Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fianna Fail voters "Always and Forever"

• 06-08-2010 3:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭

I have created this thread just out of a matter of interest really.

Fianna Fail supporters are well known for never backing down on supporting their party. The thing is come the next election will they get back down??

I have talked to a few friends who will still vote them even after they have ruined the country and destroyed a generation. They will still vote them, not because there is no alternative but simple because they will ALWAYS vote FF.

How many FF voters (idiots) on here would still vote them back in??

Are we to expected another FF Government in the next election??

As the JJ72 song goes "Always and Forever, my home"
    Tagged:

• Registered Users Posts: 590 ✭✭✭chelseavera

This is EXACTLY the danger - they should have been booted out in the last 2 elections.... everyone knew THEN about the corruption which they wore like a badge of honour around then. I'm not counting my chickens - and furthermore Bertie would be elected president if he stands. Irish people seem to admire 'cute hoors' and 'chancers'. Sad but true.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,851 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Well if you solely think FF are responsible for messing the country up then your the bigger idiot.

I cant wait for FG get in next time around and see ye all give out about them etc.

Bigger the idiot that thinks there is a difference between FG, FF and Labour.

All parties are corrupted as each other.

PS Not a FF supporter but knows that none of the parties differ!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

Well if you solely think FF are responsible for messing the country up then your the bigger idiot.

I cant wait for FG get in next time around and see ye all give out about them etc.

Thanks for the insult. They are the Government. Does that not count for anything?? They are in charge of the Regulators.

I presume you are referring to the banks??

Not a FF supporter?? Why are you protecting them so much??

Did I say the solely are to blame? They certainly are the main ones to blame. They were in charge for years for god sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭liammur

People support FF like the way people support a team such as man utd. Fierce loyalty.

It's worrying, and FF exploit this.

It's lucky actually FF won the last election, otherwise FF would be in power for as long as they wanted.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭McTigs

Too right! That Labour tent at the Galway Races has a lot to answer for.

No party is faultless but when it comes to corruption, cronyism, self service, incompetence and downright dishonesty FF are in a league of their own.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,223 ✭✭✭Nate--IRL--

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

NickDrake wrote: »

Fianna Fail supporters are well known for never backing down on supporting their party. The thing is come the next election will they get back down??

I have talked to a few friends who will still vote them even after they have ruined the country and destroyed a generation. They will still vote them, not because there is no alternative but simple because they will ALWAYS vote FF.

And just out of a matter of interest, how many FF supporters do you think will reply to a thread in which you call them idiots in the opening post?

1 anyway. YOU

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Bit of a difference there

So are you genuinely asking or just ranting?

To answer it somewhat, a lot of people vote for the candidate and not the party.
    If they happen to be a member of FF then that isn't the most important point people consider.
    Michael Lowry was booted out of his party, his supporters vote for the man and didn't leave him when he left the party. Beverly Cooper Flynn was returned. Blaney in Donegal.
    Maybe it's a rural thing, people want the candidate, never mind the party

Also, FF are well organized at cummann level. So people get to participate in their local level, this draws people to their party.
    There are many rural areas where Labour haven't had a TD in 20 years and they've pretty much no organization at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭royston_vasey

liammur wrote: »
    People support FF like the way people support a team such as man utd. Fierce loyalty.

It's worrying, and FF exploit this.

It's lucky actually FF won the last election, otherwise FF would be in power for as long as they wanted.

In fairness this loyalty extends across the whole country and is not confined to a particular party, e.g. Beverly Cooper-Flynn, Michael Lowry, and I've no doubt that John O'Donoghue will be elected in the next election if he stands.

It's the gob****e politics that cripples this country whereby people are only interested on a local level and this myopic voting results in the national interest being ignored in favour of the local interest. This is endemic to the whole country and we have had recent examples of it with regards to FG with ppl in the West claiming that Enda Kenny didn't satisfy the Dublin criteria; we can also be assured that if he does become Taoiseach that resources will suddenly be diverted West asap.

With regards to the last election I did vote FF as they were the party that actually promised less than the others and let's not forget that all of them were assuming growth of 4% p.a. Another factor that influenced my decision was the pitiful performance of Enda Kenny in the debates where Bertie wiped the floor with him. Come the next round of debates I wager that both Cowen and Gilmore will inflict the same punishment upon him as I think social policies will take a backseat to economic policies in the mind of the electorate.

With regards to me being a FF voter in the last election I honestly couldn't vote for them in the next election but at the same time I cannot see myself voting for the other two main parties also, I can see myself voting for independents and Sinn Fein with the hope that others do the same and that these representatives would do the honourable and moral thing if they are in a position to dictate future government policy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rubik.

