Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Jim Jim denies rift [Article]

• 11-08-2010 3:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 920 ✭✭✭

Hmmm.... Trouble at t'mill? I doubt it.. More like silly season at the Indo!
    By Ken Sweeney Entertainment Reporter

Wednesday August 11 2010

THE 2fm Breakfast Show presenter Jim Jim Nugent has denied any rift with long-time co-presenter Colm Hayes after it emerged the two would no longer host a programme together.
    Next Wednesday, RTE will announce their new radio schedule but sources say the timetable will see the break-up of the Strawberry Alarm Clock team.
    Poached from Dublin station FM104 in a wave of publicity in January 2007, in recent times their 2fm Breakfast Show has suffered a 16pc year-on-year decline in JNLR figures.
    Now it appears the duo are to split, but RTE confirmed last night that both would remain on 2fm.
    "They will both be staying with the station. We won't be saying anything else until the launch next week," said a station spokesman.
    However, Jim Jim has denied reports of a rift with Hayes, who has been presenting with Lucy Kennedy in the old Gerry Ryan slot in recent months.
    Asked if he was still friends with Colm, Jim Jim laughed and said: "Yes, but I am not going to comment any further than that."
    Row
    The 35-year-old broadcaster went on to deny rumours he had stormed out of RTE last week after a row with management over his new, yet-to-be announced, slot with 2fm.
    "I've heard this too but it's not true. That didn't happen and I was holidays last week," Jim Jim said.
    One radio insider claimed the undoing of the once inseparable radio team had been RTE's decision to team Colm Hayes up with presenter Lucy Kennedy to temporarily fill Gerry Ryan's former mid-morning radio slot.
    "Colm seems to have found another Jim Jim in Lucy Kennedy but Jim Jim hasn't found another Colm yet," said the RTE insider.
    Colm was on leave yesterday and unavailable for comment, but a station source said his new slot on 2fm would not be with Lucy Kennedy.
    - Ken Sweeney Entertainment Reporter
    Irish Independent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Shane10

i couldnt care less if they split up anyway. i like jim jim but never warmed to the hayes guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Lenny Lovett

I can't say I've listened to closely to their Breakfast Show but I enjoyed Colm Hayes when he was on 2FM at lunchtime (showing my age now!).

I think they should put Marty Whelan back on Breakfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

I can't say I've listened to closely to their Breakfast Show but I enjoyed Colm Hayes when he was on 2FM at lunchtime (showing my age now!).

Marty is doing well on Lyric. Don't listen to the breakfast show much but I think the current to presenters are doing a good job, Jim Jim and ....?

ah pleaseeeeeeeeee

Shane10 wrote: »
    ah pleaseeeeeeeeee
    Ah whaaaaat?!

He has always consistently delivered the listener numbers. Even on his last spell there he drove the numbers up. He's the nearest thing Irish radio has to Terry Wogan and Wogan was a huge draw at the beeb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

I <3 C&JJ but they were losing listeners and losing their spark. I think RTE ruined them.

Fago! wrote: »
    I <3 C&JJ but they were losing listeners and losing their spark. I think RTE ruined them.
    Do you think it's because the Strawberry Alarm Clock was a Dublin focussed show whereas their humour was irrelevant to many of their 2FM listeners?

or the show was just crap??? jim jim could be used to better effect, always liked his impressions esp the colin farrell phonecalls. yis i am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭crazyderk

+1 on this one,

I used to love them on FM104, but as soon as they moved to 2fm I stopped and moved to 98fm, now Dermot and Dave have left the morning time I don't know what to listen to :(:(:(:(:(

• Registered Users Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

I loved their FM104 show with all that Matt Molloy stuff, they defo lost something when they moved to 2FM..

Do you think it's because the Strawberry Alarm Clock was a Dublin focussed show whereas their humour was irrelevant to many of their 2FM listeners?

