Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What an amazing house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

does it have a crying chair?

(FLW was an incredible architect and Fallingwater is an amazing building.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Cool house. Lots of large screen windows to let light in (yet private), ample views of nature outside and most importantly NO NEIGHBOURs. Yep, it ticks all my boxes for a well designed home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

mink_man wrote: »
    a quick look at the replies in this thread make me not waste my time clicking the link...hardly any thanks aswell which is weird, shít thread all round.

Needs more leg eating...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

You'd see more amazing buildings on Grand Designs any day of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Frank Lloyd Wright was an absolute genius when it came to use of space. While the building itself has structural design flaws it is a testament to what imagination and engineering can produce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

I've seen documentaries on Frank Lloyd Wright.
    He was so meticulous, he even furnished the homes himself - and if he came to visit later and found the owners had rearranged, he would put things back as he originally had them.

Personally, I would hate that! Change can be good!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Lust4Life wrote: »
    Change can be good!
    But rediscovering old friends can be good too! Whoa, L4L is alive, alive! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I find it a bit cold plus I'm sure the constant running waterfall would have me wanting to go the bathroom every 10 minutes!

But rediscovering old friends can be good too! Whoa, L4L is alive, alive! :D

Oh so true, Blue!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Oh so true, Blue!
    I could use a cup from the Hot Latte Man about now. It's only a quarter of 5AM here.

If I had a house like in the OP, I would need an espresso machine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

That house is a masterpiece, from one of the greats of modern architecture. Incidentally the family that lived there didn't like it too much, like all great pieces of art it wasn't too practical.

http://www.niallmclaughlin.com/0504_1.html

This house was longlisted for the Sterling prize. Goes to show not all boom housing was bad.

That house looks like a school or something,just looks so cold and out of place.

http://www.daft.ie/searchsale.daft?id=520562

I love this house,beautiful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Kip

I could use a cup from the Hot Latte Man about now. It's only a quarter of 5AM here.

If I had a house like in the OP, I would need an espresso machine.

LOL! I was at that shop this past weekend. Sadly, Hot Latte Man was not working.
    Even the decor has changed. Life keeps moving forward!

LOL! I was at that shop this past weekend. Sadly, Hot Latte Man was not working.
    Even the decor has changed. Life keeps moving forward!
    Surprised we can talk about "amazing house(s)" when there has been amazing mortgage failures by the millions.

I no longer live on land, but am afloat on the boat that belongs to my boatmate's folks. What's amazing is how everything is so compact in close quarters, unlike a house or flat ashore.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The location is very picturesque and the waterfall is lovely but all that greenery is claustrophobic and the damp in the house in 10 years time will be appalling. :)
    Well given its age..... The original owners renamed it "Rising damp" apparently. :) More down to the construction methods more than the design. If built today you could make it a lot more damp proof.

As a design and how it fits in the landscape it's pretty damned impressive. Originally the client wanted a weekend getaway house further down the river, a favourite spot for summer picnics. Wright,integrated the house into the scene in a very clever way. Made an average enough looking site so much more. He did it very quickly too. He only sketched it when he knew the client was coming to see him with an hours warning. He was supposed to be working on it for months, so it as a rush job initially. Originally he wanted to clad the sticky out bits in silver or gold leaf, but thankfuly the client went WTF to that notion.
    kylith wrote: »
    You'd see more amazing buildings on Grand Designs any day of the week.
    Eh no. You wouldn't. You really wouldn't.
    storm2811 wrote: »
    That house looks like a school or something,just looks so cold and out of place.
    I would tend to agree. It's brave, but it mixes too many angles for the sake of it IMHO. What appears to be the nod to the white bungalow in the facade is ok as a joke, but as architecture? Im not so sure. It does fit into the surroundings more than usual though.
    It's location is spectacular, but its overall design for me is pretty dire IMHO. Typical lets build big vibe to it. Feck all balance and doesnt fit the surroundings. No wonder they keep outside views of the house to a minimum. A talented architect and visually open client could have made so so much more of that site.

Now each to their own, but this thread and some of the comments within it are reminding me why our recent architectural heritage is pretty damn sparse and why bungalow blight ruined the Irish landscape. Then the celtic tiger came along and we had such out of balance monstrosities as the one in that ad. As a culture, we really lack a visual eye in a lot of ways. We either build cheap or follow the mainstream american notion of more is more. Yet we do have a historical vernacular we could refer to. One going back 1000's of years too.

I'm not one of those who just wants modernist stuff. A lot of it is dire. I like balanced architecture, old and new. Some of our Georgian stuff is gorgeous in it's balance. Ditto for the Dutch style houses that preceded them(but were often updated). Most of the new builds Ive seen, expensive and more reasonable tend to be either godawful or clumsy attempts at modernism.

Then again each to their own and if that's what the majority want.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »

I would tend to agree. It's brave, but it mixes too many angles for the sake of it IMHO. What appears to be the nod to the white bungalow in the facade is ok as a joke, but as architecture? Im not so sure. It does fit into the surroundings more than usual though.

I couldn't imagine living in it though,it just doesn't give off a homely feel.
    Do you think so?I wouldn't really agree,it's just so big and imposing in that field imo.
    I do love the windows though.
    Wibbs wrote:
    It's location is spectacular, but its overall design for me is pretty dire IMHO. Typical lets build big vibe to it. Feck all balance and doesnt fit the surroundings. No wonder they keep outside views of the house to a minimum.

