Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

C++

Options
  • 12-08-2010 10:34am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭

Hi All,

I want to learn C++!

I have no programming experience but would like to learn C++ for a job role in finance. I've been using computers for nearly 20 years and would consider myself relatively computer/tech literate (minus the programming ability).

So i was just wondering if anyone could reccommend any good courses in Dublin or online? Preferably with an exam/accreditation at completion to reflect ability.

Also could anyone advise how long it will take to reach a basic level of operation? Where i could expand my knowledge through trial and error but have the skills to adapt C++ for basic functions?

Mods feel free to move if this isn't the most appropriate forum, i searched others but found no mention of C++.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

Also could anyone advise how long it will take to reach a basic level of operation? Where i could expand my knowledge through trial and error but have the skills to adapt C++ for basic functions?
    The biggest time consumption won't actually be C++, but learning the fundamentals of programming in general. To be at a competent level where you can pick up new languages/libraries and adapt them to what you need will take several years at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭Banji

I doubt you will get a job in finance using your new skills in the immediate future - but don't let that put you off. Programming can be fun.

Look up book reviews on amazon and then try get that book in a library.