Yeah that's right. They had a good thing with 104, they had more freedom. When they went to RTE, the show lost it's zanyness. Pity :(

crazyderk wrote: »
    +1 on this one,

I used to love them on FM104, but as soon as they moved to 2fm I stopped and moved to 98fm, now Dermot and Dave have left the morning time I don't know what to listen to :(:(:(:(:(

The Spin breakfast show :pac: :pac: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭bubbaloo

I always loved Colm & Jim Jim together but I have grown to love Jim Jim & Paddy now. I would be happy for the 3 of them to work together but that would probably be a bit much. Whatever happens I hope Paddy McKenna stays on in something more than the Sports Reporter role he had before.
    And I don't think think anything could crack the friendship between Colm and Jim Jim - they go back years.

bubbaloo wrote: »
    I always loved Colm & Jim Jim together but I have grown to love Jim Jim & Paddy now. I would be happy for the 3 of them to work together but that would probably be a bit much. Whatever happens I hope Paddy McKenna stays on in something more than the Sports Reporter role he had before.
    And I don't think think anything could crack the friendship between Colm and Jim Jim - they go back years.

I tried listening to Jim and Paddy, nothin special.

Also, unrelated sidenote, your username rocks!

Yeah that's right. They had a good thing with 104, they had more freedom. When they went to RTE, the show lost it's zanyness. Pity :(
    I also think they should have taken a leaf out of Ian dempsey's book and get the show out on the road regularly. He's had it in most major towns in Ireland over the past year and has been a major PR success. Today FM seem to market themselves a lot better than 2FM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭TimmyTarmac

Elmo wrote: »
    Marty is doing well on Lyric. Don't listen to the breakfast show much but I think the current to presenters are doing a good job, Jim Jim and ....?

Is that an opinion or research based fact that Marty is doing well on Lyric?
    Because in my opinion as an everyday Lyric listener, he is simply appalling.
    Up to now it was a place to go to for quality music - classical and specialist and not too much shoite talk from presenters.
    Now at midday, one must sprint and hurdle like Derval O Rourke to turn him off. His inane witterings and crooners might be best suited to 2FM - ye can have him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I can see Jim-Jim doing alright on his own. Heard him the morning after Michael Jackson died and he seemed very comfortable. He does need to accept that Colm has more lean because he worked there before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭todolist

Jim is dull and boring.Very similar in voice with the guy who's on the dreadful Adrian Kennedy show on Dublin's FM 104. 2FM can't get the breakfast slot right.I think 2FM is a washed -up station.Since the huge loss of Gerry Ryan this station is in terminal decline.RTE is in dire financial straights,the license tax can't keep bailing out this white elephant .Close it down and move on RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Wolflikeme

They're both rubbish imo. Not at all funny! Unless funny is 'dad brand' jokes.

And stop calling yourself 'Jim Jim'! What are you 8 years old!?!

Is that an opinion or research based fact that Marty is doing well on Lyric?
    Because in my opinion as an everyday Lyric listener, he is simply appalling.
    Up to now it was a place to go to for quality music - classical and specialist and not too much shoite talk from presenters.
    Now at midday, one must sprint and hurdle like Derval O Rourke to turn him off. His inane witterings and crooners might be best suited to 2FM - ye can have him!

Purely on the JNLR figures and when changing channel if in the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

Why is it every time Marty s is dragged up?

Jim Jim and paddy at breakfast
    Tubridy 9-11
    Hayes 11-1
    Rick 1-3
    LG 3-4
    Leahy 4-7

We'll wait and see if I'm right on Friday ( believe that's the day for 2fm version 3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭dolittle

i thought the colm and jim jim breakfast show was dreadful
    the new show is dreadful
    paddy mckenna is just appalling whether on his own or with jim jim
    i have switched over to maxi on radio 1, the music is far superior and no inane chat,
    marty whelan for the breakfast show? i hope not, he`s the only reason i turn off lyric fm

Tbh, if ya listen to lyric, chances are, you were never gonna like the show or it's music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Valve