I think we will find out the exact size of ff's core supporters in the next general election, because nobody else is going to vote for them. And I wouldn't worry OP, there is absolutely no chance of them being part of the next Government.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,871 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

It is this kind of crap from the electorate that has us in the situation we are in. Everyone was delighted to have FF in government when the boom was getting "boomier" and they could do no wrong. The corruption and all the rest was plain to see then but we chose to turn a blind eye to it. Now the sh1t has hit the fan and now everyone involved with FF should be run out of the country. Perhaps we should elect our representatives based on the calibre of the candidates running and select those we as individuals feel best reflect our own views. Voting for someone just because I dont like that other shower so this other guy must be better is no way to elect the leaders of a country but seems to be the only way we know how to do it. Maybe we should stop trying to influence how everyone else votes (there are enough FF bashing threads and although there probably is a market for several more they dont really achieve much) and find out about the candidates we can vote for in the next election and select the person I feel is best fit to represent me. Let those who get elected (they should in theory at least be the best in the country) form a government whatever way they can. If we continue to elect governments based on warped reasoning we will continue to get crap governments.

Some v good points there royston.

I remember the '02 debate though and noonan wiped the floor with ahern and it made no difference.

I couldn't post this on the GAA thread or they'd all go bananas, but I think the GAA in many ways have ruined this country, unintentionally of course.

It's all about 'your parish', 'county' etc, fine in sport, but it manifests itself hugely onto the political landscape.

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    It is this kind of crap from the electorate that has us in the situation we are in. Everyone was delighted to have FF in government when the boom was getting "boomier" and they could do no wrong. The corruption and all the rest was plain to see then but we chose to turn a blind eye to it. Now the sh1t has hit the fan and now everyone involved with FF should be run out of the country. Perhaps we should elect our representatives based on the calibre of the candidates running and select those we as individuals feel best reflect our own views. Voting for someone just because I dont like that other shower so this other guy must be better is no way to elect the leaders of a country but seems to be the only way we know how to do it. Maybe we should stop trying to influence how everyone else votes (there are enough FF bashing threads and although there probably is a market for several more they dont really achieve much) and find out about the candidates we can vote for in the next election and select the person I feel is best fit to represent me. Let those who get elected (they should in theory at least be the best in the country) form a government whatever way they can. If we continue to elect governments based on warped reasoning we will continue to get crap governments.

EVERYONE??? am come on now. There were plenty calling for a change in the last election but the good times were too good for the FF heads and so many of the unskilled.

Do not paint everyone with the same brush

• Registered Users Posts: 3,687 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

Rubik. wrote: »
    I think we will find out the exact size of ff's core supporters in the next general election, because nobody else is going to vote for them. And I wouldn't OP, there is absolutely no chance of them being part of the next Government.

Let's not forget the next election is 2 years away and alot can happen in two years. People in this country dont' vote on national issues, they vote on local problems and traditional trends. To this end, I would not be surprised to see FF re elected next time round.

The only thing I'm worried about is labour in power and the possibility of socialist governance. Other than that, I'm not too pushed who gets in because there's very little difference and I don't have the desire to see FF ousted simply to make myself feel better. FG could get in tomorrow but we'd still have high unemployment, dodgy banks and a deficit to deal with so it's just a matter of deciding which slice of the same cake we want.

Until we get a party of non-populist realists going for the big chairs, I will remain rather less than concerned about the whole thing.

Another thing that shouldn't be forgotten is FF are very good for looking after own! Might explain a thing or two.

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭royston_vasey

liammur,

If you recall in 02 FF were still on the up and the Drumcondra mafia were in full swing, there was also the Hep C scandal that Noonan was central to.

I actually agree with you in relation to the GAA and the parish/local culture that prevails and being a Dub you can feel the hatred being directed to you by the rest of the 31 counties. I think it's a general thing though in the Irish psyche, from my experience in business we are very weak in looking longterm and engaging in any form of strategic planning. As for trying to introduce any change management strategies we can see just how entrenched the system is and how the elite in the country will resist this at any cost, regardless of their political or social persuasions.

Would agree with you royston.

The likes of munster rugby was great for the country, took away lots of the 'local' boundaries.

EVERYONE??? am come on now. There were plenty calling for a change in the last election but the good times were too good for the FF heads and so many of the unskilled.

