justice. Really dont know where I stand at the moment though, have only been doing easy running sessions since sundays national half. Have been pretty spent lately so needed the rest but have no idea how I'l fair, could be good.........could be not so good.

Drove course last night myself. Still a lot of cones at that round about. Should be fine as long as it's marshaled properly. I'm actually amazed (in a good way) the organisers got permission to run this route. It's pretty busy and I can see the race holding traffic up big time

Anybody know if the route is entirely on the road or does some of it go up on the footpaths? The paths up along the Firhosue road look wide enough to take the race.

Was all on the road last year, I helped out at it on the firhouse road and by lap 2 the traffic was backed up , good for runners not so good for cars.
    some of the slower runners were on the paths but that was 50+ min runners .

tunguska wrote: »
    Aimman I hope I'll do Tungman justice. Really dont know where I stand at the moment though, have only been doing easy running sessions since sundays national half. Have been pretty spent lately so needed the rest but have no idea how I'l fair, could be good.........could be not so good.

No worries, I wont put you under too much pressure and guilt, even if you are the (much) faster of the two of us.... ;)

Anyway, I'm still recovering from the Dingle 50M last weekend, and I just bought a new pair of runners, and a whole other heap of excuses that I written on a list somewhere here, I'll pick the best one on the day. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 389 ✭✭RAL3

Im afraid I wont be able to make this.

Apologies for the late notice but I've been abroad for the last week without web access and just got back this morning.

Have to bring RAL3 juniors to medical appt in the morning - sorry about that, best of luck to all.

RAL3 wrote: »
    Im afraid I wont be able to make this.

Apologies for the late notice but I've been abroad for the last week without web access and just got back this morning.

Have to bring RAL3 juniors to medical appt in the morning - sorry about that, best of luck to all.

Thanks for letting us know. As per earlier advice we can just make team 6 into a 3 man team so the teams are now:

1. The Road Runner and Shels4ever (86:47)
    2. Tunguska and Aimman (82:13)
    3. Krusty Clown and Dunkelgrun (81:43)
    4. ecoli and LouthandProud (79:30)
    5. smmoore and Plodder (80:00)
    6. Liamo, Figs and Menoscemo (123:23)

We still might have to adjust the teams on the day anyway.

Reminder for all to met near the reg desk at 10.30am to finalise the teams. For those who don't know any of us- some will be wearing blues Boards AC singlets

• Registered Users Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭jcsmum

So disappointed to be missing this race as it's across the road from me & I've ran it a good few times, but the 20 miler in the park must be done.
    Best of luck to everyone.

Not a bad morning to be waking up to this race, sunny but there are dark clouds loomng around the place.

Hmm... do I dress for hot or cold, dry or wet? Oh, the fashion dilemmas of running. Think I'll have to put jump leading onto my legs to get them moving today. They were under the impression they were getting a day off and a lie in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,535 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Way off the mark for my McMillan equivalent of my 10mile race, but pretty close to my original estimate (36:25). Minor PB (36:31'ish), but not the one I wanted, which will have to wait for another day. Was glad to see the finish line, in what I thought was a tough race, with those two drags into the wind. Nearly tempted to put the running shoes back on and head to Adamstown in the afternoon!

Congrats to the organizers. Very well run race. Nice to have the water at the 6k mark. Great value for €15, even if I wasn't particularly fond of the two laps. Job well done by the Gardai too. Nice to meet lots of other Boards posters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭figs

A tough race. With a stiff breeze on the uphill between 6km and 8km, I really felt it in the legs on the second lap. Managed to put a bit of an effort in towards the end to make it around in 39:48 by my timing. Will wait for the official times, but a PB and faster than the McMillan predicted time of 40:35. Obviously all this training is having some effect!

A very well organised race. Hats off to the BHAA. Another good job done. The biscuits and drinks afterwards were a nice touch.

Nice to put a few more faces to names. Hopefully will catch up with some of you again at the half marathon in Phoenix Park. Roll on next week... another PB is waiting!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,084 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Way off the mark for my McMillan equivalent of my 10mile race, but pretty close to my original estimate (36:25). Minor PB (36:31'ish), but not the one I wanted, which will have to wait for another day. Was glad to see the finish line, in what I thought was a tough race, with those two drags into the wind. Nearly tempted to put the running shoes back on and head to Adamstown in the afternoon!

Congrats to the organizers. Very well run race. Nice to have the water at the 6k mark. Great value for €15, even if I wasn't particularly fond of the two laps. Job well done by the Gardai too. Nice to meet lots of other Boards posters.

Great run all the same - interestingly the smart running calc would have you at [60.02 (10M time) / 3.46 (for 5k equiv) x 2.11 for 10k time = 36:37] maybe a closer predictor especially if you hadn't stopped for photographs before the end of the 10M ;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭huskerdu

My time was little bit off yours Krusty, but it was a PB of 57.45, so I was delighted as it was my first 10K in a year shaking off ITB syndrome.

Fair dues to the organisers. When's the next one ?

Very enjoyable day out today weather wasnt great rain and wind but was happy just to get around the course injury free. Wasnt happy with the time but thats my own fault for going mental for the first 2 miles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

was stuck on my own for the stretches into the wind and my mile splits really relected that. Good course and good organization pity the weather isnt the way it is now but sure what can you do builds character;)
    Congrats to anyone who got PBs today definitely not a day for it:p

DNF myself, bit of a groin strain, so I decided with DCM training that it is better to leave it for another day.

In the Boards AC competition it is going to come down to the wire between the team of The Road Runner and Shels4ever (they call themselve Road4ever but I prefer Shels4 the Road :p) and the team of Figs and Liamo123 (both guys got well under predicted time- well done on a very tough course!).

It is literally going to come down to a matter of seconds, so If all concerned could post their official chip times when they are published we can make a decision on the destinatio of the trophy for the next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭JosDel

My 1st 10k, really enjoyed, 53:35 happy with my time too..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

Results are up already:) www.bhaa.ie
    Figs in before me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭emerald007

Well the two of you beat me, and i was putting them up. Racman delivered a great race and i believe there is a prize envelope with the name "Boards" marked on it. Video and photo's to follow.

Official time for me of 39:44!:D One happy camper here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

figs wrote: »
    Official time for me of 39:44!:D One happy camper here!

...and to make you even happier we seem to have won a team prize (by default) as they have left Liam out of the results!:confused:

BP of 51:54 for me as well which I am delighted with. :D

Correct me if I'm Wrong, but from the results I get:

Figs (39:44)+ Liamo (40:08)= 79:52.
    Mcmillan predicted: 81:15 therefore their actual result is 98.3% of the McMillan predicted time.

RoadRunner (34:22) + Shels4ever (51:08) = 85:30.
    Mcmillan predicted 86:47 therefore their actual result is 98.52% of the McMillan predicted time.

I Therefore declare Figs and Liamo the 2nd Annual Boards Ac 10k team champions. Congrats Lads. You can collect your trophy from Peckham at The Pacers Base (FM104 unit) just before the half marathon next week.

geld wrote: »
    ...and to make you even happier we seem to have won a team prize (by default) as they have left Liam out of the results!:confused:

BP of 51:54 for me as well which I am delighted with. :D

Well done on the PB. The wind made it hard. There's definitely a good bit more to shave off on another day.

Just a guess, but they may have confused Liam with another runner... similar named runner positioned about the same time he finished in. I'm sure he'll be contesting it, given he's in contention for finishing top of his league.

menoscemo wrote: »
    Correct me if I'm Wrong, but from the results I get:

Figs (39:44)+ Liamo (40:08)= 79:52.
    Mcmillan predicted: 81:15 therefore their actual result is 98.3% of the McMillan predicted time.

RoadRunner (34:22) + Shels4ever (51:08) = 85:30.
    Mcmillan predicted 86:47 therefore their actual result is 98.52% of the McMillan predicted time.

I Therefore declare Figs and Liamo the 2nd Annual Boards Ac 10k team champions. Congrats Lads. You can collect your trophy from Peckham at The Pacers Base (FM104 unit) just before the half marathon next week.

And I thought this day couldn't get any better...

Wow, a pretty close contest in the end. Well done to all the rest of the boardies running today. Was nice to meet a few more of the posters. Hopefully will catch up and meet some more of you next Sat.

Now... must buy lotto ticket for tonight! :D

I'm calling for a stewards enquiry. The winning team were a 3 man team with a dnf;)

Great race today. Super organisation. Only complaint was the wind but that's mother nature for you. Pb by nearly 39 seconds for me so I'm happy out

I'm calling for a stewards enquiry. The winning team were a 3 man team with a dnf;)

The Stewards were already called after the race and your challenge was over-ruled :p

menoscemo wrote: »
    The Stewards were already called after the race and your challenge was over-ruled :p

I want an appeal.

Figs has just tested positive for EPO so I think that cup is on the way to me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Good day out and very well organised, pity about the wind, 42.09 for me, report on my log now.

2 lap courses arent for me though. running into the wind and up the slope (although) very gentle twice is not fun. I prefer exploring rather than knowing whats coming when racing. just more mentally draining.

Figs has just tested positive for EPO so I think that cup is on the way to me...

I want the second sample tested... the one with the energise sport in it!

Second sample back positive for coke and viagra.. not sure what you were doing today....;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Second sample back positive for coke and viagra.. not sure what you were doing today....;)

Coke was used in the eighties for high jumpers for a bit of spring so the only logical conclusion............ he is taking up pole vaulting:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Think we wouldve had an easier day over in Adamstown judging by the results............

tunguska wrote: »
    Think we wouldve had an easier day over in Adamstown judging by the results............

Was just looking at the results myself looks like it was a good battle between the first 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭plodder

That was my first race since before the Summer. So, I didn't know what to expect. 42:57 and a new PB. Pleased with that considering I wasn't feeling that great. Sometimes, I reckon it takes the all-out effort of a race to shake off the cobwebs.

Nice to meet a lot of the boardsies there as well, though I had to head off early unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

And I thought this day couldn't get any better...

Wow, a pretty close contest in the end. Well done to all the rest of the boardies running today. Was nice to meet a few more of the posters. Hopefully will catch up and meet some more of you next Sat.

Now... must buy lotto ticket for tonight! :D

great run Figs but sorry to say u did'nt win the lotto :)

Tough tough course..wind was a killer but delighted with pb in the conditions..well organised and nice spread afterwards.. Nice to meet up with the boardies before and after..

• Registered Users Posts: 972 ✭✭✭stmochtas

Was just looking at the results myself looks like it was a good battle between the first 2.

Heard your name called out for a spot prize. I am sure you can pick it up at the next race.