Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Cadetship 2011

• Registered Users Posts: 19 DPMURPH1

cmed21 wrote: »
    lads,
    cud anyone please quickly post the competencies necessary for the interview, and any advice on preparin questions?? thanks and gud luck to everyone still in the comp!

you're cutting it a bit fine.. but
    Just sit up and be confident, and really do take a sip of water you are selling yourself for 40 min its thirsty work,
    the board are genuine enough, they dont try to catch you out so dont be worrying too much about trick questions,
    once you can keep talking then they wont stop you, unless you are all over the place with giving your answer.
    have fun..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 69406956

Anyone know what the story is with the Irish orals?! Are they on the same day as the interview!? I sent an e-mail but got no reply.. Besta luck luck with the prep work lads!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

Irish orals...makes me wish I'd been sent to an Irish school b@stards getting the extra points :P

Also heard that there were over 4000 applicants pre psychometrics..that true?

No irish school mate, just 6 bonus points well worth the effort.. :D Dunno about that lad.. Seems very high.. In any case is doesn't matter now.. A good interview and ya've earned yourself a job..

If I had enough Irish not to make a fool of self would of done it in a heart beat. But alas cuinis, cailin, bothar, bainne wouldn't cut it!

Yeah thats what I thought. But sure makes it all the more impressive if your one of the 21 out of 4000!

Not sure of the interview being the be all and end all, as I was under the impression that it was all weighted cumulatively? So doing sh!te in a part of psychometric will weigh you down irregardless of how well ya do in the interview??

Suppose it would be alright.. Half of the competency marks for teamwork and leadership have already been attained.. The rest happen on the day.. As far as i know, the initial psychometric analysis doesn't come into it unless two prospective candidates are tied.. Fair sure on that..

• Registered Users Posts: 38 Kinza

Anyone have an idea of how the personality questionnaire comes into the decision? How does everyone think their interview went anyway? Mine had its good and bad points, i'm trying to focus on the positives :), just glad its over to be honest!

• Registered Users Posts: 203 ✭✭Ketron

69406956 wrote: »
    Suppose it would be alright.. Half of the competency marks for teamwork and leadership have already been attained.. The rest happen on the day.. As far as i know, the initial psychometric analysis doesn't come into it unless two prospective candidates are tied.. Fair sure on that..

If it is anything like the last few years the psychometric tests account for the information handling part of the competencies, with a maximum score of twenty marks.

I dont know if the leadership and teamwork scores will be marked differently from last year. Last year you got a score of between 1 - 5 in both competencies in the exercise, this was then weighted and used as a multiplier on your final score in the respective competency.

Thought information handling wasen't a competency for army line cadets?! In any case Ketron, how did you come to know this about the scoring process?? Surely such a multiplication process would result in huge score differences among prospective candidates?!

69406956 wrote: »
    Thought information handling wasen't a competency for army line cadets?! In any case Ketron, how did you come to know this about the scoring process?? Surely such a multiplication process would result in huge score differences among prospective candidates?!

Yeah information handling is a competency for army cadets, check the cadet booklet.

I know about the scoring process due to feedback on previous attempts. My mistake, just checked the final board scoring, its not a multiplication factor, it could very well account for half the marks in each competency, kinda hard to make this sheet out! :D

Sorry about the mix up I should have checked it before typing ;)

I'm still completely in the dark about the scoring process for Army Cadets! Anyone care to explain the scoring , weighting process in such a manner that would not involve me reaching for my abacus?

Hey lads, are the results of the interview out tomorrow?

Thought that it wouldn't be until the 1st / 2nd week in Aug?

Hmmm according to the time frame that was sent to us the medicals are on 1st of August to 5th, so if they stick to that time-frame I'm guessing we'll know in the next few days? I thought the offers would be out the second week in august? I'm just guessing! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 LFC96

Ketron, where did u get the dates for the medical??

It was in one of the first emails the army sent me regarding the competition.
    I'll paste it here:

Stage 1: Psychometric Testing - 27th of Apr in Croke Park, Dublin. All candidates who meet the minimum qualifying criteria for this years competition will be called for this stage. The Criteria are found at http://www.military.ie/careers/booklets/11-02-25%20(Feb)%20Cadet%20Booklet%202011.pdf

Stage 2: Group Assessment & Fitness Testing - 27th of June to 01st of July in the Curragh Camp, Co. Kildare. Candidates will be required to spend one night in the Curragh Camp during this phase. The top 300 Candidates from Stage 1 will be invited to attend this stage.

Stage 3: Interview - 04th of July to 29th of July in the Curragh Camp, Co. Kildare. The top one hundred and five candidates from stage 2 will be called to this stage.

Stage 4: Medical - 01st of August to 05th of August in St. Bricin's Hospital, Dublin. The top thirty five candidates will be called to this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭odin_ie

Medicals on a bank holiday?

Oh right I see. I wouldn't imagine it's right tho? It would be too soon, but u never know.

I wouldn't say they will be held on Monday because of the bank holiday, but I was told there would be very little notice between the interview results and the medical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭odin_ie

Well best of luck to everybody tomorrow, and to the 35 who go forward to the next stage!!

Best of luck folks. Hopefully the wait wont be too painfull (why oh why did I volunteer to go in the first lott of interviews)

Prepare for embittered posts from unsuccessful candidates :P I think positive discrimination will be a big gripe topic this year!