Colm...a nice guy, who won a DJ competition. Jim Jim...the sidekick. Bottle jar - jar bottle! I feel enthusiasm (!) took over when Gerry passed! From the top down and back up again. Just a feeling...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Lahm

I could give a toss for either of them or Paddy or Lucy Kennedy for that matter. I think they're all doing grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Niche market

Im afraid i am a contributor to the percentage of those who stoped listening to the breakfeast show.... :rolleyes:
    As a listener of the 2FM morning show for aaages, i was sad to see Marty leave - i thought he was doing a great job on there!!! :) but then when colm and jim jim came along i will admit they were something new and different but it wasn't long before it became tiresome and really NOT funny!!! so switched over to the local east coast radio instead :cool: only because i got totally fed up of them!!!
    i am glad to see the 2fm morning show getting a bit of a revamp though.. ya never know, the shifting of colm and jim jim might just attract back some of the old listeners ;)

So....who to blame? You (respect) or them? Appreciate UR comments and admire. Breakfast is important....only on the World clock. Technology wil show...meanwhile, Jim Jim is a Talent, Colm is too. Maybe a battle? Happens.

As an 'added'...ever see/remember those Soap ads. OMO/Persil/Daz...and the all new/improved? Sure, we only have to touch that dial....the 'Marketers' told us different!

As a whopper/thought...How many men have walked on the moon?....12. How many 'apostles'? How many months in a year? How many days to Xmas?
    How many inches on a 12"?...How many is 86,400? Devide by multiple, twice! How many forms a forum. Personal taste will always beat JNLR's etc...but respect. Marty is a goodie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭sundaypapers

"Colm seems to have found another Jim Jim in Lucy Kennedy.."

Excuse me?

Lucy is a bit of a shemale.

Sound and looks male.

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭Philsopher

In fairness, I think Marty Whelan was finished in 2FM the morning he introduced a song by Bell XI as "Bell Eleven"... :pac:

Colm....Jim Jim....who cares?? They're both rubbish. Examples of the worst kind of smug DJ's who think they're "crazy" and "hilarious" when they are neither when the reality is their boring and seriously unfunny. Other prime examples include Ray Foley and Tony Fenton.

2FM is a relic of a station that is stuck in the 1980's. It has not moved with the times, it's format and presenters (many of whom are still there from pretty much beginning) sound dated, bland and tired. Even the playlists at times sound like you're stuck in 1985. That station needs an outsider to come in and clear it out from top to bottom and start all over again. As it stands, they seem to move seats every few months or year or so. As the national broadcaster, it is shocking. They have to make to choice to either rebrand, repackage and remarket the whole thing or shut it down as it serves no purpose as it stands.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Philsopher wrote: »
    They have to make to choice to either rebrand, repackage and remarket the whole thing

they have, dozens of times at this stage.:D

In fairness, I think Marty Whelan was finished in 2FM the morning he introduced a song by Bell XI as "Bell Eleven"... :pac:

Did Marty do that too? I heard Eamon Dunphy did it on his TV3 show.

Lahm wrote: »
    Did Marty do that too? I heard Eamon Dunphy did it on his TV3 show.

I don't think Dunphy did (I used to watch his show but can't remember that far back) but Marty definitely did, yes.

MidlandsM wrote: »

I know. You'd think that they would take the hint at this stage... ;)

I don't think Dunphy did (I used to watch his show but can't remember that far back) but Marty definitely did, yes.

It was Pat Kenny.

http://virginia.ie/index.php?mact=News,cntnt01,detail,0&cntnt01articleid=136&cntnt01returnid=211

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Bring back Tony the Monkey-child!

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭Travismccoy

Valve wrote: »
    Colm...a nice guy, who won a DJ competition. Jim Jim...the sidekick. Bottle jar - jar bottle! I feel enthusiasm (!) took over when Gerry passed! From the top down and back up again. Just a feeling...