Maybe,just the thought of a house so close to sea though,I love it,plus the wooden spiral staircase looks great too.
    I should just make like Blue Lagoon and buy a houseboat.:pac:
    Wibbs wrote:
    Now each to their own, but this thread and some of the comments within it are reminding me why our recent architectural heritage is pretty damn sparse and why bungalow blight ruined the Irish landscape. Then the celtic tiger came along and we had such out of balance monstrosities as the one in that ad. As a culture, we really lack a visual eye in a lot of ways. We either build cheap or follow the mainstream american notion of more is more. Yet we do have a historical vernacular we could refer to. One going back 1000's of years too.

I'd have to agree with the massive houses appearing during the boom times.
    I live down the country and up untill a few years ago you'd rarely see a huge house around here,was all bungalows mostly.
    Down the road though these monsters of houses were built among little bungalows and holiday homes,most of them just ruin the whole atmosphere,all grey and half built.:(

Feckin 7 bedroom houses beside modest little farms and sheds,looks so weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

It's a bit pricey.. Lovely location though

Even this 20 bedroom castle is cheaper! - http://www.daft.ie/searchsale.daft?id=482763

It's a bit pricey.. Lovely location though

Even this 20 bedroom castle is cheaper! - http://www.daft.ie/searchsale.daft?id=482763

It has a feckin bar in there,a proper one!
    Hello new dream house.:pac:

I was a bit worried about the price until I saw that they're throwing in a free seal & dolphin to sweeten the deal. Sold!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I couldn't imagine living in it though,it just doesn't give off a homely feel.
    Do you think so?I wouldn't really agree,it's just so big and imposing in that field imo.
    I do love the windows though.
    Oh yea I agree, its lost a lot of the human in it. Putting people in the pictures would ruin it in a way. Very sterile.

Maybe,just the thought of a house so close to sea though,I love it,plus the wooden spiral staircase looks great too.
    I should just make like Blue Lagoon and buy a houseboat.:pac:
    :) Yea I'd love it if it fitted in to the environment, had a touch more local stone, less floors, maybe in a long curve to fit int and mirror the bay.

I'd have to agree with the massive houses appearing during the boom times.
    I live down the country and up untill a few years ago you'd rarely see a huge house around here,was all bungalows mostly.
    Down the road though these monsters of houses were built among little bungalows and holiday homes,most of them just ruin the whole atmosphere,all grey and half built.:(
    Yep and the bungalows were pretty hideous to start with. Though most were built at a time when we had no money so understandable.
    Feckin 7 bedroom houses beside modest little farms and sheds,looks so weird.
    +1000 shows up a serious taste bypass.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

looks like a building site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭KaiserGunner

Very unique looking for a house, so in that sense I would call it amazing, however it is an ugly building. Reminds me of the concourse buildings in NUIG or UCD.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Very unique looking for a house, so in that sense I would call it amazing, however it is an ugly building. Reminds me of the concourse buildings in NUIG or UCD.

i have a unique talent at being very fast at licking and putting stamps on envelopes,am i amazing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭WaltKowalski

I like it. I tried to build something similar in the west but couldn't get planning permission.

pmcmahon wrote: »
    looks like a building site
    Seriously? You think falling water looks like a building site? OK personal taste is personal, but objectively speaking its a pretty cool house. Remarkably small in the flesh apparently, according to an uncle of mine who was in it.
    It has as much to do with those examples as... well nothing. Yes that slab sided type design thang really got going in the 50's and 60's rarely to good effect, but that example of wrights is in another league.

I like it. I tried to build something similar in the west but couldn't get planning permission.
    No way in hell you will either. Even if you had the most beautiful design imaginable and one that fit the landscape perfectly, you'll run into too many obstacles from people who wouldn know good design if it bit them on the arse. The average planing council not know for artistic tendencies or imagination. Then you'll likely have neighbours who reckon a white bungalow or a 3 story southfork type hacienda is the height of taste. Game over pretty much. Sad to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

It's a fine house, but the setting it's in makes it look like a visitors center.. conveniently, I guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

I was about to say I would be afraid to live there in fear of getting burgled, murdered or even raped...

Alas I was right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

latenia wrote: »
    The stonework looks like the cladding you see on ex-council houses in Crumlin and Cabra.

I liked the stonework :( Think it might be a bit overdone though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭imitation

Is that the house from ferris buellers day off ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

imitation wrote: »

Nope, that didnt have a waterfall, he was copied alot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

This is a better house........... http://i.imgur.com/9eUaC.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Dilynnio

There is a house just like that in Killiney along the seafront......hidden below a cliff.....I can see it when I'm out sailing......now thats my dream home!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,625 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

fakeaccent wrote: »
    Wouldn't be my cup of tea, reminds me of the house from Ferris Bueller, where the car goes out through the window..

That's exactly what I thought, could have been only for they trashed that one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

I think it is indeed a beautiful house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭t4k30

Is this not the house from Twilight ?

imitation wrote: »

Camerons house was in North Chicago.

http://www.autoblog.com/2009/05/27/camerons-house-from-i-ferris-buellers-day-off-i-up-for-sale/