Guys are we sure that they are coming out tomorrow? I am pretty sure interviews are still going on tomorrow! Any OFFICIAL word on when they are coming out?

Yeah wouldn't hold breath on tomorrow considering as even on their time line they are conducting interviews (which would mean bad news for whoever is on the last day :O if they already had mind made up). So I'd guess next week at earliest. But I'm not an official

Results are out tomorrow morning.. Medicals are likely to run on the monday.. Army doesn't care if it's a bank holiday or not..

Is that official? Would be great to be called for a medical on monday, wouldnt have to take any time off!!!

Check your emails folks, I got my rejection email :( It may just be the rejection emails being sent tonight though. Best of luck to those who progress anyway, unfortunately it wasn't to be for me but thats life, don't think I could have done much more to be honest so no regrets, I may find myself giving it another shot next year :)

Kinza wrote: »
    Check your emails folks, I got my rejection email :( It may just be the rejection emails being sent tonight though. Best of luck to those who progress anyway, unfortunately it wasn't to be for me but thats life, don't think I could have done much more to be honest so no regrets, I may find myself giving it another shot next year :)

Got my email for the medical. Any one else hear?

Congratulations to all the guys who passed the interview, and best of luck in the medicals and to those that didn't commiserations.

Hard luck man, thats the spirit though Kinza!

Fair play Ketron well done, have you got this far in the competition before or is it your first time to go to medical?

Cheers man, ah I've been here before so I dont have my hopes up! Definitely apply for feedback kinza, if you decide to go for it next year it will help big time.

Yeah its a shame I didn't get to interview last year, only got as far as the fitness test and group assessment so I had no feedback or experience to work off for the interview, that would have been a big help. Although in saying that I was pretty happy with my interview so it will be good to get the feedback for that anyway to see how I really did in it :)

All the best with the medical fella!

Thanks again!

I found it a great help, you can see your strengths and weaknesses, and change your examples accordingly.

Best of luck next year chief :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 davytheram

Got medical on tuesday..
    Anyone know order of merit??

No, if its anything like last year you wont find out until the results come out. They will give your position on the panel if you dont make the the top 21.

will they give you your position now or afterwards??
    i wasnt given position in my email...u the same??

Nope, no one knows their position at the moment.

Sorry I didnt make myself clear man, you will only know your position when the cadetships are awarded in a few weeks, providing you dont get offered one. Hope that clears it up for ya :)

So it could be a bit of a wait till we find out then so...
    Any idea when awarding of cadetships?? sorry, very anxious just

No hassle at all man.

I'm guessing it will be mid august before we fine out, a week or two after the medicals, but your guess is as good as mine at this stage. They'll give us a rough idea at the medicals if not the exact date.

Congrats lads! Rejectionville here. Best of luck with medical.

Unlucky man, thanks..

Mite see you in october Ketron, good luck

Unlucky dude, sorry to hear that :(

Might see ya in October too Davy, fingers and toes crossed ;) Best of luck with the medical!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭PaurGasm

Just want to say good luck to all the lads getting to the medicals...I really hope some of the lads/girls I met at the group assessment make it...

As for me and the other lads, we will just have to get our Cadetships next year :P

All joking aside though, best of luck, one of the best and most difficult jobs to get in the country...

Respect!

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Civil Def

Hey davytheram, i was on medical with u on tuesday (Ashley). have u heard any word. i was back in on wensday after seeing a specialist and i saw one person had failed so far.

after chattin with a few people i heard we will find out tomorrow or early next week. but i also heard we wont find out till the 23rd.

the colonnel inside also said the successful cadets were coming in earlier than the 3rd of october.

have you any news?? or maybe you have had word Ketron.

good luck to all anyway

I've heard nothing apart from it being next week or the week after, no definite date mentioned. I doubt it would be tomorrow or early next week because the cadet class will have to be signed off on by the minister.

We could be in for a wait :)

No word yet Ash, not expectin word for a while anyway, not till next week at least...
    Where ya hear we gettin word wit 23rd August??
    How medicals go??

• Registered Users Posts: 18 lemur762

Dunno where this 23rd date came out of, the medic corporal told us we're getting word next week. Don't see why not, bloods and everything came back already. Be grand sher!

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Civil Def

a leftenant in the competition section said the 23rd, i dunno really. hope its soon tho. medicals went grand, 300 euro out of pocket for heart scan but sure hopefully it will be worth it in the end. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 18 lemur762

Could be wrong ash but I thought I read somewhere that successful applicants can claim any expenses incurred during the competition process.

Drinks on you first night in the mess so! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭neilled

shep556 wrote: »
    Could be wrong ash but I thought I read somewhere that successful applicants can claim any expenses incurred during the competition process.

Drinks on you first night in the mess so! :D

There are many bs myths about the cadetship such as it being constitutionally required for an intake every year(bull) - claiming back expenses is another for the vast majority of candidates
    12. EXPENSES
    Candidates other than a member of the Permanent Defence Force are liable for all expenses incurred in connection with his/her participation in the cadetship
    competition and on reporting for enlistment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 987 ✭✭✭Kosseegan

Civil Def wrote: »
    a leftenant in :)

A what???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

Kosseegan wrote: »
    A what???

He's spelt is phonetically. The spelling is Lieutenant but in the Irish Army we call it leftenant.