Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snogging above your station!

• 14-08-2010 5:20am
    Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭

So,
    Any other AHer's ever done this? It usually happens when a goodlooking girl doesn't find you ugly and a mutual sense of humour kicks in. Humour transcends all physicality, social status, or professional qualifications. I scored with a girl one night who would honestly put most top models to shame. How? There was only me and my mate and her and her mate left drinking at the end of the party. My ridiculously good-looking mate went off with her ridiculously good-looking mate (presumably to have ridiculously good-looking kids) leaving the pair of us alone. I'm not saying it was beauty and the beast but it wasn't far off.
    I've done something with italics that i can't undo.

Anyway, I felt a bit awkward, as all blokes do when left alone with a ludicrously good-looking woman, so I went to make coffee. I was desperately looking for something to pass the time while our mates shagged, when my eyes alighted on a game of Connect4.

I casually asked her (praying desperately) would she like a game?

"Yes" (Oh, Thank God)

It went from something we could while away the time with, while the other two did whatever they were doing, to an all-out war of attrition. Turns out, she likes her sums too. We must have played twenty games of connect4 while arguing the ins and outs of how to play a medium pair in poker while out of position.

And then she kissed me.:)

So, AHer's, tell us. When was the last time you ended up with someone way out of your league through sheer chance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭tupac10

few days ago actually... Was at house party on a very rare night off work.. this girl that was in college with my cousin in Dublin was down.. she was BEAUTIFUL. i knew (or so i taut!) she was way too good looking to even look at me all my good looking friends were there do i didnt even bother trying.. the party was winding down and i seen her sitting on the couch alone so i said feck it i'll sit down. ( bit of drink taken at this stage) got chatting turns out she was mad into cars so we argued for while bout my car and we showed each other pictures of our cars and started laughing bout stupid jokes.. next thing we knew we were alone so i offered her a drink and when i came back she was getting closer to me.. and next thing i know she was kissing me.. I was on cloud 9 i couldnt believe it.. this girl was amazing and the best part is im still with her :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,261 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

The fact that you

A) Used the word "snogging"

B) Used the word "scored" and

C) Came to After Hours to brag about your "model" girl kissing tells me a lot about your character.

There's no way you're getting laid kid, but nice try!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Smcgie

Likewise with "Laid" Mr S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Few are out of league ;)

Smcgie wrote: »
    Likewise with "Laid" Mr S

Sure i can say all i want as long as i'm not claiming to be boinking model looking girls! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,546 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

My ridiculously good-looking mate went off with her ridiculously good-looking mate (presumably to have ridiculously good-looking kids) leaving the pair of us alone. I'm not saying it was beauty and the beast but it wasn't far off.

I'm happy for you Moe....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I once caught a fish

it was {
    } this big

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

I thought this was about fooling around on a bridge over the dart line.... :confused:

Wait, bridges are for knacker drinking :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

MrStuffins wrote: »
    The fact that you

C) Came to After Hours to brag about your "model" girl kissing tells me a lot about your character.

I'm not a kid. Ask Mrs.Stuffins Snr.

My wife's mother?

I'm not even married!

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭marzic

My wife's mother?

I'm not even married!

Timeout *makes T-sign with hands* are you married? if yes, is your wife's maiden name stuffins also? cos if its not then mrs stuffins snr is your mother! if your not married, then why the question " My wife's mother?"... needs clarification, imo.

marzic wrote: »
    are you married?
    I'm not even married!

Although, i feel my joke may have gone over your head............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

The fact that you

At least try look past the phrasing and take the words on their meaning. God damn pernickety internet people.

I bet you hate the word pernickety too....I have never had to spell it so I'm guessing.

Well done OP, you got a good looking girl to kiss you using only connect four and a discourse in poker. I'd say she got bored and thought kissing you was better than playing games and thinking. But then I'm probably wrong. Well done all the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

Idiot....you should have asked for a game of twister..naked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,884 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

*awaiting feeky mcgee's response*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Kissing girls.