Colm didn't win any competition he's been around since the 70s on stations. :rolleyes:

Ah, lads/Lassies. Problem management or Talent?

Tbh, if ya listen to lyric, chances are, you were never gonna like the show or it's music.
    True enough Fago, but why then just have this mess on and the rest be (the bits I like) mainly classical music with brief, largely intelligent, relevant links about the music?
    Slightly off topic - sorry

Purely on the JNLR figures and when changing channel if in the car.

Again, Elmo, forgive me, I don't wish to be needlessly argumentative. Could you tell me more about those JNLR figures if you could?
    I just can't believe he's adding audience to Lyric without first loosing a pile of less than gruntled punters, such as myself.
    I appreciate you like him and thats fine.

Marty is like a comfy old cardigan... so to speak. He has a sort of comfort blanket feeling to him. Trustworthy... as is Ian Dempsey again makes you feel comfortable in his company... on the radio. Never gets any bad press or feedback. As I said before I don't believe it was Colm and Jim Jim's fault. They suited the Dublin audience but didn't cater for those outside the pale. Producer to blame?

Marty Wheland versus Iano in the Battle for Breakfast would have been interesting. Marty never got a chance and Iano is so well established now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

Marty is like a comfy old cardigan... so to speak. He has a sort of comfort blanket feeling to him. Trustworthy... as is Ian Dempsey again makes you feel comfortable in his company... on the radio. Never gets any bad press or feedback. As I said before I don't believe it was Colm and Jim Jim's fault. They suited the Dublin audience but didn't cater for those outside the pale. Producer to blame?

Marty Wheland versus Iano in the Battle for Breakfast would have been interesting. Marty never got a chance and Iano is so well established now...

How long was Marty at 2fm for breakfast gig? Ian Dempsey has being no 1 for years at Today FM except when Tubridy was there and as always with RTE they have loads more resources and promote their presenters alot.

Badabing wrote: »
    How long was Marty at 2fm for breakfast gig? Ian Dempsey has being no 1 for years at Today FM except when Tubridy was there and as always with RTE they have loads more resources and promote their presenters alot.

I think both 2fm and Today FM are level in relation to their morning shows. 2FM did not realize how important Ian Dempsey was to them, otherwise they would have kept him on the air.

As for RTÉ having loads more resources than Communicorp thats a load of balls.

Several DJs did that...not just Marty
    2FM is a relic of a station that is stuck in the 1980's. It has not moved with the times, it's format and presenters (many of whom are still there from pretty much beginning) sound dated, bland and tired. Even the playlists at times sound like you're stuck in 1985. That station needs an outsider to come in and clear it out from top to bottom and start all over again. As it stands, they seem to move seats every few months or year or so. As the national broadcaster, it is shocking. They have to make to choice to either rebrand, repackage and remarket the whole thing or shut it down as it serves no purpose as it stands.
    I think, contrary to your point, their problem is that they ditched all the real talent theyt had in the 80s and 90s.
    MidlandsM wrote: »
    True!!
    Valve wrote: »
    Ah, lads/Lassies. Problem management or Talent?
    Management of course! They ditched the real talent so it's the Managements fault.
    Badabing wrote: »
    Iano's a success because he has the strong bond with his listeners built up over years plus he's always taking to show to the people....All over the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,015 ✭✭✭furiousox

Is there anything more irritating than 'zany' breakfast radio presenters?

CPL 593H

• Closed Accounts Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Southsider1

furiousox wrote: »
    Is there anything more irritating than 'zany' breakfast radio presenters?
    Yeah.. guys who think they'r zany...but aren't!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,648 ✭✭✭prunudo

Just listening there and there seemed to be a lot of thank you's from Jim Jim. Sounded a bit emotional aswell. I wonder is he finished doing the breakfast show now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

jvan wrote: »
    Just listening there and there seemed to be a lot of thank you's from Jimjim's. Sounded a bit emotional aswell. I wonder is he finished doing the breakfast show now?
    Bye :D

When is he going to start shaving :confused: