Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sepam Stonethrowers Rally 2010

• 09-08-2010 6:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭

As a resident of the town centre of Clonmel, I didn't get much sleep over the weekend thanks to some of the considerate, sensitive bunch of people who follow this event. Up till three a.m. on Sunday morning, my family and I were kept awake with the sound of incredibly loud revving of modified cars. It was a still night so these cars could be heard all over the valley for hours.
    Then on Sunday, while visiting a friend who lives on the Dungarvan Road in the Kilmacomma/Russellstown area, we were treated to the spectacle of the competitor cars travelling to and from that day's stage. Most of these cars seemed to me to be travelling way in excess of the 80 km per hour speed limit on this road. (I don't have a speed gun but some of these fellas were really travellin) It was a noisy and dangerous spectacle on a narrow main road.
    I used to think that it was just a small, toe-rag element that caused bother at these things - now I'm not so sure.
    I don't know why Sepam bother with this event at all - they could just as easily spend their money hiring goons to hassle families in their homes and possibly kill or seriously injure a pedestrian/cyclist or child.
    P.S. I know there's revving and noise every weekend but this weekend was very much worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭questionmark?

As a resident of the town centre of Clonmel, I didn't get much sleep over the weekend thanks to some of the considerate, sensitive bunch of people who follow this event. Up till three a.m. on Sunday morning, my family and I were kept awake with the sound of incredibly loud revving of modified cars. It was a still night so these cars could be heard all over the valley for hours.
    Then on Sunday, while visiting a friend who lives on the Dungarvan Road in the Kilmacomma/Russellstown area, we were treated to the spectacle of the competitor cars travelling to and from that day's stage. Most of these cars seemed to me to be travelling way in excess of the 80 km per hour speed limit on this road. (I don't have a speed gun but some of these fellas were really travellin) It was a noisy and dangerous spectacle on a narrow main road.
    I used to think that it was just a small, toe-rag element that caused bother at these things - now I'm not so sure.
    I don't know why Sepam bother with this event at all - they could just as easily spend their money hiring goons to hassle families in their homes and possibly kill or seriously injure a pedestrian/cyclist or child.
    P.S. I know there's revving and noise every weekend but this weekend was very much worse.

I'm sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the noise. All rally competitors would have have their cars parked up and would not have being revving their cars at 3 in the morning.

In between stages they are giving enough time from when they finish a stage to get to the next one legally and thus should not be speeding. Although how many people really go 48mph(80kph) on these roads anyway <not an excuse but dont single people just because their driving a rally car. You should condemn all.

If there was revving at 3 in the morning these were just individuals in private cars and should have being reported to the guards.

You also say the centre of town? The rally was based in the park hotel with services at powerstwon racecourse both well away from the town centre which again points to non-race competitors creating this noise.

Having lived in the town for a number of years i find that on any still night not just on a pre-rally night the sound of the local boy racers can be heard clearly.

I think to blame noise on the holding of a rally and saying "easily spend their money hiring goons to hassle families in their homes" is unfair and unjustified.

Rallys are a very populer event in this country and give many an outlet, that otherwise would not have a way into motorsport or just to simply view it. Not to mention the fact the money that it helps bring into the local economy and the fact that it can be a great family day out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭TimmyTarmac

Yeah, I know it was non-competitors who were doing the revving in the early hours of Sunday. Yes, I mentioned that it is a troublesome feature of life every weekend but it was worse - much worse - this weekend past.
    It is the case that the holding of an event such as this does bring what I would call an undesirable element with it and we had that this weekend. Can the sponsors and officals just shrug their shoulders and forget about this?
    The drivers may be given enough time to get from one stage to the next but many of these drivers were speeding in fantastically loud cars - of course along with other drivers. You would think that in a painted up Ford Escort with sponsors names on them, these people should show better example - but alas not.
    And yes, the hoary old chestnut about this event bringing in revenue into the local economy. If a person had lost his/her life because of the antics of some young fella in a honda civic inspired by one of his heroes or because of one the rally cars tearing off to the next stage - let me suggest that the price maybe too high.

I can honestly say that it didn't seem any worse than other weekends and you may be overreacting. I bet theirs people in the town that didnt even know there was a rally taking place. Lucklily the bad element that try to claim to be fans were more than likely not around or if they were maybe just on the sunday, as it wasnt a weekend event like the rally of the lakes, galway or donegal and so they would not have being staying overnight. Which means that it was our local scanger population.

I must say i disagree with your stereotype of a young fella in a honda civic, trust me look at the boyracer cars around this town and you will see many of them are in fact young girls tearing around the town not just boys.

To the untrained eyes and ears when you see one of these rally cars going past you at 60 it looks and sounds much faster because of the design and the noise and should be remembered.

I fear i may be replying to somebody that is anti-rallying due to this "You would think that in a painted up Ford Escort" <they couldnt be further from painted up cars if they tried.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 483 ✭✭tom thum

I can honestly say that it didn't seem any worse than other weekends and you may be overreacting. I bet theirs people in the town that didnt even know there was a rally taking place. Lucklily the bad element that try to claim to be fans were more than likely not around or if they were maybe just on the sunday, as it wasnt a weekend event like the rally of the lakes, galway or donegal and so they would not have being staying overnight. Which means that it was our local scanger population.

I must say i disagree with your stereotype of a young fella in a honda civic, trust me look at the boyracer cars around this town and you will see many of them are in fact young girls tearing around the town not just boys.

To the untrained eyes and ears when you see one of these rally cars going past you at 60 it looks and sounds much faster because of the design and the noise and should be remembered.

I fear i may be replying to somebody that is anti-rallying due to this "You would think that in a painted up Ford Escort" <they couldnt be further from painted up cars if they tried.
    i agree with everything you have said in the last 2 posts. its easy to blame the rally for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Cat Melodeon

It would help though if the likes of the rally organisers/drivers got involved with what you charmingly call the 'local scanger population' and put on a few events aimed at educating young drivers. Put on a few demos, show them how to do cool stuff with their cars, but above all else drill home how uncool it is to act the dick on the roads. This would be useful not just as a PR exercise, but could make a difference to local residents, to boy/girl racers and to road accident/nuisance stats.

I'm not anti-rallying - good luck to all involved. It's not my cuppa tea but neither is coursing or cycling but those sports also have significant events based in Clonmel during the year.
    I felt that the level of noise last Saturday in the Town Centre was a lot higher than on an average one (when there is of course still plenty of modified car noise). You say you didn't notice, questionmark?. Fine, we'll have to agree to differ.
    When the Coursing takes place, I don't notice this. When the Suir Valley 3 Day cycle race takes place on the August bank holiday weekend, I don't notice this.
    Do I stay awake on the eve of the Stonethrowers to be outraged? I don't think so, but I know my young children do not. They were awake and upset by thunderous noise on the streets. As I said, I accept the competitors were not involved, but it's a bit of a coinicidence that it should happen the same weekend.
    As for the speeding on the Dungarvan Road (80kmh) by competitors going to and from the Stage in Russellstown, as an expierenced driver, I feel many of them were (with many other 'ordinary' cars, it must be said).
    You suggest, questionmark?, that my eyes and ears were probably decieving me. That's great, thanks for allaying all my fears about the staging of the Stonethrowers Rally in Clonmel.
    I'll take your implicit advice and get medication from my doctor and forget about the whole damn thing and stop being a crank.

You go do that ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭ferguson

I'm sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the noise. All rally competitors would have have their cars parked up and would not have being revving their cars at 3 in the morning.

In between stages they are giving enough time from when they finish a stage to get to the next one legally and thus should not be speeding. Although how many people really go 48mph(80kph) on these roads anyway <not an excuse but dont single people just because their driving a rally car. You should condemn all.

If there was revving at 3 in the morning these were just individuals in private cars and should have being reported to the guards.

You also say the centre of town? The rally was based in the park hotel with services at powerstwon racecourse both well away from the town centre which again points to non-race competitors creating this noise.

Having lived in the town for a number of years i find that on any still night not just on a pre-rally night the sound of the local boy racers can be heard clearly.

I think to blame noise on the holding of a rally and saying "easily spend their money hiring goons to hassle families in their homes" is unfair and unjustified.

Rallys are a very populer event in this country and give many an outlet, that otherwise would not have a way into motorsport or just to simply view it. Not to mention the fact the money that it helps bring into the local economy and the fact that it can be a great family day out.
    i would question if they should be allowed to drive those cars with that noise on a public road. saw some on bypass saturday and noise was unbelieveble. behind a nervous driver they could distract them. they should not be allowed on an open public road. the road us for all and just because there is a a rally people should not be inconvenienced. if they want to race let them go to a race track

In think you should write to the tipp motor club or whover runs this event

ferguson wrote: »
    behind a nervous driver they could distract them.

If a driver gets nervous and distracted over a loud exhaust then to be fair they shouldn't be on the road.
    they should not be allowed on an open public road. the road us for all and just because there is a a rally people should not be inconvenienced. if they want to race let them go to a race track

Thus stop every rally in the country and around the world????? :confused:

And btw they only "race" on closed roads!

If a driver gets nervous and distracted over a loud exhaust then to be fair they shouldn't be on the road.
    true but if you see 3 or four of them coming up behind you at the speed they were on the bypass i could understand a l driver being nervous. as to which of them should bot be on the road at the bypass on sat, i know who i would choose between l driver and rally car.BTW I am not a l driver but at one point there were 3 in succesion on the bypass
    Thus stop every rally in the country and around the world?????
    :confused:well the roads are public and everyone wants safer roads.why should anyone group take over a public road?
    And btw they only "race" on closed roads!
    the road at the bypass was not closed and it is debatable as to whether they were racing

true but if you see 3 or four of them coming up behind you at the speed they were on the bypass i could understand a l driver being nervous. as to which of them should bot be on the road at the bypass on sat, i know who i would choose between l driver and rally car.BTW I am not a l driver but at one point there were 3 in succesion on the bypass

I dont accept that. If your nervous because of three loud cars then please leave the roads to drivers that are capable of driving. Would these learner drivers be intimadted by one of those chopper bikes like harleys or some other hog. Because damn they are loud.

:confused:well the roads are public and everyone wants safer roads.why should anyone group take over a public road?

I really dont understand this comment. Rallys have being taking place all around the world since the early 1900's not long after the car was invented and yet your suggest that rallys are a bad idea and shouldnt happen???
    the road at the bypass was not closed and it is debatable as to whether they were racing

Its not debatable. They werent racing they were moving from their service park at the racecourse back out the road to were the closed stages were. Simple.

If you want to see racing on the bypass then check out the boy/girl racers in their crap jap boxes late at night, every week.

The competitors may not have been racing on the Bypass, but you can be sure a fair number of them were speeding as they were on the Dungarvan road, bringing the event into disrepute.
    But thats okay according to questionmark?, we imagined all of it and anyway those boy/girl racers are worse!
    Nothing to talk about here folks, the rallying fraternity are angels and we should be bloody glad to have them.

The competitors may not have been racing on the Bypass, but you can be sure a fair number of them were speeding as they were on the Dungarvan road, bringing the event into disrepute.
    But thats okay according to questionmark?, we imagined all of it and anyway those boy/girl racers are worse!
    Nothing to talk about here folks, the rallying fraternity are angels and we should be bloody glad to have them.

Can you provide a quote where i said i support speeding on the dungarven road.

I didnt say that at any stage.

Your problem here is i'm being realistic whereas your just coming across as anti-rallying.

Rally competitors arent really a problem if you want to give out about something address the boy/girl racers as i have said.

As i also said in an earlier post it is unfair and unjustified to be singling out the holding of a succesful and safe event that is, wheter you agree or not, a great family day out that helped to bring money into the economy of a town that is slowly dying on its feet.

I see no problems being reported and people that are giving out about this event are in a small minorty and usually give out about everything.

