Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cigarettes price hike

• 12-08-2010 4:37pm
    Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭

Cigs.jpg

I have just been charged €8.97 :eek: for 20 Marlboro in Tesco, I've not read any article about an increase have you.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,919 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Thats the same price listed online

• Registered Users Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭BigBenRoeth

The price of cigarettes has been ridiculous for a very long time.
    Makes me sick

• Registered Users Posts: 743 ✭✭✭absolutegroove

xi wrote: »
    Cigs.jpg

I have just been charged €8.97 :eek: for 20 Marlboro in Tesco, I've not read any article about an increase have you.

Did you remember to scan your clubcard :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭testicle

Just been charged 8.55, up from 8.50 last week...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 knetworks

major were 8.35,then all of a sudden, they went up to 8.50:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

The price of cigarettes has been ridiculous for a very long time.
    Makes me sick

The price makes you sick??:confused:

More like the inhalation of tar and nicotine and the relentless damage that cigarettes are doing to your lungs/throat etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 27 version1

testicle wrote: »
    Just been charged 8.55, up from 8.50 last week...
    the cigarette companies have just put the prices up 2 weeks ago.
    The rrp for benson,malboro and silk cut is now 8.55...
    Still very expensive though

• Registered Users Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭BigBenRoeth

The price makes you sick??:confused:

More like the inhalation of tar and nicotine and the relentless damage that cigarettes are doing to your lungs/throat etc.

Would you just get out

• Registered Users Posts: 9,624 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

They are the dearest cigs on sale on the Tesco site, was this always the case?

9.00 for a pack bloody hell....wonder if pall mall (7.75) are that bad?!

edit: today marlboro kingsize are 8.50?

http://www.tesco.ie/groceries/Product/Details/?id=252174309

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭tommy21

Bah ignore not the forum to discuss it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

My ex just came back from France, they were e55 a carton over there, They are creeping up. Spain is around e35 a carton. still worth bringing back a few.

• Registered Users Posts: 703 ✭✭✭obliviousgrudge

My suggestion, give the death sticks up! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 knetworks

i'l second that:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,595 ✭✭✭The Lovely Muffin

My granny smokes Silk-Cut Ultra 100's and they are now €8.55 and my mother smokes Rothmans and they are €8.60.

• Registered Users Posts: 534 ✭✭✭PaulieBoy

Was their not an EU ruling about the min price of fags over here that the cig companies won. I thought that would make the price go down, not up!
    Jeez guys sorry for your trouble, that's a major rip off ( excuse the pun!) :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭91011

Price breakdown based on 8.60

Duty 3.60 per pack
    Vat 1.49 per pack
    Retailer / distributer 1.30c per pack average between them.
    Manufacturer = balance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭Yag reuoY

How much of the HSE's resources are consumed by smoking related diseases etc?

The price should be double it is now. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭g32

xi wrote: »
    Cigs.jpg

You do not have to pay that. If you are going to Europe or know someone visiting Europe(?), buy the cigarettes there. All my relatives do that. I really don't know anyone who now buys cigarettes in Ireland anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭Yag reuoY

PA the state spends more than 1 bn euros on smoking related diseases.

You are a parasite!!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

the whole health cost issue is a bit of a 6 of one, because whatever would be saved by not having to treat people for smoking related diseases, will be counteracted by the fact they'll live a good 10 years longer and will have to be treated for other medical problems during that time.

(btw, I'm a non-smoker)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

Yag reuoY wrote: »
    PA the state spends more than 1 bn euros on smoking related diseases.

You are a parasite!!:eek:
    This thread has nothing to do with this...whatsoever!!! Keep your opinions to another thread, nobody here cares about them.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 3,816 Mod ✭✭✭✭LFCFan

Lads, keep the thread on topic or it'll be closed and no personal insults or there'll be bans to be handed out!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

I have to laugh at the likes of ASH and the other anti smoking clowns and some union of shopkeepers that want another price hike to help fund a crackdown on non-duty paid/imported cigarettes...can't these people see that the more you hike the price the more people you drive into buying the non-duty ones, the more the tax take falls and the bigger the demand/market grows for illegal imports?
    Ultimately higher prices for legal duty-paid cigarettes is counter productive when it' s so out of kilter with our EU neighbours, never mind asian prices...as the price rises, the government's own tax take falls, the black economy has another nice little earner on it's hands and the no-one get's anywhere except the criminals...

Christ, some people in this country need a good dose of cop on.

I haven't noticed a price rise myself, but haven't bought a pack in weeks...I'm still one of the eejits that prefer the taste of a duty-paid smoke, most of that foreign muck tastes off or like marlboros.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,252 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

The HSE's annual budget iirc is around 18bn. The annual tax take just from tobacco products is about 6bn. One in every three people visiting our hospitals would need to be going there with a smoking related illness for the price of cigarettes in this country to be justified.

If you double the price, much more people will buy black market cigarettes / go to NI etc, costing the exchequer billions.

I'm not a smoker for what it's worth, just making a point.