Do not paint everyone with the same brush

You are the one who is painting everyone with the same brus. Well FF people at least. So you would rather vote for a completely incompetant Labour or FG candidate than an excellent and proven FF candidate who has no black marks next to his name. This is the kind of thinking that gets us crap governments, be they FF, FG, Labour or a mix of everything. The thing with PR is we get what we deserve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

1 anyway. YOU
    Never voted FF in my life. Voted Labour in the last election actually. I don't support or am I a member of any party.

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Gijoe

liammur,

I think it's a general thing though in the Irish psyche, from my experience in business we are very weak in looking longterm and engaging in any form of strategic planning.

100% correct and right. Does anyone here know what FFs plan for the country for the next 20/50 years is? I doubt they have one

Any plans that may have been there have to be radically altered now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

Fianna Fail tried to lose the last election, it backfired on them and Bertie put another puppet in command with the plan to 'come back' and steer the county back to the way HE had it ....

And on the subjects of puppets, the first words from Bertie were, 'more over Mary, thanks keeping the Áras warm for me ......'

You are the one who is painting everyone with the same brus. Well FF people at least. So you would rather vote for a completely incompetant Labour or FG candidate than an excellent and proven FF candidate who has no black marks next to his name. This is the kind of thinking that gets us crap governments, be they FF, FG, Labour or a mix of everything. The thing with PR is we get what we deserve.

No interest in any of the other parties. I want to know why people can not steer away from FF.

I think most FF voters are pretty similar and can be painting with one big brush bought in B&Q

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭McDougal

Yep get Fine gael in to office and everything will be fine:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

1 anyway. YOU

Boom boom.

There are no excellent proven ff TDs.

Every ff td, councillor, senator and member has a black mark against their name for continuing membership and support of an organisation that condones, nay sometimes sanctions, unethical behaviour, misuse of public funds, fraud, tax evasion, lying to courts/tribunals and sometimes downright corruption from his leading members.
    Look at the list of leading ff members who have dragged the name of politics through the gutter through their behaviour ; haughey, burke, ahern, lawlor, flynn snr, flynn jnr, ellis, mcdaid, foley, fahey, callely, o'dea, o'donoghue, dempsey, cullen.

How much have these individuals cost the Irish state, the amount must now be in the billions and that is not even counting the mess ahern, cowen and lenihan have created.
    Never voted FF in my life. Voted Labour in the last election actually. I don't support or am I a member of any party.

Never knew Labour supporters were such champions of lenihan and his brand of socialism for the rich.
    I would hate to see how many supporting posts you would make if you really were a supporter/member.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Well hopefully the tide is turning. I know one local who used to canvass and defend FF, and he has turned his back on them and talks about them with disgust in his voice these days.

We live in hope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

.....an excellent and proven FF candidate who has no black marks next to his name.

Right up there with a unicorn.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 932 ✭✭✭paddyland

Every day that FF remain in power costs this country dearly, both in money, and in the breakdown of society as people become ever more desperate and scramble to protect themselves rather than pull together as a community.

However - albeit an enormous, stupefying price to pay - there is one thing to be gained by Fianna Fáil hanging in for the duration of their term. That is, while every day they survive this country pays, every day they survive they actually damage themselves more. It will have been a dear price to pay, but we just might manage to finally blow them wide open, and expose the rot they have always stood for. For generations, Fianna Fáil have divided this country, and created an artificial, warped and ruinous 'them and us' mentality.

This country has NEVER pulled together as a community under Fianna Fáil. Why share out the good of the country, when a small band can club together and engineer an unfair advantage for themselves, to the detriment of everyone else? Fianna Fáil have always traded on keeping the good of the country within the 'club.' Anyone who votes Fianna Fáil, votes because they personally gained at the expense of their neighbour, because they understand the 'them and us' mentality, and are determined to be in the 'club,' or out of a stupid and dated football type tribal mentality that must always bring the Sam Maguire home to 'our' county, and bash the 'others,' no matter that the 'others' are actually our own countrymen.

The longer Cowen holds on, the more damage he does to himself, to his cabinet, and to his party. We are paying heavily for this, but hopefully, by taking that massive hit, in the long term we will lance that blasted party from the political scene for good, and have a balanced left/right debate, without the cronyism and selfishness that Fianna Fáil have engendered for generations.

jmayo wrote: »
    There are no excellent proven ff TDs.
    Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Right up there with a unicorn.......

You miss my point entirely. Whether or not you think there are any excellent proven FF TDs is irrelevant. The point I was making is that if we continue to vote for people purely based on the opinion that "well I dont like this party so this other party is obviously the solution to all our problems" we are going to continue to get crap governments.