Its not debatable. They werent racing they were moving from their service park at the racecourse back out the road to were the closed stages were. Simple.
    we are not allowed debate? says who? you? on what authority?you do not know if they were or not unless you were at all place at all times. I am not wasting this anymore as your mind is closed to any criticism. IMO if they want to race let them go on a track. i am entitled to haver an opinion
    If you want to see racing on the bypass then check out the boy/girl racers in their crap jap boxes late at night, every week.
    where did i say i want to see it.?

And yes, the hoary old chestnut about this event bringing in revenue into the local economy. let me suggest that the price maybe too high.If a person had lost his/her life because of the antics of some young fella in a honda civic inspired by one of his heroes or because of one the rally cars tearing off to the next stage -

we are not allowed debate? says who? you? on what authority?you do not know if they were or not unless you were at all place at all times. I am not wasting this anymore as your mind is closed to any criticism. IMO if they want to race let them go on a track. i am entitled to haver an opinion

where did i say i want to see it.?

:rolleyes: Oh dear i think this is a face palm moment! :rolleyes:

Good plan, questionmark?, keep the palm to the face and you'll see no problems and can continue to dismiss them.

Your starting to become a troll now. Go do some research for yourself on the facts about how a rally is run, the competitors, costs, accidents by rally car competitors in between stages, competitors race penalties for speeding between races, lack of garda objections to rally events, number of people killed by rally cars in between stages, how rally cars arent painted up ford escorts but highly expensive machinery, benefits to the local economy etc etc...

I'm not the one sneering at other posters with your facepalm and your obvious hilarity at my ignorant description of a rally standard Ford Escort.
    I highlighted what I highlighted (essentially anti-social behaviour and speeding) linked,in my view, with the 2010 Sepam Stonethrowers Rally, which was a concern for me.
    I have no interest in a nuts and bolts review of rallying in Ireland.
    With that, I'll leave you to your oily jumpsuit (tight around the middle), moustache, and Ford Escort Mk II Group 4 tarmac spec and wish you, above all, safety on the road.

I'm not the one sneering at other posters with your facepalm and your obvious hilarity at my ignorant description of a rally standard Ford Escort.

My apologies but i dont believe i was sneering!
    With that, I'll leave you to your oily jumpsuit (tight around the middle), moustache, and Ford Escort Mk II Group 4 tarmac spec

Double standards hey. I never set out to insult you but you made sure to have a go at me and not my posts! (btw i cant say i look anything like that)
    I highlighted what I highlighted (essentially anti-social behaviour and speeding) linked,in my view, with the 2010 Sepam Stonethrowers Rally, which was a concern for me.

And i disputed this as i find that you have showed a distinct understanding of the difference between a rally and genuine anti-social behavior.

I didnt suggest that i rather suggested that you look at the aspects that are concerning you which i outlined in my previous post.
    and wish you, above all, safety on the road.

and to you too.

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭Evo

Let me clear something up here.

Watch these.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8DCP_E_J8A0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mSy0lxfWWMo

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AcMC-jAF-2o

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-bXb1IT7gY8&feature=related

As you can see the events above are far worse then what happens at rallies.

It may appear the cars are speeding on the Dungarvan road but the shape and noise of these cars make them look faster than they are. Drivers are warned the morning of the event not to speed and Gardai are generally on the routes doing speed checks.

People speed on our roads everyday, its the unfortunate reality, rally drivers on a whole, are respectable of the speed limit because, as rally drivers, they know more than most road users the devastation of a car accident.

As for the noise in the town afterwards, take that up with the Gardai and if you think boy/girl racers hero's are rally drivers, you have a major misunderstanding of the sport. I think the hooligans that destroy and disrupt towns after games is far worse than.

Evo wrote: »
    Let me clear something up here.

Watch these.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8DCP_E_J8A0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mSy0lxfWWMo

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AcMC-jAF-2o

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-bXb1IT7gY8&feature=related

As you can see the events above are far worse then what happens at rallies.

It may appear the cars are speeding on the Dungarvan road but the shape and noise of these cars make them look faster than they are. Drivers are warned the morning of the event not to speed and Gardai are generally on the routes doing speed checks.