Woooh.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,185 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I once caught a fish

it was {
    } this big
    Indeed, fish have a little known ability to grow significantly after death and women get more and more beautiful in the weeks that follow.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

stovelid wrote: »
    Kissing girls.

Woooh.

agreed... model shag or gtfo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

Anyway, I felt a bit awkward, as all blokes do when left alone with a ludicrously good-looking woman, so I went to make coffee.

Brb restarting firefox as I can't see any pics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭Sound Bite

AMC, I hate to burst your bubble but I'd hazard a guess this was the conversation the girl in question was having with herself in her head at the time.

"Why the **** are we here? Could she not have just brought him back to our place. I'd be asleep by now. Instead I'm stuck here trying to make small talk with this guy. The things I do for a friend."

Coffee, ya sure I'd love one thanks.

"Coffee? ****in hate the stuff. Why is he giving me coffee? Would it be rude to ask for wine? Much prefer wine. Well maybe I've had too much already? Coffee's probably best. OMG, I'm soooo bored. There's only so much small talk I can make with this guy. Get me out of here. Wonder what are the changes of getting a taxi at this hour?"

Connect 4, sure love that game.

"Not, like what are we 5? O lord. Its going to be a long night. Another game, ya if we must. Another..another..another..o god, my 3 year cousin would be bored by now. We must be heading towards our 30th game...what is he on about? Medium pair poker wft? Am I suppose to know what he means, ok just nod and smile, ah lord, will he every stop rambling on? Not sure how must more **** I can listen too....Ok that its, need to make him stop. Right, I'm going to have to kiss him to shut him up, end this stupid connect 4 marathon. Ok here goes..."

"Ah Silence, thank God, She owes me one big time"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Wibbs wrote: »
    Indeed, fish have a little known ability to grow significantly after death and women get more and more beautiful in the weeks that follow.

I seen that happen before the fisher man stuck a 3 pound weight down the fishs throat :pac:

Boiling carp fisher men

I wouldn't know much about wimins there like unicorns/dragons, mystical creatures with powers that make them selves beautifull that put spells on me... when Im week and vulnerable.
    Blame the beer

• Registered Users Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

Getting worked up about "scoring" is for 14 year olds.

If it's not a spitroast then it's not an achievement :p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

Getting worked up about "scoring" is for 14 year olds.

If it's not a spitroast then it's not an achievement :p.

Living up to your username bro!

• Registered Users Posts: 158 ✭✭BLACKEN

tupac10 wrote: »
    few days ago actually... Was at house party on a very rare night off work.. this girl that was in college with my cousin in Dublin was down.. she was BEAUTIFUL. i knew (or so i taut!) she was way too good looking to even look at me all my good looking friends were there do i didnt even bother trying.. the party was winding down and i seen her sitting on the couch alone so i said feck it i'll sit down. ( bit of drink taken at this stage) got chatting turns out she was mad into cars so we argued for while bout my car and we showed each other pictures of our cars and started laughing bout stupid jokes.. next thing we knew we were alone so i offered her a drink and when i came back she was getting closer to me.. and next thing i know she was kissing me.. I was on cloud 9 i couldnt believe it.. this girl was amazing and the best part is im still with her :D

GO YOU ya sexy man! :P Gotta love a good auld underdog story!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Captain nemo...... now there really was a lad out of my league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

instant fail mate

your mate got shagged and all you got was to exchange was a bit of saliva and her lippy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Congratulations, you were on the receiving end of "Ah sure fekkit, he'll do".

Nulty wrote: »
    At least try look past the phrasing and take the words on their meaning. God damn pernickety internet people.

I bet you hate the word pernickety too....I have never had to spell it so I'm guessing.

Well done OP, you got a good looking girl to kiss you using only connect four and a discourse in poker. I'd say she got bored and thought kissing you was better than playing games and thinking. But then I'm probably wrong. listening to you. Well done all the same.

