Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Tangerine Dreaming - Blackpool take the lead and other stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,438 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

If the season ended right now, these are the 4 teams who would represent the premiership in the champions league.

1 Blackpool 1 3 3
    2 Aston Villa 1 2 3
    3 Wolves 1 2 3
    4 Blackburn 1 1 3

Be hard pressed to find better! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

Fair play Blackpool. As a newcastle fan i ca tell you Blackpool can play. They play football properly. I think the size of the squad may be a problem but im sure ye will shock many sides who think it will be a walkover playing ye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Looks good to me! Its about time Barca played at Molineux

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,393 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Wigan goal ruled out.

Bad decision, was onside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Perfectly good Wigan goal disallowed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

They'll still finish bottom tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,021 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

You're clearly not watching this.

Alcaraz has had the worst Premier League debut I've ever seen.
    Figueroa has been completely destroyed by a cart horse (Taylor Fletcher).
    McCarthy has ALOT to prove and wouldn't be on your list but for the fact he's Irish.
    Moses hasn't done a thing.
    Rodallega I'll give you. He's clearly a good player, but getting service whatsoever.
    Imo its down to preparation and formation. I honestly don't understand how Martinez kept his job last year. He took over a team that finished 11th the season before, ok they lost Valencia and Heskey but they brought in N'Zogbia and Rodellega among others and got worse, there is no excuse for that.

I'm not surprised at all with whats going on today.

Wigan have started tentatively here.

Have 20/1 on Blackpool not winning the game.

Stam has made a huge difference for Wigan since coming on. Boselli still crap though.

2-1

Stoke get one back, Faye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Sunderland 2-0 Birmingham. Carr OG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

mike65 wrote: »
    2-1

Stoke get one back, Faye

Faye you beauty. Starting my fantasy football off in style! Pity about conceding the two goals though. :(

Blackpool sitting back now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,164 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

great goal from milner, that add another million on his price tag:pac:

Linesmen should be sacked in the Blackpool game, every fckin' decision has been wrong.

3-0 in the Villa game. Means Blackpool wont be top if it stays like this.

Disappointing :p

Wigan take off a striker for a midfielder when they're 3-0 down.

Martinez is a clown.

4-0 thats that.

I won't even try to guess the odds on -3 for Blackpool

4-0

4-0 Pool!

Fantastic stuff!

How did Kirkland not save that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Going to the Spurs V Wigan match on 28th by the sounds of things I'll be in for a good game :)

Sunderland 2 - 1 Birmingham. Birmingham back in it

Off the line, nearly 5-0.

Sunderland 2-2 Birmingham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Who scored for Birmingham?

Liam Ridgewell

All over, Blackpool go top.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Only 37 more points to go for Blackpool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,021 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Great start to the season for Blackburn. Our first couple of games looked really tough and to get a win over Everton is a super start to the season. It really takes the pressure off the lads early.

Only 37 more points to go for Blackpool
    35 points has been enough for survival in the last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

looking like a good start for ipswich 1-0 norris

jinxy fecker ntl 1-1

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

ntlbell wrote: »
    jinxy fecker ntl 1-1
    That's what ya get for droppin Super Keeper ;)

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

All over, Blackpool go top.
    They should enjoy it. Will never see it again this season.

That's what ya get for droppin Super Keeper ;)

Considering all the pre-season write up's have stated murph's been having mom performances seems a bit odd?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

Aidric wrote: »
    They should enjoy it. Will never see it again this season.

never see another win ya mean? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

A lot of empty seats on the 1st day, odd that.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

dreamers75 wrote: »
    A lot of empty seats on the 1st day, odd that.

People on holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,793 ✭✭✭✭JPA

OPENROAD wrote: »
    People on holidays.

Permanent holidays.

Wigan were lucky to get 10,000 at some games last season, no doubt the recession will hit many casuals who will happily pay out for Sky all year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

f818c155-275c-4ae6-af30-f2a271fef21c.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Why is there a spoiler in the title?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

ha ha! I'm fcuking delighted for Blackpool, they know only one way to play and that is attack attack attack. Yes this is only one result against a poor Wigan side but there is more to come. Sure they may get the odd thumping here and there but like i said in May they are a quality team who have a great chance of staying up.

FAO Xavi 6

Do you still think they'll be the "whipping boys" of the Premier League? ;)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin//showthread.php?t=2055918317&page=9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Yes I do.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

OPENROAD wrote: »
    People on holidays.
    That certainly isn't the reason.

Wigan is half full all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,328 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

DB10 wrote: »
    That certainly isn't the reason.

Wigan is half full all the time.

From last years list the average attendance of the season expressed as a percentage of Capacity gives the following results:

1st Arsenal - 99.2%
    2nd Spurs - 98.57%
    3rd Man Utd - 98.56%
    4th Chelsea - 98.49%
    5th Wolves - 96.80%
    6th Hull - 96%
    7th Stoke - 95.69%
    8th West Ham - 95.41%
    9th Man City - 95.3%
    10th Liverpool - 94.1%
    11th Fulham - 93%
    12th Burnley - 91.6%
    13th Everton - 91.4%
    14th Portsmouth - 90.2%
    15th Aston Villa - 90.1%
    16th Birmingham -83.9%
    17th Sunderland - 82.3%
    18th Blackburn - 81%
    19th Bolton - 76.1%
    20th Wigan -71.6%

3 North West clubs at the bottom 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Yes I do.

As do I, infact I'm still fairly certain they'll come last. One good result against a woeful Wigan side doesn't make them any more likely to not be the whipping boys, as soon as they come up against a semi-decent side they'll be slaughtered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Frisbee wrote: »
    As do I, infact I'm still fairly certain they'll come last. One good result against a woeful Wigan side doesn't make them any more likely to not be the whipping boys, as soon as they come up against a semi-decent side they'll be slaughtered.

I think people are being a little unfair to Blackpool. The lack of depth in their squad could certainly be a big problem for them and there's no doubt they'll be relegation contenders. But you don't need to be good to stay up, you just need there to be 3 teams even worse than you, and there's plenty of other poor sides down there.

Wigan already look woeful, West Ham were rubbish yesterday aswell. And then you have Bolton, Wolves, West Brom and even Newcastle. All of them pretty average teams, so for me the relegation issue isn't as clearcut as some people seem to think.