People speed on our roads everyday, its the unfortunate reality, rally drivers on a whole, are respectable of the speed limit because, as rally drivers, they know more than most road users the devastation of a car accident.

As for the noise in the town afterwards, take that up with the Gardai and if you think boy/girl racers hero's are rally drivers, you have a major misunderstanding of the sport. I think the hooligans that destroy and disrupt towns after games is far worse than.
    there weren no gardai on the bypass. everyone is warned not to speed. Do they?

With that, I'll leave you to your oily jumpsuit (tight around the middle), moustache, and Ford Escort Mk II Group 4 tarmac spec and wish you, above all, safety on the road.
    the sneer is just to neutralise the argument. like you i will be leaving qm to his sneers

Your starting to become a troll now..
    another attempt to neutralise the argument. sneer or call someone a troll because they have a different opinion is you only answer?

the sneer is just to neutralise the argument. like you i will be leaving qm to his sneers

You mean sneers like the above comment?
    another attempt to neutralise the argument. sneer or call someone a troll because they have a different opinion is you only answer?

Incorrect. First it is not an argument rather this is a thread where the Original Post is being discussed.

I had made that comment as TT had only being saying the same thing the whole time and in no way could widen the discussion or understand the realities involved. Repeating the same comment over and over without providing proof and trying to insult me with such comments as "I'll leave you to your oily jumpsuit (tight around the middle), moustache".
    That sure seems like troll-like behaviour to me.

Now if you would like to continue the discussion about the issues raised in the original and subsequent posts in a adult like manner then please do so.

You mean sneers like the above comment?

Incorrect. First it is not an argument rather this is a thread where the Original Post is being discussed.

I had made that comment as TT had only being saying the same thing the whole time and in no way could widen the discussion or understand the realities involved. Repeating the same comment over and over without providing proof and trying to insult me with such comments as "I'll leave you to your oily jumpsuit (tight around the middle), moustache".
    That sure seems like troll-like behaviour to me.

Now if you would like to continue the discussion about the issues raised in the original and subsequent posts in a adult like manner then please do so.
    you are the one who departed adult discusion with your facepalm sneer. so do go back to your jump suit etc i am not bothering with your childish arguments anymore

• Registered Users Posts: 603 ✭✭✭metalgear2k2

Look, if you were disturbed on the weekend in question why didn’t you ring the gardai and make a complaint? What the hell is the point on coming on to a forum and crying about it after the fact?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭wobbles

i would question if they should be allowed to drive those cars with that noise on a public road. saw some on bypass saturday and noise was unbelieveble. behind a nervous driver they could distract them. they should not be allowed on an open public road. the road us for all and just because there is a a rally people should not be inconvenienced. if they want to race let them go to a race track

Yes the road is for all of us, including drivers who also rally. Why shouldnt they be allowed to compete in their sport of choice one day a year. And the comment about going to a race track to race is laughable. Its a complete other form of motorsport. You may aswell say hurling should be played on a basketball court.
    It would help though if the likes of the rally organisers/drivers got involved with what you charmingly call the 'local scanger population' and put on a few events aimed at educating young drivers. Put on a few demos, show them how to do cool stuff with their cars, but above all else drill home how uncool it is to act the dick on the roads. This would be useful not just as a PR exercise, but could make a difference to local residents, to boy/girl racers and to road accident/nuisance stats.

They dont need to show how to 'do cool stuff with their cars' as they so this on the day of the rally on the stages. They are designed to get from point A to B quickly, nothing else. Anything else has no place in rallying.

Is there a problem with rallying in Ireland, yes their is. And its these muppets who drive around on the weekend of the rally disrupting life for the residents of the area. These people generally have nothing to do with the rally, and often never even go to a stage, but the uninformed see these muppets (comparable to the hooligans of soccor) as rally specators, thus giving rallying a bad name. The only PR that should happen is to distance the sport from the lowlifes
    If anyone was concerned about speeding by competitors on the day then they should have made a complaint to the gardai, as you would with any other driver breaking the law.