FYP:)

Actually, if the thread hadn't been derailed, what I was trying to get a discussion going about is how often circumstances as much as attraction can determine whether you end up with a girl. Similarly, you're far less likely to score with a single female if she happens to be out with a friend and there is no wingperson as most people (male or female) are not going to leave their friend to walk home alone. This is where true friendship comes in and the third wheel should escape to Iskander's as fast as their little legs will carry them.
    Doner Kebab plate ftw.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭mcdoogle

True story - I was propositioned by a dwarf (friend of my cousins) in coppers a few years back, if I had snogged her she would have been snogging about 2 and a have feet above her station!

mcdoogle wrote: »
    True story - I was propositioned by a dwarf (friend of my cousins) in coppers a few years back, if I had snogged her she would have been snogging about 2 and a have feet above her station!

Maybe it could have been good.
    Start off with a little two-play.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

So,
    It went from something we could while away the time with, while the other two did whatever they were doing, to an all-out war of attrition. Turns out, she likes her sums too. We must have played twenty games of connect4 while arguing the ins and outs of how to play a medium pair in poker while out of position.
    [/I]

A bit of the ol' in and out?

GO ON MY SON!!! GET IN THERE!!!

mikom wrote: »
    Maybe it could have been good.
    Start off with a little two-play.....

She was the right height for some stuff but still.........

mcdoogle wrote: »
    She was the right height for some stuff but still.........

Yeah, I suppose just the once, but you wouldn't want to be making a hobbit out of it....

mikom wrote: »
    Yeah, I suppose just the once, but you wouldn't want to be making a hobbit out of it....

Now that you mention it she did have hairy/furry feet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Happened recently. She was so out of my league it actually didn't even enter my mind to even contemplate trying it on with her. So talked to her like a normal person and score!

dylano_k wrote: »
    Idiot....you should have asked for a game of twister..naked

I did but I got thrown out of Toys'r'Us.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

The fact of life is women aren't into looks as much as men are. Looks are very important to men, but not as much to women.

The guy I crazily fancied the most, was a normal looking guy, but we just had insane chemistry.

Just thinking about him now turns me on...:D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Too cocky to think somebody is above my station, probably them all, so today :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Ah thats so sweet! Great way to romance! I'm so proud of you OP! :)

To answer your original question yes I have kissed someone out of my league! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

So,
    Any other AHer's ever done this? It usually happens when a goodlooking girl doesn't find you ugly and a mutual sense of humour kicks in. Humour transcends all physicality, social status, or professional qualifications. I scored with a girl one night who would honestly put most top models to shame. How? There was only me and my mate and her and her mate left drinking at the end of the party. My ridiculously good-looking mate went off with her ridiculously good-looking mate (presumably to have ridiculously good-looking kids) leaving the pair of us alone. I'm not saying it was beauty and the beast but it wasn't far off.
    I've done something with italics that i can't undo.

Anyway, I felt a bit awkward, as all blokes do when left alone with a ludicrously good-looking woman, so I went to make coffee. I was desperately looking for something to pass the time while our mates shagged, when my eyes alighted on a game of Connect4.

I casually asked her (praying desperately) would she like a game?

"Yes" (Oh, Thank God)

So, AHer's, tell us. When was the last time you ended up with someone way out of your league through sheer chance?

jake?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

The fact of life is women aren't into looks as much as men are. Looks are very important to men, but not as much to women.

The guy I crazily fancied the most, was a normal looking guy, but we just had insane chemistry.

Just thinking about him now turns me on...:D
    That's why they spend so much money on clothes and so much time on make up. If you say they do this for mens benefit a bunch of femnazi's will bite your head off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

Got with my very good looking barmaid one night on her night off. Couldn't believe she actually liked me being honest. I was always awkward ordering a pint of Murphys after that. Word of advice, don't go near someone who you're gonna see on a daily/weekly basis, it doesn't work. She was fine looking though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

Wha? Why did you not just keep getting with her? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

Good on ya OP. Feck the begrudgers!